What is Air by crazybaby?

Like many other wireless Wi-Fi headphones, Air by crazybaby promises to deliver a secure fit in a smaller, portable package that’s water resistant, is rechargeable on the go, and works with any Bluetooth-enabled device.

Unlike much of the competition, however, crazybaby tells us that Air also provides single-button control, a more stable connection, and an EQ customizer via their iOS and Android apps.

Crazybaby puts the greatest emphasis on their carbon nanotube speaker membrane, though, which they claim delivers true wireless stereo that allows you to “hear every detail of the music.”

If you’ve been paying attention, you probably noticed many high-profile wireless earbuds entering the market lately. But how can you choose the right option for your needs? Should Air by crazybaby make it on your shortlist?

You’ve got questions; here, we’ll help provide some insight by discussing what we learned during our research.

How Does Air by crazybaby Work? What’s Up With Their Carbon Nanotubes?

The Tech Specs

Each Air earbud is 1.01” (25.6mm) long, 0.47” (12mm) wide, 0.67” (17mm) high, and weighs 4.5g. The charging capsule is 5.22” (132.5mm) long and 1.18” (30mm) thick.

A single charge on your Air earbuds will provide up to 3 hours of listening time or 4 hours of talk time. Using the capsule, however, will increase your listening time to 15+ hours and talk time up to 20 hours.

When the time comes, we’re told it will take your earbuds two hours to fully recharge.

While Air earbuds can’t be used directly in water, they’re IPX5 water resistant, which should provide more than enough protection from sweat and the natural accumulation of dust and grime.

Connection, Fit, & Operation

Air earbuds feature Bluetooth 4.2 connectivity that helps provide a consistently reliable connection to any compatible device from up to 10 meters away.

According to crazybaby, they analyzed hundreds of ears during development to ensure Air fit a wide variety of profiles. You’ll also find three, medical-grade Sport Sleeves that are ultra-light, skin-friendly, and help customize Air’s fitment, without adding pressure to your conch or ear canal.

Once connected and in place, we’re told you’ll receive a voice prompt, “Your headset is connected.” Alternately, once disconnected you’ll be prompted with, “Your headset is disconnected.”

This, combined with Air’s single-button control, allows you to answer/hang up calls, play/stop music, skip to the previous or next track, and even use voice assistants like Siri or Amazon Dot’s Alexa.

Sound Quality

As mentioned earlier, it seems that crazybaby’s biggest emphasis for the Air is on audio quality.

To accomplish this, we’re told the company’s “electroacoustic legend,” Dr. Yu, partnered with Tsinghua University and Foxconn Associate Labs to develop a proprietary carbon nanotube diaphragm that allows the speaker driver to remain compact and durable.

This delivers “ultra-fast responses for elegant, sophisticated sound,” including “dynamic highs and reverberating lows.”

Additionally, each of these carbon nanotube diaphragms is made individually, versus mass-produced, to ensure strict quality standards.

This, along with Air’s CSR decoding chip and CVC 8th Noise Isolation Technology (noise cancellation), means that whether you’re listening to music, taking a call, or using voice prompts, your audio quality will be “among the best of the best.”

Crazybaby Air's internal componentsThe internal components that make up crazybaby’s Air earbuds. Image credit: crazybaby

Finally, we’re told that Air’s iOS and Android apps allow you to customize your EQ even further.

How much will you pay for all this technology and wireless convenience?

How Much Do crazybaby Air Wireless Headphones Cost?

Crazybaby’s Air earbuds are currently only available for preorder via their Indiegogo campaign (more about this next), with an estimated delivery date of January 2017. Perks range between $109 and $198.

Each order includes:

  • Air Wireless Headphones
  • XS/S/M/L Silicone Ear Tips
  • S/M/L Sport Sleeves
  • Charging Capsule
  • USC-c to USB Charge Cable

The company just released three new colors at the time of our research (Lava Orange, Volt Green, and Space Gray), along with the standard White/Blue or Black/Red.

All Air orders come with free worldwide delivery, along with a 1-year global warranty against defects in workmanship and materials. According to the fine print:

“Refunds are processed on a case-by-case basis; at some point, we will need to lock refunds in order to go into production and shipment. We will not be able to refund orders once they've shipped.”

