About American Addiction Centers

At American Addiction Centers, they claim to use a variety of evidence-based techniques to help those suffering from alcohol, drug, and other addictions to change their behaviors, and to achieve successful results. According to the company’s website, they have helped tens of thousands individuals complete their programs, and to lead “clean and happy lives.”

American Addiction Centers holds an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on four closed complaints. While individual reviews for the company appear to be relatively rare, those we located during our research often complained that the company places profits above healing patients (see here, here, and here).

American Addiction Centers Facilities & Programs

American Addiction Centers offers a variety of evidence-based programs that are focused on helping patients to achieve success and break free from the cycle of addiction to alcohol and other drugs. The company claims that their staff of “drug addiction specialists, seasoned physicians and licensed therapists" are “structured to handle virtually any addiction issues that enter our doors.” In addition, all treatment programs are tailored to meet an individual’s specific needs—mind, body and soul.

American Addictions Centers is CARF accredited, and their techniques are rooted in scientific research, “according to data, observation, experimentation and other important, research-based factors.” The company believes that recovery is possible for anyone, and they want to help patients “find their own believable hope, and to live a life they love.” Their primary goal is to bring hope to patients, and to give them the tools to make a “better life a lasting reality.”

Although American Addiction Centers is headquartered in Brentwood, TN, they have five different facilities all across the country:

  • Greenhouse: Dallas, TX – Built by Neiman Marcus, this large facility focuses primarily on co-curring disorders, in addition to substance abuse and behavioral/mental health, through 4-week curriculum-based programs.
  • Desert Hope: Las Vegas, NV – A “12-step” facility that focuses on traditional therapies meant to address trauma and behavioral health problems.
  • Forterus: Southern CA – Encompasses 11 different homes in Murrietta and San Diego, and is focused on providing medical detox, family therapy, and many other programs.
  • Singer Island: Palm Beach, FL – With “more onsite, full-time clinical psychologists than any other treatment center,” this facility provides extended care, massage, and 24/7 medical supervision services.
  • The Academy: Palm Beach, FL – Provides specialized substance abuse treatment for adolescents between the ages of 13 and 17.
  • FitRx: Nashville, TN – Focused primarily on helping individuals recover from eating disorders through comprehensive, holistic programs.

American Addiction Centers programs include:

  • Adolescent Care – Structured for the needs of younger individuals, and focused on complete wellness including education, family support, nutrition, and even aftercare.
  • Lifestyle Wellness – Helps engender a complete (mind, body, and spirit) transformation through clinical treatment, education, and lifestyle choices.
  • Behavioral Health Services – Helps address the needs of clients with dual diagnoses, including problem solving strategies, recognizing destructive behaviors, and understanding the stages of change.
  • Medical Detox – Focused on providing a safe, comprehensive environment in which to remove drug residuals, and then to quickly follow up with residential treatment.
  • Employee Care – Provides adjunct support to help companies provide professional services to their employees, while also handling all the administrative duties behind the scenes.
  • Clinical Assessment – Through a careful evaluation, each patients’ needs are assessed on an individual basis, and a customized treatment plan is formulated.
  • Residential Rehabilitation – 12-step programs that include intensive group and individual therapy sessions, structured activities, and educational support for live-in patients.
  • Aftercare – Provides support to help patients maintain success after they have left the facility.

American Addiction Centers Pricing & Refund Policy

Because each American Addictions Centers program is individually customized, length of stay (if required) and pricing can vary a great deal. However, the company claims that most insurance is accepted.

Unlike many other treatment facilities, American Addiction Centers offers a treatment guarantee that states, “If you successfully complete our 90-day program, we guarantee you’ll stay clean and sober, or you can return for a complimentary 30-days of treatment.”

If you have questions about pricing and/or the American Addiction Centers treatment guarantee, they can be contacted at 888-300-3332 or contactaac@contactaac.com.

Pros:

  • Wide variety of treatment facilities and programs to meet most patients’ needs.
  • All employees are claimed to practice evidence-based techniques.
  • Treatment guarantee.
  • Accepts most insurance.

Cons:

  • Several complaints of the company putting profits over patient care.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for American Addiction Centers

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 15
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Committed Fraud, Supplied Fictious Documents, and Committed Negligence, Fraud, and Broke their Fiduciary Responisbility!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 22, 2016

    They lied to me assuring they processed the necessary paper work and received permission from my probation officer to leave the state, to be told they are to that week after arriving and crossing state lines. They assured my mother that their legal department will and has done everything legally necessary for me to leave my state. They also provided a letter to my mom and my self claiming to have sent it to my probation officer, but my officer assured me she never received a letter from American Addiction Center. I showed the PO what I was provided with by American Addictions Center, they statute in Florida state requiring probation officer to accept and terminate probation if I were to complete program (though my issues are not drug related).

