About Active-PK by LCR Health

Published on: May 24, 2017

LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement promises to use a three-ingredient blend of naturally occurring compounds that can promote AMPK activation, leading to boosted energy, clearer thinking, decreased intraabdominal (or "deep") fat, and a faster metabolism and flatter belly.

In fact, the promotional videos claims the supplement’s ingredients might even be able to help you lead a longer, healthier life.

Just take two capsules per day with a glass of water, with or without food, and the ingredients will go to work all day after being digested by your stomach. The company tells us Active-PK is safe and effective for all Americans, who should experience maximum benefits after a few months of regular use.

There’s no doubt that we’re in the midst of an obesity epidemic, which can have all sorts of health consequences. But can you expect LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement to boost AMPK levels? Even then, might this deliver meaningful results?

Let’s kick things off by discussing the basics.

What Is AMPK & How Does It Relate to Deep Fat?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme (a substance that causes a chemical reaction) that performs multiple functions in the body. These include:

  • Inhibiting the synthesis of fatty acids, cholesterol, and triglycerides
  • Inhibiting glycogen synthesis
  • Stimulating glycolysis (the breakdown of glucose, or sugar)
  • Stimulating glucose uptake in skeletal muscle
  • Regulating some aspects of cell function (removal of unnecessary and dysfunctional components)
  • Increasing mitochondrial (a cell’s “battery”) creation

Based on these benefits, we can see that AMPK plays an important role in energy sensing, as mentioned on the Active-PK website. So it’s no surprise that one of the best methods of boosting AMPK levels in the body is through exercise (although there is some controversy about this), since it’s thought to increase fatty acid metabolism and provide more energy for cells.

With this in mind, we didn’t encounter any substantive clinical evidence listed on authoritative websites like the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed during our research that AMPK, in humans:

  • Has any specific role related to deep fat (whether stopping buildup or improving its availability for energy production),
  • That activation declines with age or as a result of overeating (or “nutritional overload” as mentioned in the Active-PK promo video),
  • That elevated activation can lead to reduced weight and increased lifespan
  • That reduced AMPK signaling can cause chronic inflammation, increased belly fat, high cholesterol and triglycerides, elevated blood sugar, or insulin resistance,

Regardless, what about the ingredients found in Active-PK?

Have Active-PK’s Ingredients Been Shown to Boost AMPK Levels?

According to the Nutritional Facts label listed on the supplement’s website, Active-PK contains the following:

  • Gynostemma pentapyllum leaf extract (1.2% damulin A) (ActivAMP) 450mg
  • Quercetin dihydrate 100mg
  • Berberine HCl 100mg

Gynostemma Pentapyllum/ActivAMP

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate that 30mg per day of gynostemma pentapyllum (Jiaogulan) has been shown to reduce cholesterol, which could certainly have a beneficial impact on overall health.

The gynostemma pentapyllum in Active-PK is Gencor’s proprietary ActivAMP, which claims to have clinical evidence that the ingredient can significantly decrease body fat mass, percent body fat, body weight and BMI, and total abdominal area. We’ve requested a copy of this study and will follow up as soon as a response is received.

Quercetin & Berberine

These same sites also indicate that 1,000mg per day of quercetin may help address some aspects of prostatitis, and that some preliminary evidence indicates berberine may slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes and help lower cholesterol levels in people with high cholesterol.

However, none of these sites reported conclusive evidence indicating these ingredients, whether alone or in conjunction, could meaningfully boost AMPK levels or produce any of the related benefits claimed by LCR Health.

What About LCR Health’s Test?

Despite this, the Active-PK promo video indicated that the supplement was tested on a group of user beginning in January 2016, which found that after two weeks:

  • 95% reported fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 73% reported losing weight
  • 81% reported losing belly fat
  • 95% had more overall energy than before

Then, after four weeks of use:

  • 100% fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 75% reported losing weight
  • 90% reported losing belly fat
  • 100% had more overall energy than before
  • 96% felt Active-PK could help them live longer

We also sent an email to LCR Health for a copy of this study and will update based on their response.

What Kinds of Side Effects Might You Experience From Active-PK’s Ingredients?

