About Air Hawk Compressor

The handheld, cordless Air Hawk Compressor promises to pull in the outside air, compress it, and route into whatever you need—whether car and bike tires, toys, sports equipment, air mattresses, and more.

According to the company, Air Hawk is fast, convenient, and easy to use, and is able to inflate any tire “in just seconds,” while its compact design allows it to be stored in just about any cabinet, car, or a drawer.

We’re also told that Air Hawk comes equipped with 3 different nozzles, a digital LED display, a built-in light, and an auto-stop feature that will shut down when once the correct tire pressure is reached, as well as a rechargeable battery.

Sure, a device like the Air Hawk Compressor might help you avoid bulky compressors and messy canned air, but will it deliver a solid value? Can you expect it to be there for you in the event of an emergency? Will it last?

You want to know as much as possible about Air Hawk Compressor before handing over your money, and we aim to deliver. So, let’s start with compressor basics.

How Do Air Compressors Work?

Whether you’re talking about small handheld devices like Air Hawk, or giant machines that have to be pulled behind a truck, air compressors can be useful in just about every aspect of life.

In order to do their job, most air compressors use a reciprocating piston to create a temporary vacuum, which pushes open a valve to allow a small amount of air into a holding tank.

From there, the more strokes the piston performs, the more air enters the tank, where it’s stored under pressure. When this pressure is released, the energy it contains can be used to power tools, air up your tires, and much more.

Given what we just learned, does Air Hawk mean the definition of an air compressor?

Taking a look at the picture below, it appears that Air Hawk doesn’t feature any kind of holding tank. Instead, it seems like it’s simply pulling the outside air straight through and forcing it into whatever’s needed.

Given this, we think a more appropriate name would be ‘Air Hawk Tire Inflator’ than Air Hawk Compressor. Let’s continue this thought in the next section.

Does the Air Hawk Compressor Have Any Competition?

Using what we just learned, if you search online for “handheld air compressor” or “handheld tire inflator,” you’ll find several options that are meaningfully similar to Air Hawk, including the Airman Rechargeable Inflator (which also features an LED gauge), the Craftsman Cordless Inflator Compressor Digital Pump, and many others.

And if you slightly change your search term to “portable tire inflator,” you’ll find dozens more options that might be slightly larger than handheld devices like Air Hawk Compressor, but could foreseeably meet your needs just as well.

In fact, except for the color scheme, the Air Hawk Compressor appears to be essentially identical to another ASOTV product named the Airman Handheld Airgun Compressor—although it’s priced much higher at $80.

Speaking of price, you’ll find that many of the handheld options fall between $40 and $70, while the slightly larger portable models come in lower at between $30 and $50. Comparatively, what will you pay for the Air Hawk Compressor?

How Much Does the Air Hawk Compressor Cost?

The Air Hawk Compressor is priced at 2 payments of $29.95 plus $14.95 S&H, in addition to a $1 web service fee.

For this price, you’ll receive one Air Hawk unit, a rechargeable battery, AC charger, and 3 nozzles. However, all orders are automatically upgraded to the Deluxe model, which comes with a carrying case, car charger, and built-in LED light.

All Air Hawk orders come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. To request one, OnTel’s customer service department can be reached at 844-570-9860.

For Canada orders, according to www.buyairhawk.ca, Air Hawk Compressor is priced at 2 payments of $39.95 plus $9.95 for shipping & handling.

What Can We Learn From Air Hawk Compressor Reviews?

In order to make sure you have the information you need, when you need it, we tend to review products as soon as they hit the market, which means they often don’t have any customer feedback yet.

However, we’ve reviewed dozens of other OnTel products over the years, including Big Vision Eyewear, Veggetti, Foot Angel, and many others. What’s everyone saying?

HighYa readers seem to rate these products an average of 2.5 stars. While many claimed to have had positive experiences, the most common complaints referenced lower quality than expected, that they didn’t perform as advertised, and inflated S&H charges.

Does this mean you’ll encounter the same after placing your order for the Air Hawk Compressor? Without testing it ourselves, we can’t be sure. But given the reputation for ASOTV products in general (not just those from OnTel), we think you should have a full understanding of the situation before placing an order.

Who Might the Air Hawk Compressor Work Best For?

As we explained above, in order for something to be considered an air compressor, it must 1) compress air and 2) store the air and use it to create energy. However, Air Hawk appears to do neither of these.

Instead, it seems to simply route air from one location (the outside) to another location (the inside of a tire or ball, for example). As such, Air Hawk seems to fall into the tire inflator category that it does the air compressor one.

Given this, if you’re looking for something to power tools, clear debris, or quickly seat tires (such as on a mountain bike), you’d probably be better served by a more traditional compressor.

On the other hand, if you simply need something that can quickly and easily inflate tires, then Air Hawk seems like it might fit the bill.

Just remember that we’re not told about the type of battery it contains, so we can’t know how long it’ll hold a charge. As such, if you’re thinking about keeping one in your glove compartment for emergencies, be sure to test the battery and recharge often.