    I only made first contact with probation officers after my arrival at the facility and I was making this situation a major issue with every employee I was supervised by. A week later my clinician and I spoke over the phone and I found that she received no letter, voicemail, email or any other form on correspondences.

    At that time, I learned was violated due to American Addiction Center's misrepresentation, negligence, and attempt to deny and cover up attempt to intentionally cover up all wrong doing. They have destroyed my life as a result of their fraudulent statements, acts, documents, they provided or said , which appears was all done just to assure me everything was legal to enter their treatment facility. If someone would've just admitted the mistake, I could've handled it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    The worst of the worst!

    American Addiction is the worst of the worst. Since they have taken over many prior centers, those centers became horrible. E.G. Singer Island. I went to many including Texas. I HIGHLY do not recommend any American Addiction facilities. They are corporately owned, do not have enough staff, all they care about is the money period.

    If there is any other facility USE IT. Don't use ANY American Addiction, you don't get what you need. Ambrosia and FL House are MUCH better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Misleading new facility with poor administration

    • New Brunswick, NJ,
    • Dec 12, 2015

    I went to Sunrise House and my insurance covered me for about 2 weeks. The day my insurance was cut off, they told me. They gave me no preparation. I was devastated. My counselor was amazing, but the counselors were overworked and stressed - you could just tell. There was never enough time to meet with my counselor who had to squeeze me in once a week because they were understaffed. The counselors really do care about the patients but I think AAC is all about money. They even told me they have equine and music therapy there but they don't. Some people get special privileges and are allowed to stay a full 30 days. It's all about who you know, not about how sick you are and how much help you need. They need to start being honest with patients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do no send your child to the academy.

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Nov 27, 2015

    If you are considering sending your child to this facility please go check it out in person for yourself. NONE of what they tell you on the phone is true. The literally "sell" you on their facility and it is a sham.

    The kids there know how to work their system and get their certificate of completion. Their therapists are a joke. The staff lies continually and when they are confronted about their falsification and double talk they push off onto other staff.

    The techs provide the kids with contraband items and then kids are penalized. Set the kids up for failure.

    Do your own investigations. This company is profit driven not patient driven. They are a sham.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Dessert hope is bad

    • Las Vegas,
    • Oct 4, 2015

    Just got back and my therapist was an idiot and he called my girlfriend to make me stay and he now is in charge of IOP. He just cared about the money, well that's all they care about. Said they would help me with therapy, ha what a joke. The BHT'S would do treatment and would put a movie on and they are not or should not be running a class, because they really don't know. I'm very surprised that they don't have lawsuit because when I was there I notice the sex, drugs and abuse they have. There also I saw a young woman get her behind grabbed and she wanted her parents and they did not let her call them. All they did was ship the guy to Florida. This place is nasty inside and out. If I was the owner I would show up with not saying anything, but then again he is all about the money because that's what my therapist made me think.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Other reviews seem extreme and biased

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I spent 35 days in their Greenhouse facility just outside Dallas, TX. While the web site seemed to stretch the truth no one I talked to lied to me. Every question I or my family had was answered truthfully. There were no tricks played. Everything was up front. I knew of all of their policies regarding property and early departure before being signed in. I was allowed to keep all money and credit cards on my person that I wanted to. The others I locked away. After my 5 day period was over I was allowed to use the phone and Internet during my signed up for time slot. I was also able to make emergency calls a couple times when I needed to contact family outside of those time slots. I was never denied meds and talked to my therapist (Paul) for over a hour at least once a wk. My "process" group at most had 10 people in it and was my favorite group of the day along with the "peer support" group at the end of the day. While at times the Greenhouse seemed understaffed I never felt scared or nervous about my care. They seemed to be learning a new curriculum while I was there and something's got repetitive. All the therapists an teachers seemed to genuinely care for every client. You need to go into this realizing it's a for-profit company. They do care about their bottom line but worked their tails off to make sure I can afford to stay as long as I needed.

    The food was 5 star and so was the cleanliness. You aren't there to relax. It's not a "spa" but does have some spa like amenities. The "BHT" were fantastic and super friendly. If you need to be watched and have a "drill Sargent" hammering you, this isn't the facility for you. You need to want to get healthy yourself. They provide you with the tools but don't force anything on you. Not recommended for anyone that is immature or doesn't have the drive/want to get better. I was hopeless when I arrived. Wanted to die. They helped me see that I wasn't alone.

    In the end you take away from it what you put into it. I would highly recommend this particular facility to anyone I care about. I didn't think I stood a chance at sobriety but because of them I'm now at 4 plus months clean and don't see that changing anytime soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2015

      Jessica M.

