About Air Dragon

Because Air Dragon simply plugs into your car’s 12V outlet and fills your tires wherever you go, the manufacturer calls it “the easiest and fastest way to fill your tires.”

With its “powerful” micro-compressor, ergonomic handle, easy-to-read gauge, and long, flexible pressure hose, the company promises that Air Dragon will help anyone take away their fear and guesswork from inflating tires. Simply keep Air Dragon in your glove compartment or trunk and pull it out whenever needed, without having to rely on roadside service.

It’s easy to see how a device like Air Dragon could come in handy, whether you’re just looking to top tires off with a little air, or need to buy some time until you can safely make it to a repair shop. But can you expect Air Dragon to work as quickly and easily as the manufacturer makes it seem? Even if you can, is Air Dragon your best option? We’ll explore all of these factors in this review.

How Does Air Dragon Work?

While the precise details are far outside the scope of this review, traditional air compressors essentially work using a piston to draw air into a chamber, which is then routed into a holding tank. The more that’s added to this tank, the greater the pressure. Then, once the air pressure gets high enough, it can be used to inflate tires, power different tools, and even power cars.

We’re not shown exactly how Air Dragon works, but instead of a holding tank, it appears Air Dragon draws in outside air and routes it directly through a flexible hose, into your car’s tires.

Now, Air Dragon’s manufacturer makes this “micro compressor” seem unique, but is it?

Are There Other Products Like Air Dragon?

We could tell you, but finding out the answer to this question is as easy as typing “handheld tire inflator” into any search engine (hint: there are a lot). Of course, not all of these will be designed exactly like Air Dragon, but from a functionality perspective, they’re essentially identical.

Perhaps the biggest differences between Air Dragon and the competition are price (which we’ll talk more about in a second) and power. What’s this mean for you?

The majority of these handheld tire inflators are powered by interchangeable battery packs that can also be used to power other cordless tools, like drills. In a lot of instances, these batteries provide about 19 volts of power, which translates into about 200 PSI.

On the other hand, Air Dragon’s 12V battery is attached to a cord that plugs into the cigarette adapter in your dashboard. While the manufacturer doesn’t tell us how long this cord is or how much pressure Air Dragon will generate, we found some similar options from third-party manufacturers with 11-12 foot cords that claimed to fill tires to 30 PSI in about 90 seconds.

How Much Does Air Dragon Cost?

One Air Dragon handheld compressor is priced at $39.99 plus $9.99 S&H. You can purchase a second at checkout for an additional $19.99 S&H.

Each Air Dragon includes a home adapter kit that can help you inflate anything around the house, including balls, pool floats, bicycle tires, strollers, and more.

Air Dragon comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. If you purchased the BOGO offer, this means you’ll immediately lose $30, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship them back to the manufacturer.

To request a refund, Telebrands’ customer service department can be reached at 855-668-1655. What do we know about Telebrands?

What Kind of Reputation Does Air Dragon Have with Customers?

The HighYa team specializes in reviewing many ASOTV products as soon as they’re launched, so there weren’t any online customer reviews for Air Dragon at the time of our research.

However, Telebrands is the top dog in the As Seen on TV industry, having launched hundreds of products during its 30 years in business, including recent options like Pocket Hose Ultra, TouCan Can Opener, Mighty Blaster, and many others.

Overall, these products (and most As Seen on TV products in general, including those from other manufacturers) tend come with 2-star or lower average ratings here on HighYa. Why? Common complaints center around failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

From a company perspective, Telebrands was recently in hot water with the NJ Attorney General’s office for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. The company ended up settling for a $550K fine and admitted no wrongdoing.

Telebrands also had a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 955 closed complaints (as of 5/12/16), most of which referenced the same concerns above.

Does all of this have any bearing on what you’ll experience with Air Dragon? We’re not saying this is the case—only that it’s worth considering.

Will Air Dragon Help You Say “Goodbye” to Roadside Assistance?

Like we mentioned at the beginning of this review, it’s not difficult to foresee dozens of instances where Air Dragon would be useful—stranded on the side of the road with your little ones, as but one example. Whether or not it’ll help you avoid calling roadside assistance, though, depends on a variety of other factors.

Is your tire punctured so severely that it’ll no longer hold air? If so, that means it will need to be changed, rendering Air Dragon obsolete. Then, do you have the necessary tools to accomplish this? Do you know how to change a tire safely? Even so, are you in a safe enough area where you can change your tire without risking injury (e.g. not the narrow shoulder of a busy freeway)?

Taking these factors into consideration, there seems to be a fairly narrow set of car-related circumstances ideally suited to Air Dragon; namely, if your tire is running a little low from normal use. Outside of this, it seems like Air Dragon might only be useful as a replacement for a manual air pump to inflate things like bike tires, balls, and so forth.

However, if you’ve had your eye on one of these handheld tire inflators for a while but balked at the price, even with Air Dragon’s fairly steep S&H, you’ll still come in $30+ less than much of the competition. And if you spring for the BOGO offer, you could get two Air Dragons for less than one of the other guys—just keep in mind that you’ll lose a ton in S&H if you process a refund.

What’d you think about Air Dragon? Did it perform well, or was the commercial just full of hot air? Give us your insight by writing a review below!