To request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to send an email to service@crazybaby.com.

Are There Any Early Reviews for crazybaby Air?

At the time of our research, crazybaby had nine days remaining in their Indiegogo campaign for Air, although they had already raised nearly $1.7 million based on an original goal of just $50K.

Because they won’t make their way to consumers until January 2017, though, we didn’t encounter any in-depth, hands-on reviews.

However, Forbes’ Ben Sin had a chance to try on a pair of prototype Airs when visiting crazybaby’s Shenzhen, China office, originally to review their Mars speaker (more about this in a moment).

While he didn’t spend a lot of time with the Airs, he noted that they felt comfortable in the ear, delivered good sound quality, felt sturdy and well-made, and provided instantaneous pairing thanks to the CSR chip.

From a company perspective, crazybaby was founded in 2014 by Allen Zhang, who’s only in his early 30s. The company is based out of Salt Lake City, UT, although, despite his young age, Allen has been working in Shenzhen for more than 12 years, originally for Chinese electronics company TCL.

Since its founding, crazybaby has successfully brought one product to market, with another close on its heels. Let’s talk more about this next.

Are There Other Products From Crazybaby?

The first product released under the crazybaby brand was Mars, a unique levitating speaker that promises to deliver “nearly loss-free sound,” along with a sleek design.

On Amazon, the Mars speaker had 130+ customer reviews and an average rating of 3.3 stars. Most compliments seemed to reference high-quality audio and craftsmanship, as well as attractive design.

On the other hand, common complaints related to high price, limited functionality (no AirPlay or WiFi connectivity, no streaming ability, can’t connect via aux in, etc.), so-so audio quality (especially regarding bass), inadequate volume, and questionable value compared to other Bluetooth speakers.

Crazybaby’s second product, Luna, is a wireless speaker that uses proprietary technology to improve transmission distance and sound quality. Additionally, its dedicated computing system and MESHNET technology enable up to 32 Lunas to connect with one another, along with multiple users allowed.

Luna’s crowdfunding campaign recently ended and was in a trial production run.

Now, let’s return to crazybaby’s Air earbuds and find out how they stack up against the competition.

Crazybaby Air vs. Other Wireless Headphones

The HighYa team has reviewed many popular wireless earbud options, including Kanoa, Rowkin Mini, Samsung Gear IconX, and Protek Wireless. Other popular models include the Earin, Apple AirPods, and Bragi.

How does each of these compare to Air by crazybaby? Let’s take a quick look:

Earbuds Price Listen / Talk Time (hrs) Recharge Time (hrs) Water Resistant / Proof? Fitness Tracking? Compatibility
Air by crazybaby $109 3-4 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Kanoa $179 4-6 1.5 Proof Y Bluetooth
Rowkin Mini $59.99 - $69.99 6 1.5 Resistant N Bluetooth
Samsung Gear IconX $199 1.5-3.5 1.5 Resistant Y Android
Protek $119 3-6 1 Resistant N Bluetooth
Earin $249 3 1 hr 15 min Resistant No Bluetooth
Bragi $299 6 2 Resistant N Bluetooth
Apple AirPods $199 5 N/A N/A No Bluetooth

When it comes down to it, which of these options might serve you best? Is Air by crazybaby a contender? Let’s bring it all together.

Who’s the Ideal Customer for Air by crazybaby?

Like any other product, no single wireless earbud option will satisfy every consumer’s needs or match their personal preferences. In other words, a lot of unique factors come into play when choosing the “best” option.

For example:

  • Is price your number one factor? If so, Rowkin Mini is the clear winner, followed by crazybaby’s Air.
  • Run and recharge time? Rowkin, Bragi, and Protek (which also features a CSR chipset) win out in this regard.
  • Fitness tracking? Your options are limited to Kanoa and IconX.
  • Only interested in products that are currently available? You’ll have to rule out Air and Kanoa.

Regarding this last point, when discussing yet-to-be-released electronics, we often talk about the potential risks involved with backing a crowdfunding campaign. In this instance, though, crazybaby has already released one successful product, with another (Luna) on its way shortly.