      Just got back from the Singer Island facility and I completely agree with everything you've said. You get back EXACTLY what you put into this. This place is not for rich kids who are being 'forced' to come or as a place to hide at while dodging warrants or court. You can tell by talking to someone for 2 minutes if they're really taking it seriously or not; I'm sad to say a LOT of people I was at Singer Island with came in thinking the entire thing was a joke. Very sad, and they wasted a lot of their loved ones' money in the process.

    • Mar 28, 2015

      Stu

      GHTC is a great place for 30+. It is not equipped to handle young heroin addicts, especially with a pimp next door throwing bags over the fence. That is why you see the discrepancy in reviews.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work for me

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I stayed only a short time, due to the neglect, violating my civil rights not allowing me to call my family, or 911, they had all my credit cards so I couldn't go any where, wounded up in ER a few days later just like a lot of other people while I was there. The only good thing I can say is that BHT's knew I was being neglected and told me they wish they could do some thing but really fear loosing their jobs or worse.

    I went for help but did not have a chance, I will tell all when I can. I stress that you should please do your home work before going into this facility or any for that matter. I had Trauma and actually a lot of it and this place added to it. That's the the truth.

    If you want a spa and just to relax and have the money do that, or really want sobriety, look somewhere else. Run from this place because all they want is your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Clients and families beware. Look beyond the "smoke and mirrors".

    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Before you are swayed by the slick on-line, TV, and phone marketing, investigate "reviews" of this company and their treatment before you or a loved one gets coerced by promises they cannot and will not keep.

    They will overwhelm you will "informed consent" that relates to billing, expenses and policies that are as confusing as signing a mortgage (did you read all the forms at your closing?). You will NOT get what you think you are getting and the outcome can be almost as bad as not getting treatment in some cases. They are not equipped to provide the "individualized dual diagnosis treatment" they advertise and will do everything they can to "pound all square pegs into their round holes" in order to fill beds and make money. Explore other alternatives first and get expert local advice before you agree to or sign anything.

    First, know that this company is primarily driven by profits and a "vision" by the founder that is not as driven by "evidence based practices" or "true integrated dual diagnosis treatment" as they advertise. Their slick marketing teams have learned to "talk the talk" but you will not get all they advertise and you will get many, very unpleasant and even unethical surprises that are not part of treatment in true programs that are really dual diagnosis in policy and practice. Their advertisement is more smoke and mirrors than what they will deliver.

    First, the client and family will be overwhelmed by highly trained "marketing specialists" from AAC's "call centers" (NOT clinical specialists) whose unspoken goal is to assess the clinical need but mostly to assess the financial resources the family and person have. "Intervention specialists" and even licensed clinicians all across the country get "referral fees" for sending clients their way. They even "pay for air flights" for some clients with insurance that they like but they will not tell you this unless they have to use it to "get you to sign on".

    If you have insurance of lots of money, they will promise you a lot that they will not deliver. The complaints filed on this company are mostly due to experiences that show that their primary motivation if profit, set above all else. I will describe later the dark side to their "90 day treatment is best" statements on their web site.

    On arrival, the "client" will be handed reams of forms to sign, irrespective of their clinical condition, and often in the middle of the night. These are craftily written to protect the company above all else as well as to support "unspoken" policies that will unfold unexpectedly.

    On the surface they have "clinical rationales" for them but when you see how they are enforced, it will become quickly clear that they are primarily designed to maximize the amount of money they can collect in each case.

    Their "permission to provide treatment" form is full of the usual legalize that few can understand but if you look closely, you are signing away your rights to sue this company even for acts of negligence by their employees. Does that sound like a company more interested in the clients they serve or their own pocket book? This is not the usual contract provided by real medical care providers.

    Any special arrangements they promise you before you sign on are almost certain to NOT be to provided once you arrive. They are ALL subject to the "clinical team's approval" and almost immediately you will be branded as "special" and the conflict this causes between the staff and you will erode much of the therapeutic benefit the program can offer.

    Much of the advertised "curricula" and "amenities" are either not available at all, are highly overstated, or are available only for the client who has lots of extra money and can fight for them to be included in their treatment plan.

    You even have to fight to meet with your therapist and counselor once a week and do not expect it to the "one to two hours" they advertise. If you get to meet with a psychiatrist or psychiatric APRN for more than an hour the entire time you are there you will be lucky. I have seen clients go without needed psychiatric and even detox meds for days or more.

    Most of the groups are basic psycho-education run by minimally trained peer counselors and are driven by the founder's own"curriculum" which is grandiose and far from what most professionals consider integrated dual diagnosis treatment.

    "Group therapy" is provided in "process groups" once a day, in groups as large as 20 to 30 individuals, and often are preempted by constant "exit ceremonies" and other non- therapy related functions. This is far from clinical standards for group therapy.