More on “As Seen on TV” and Infomercial Products:

What to Learn how to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Air Dragon

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 9
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Avoid at all costs

    • Telford, PA,
    • Mar 22, 2017

    The commercials make it seem too good to be true, and it is. It's complete junk. I screw it onto the valve stem, and it gets stuck and takes way too long to go up two measly PSI. It's also very loud and shuts off intermittently. I will be returning it as soon as I can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Air pump

    • Jhconst@comcast.net,
    • Mar 21, 2017

    This unit is the biggest joke and this wouldn't even pump up Tom Brady's so-called under deflated football! Their company it's a disgrace for even putting that commercial on TV insinuating that underinflated footballs get you in trouble. How much trouble did that get Tom Brady in? He made it to the Super Bowl. Good luck to them with their cheap piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the price.

    At the time I started the Air Dragon my tire pressure was 16. To go from 16 to 32 PSI took over twenty minutes. Very slow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    I ordered two Air Dragons on 1-5-2017 and received them on 2-4-2017 without batteries. I was told they would be sent separately, but we have called every week since and every week I'm told that they will be sent next week. I called last week and was promised it would be shipped on 3-10-2017, but I just called now (the middle of March), and I'm really getting frustrated.

    No one in customer service cares. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told none are available. I'm sure I will not get a reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 90 out 91 people found this review helpful

    One star

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 9, 2017

    I ordered this product on January 2, 2017, and I received the product (meaning the case and the holder) in the second week of February. It is now March 6th, and they still have not shipped the batteries. So now I have an item that I cannot use and have been charged my charge card the full price on February 6th.

    I called, and they said to wait for two to four weeks for the batteries, making it a grand total of it at least three months for delivery. I don't even know if it works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 85 out 85 people found this review helpful

    Trash

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 7, 2017

    It is complete and total garbage. There are better options for half the price. I will add more if they do not honor their return policy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 95 out 96 people found this review helpful

    What a piece of crap!

    What a piece of crap! I ordered two, one for each car. The first one actually got so hot it burned out the short air hose. I replaced it with a hose from the second one, it got as hot but didn't burn it out. It took longer than an hour to bring four tires up from 30 PSI to 33. I am going look into reversing the credit card charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 142 out 150 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 4, 2017

    For 70 dollars you can buy a jump starter with cable plugs and an air compressor. This is not a deal, and there is no running line to your lighter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 161 out 165 people found this review helpful

    Air Dragon con

    • Ellicott City, Md,
    • Feb 1, 2017

    I saw the ad which said to call now and get the free light, free shipping and a second one for just the shipping cost. My girlfriend has a bad spot on her rim and she slowly loses air. I figured this would be perfect. I'd have it if I needed it, and I wouldn't have to take her car out to add air.

    I called. They didn't have any info about the free shipping, which raises the price another $20.00, and they are back ordered, so it will be at least eight weeks. I asked if stores carry it. They said multiple places carry it, including Target, Walmart, and the As Seen On TV places. I called Target and WalMart but they've never heard of it and don't carry it but have a similar one for a little more expensive.

    I saw the same ad again. Free light and free shipping. I called and got the same reply. They have no knowledge of that offer and checked their system and couldn't find anything even close. I suggested that they either start giving people the deal advertised on TV or change their ad. I'm sure they don't care. They refund returns minus shipping.

    I'm guessing it's a scam. I guess I'll be paying the extra $30.00 to Target or Walmart for a better quality, guaranteed portable compressor. I was forced to rate them one star because it would not let me leave ZERO stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 208 out 237 people found this review helpful

    I should've listened to the other reviewers about the customer service aspect

    I read the Highya synopsis about bad customer service and thought foolishly to myself, "that won't happen to me!"

    I was purchasing the Air Dragon as a birthday gift, and after placing my order I could not recall if I had selected expedited shipping. I consulted the FAQ, which said to call an 800 number. Side note, yes they have a blurb on the FAQ page about waiting 24 hours to contact them about an order, but my question had to do with the ability to expedite shipping, not a question that requires an order be in their system to track.

    Shortly thereafter, I called the 800 number, followed the numerical prompts to get to customer service, and got Cooper. He was professional, polite, courteous, etc. After a short hold, he came back on the line and said I had chosen the wrong numerical prompt, but he will transfer me to the right department.

    Enter, Naimi (spelling?). Naimi seems to be a call center trainee, as the only person I can hear is a very loud man who must sit in the cubicle next to her. As soon as she took me off speakerphone, I was able to hear her much better. 15 minutes later, she determines that I've pressed the wrong buttons again (even though I was transferred to her directly, by Cooper). She transfers me.

    Guess who answers?

    If you guessed Cooper, you'd be right, and wow, he's great at apologizing profusely and repeatedly for things outside his job description.

    And then I got the FINAL transfer.

    Cooper somehow got the right transfer, but after another ten minutes, the dude just comes back on the line to say, "Sorry, I can't expedite shipping on THAT product."

    Moral of the story is that I believe you, Highya, and I am sorry for doubting you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 26, 2017

      W. Michael Humbert

      Are there any reviews in regards to how well the product functions? Is it reliable to insert the programmed amount of air as advertised?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for Air Dragon!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review