While this certainly doesn’t remove the element of risk, we think this speaks volumes about what you might reasonably expect with their Air earbuds.

Just keep in mind that your ability to obtain a refund could be limited—and completely goes away once Air has shipped—so be sure to carefully consider your purchase before placing an order.

Did your Air by crazybaby earbuds arrive on time? Did they deliver superb audio quality? What about the company’s other claims? Tell the world by writing your review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Customer Reviews for Air by crazybaby

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • Stay away from this hoax product

    I got these wireless headphones thinking they'll "raise the bar." All performance promises are completely overrated. Low sound quality, cuts out as many times as regular wireless buds, battery life pathetic, Customer Service unacceptable, and besides the design being stylish and lightweight, this is a waste of money. Crazybaby owes a huge apology to all early backers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not live up to the promises or the hype

    • Italy,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll get straight to the point.

    In my opinion, the sound quality is MUCH better than average. That's compared to any of the eight different Bluetooth pairs/brands I own. The Air by crazybaby are also better than most wired earbuds, not full-size headphones (that wouldn't be a fair comparison), but better than earbuds. That's all if, if, IF you can get BOTH left and right Airs to actually produce music!

    I am using them as I sit here writing this and the RIGHT earbud continually cuts out. I'm just sitting at a desk, not moving my head or my body around and the RIGHT earbud just won't continually produce sound! That REALLY RUINS the sound experience. The LEFT bud stays connected reasonably well but NOT as well as the "hyped up" copy of the IndieGoGo campaign would make you believe.

    I don't have really ANY other major issues with them. The charging cradle open/close is a lot ODD and not a very high-quality feeling, but I might get used to that. If ONLY the RIGHT earbud would stay connected, I'd be tempted to be happy.

    The OTHER ISSUE is that I paid for TWO sets of these and I've only received ONE and have not received any response from "customer service." I paid by PayPal, and I'm going to attempt to get them to credit back the charge. I suggest that if EVERYONE who is dissatisfied with the Air by crazybaby would do the same, the company MIGHT take notice.

    My more than two cents.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stay far away!

    Leaving aside the already known delay, during calls just the left earbud is working, and people are complaining about an echo or noise coming from the microphone. When playing music, the sound is not bad but nothing impressive. But during my waiting, I bought others at less than 10 EUR with much better sound quality and better bass. The phone I just bought is an iPhone 7.

    In addition, service is not answering. Honestly, I don't think if it can be worse. If I had time and money I would go for legal actions.

    Because of this experience, next time I'll go for a product already proved in the market avoiding giving my money to people just playing with it. No more crowdfunding from my side.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stopped working, zero technical support

    My earbuds stopped working within a week of receiving them. I emailed customer support and got an automated reply saying I'd receive some help within 36 hours, but after a week I still hadn't heard from them. Poor quality product, even worse customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't buy it

    • Spain,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Read the other one-star reviews. Everything they said is exactly the experience I had. They sound really good, but they just don't work as it's supposed to do. I contacted support recently, so it's normal I haven't received an answer yet. I still hope the support team can give a real solution. In the meantime, I don't recommend to buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad purchase

    • Kolding, Denmark,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought them a year ago while they were campaigning on IndieGoGo. They just arrived yesterday. So, the audio quality is mediocre at best, the light on the sides as they show it on the campaign videos are nonexistent basically, and for the worst, the Bluetooth literally loses connection if the phone is not next to them. If you put your phone in your front pocket, then it will every second lose connection. On the back pocket, you don't hear anything.

    All in all, overpriced Chinese garbage. I won't buy anything from Indiegogo again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Poor

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like others have mentioned, the sound continually drops, especially the right ear. Lousy product. This is such a shame as the packaging looks great and we were promised a premium product.

    Avoid. There must be better products out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very good once you know the tricks

    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Sep 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, I waited ten months for these things and wasn't too happy about that. They turned out to be a great purchase. It's living up to all the hype but that being said, I do understand the negative reviews about earbuds cutting out or not working at all. The big trick is to make sure they're being charged properly. That probably takes care of 50 percent of the complaints about earbuds not working. I don't remember if the instructions said to remove the plastic film from the earbuds contacts, but that's a given. While you have the tube open, drop the earbuds in and MAKE SURE the red light on the earbuds start blinking. If not, drop it in again until it does. No blinking light, no charge. You may have to reseat one of the earbuds multiple times before it charges.

