About 3 Way Poncho

3 Way Poncho is touted by Suzanne Somers as the perfect solution for hiding unsightly bulges while still looking stylish for any occasion. She says the fabric is comfortable, drapes beautifully, and is “perfect, everywhere, anywhere, anytime.”

But is this a “3 way” you really want to get into? Let’s take a closer peek at the poncho to see if it’s worth your hard-earned money.

How 3 Way Poncho Works

The 3 Way Poncho doesn’t really look like a traditional poncho. Instead, it is essentially a woman’s oversize top that can be worn in 3 different ways: covering both shoulders, off one shoulder, or exposing both. Suzanne says this is a “problem solver” because the flowing fabric looks stylish but also drapes over the torso in such a way to hide your shape; Suzanne says it doesn’t matter if you’re a little bloated or carrying extra weight.

Ms. Somers claims you can wear 3 Way Poncho with jeans or leggings to go “casual” or with a nice dress and off the shoulders for a “professional” or “dressy” look. She claims the ultra-soft and lightweight fabric is breathable and is great for any season (but she fails to mention what the material actually is).

3 Way Poncho Pricing and Returns

The 3 Way Poncho comes in black, sizes Misses (S to L) and Plus (XL to 3X), and sells for $19.99 plus $7.99 processing and handling, for a total of $27.98. If you want a “bonus” 3 Way Poncho in mocha, add another $9.99 S&H.

You can return your 3 Way Poncho within 30 days for your initial $19.99 back, but not any processing/handing fees, plus you must pay to ship it back. This means that if you chose the BOGO offer, by the time everything is said and done, you could lose more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

Bottom Line: Is 3 Way Poncho a Scam?

Suzanne Somers, former star of TV’s “Three’s Company,” is now a professional pitchwoman – so much so, she’s even trademarked her own name. And while she says this is her “go to” outfit, odds are you won’t see her walking the red carpet in it. That doesn’t necessarily mean the product is a scam, but you should be aware that this is all part of the act.

The companies behind Suzanne are Product Trend, which has an F rating from the BBB based on over 350 product complaints over the last 3 years, and Facemaster of Beverly Hills (which is actually located in Calabasas), which has no BBB entry.

Now, perhaps you are starting to see why we are suspicious of 3 Way Poncho. Let us also add that since they don’t tell you what 3 Way Poncho is made of, it probably isn’t silk, cotton, or some other natural, comfortable fabric.

When you look at 3 Way Poncho’s Privacy Policy Page, there is more bad news: they are allowed to use your name, email, phone number, and snail mail address to solicit you with other products, as well as “rent, exchange, share, and/or cross reference” your info with “select partners.”

In other words, purchasing the 3 Way Poncho seems to be a dicey proposition. The design doesn’t seem that innovative, the non-refundable fees are expensive, and the company behind it has a track record of poor-quality products (albeit, this is very typical of most “As Seen On TV” products).

If this is still an outfit that appeals to you, we strongly suggest waiting until it is available at your favorite online retailer, which will generally have a more favorable return policy, smaller shipping fees, and more respect for your privacy.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

49 Customer Reviews for 3 Way Poncho

Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 16 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 25
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Top

    I bought mine at, of all places, my local Rite Aid pharmacy! They have an aisle with all the "As Seen on TV" stuff and there it was, on half price sale for $9.99. That was too good to pass up, so I got one in each size to see which one would fit best. I usually wear a size XL (my bust is 34HH, 44" around) and the smaller size fit with tons of room to spare. The XL-3X was way too big, even the sleeve bands were very loose, so I would say that between these two size offerings, this will fit anybody (unless you are on an episode of My 600-lb. Life!) The fabric is an incredibly soft viscose and spandex which should not be machine dried, but steams out perfectly. It really looks great on. I like to wear the neck up on my shoulders, but gathered...it's easy to arrange it any way you like. I have no clue why people are saying they don't like it, but oh well. I am going to send one to my sister. I love this thing. It's insane that I only paid $10! This is a good item to buy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ripped

    I love the way this shirt looked. However, after the first washing, it had two holes in it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best poncho, cover up blouse I have ever had.

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Nov 26, 2015

    I am a 58 year old women weighing in at 214lbs. YES this is the best cover up I have ever had. It covers my butt, arms and my dreaded stomach. I have purchased two so far and I am on my way to get two more. I purchased them for my two sisters, my niece and as I stated myself. I was told they would not be sold after this year. Thumbs down, so that is why I am running out today to find the extra two. Wish me luck. Buying them for Christmas. My sisters and niece will love it. By the way, I purchased them in Bed Bath & Beyond.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love them!