On their website, LCR Health tells us that Active-PK is vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free, and friendly for all dietary considerations. And because it consists of naturally occurring nutrients found in food products and the body, that it’s safe to use and produces no known side-effects.

However, they note that this product isn’t intended for those with preexisting medical conditions. Also that because of its ability to reduce the size of fat cells, it shouldn’t be taken by those who are “severely underweight.” And as always, you should consult with your physician before beginning any new supplements.

According to the authoritative sites mentioned earlier, gynostemma pentapyllum may cause moderate reactions with immunosuppressants and medications that slow blood clotting, while berberine could potentially cause a major reaction with cyclosporine.

How much Does Active-PK Cost?

How much you pay for each bottle of Active-PK depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $152
  • 6 Bottles: $323

The single bottle option charges an extra $3.95 S&H, while all others are free.

LCR Health provides a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, on all Active-PK orders, which you can request by calling the company at (844)-650-5933 or sending an email to support@lcrhealth.com.

What else do we know about the company?

What Can We Learn From Reviews About Active-PK’s Manufacturer?

As is often the case when we write about nutritional supplements, we didn’t encounter any online customer feedback for Active-PK at the time of our research.

However, the supplement is manufactured by Los Angeles-based LCR Health, which is a division of Live Cell Research. LCR Health also manufactures another supplement called Active Stem, while Live Cell Research produces popular options like LA-3 and QL-5.

Overall, Live Cell Research’s products had an average customer rating of about four stars here on HighYa, with common compliments referencing beneficial results (reduced belly fat and weight, improved mobility, decreased cravings, etc.), while common complaints seemed related to no results and high price.

Obviously, Active-PK is a completely different formulation, so we’re not saying you’ll experience the same. However, we believe this information can provide you with a clearer overall picture of the situation.

From a company perspective, Live Cell Research had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and six closed complaints at the time of our research. No details were provided.

Now, how do Active-PK's price and manufacturer reputation compare to the competition?

Are There Other AMPK-Boosting Supplements Like Active-PK?

If you search online, you’ll only find a couple of other AMPK activators currently on the market, such as Life Extension’s AMPK Activator ($25) and the previously mentioned LA-3 ($46.99).

In fact, comparing LA-3 and Active-PK’s formulations, they’re the exact same product, even down to the amount each ingredient. Despite this, LA-3 is marketed as a “longevity activator,” while Active-PK promises to target deep fat.

Which of these might provide the best results? We’ll conclude with our thoughts in just a second, but let’s first take a look at the person behind Active-PK.

Who Is Dr. Rand McClain?

According to his LinkedIn page, Dr. Rand McClain is a Medical Doctor at Performance Sports and Rejuvenation Medicine in Santa Monica, CA. Previously, he trained in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture at the Yo San University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences.

In the Active-PK long form sales video, he tells us that some have called him one of the top regenerative health doctors in L.A.

Does Dr. McClain’s experience and medical training necessarily mean this supplement’s right for you, though?

Our Final Thoughts about Active-PK From LCR Health

In the end, based on the mostly positive feedback from customers for the company’s other products, it certainly seems like LCR Health and Live Cell Research are focused on creating supplements that provide value.

Just like any other supplement, though, what works fantastically for you might not work at all for someone else, which is why the company stands behind Active-PK with a 90-day refund policy. You will, however, lose a couple of bucks in return shipping.

Despite these positive aspects, it seemed that authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD reported little-to-no clinical evidence that the supplement’s ingredients (singularly or synergistically) can meaningfully boost AMPK activation, or consequently deliver on its claims.

If you feel like giving Active-PK a shot, though, just be sure to speak with your doctor about any concerns you’re experiencing, what you’re expecting to achieve with the supplement, as well as any other supplements or medications you’re currently taking.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Active-PK by LCR Health

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • Placebo?

    • New York,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took as directed for two months to curb my appetite but it had absolutely no impact whatsoever. Very disappointing. I was skeptical but ordered it because they offered a full refund minus the return shipping. I am a firm believer that weight loss or appetite suppressant is never an easy thing. My advice, buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Active-PK

    Hi. So far I give it no stars!