Finally, it’s worth noting that you’ll be putting at least $15 in non-refundable S&H charges (plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back if you’re dissatisfied) on the line by giving the Air Hawk Compressor a try.

What’d you think about the Air Hawk Compressor? Tells us your thoughts by writing a review below!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Customer Reviews for Air Hawk Compressor

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • Up to expectations and more!

    • Melbourne, Victoria, Australia,
    • Jul 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was initially apprehensive about the Air Hawk Compressor and whether it would do what is claimed. I used it on two vehicles upon receiving it and was relieved to discover that it certainly does what is claimed and is so quick and easy to use. I am amazed at how quickly it inflates a tire to the level required. Highly recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Thank you to the honest reviewers

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'd like to thank those people who gave honest feedback good and bad. You greatly helped me with my decision to not purchase this item. It's being advertised on TV here and it caught my interest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Good inflator

    • Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is a pretty good at inflating tires, but in the dark, I lost the rubber seal that you put the hose into behind the red screw cap. I cannot find a new one. I am going to have to figure something out, so I can use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Air Hawk review

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start by saying that all "dry" compressors will get hot due to the fact that there is no oil in them, they are treated with Teflon, most instructions will tell you when to stop and let it cool down, but this is normal. So far I've used it to inflate 12 cars and two motorcycle tires, and it performed just fine. I checked the accuracy of the gauge, and it is within a pound.

    If you're tired of dragging your air hose around the garage and driveway, or need a good portable compressor, this unit is fine. Remember to push the left button to PSI if you live in the U.S. Like anything else, READ the owner's manual first!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great bit of kit

    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got an Air Hawk cordless pump a couple of weeks ago and I think it's fantastic. I have not had any problems, and so far so good. It works fine and it keeps its charge very well!

    I'm very very happy with my new toy, but I'm after a spare battery for it? And so if the company reads my review, can you please let me know where and how I can purchase a spare battery? My email address is above.

    Thank you,

    Mesh.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 125 out 130 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Coral Springs, FL,
    • May 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Avoid this piece of garbage at all costs! They even lied about the case they will send. Don't be a sucker. I hate the product and the deception of its company. The case received is not even close to the case shown in the commercial. Complete embarrassment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 125 out 129 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Central Otago, New Zealand,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a number of uses for a tool like this, but this ain't it! Vaughn the halfwit marketer had all the right answers, "I used mine to re-inflate my grandfather's flat tractor tire," but he neglected to tell me how many days it took. He did say it only took one charged battery, what a load of crap! Upon receiving it, I charged it immediately before use. It took six and a half minutes to inflate 1 x 195/65 x 15 tire, and it was really warm by the time it achieved a 2-kpa (30psi) pressure. It's going back tomorrow.

    In short, this is cheap Chinese crap, don't waste your time and money buying it! If you do, you deserve the result.

    Cheers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 107 out 112 people found this review helpful

    This is junk

    I finally got my Air Hawk. I was expecting something better from seeing the commercial. It does not hold a charge at all. I am definitely getting a refund; it wasn't worth the cost. Do not waste your money on this product made of cheap plastic.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 130 out 134 people found this review helpful

    Not

    I have yet to use my Air Hawk. I got it as a gift for my birthday, and it arrived defective. The company said I would need to provide a receipt for them to replace the defective part (the 12 volt CD power unit), which I cannot do. Without this, they will not replace the not working part. It is easier to deal with a flat than their "customer service," which is as lacking as air in a flat tire.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 115 out 117 people found this review helpful

    What a cheap made piece of junk

    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • May 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This gadget shows how tough and strong it is. It is a cheap plastic piece. The end tip broke off after the second time. It took forever to pump up 5 lbs of air in a riding mower tire. Don't waste your money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 102 people found this review helpful

    Air Hawk Hand Held Compressor Deluxe

    I must admit I was a little skeptical ordering this item from a TV Commercial since I had just ordered a Maglite which was not worth a hoot.

    It was supposed to hold a metal service to assist you in dark areas.

    Needless to say, it fell from the side of my truck and wham, into the radiator. Goodbye. Now that was a scam and I am sure you have seen it on TV.

    Back to the Air Hawk. It is not a scam. I ordered it, it took about 10 days to arrive, I kept tracking it and the dated changed, but finally, it arrived.

    It was well packaged. Being as I said skeptical, I immediately jumped in and tried it out. Was I surprised? I started with my vehicles my emergency generator tires, riding lawn mower tires, a football, and basketball and soccer ball. I didn't have beach items to air, but I had fun.

    This little compressor's advertisement speaks for itself, and it is no scam as I said.

    Now let’s not forget that it will cost you at least $1.25 to air all your tires and that is if you run around fast like a rabbit. Well, I have said my piece.

    I intend to purchase another for my truck. I don't think it will help on the road with a flat as the advertised, but around the home, you cannot beat it for the price. I rate it 5, it's easy and recommend to all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Air Hawk Compressor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review