    I bet you that's the #1 cause of these things not working or not wanting to turn on. Once they're charged, they're fantastic! Once in a blue moon, the right one will drop out momentarily when you turn your head, but for me, that hasn't been a problem. If there's a problem pairing them, take them out of your ear and make sure they're both turned off, it may take several tries. Then turn them on, left side first and they should pair. Once I figured these things out, they work great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2017

      BJ

      I am having this issue and it's so frustrating! I have to drop them in over, and over, and over until I get lucky. Sometime's I'll get one but then the other one won't start. It's highly frustrating as well because according to the instructions, the Air's won't charge if the case is open. I've yet to experience 3+ hours of music or the supposed 3-4 charges the capsule should offer.

    • Sep 20, 2017

      Bobby Gee

      BJ, they charge just fine with the tube open. As soon as you see the lights on, the earbuds come one and that means they are charging. I believe the tube itself won't charge when it's open but the earbuds will charge.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Totally underwhelming

    This product had so much potential but just has way too many flaws. Given that the product was delayed for so long so that they could make improvements before going into full-scale production (I was an early backer on IndieGoGo), it's really disappointing. The right ear keeps dropping in and out again (sound), the buds do charge properly in the case and the alleged listening time is nowhere near as promised.

    The control buttons on each bud are so stiff that when you do try and control them whilst in the ear, you have to press so hard, that it pushes them further into your ear and it creates a painful pressure vacuum.

    It's a real shame, as when they do work, the sound is amazing and they are really comfortable to wear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A bad company

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Sep 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fans waited eagerly for the Air by crazybaby to be released. After the January launch date failed, crazybaby urges the supporters to be patient since new products have new product difficulties and they were short on resources as a crowdfunded project. That makes sense at face value (if you don't think about the 5420% over-funding they received and the close to $3 million raised). So many fans defended crazybaby while we waited.

    And we waited. Then when they finally delivered in July and August, the REAL nightmare began. Consumers who received a working set are RARE. Here is a rundown of what you will receive:

    - If people ordered more than one pair, they will only get a MAXIMUM of one pair of their order. Then crazybaby ghosts you. That makes commercial sense since crazybaby saves costs if they don't even deliver you the product right?

    - If you only ordered one pair, 1 of 3 things may happen: you may receive a working pair. If that happens, go surrender yourself to a zoo because you are a unicorn. You may get a faulty pair. You may never see your buds.

    - Bluetooth connectivity is state of the art for a potato. Mine does not connect at all (albeit it's a more unusual fault amongst all the consumers). The two buds pair with one another but no one's phones can pair with it (I've tried Samsungs, iPhones and HTC Ones).

    - The warranty button is fake. You paid for a one-year warranty? Warranty, to crazybaby, is the name of their automated machine that says "we will respond within 36 hours." You can talk to warranty all you want, but warranty kind of doesn't talk back.

    - All phones are dead in crazybaby. You may contact them in any way you wish, but unless you call the Ghostbusters, you will never hear a peep from crazybaby. Because they ghost you.

    Do NOT purchase Air by crazybaby, unless you want to throw money at Allen. He loves that, and he's expanding as we speak.

    Report this product where you can. Flag it to your friends to stay away. Unless you don't like your friends, then recommend this to them, then get a new set of friends later because they will hate you for it.

    Now how do I give less than one star?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy!

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Sep 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like others, I bought it on IndieGoGo. Nice packaging but the product left much to be desired. Music fades in and out, but most importantly, when making phone calls the other side either cannot hear me at all or say I sound like I'm distant and in an echo chamber. They may have a decent speaker but a TERRIBLE microphone. Also, the left and right, though charged, keep turning off or making a sound as if it is.

    I left a message with help desk's answering machine but have low expectations as they cannot fix mine and at this point just want a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Air by crazybaby!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review