    I've been using it for one week, and so far I gained five pounds. My eating habits have not changed. I'm gluten intolerant, therefore, my diet stayed the same. I still workout daily, walk the dog, etc.

    I don't get it! I will give it a go for 30 days and then will give more feedback to all. I wrote to them and haven't heard. I'm just wondering if I must be doing something else? It seemed so easy; two pills daily, that's it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi there Sylvie, thank you for leaving us a valuable review on your experience so far with Active-PK. I am sorry to hear that you are not receiving the benefits you were expecting as of yet. We always recommend that our customers give the product at least 30 days for it to work and for your body to adjust to it. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, so if any point you are dissatisfied, you are welcome to return the product for a full refund. Please email me personally at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any questions or comments you may have. Thank you Sylvie.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible taste

    I have been trying (LIVASTEMx6) LIV Active Stem by LCR in 16 oz. of water and it tastes awful! If this was the only way to drink it? I hate the Splenda addictive, and I wish I could have the freedom to add my own additive. I bought about seven power containers over six months ago. Can I trade these in for tablets?

    My advice is to buy a sample package first if you like, then think about buying big to save money. Unfortunately, I bought big, and I hate the flavor, thus I can barely drink have a scoop every some often. Sorry, I like taste, and I am used to soda pop type drinks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hello Roger, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying the taste of Active Stem when added to water. Please keep in mind that you can add the powder to any healthy drink of your choice! We, unfortunately, do not offer this product in capsule form. If you do not wish to continue taking it, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund just for giving Active Stem a try.

      Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you or if you have any other questions I can help you with. Thank you Roger.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Progress not perfection

    Both in our sixties, my wife and I started Active-PK two weeks ago. Without noticing, we both experienced a gradual energy increase, especially the Mrs. who seemed to be in an endless slump, never wanting to go anywhere or do anything. Our grandsons, 19 and 21, visited and she prepared meals every day while we also showed them around the Upstate. I was totally amazed. We also started eating healthier as our energy levels gradually increased with no jittery or uneasy side effects whatsoever. The wife has renewed past interests including doing more around the house and playing outdoor games. I enjoy the gym three times weekly.

    For us, embracing the fact that progress, not perfection, is do-able. A shared desire for fresh fruits and vegetables along with a more active life style kicked in and seems to be a natural course of action.

    Bottom line, give Active-PK a try. It's a win-win, especially with their 90-day money back guarantee. Will update our progress in the next couple of weeks. Thanks Cowboy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Belly Fat

    I have been taking ACTIVE-PK for 2 months and the belly is still big. I'm not giving up after watching that entirely too long presentation but hope to try for another 2 months and will report back

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hello Richard,

      Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your experience with Active-PK. While most customers see results in the first 30 days, it may take longer for others so do not be discouraged. Remember, we always stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, so you can give our product a fair trial without the risk! Please feel free to email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you have any questions or comments.

      Thank you again Richard.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Fist day with results

    I'm a cancer survivor. I'm not overweight much (125-ish), but I do have high bad cholesterol, sever fatigue from post cancer treatment along with a few other problems like chemo brain. My husband is a little over weight, high cholesterol and in a high-stress job. We both took this and noticed a big difference the first day. I cleaned the entire basement, and I hate going down there. I could remember details of my day that I could NEVER normally remember. My attitude was even more positive. My husband felt a serious change in energy too. I'm curious to see how things progress. This supplement was researched by my husband and was in no way prescribed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic drop in A1C level in first 90 days

    My husband and I started taking Active-PK 90 days ago. He has seen a significant weight loss, but he was also making serious changes to his food intake. He is 66 and has seemed to have turned into the Energizer Bunny!

    Myself, one the other hand, have not seen the weight loss or incredible increase in my energy. However, I started taking the product hoping it would help me with my diabetes. I have been experiencing increasing A1C levels. I am 59 years old and had managed to get my A1C down to a "normal" reading of 6.0 just two years ago.

    I truly could not improve my diet anymore. I have spent endless hours studying glycemic loads of foods, tracked all my eating while recording glucose levels, cutting out foods that severely spiked my blood sugar, and given up all alcohol except an occasional glass (never more than two) of wine.