    • New Port Richey, FL,
    • Oct 28, 2015

    Placed my order for the Three Way Ponchos on 10/13/2015 and received them today on 10/21/2015. Purchased the black and the taupe and could not be happier with my order.

    Don't know what all the hoopla and buzz is about the items taking months to get or they only ship one, etc. I received exactly what I ordered and not in months but in 8 days!

    I would not hesitate to order from this entity again. They sent exactly what I wanted and delivery of ponchos was very quick.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love my 3 Way!

    • Barrie, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 2, 2015

    So comfortable. It's my go to top for weekend wear. In the winter, I wear a camisole underneath for more coverage. Wish that made it in multiple colours.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Love it.

    • Santa Monica, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I don't usually order things from TV, especially not clothing, but it was such a great price and they showed so many ways to wear it that I ordered. It arrived about a week and a half later with no issues with ordering or delivery.

    I am 5'4" and curvy and a size 10 so I ordered the XS-L size. I have worn this thing more times than I want to admit. The fabric is great, very drapey and not clingy, and not hot. It's great for work with the neckline cowled for the 'professional' look (I work in a law office) and super cute off one shoulder with my jeans.

    It hasn't been cold enough to wear it as a hoodie yet, but I know when it starts getting cool I will be wearing it with the hood up on my morning walk. I also like how it looks all dressed up like they show in the commercial, although I haven't had the occasion to wear it that way yet.

    I just ordered the mocha and another black one for back-up. Very happy with my purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Mixed Review. I'm Fat and Like the Poncho

    • Virginia,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    Walmart has the poncho for sale and that's where I got mine.

    I got the S-L in black. Walmart doesn't have a two for one.

    I am a curvy size 12 with a big belly. I am wearing the poncho right now.

    I do like the draping. I thought I'd be swimming in a Moo-Moo type unflattering cover up. It actually looks good, I think. I would buy more.

    The material is a type of t-shirt/spandex feel.

    The poncho does have some versatility. I can wear it casually and casual business. I wore it with dressy jeans to church tonight. I do not see how anyone can wear this as a dress (it's a short tunic on me) or as a dressy shirt. I couldn't get the cowl neckline to do what I want. I just draped it in the front. Maybe with practice I can do off the shoulder.

    The part I didn't like was the sleeves. they were tight. I don't have jiggly bat wing upper arms yet, but they are plump. The sleeves are tight. They look and fit better if the sleeves are pulled down to look like dolman sleeves. I also don't think the seam down the top of the arm is attractive.

    The tag also drove me crazy. I had to cut it off.

    Overall, I do like the poncho. It drapes well and looks attractive and is flattering to my figure. I felt good in it. But it is a little cheaply made and is not as dressy as they claim.

    If Walmart sells the other colors, I would buy another one.

    I would give this product 3 1/2 stars instead of just three. Its a little better than just average.

    Save yourself the hassle and just buy it at a section "As Seen On TV" in a store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 3, 2014

      LLC

      Exactly why anyone would order from the infomercial is beyond me. That's just asking for problems.

      I like mine too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love it. I wish I could find a store that has the beige one.

    • Jul 11, 2015

    I bought my 3 Way Poncho at Walmart. Very comfortable.

    Today I bought my second one. I wish I could find the beige color in a store. I don't like to order online. But I am very happy with my purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love, Love, Love.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    I bought my poncho at a Walmart on a whim. I'd seen the commercial and thought it was interesting I'm a BBW and the fit is great and the material is soft and comfortable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Perfect for me

    • Arkansas,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I received mine as a gift. If you are looking for a cute top that a skinny little chick would want then you should probably should keep looking. I am an older woman that's definitely not skinny and I love it. This top drapes well-not clingy. Sleeve length is mid-not long-not short, just right. You can wear it as an over top as an extra later. It's also thin enough to not be hot so you cold wear Cami Shaper or small contrasting color underneath. You can wear with jeans, skirts, and leggings. Comes long enough to cover your rear and any bulges.

    People are expecting too much to complain about it. I am ordering another in mocha. No comment about customer service other than you can't blame Suzanne Somers for the people she hired not being able to handle the job. Maybe not her best choice but I dare say she has people who do that for her as well. Doesn't make her a scammer.

    It does what she says and I would recommend it to my friends or anyone looking for an easy "go to" comfortable top.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I love this Poncho!.

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I have a larger bust and shoulders than waistline and hips, so most flowy, longer shirts look more like maternity tops on me. But this poncho looks great, and is so comfortable and soft. I would love to have one in every color.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2014

      Janet Kanter

      Did you order the proper size? I love this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a review for 3 Way Poncho!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review