    All my doctor could say was that I was getting older. No way I was going to accept that answer. Then I watched this advertising video and understood the potential of Active-PK in helping my body improve the use of the glucose. And...

    Just 90 days after starting this supplement, I had my first appointment with my doctor to have my quarterly A1C level review. During my prior visits I saw my A1C go from 6.5 to 7.6 with each higher A1C reading, the doctor increased my oral medication.

    The last visit my A1C was 7.6 and this one 6.9! Hooray! I have made no other changes in my diet since starting this product. It is summer, and I am very active, but still, no way that much of a drop came from the additional activity. I'm looking forward to what the next 90 days reading will be!

    I have NEVER written a review of a product in my life. Then again, I have never had one effect my life so positively.

    If my A1C continues to improve, which I can't imagine it won't, I will be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing product

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am onto my second bottle now. My weight is exactly the same. I took two tablets early in the morning every day until the last week, where I only took one tablet in the morning. I now just take the one tablet daily. I was getting very bad nausea every night from the tablets. The sickness was terrible. I didn't feel sick in the beginning, it built up over time. Taking just one tablet is better. I also got very painful leg cramps in the calf muscles in the beginning. They seem to have eased up now. As I bought three bottles originally, I will keep on going until the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Lea, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced the results you anticipated from taking Active-PK thus far. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that each customer has a fair amount of time to begin seeing the benefits of Active PK, as some people may take longer to see results than others.

      I would be more than happy to issue you a refund at the end of your trial period if you are still dissatisfied with Active-PK at that point. Please keep in mind that it is always very important to consult your physician, prior to starting any new supplement, especially if any type of side effects occur.

      Please send me an email at [email protected] if you have any further questions or comments, or if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you. Thank you Lea.

    • Jul 19, 2017

      Ioane Fetu

      I'm looking to purchase three months of this product, so I'm reading the reviews. I get that these product reviews are different for all people. I appreciate these reviews. They give me the information that helps me make my decision.

    • Jul 26, 2017

      Carmen

      I just started my first bottle, and I did sleep incredibly better. You see it work overnight. I suffer from insomnia but last night was great I will update you in 30 days and let you know. I'm currently a 174.8lbs. See you soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Brain fog going, going, GONE!

    I have been taking Active-PK for almost a month now and my horrible "brain fog" is almost completely gone! I was so "foggy" that almost EVERY time I would walk into a different room, either at work or at home, I would forget what I was going after. My mind is SO MUCH clearer. I am thinking clearer and getting more done.

    This is what I currently notice, but as other bodily functions get better, I will let you all know.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Nothing really to report other than weight gain so far.

    I have been taking Active-PK for three months now. I have gained about 5 lbs. I continue to crave carbs. I do not notice a loss of belly fat but, to be honest, I did not measure pre or post. I am considering Bariatric surgery as my weight continues to spiral out of control and I am prediabetic. I am trying to change the way I eat and the quantity as to prepare ahead during the wait time for surgery. I have one more month supply but am not sure if I will reorder this product. It is quite expensive. I have to also add in the change of currency as I am Canadian.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 4, 2017

      Marta

      I ordered three bottles, I am taking two capsules per day. I just went through the first bottled, meaning I've been taking it consistently for one month already. I exercise regularly and eat healthy, but my weight is not going down. I actually gained two pounds this month. I won't recommend this product.

    • Jul 12, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Catherine, thank you for leaving us feedback on your experience with Active-PK so far. I am sorry to hear that you are not receiving the results you expected from taking the product. Please keep in mind that we always stand by our 90-day money back guarantee as we realize that not all supplements will work the same way on every customer.

      Please feel free to email me at [email protected] if you have any further questions or comments, or if you would like to return your product for a full refund. Thank you again for reaching out to us, I look forward to hearing from you Catherine.

    • Aug 6, 2017

      Roger Atkinson

      I bought like six bottles over a three month period. My biggest problem is the taste, I have the hardest time drinking the awful sugar-free additive. I think it's called saccharine. I wish there was a better way to drink this. Can I trade my unsealed packages for tablets? I can only swallow about half a table spoon every other day. Thus, I can't tell if this stuff actually works. Please help me, I am in much physical pain everyday.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for Active-PK by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review