    Once you arrive, you will have to give up all your money, except about $20, as well as all your credit and debit cards to "protect them from theft". Look closely at the "property checklist" and you will see that if you do not stay the entire 30 days, for whatever reason, they will not give them back to you but will mail them to you within 30 days. Good luck getting home.

    This is connected to a hidden policy that, while it may help some clients who want to impulsively leave for the wrong reasons, has a darker, more profit driven side that will only become clear if you decide you are not getting what you went there for. You will hear of this policy from other clients but it will NOT be clearly or completely explained until you challenge it and even then, they will "hold out" certain "control" options they have right up until the moment you leave.

    If you decide to leave for any reason before 30 days, they will consider it "against medical advice or AMA" and will immediately withdraw any support other than staff who try to convince you to stay and this includes access to phones, your money or your credit cards, and even to a great extent, your family.

    They will also call family members and give them one sided views on what is going on and use them to "keep you in treatment". This is all well and good if we are talking about a reluctant young person whose family sent them to treatment to save their life, or an older alcoholic or addict who has decided to leave treatment because of a conscious or unconscious desire to return to using.

    But if you genuinely feel you are not getting what you paid for or need, or have genuine problems at home or even in the program that relate to safety, they will push this policy to the limit, irregardless of the legitimate concerns you or your family have, and in the end it will become clear that hidden behind their "clinical concern" is the real motive to maximize profits and "pad" their completion statistics.

    At every step of the way they will "blame" the addict/alcoholic for their program shortcomings and even deceptive and unethical policies and procedures, written or otherwise. If you complain, you will be labeled as "focusing on them instead of yourself" and they will adjust your "treatment plan" accordingly.

    Indeed, such "addict behavior" can even be the justification for extending your "medically needed treatment" to 60 or 90 days, with the secondary benefit of more income to them, whether you need it or not. Indeed, if you have good insurance or have lots of money, EXPECT them to pressure you and your family incessantly that you "need" longer treatment and they will NOT individualize this based on family or employment needs (although they will promise you they will).

    Further, if at any point you and your family decide you have made a poor choice and this is not the program you signed up for, leaving will not be that easy.

    They will suddenly tell you that they have a "24 hour cooling off policy" that means you will be offered to either stay in the program or will be "allowed to walk away" for 24 hours before they will return you money, credit cards or help you with discharge plans. This means you or your loved one are on the street, far from home and other supports, for 24 hours, at least, as they have interesting ways to extend this too.

    If there are legitimate issues, they will tell your family that program administrators can "make exceptions" to this policy but the administrators will not be very accessible while they stall to let the "clinical team" work on the family and the client to insure they cannot leave, irrespective of the reasons involved. Again, this may be a good thing IF it is genuinely based on the client, but it will become clear that this rationale is a smoke screen for the primary goal of maximizing their statistics and profits.

    I have seen clients with severe psychiatric problems other than their addiction forced onto the streets by this policy. sometimes they returned in a few days beaten down and ready for "any kind of treatment". Sometimes they did not return. I have seen clients with severe medical problems that are not being clinically addressed appropriately cajoled into staying even though it would be in their best interest to return home for more comprehensive medical care.

    They have "crisis intervention staff" that will respond to anyone who states they want to leave for whatever reason. These are not licensed clinical mental health specialists such as physicians, licensed social workers, psychologists, or nurse practitioners, usually required by most state laws to provide actual "crisis assessment and intervention" and who usually respond as a team. It will be a peer level, perhaps licensed alcohol and drug counselor, who arrives to assess someone who may have severe psychiatric and medical problems related to their desire to leave. As mentioned above, they are there to keep the person in the program at all costs, they have no power to "individualize" the treatment and must refer back to "the team" and administration the next day, and will not asset the person or the family with leaving irrespective of what is going on. They will even prevent the person from contacting family while they liberally call family members to provide their own, biased view of the problems. In many settings, the residential staff are not allowed to even call 911 for medical emergencies until the "crisis person on duty is contacted" and clears them to call, often a hour or more later when they arrive to "assess" if there is a legitimate medical or psychiatric problem.

    I will add more to this site in the days to come. But please research this corporation before you sign on. It is a very good addiction treatment program, and it is coercive and controlling, which may be good for some clients. But their trek record has shown that they do put profits above individualized care and they are not as dually diagnosed capable as they advertise. If you or your loved one has significant co-morbid medical problems, do not expect them to be addressed here (including their assertion of "pain management, nutritional education and therapy, physical therapy, yoga, meditation, etc"). If you or your loved one has significant co-morbid psychiatric problems such as major depression, bipolar disorder, PTSD or other anxiety disorders, or schizophrenia,do expect them to be addressed to any significant extent either in the educational curriculum or clinical treatment. At best, they will get a little medication management that is mostly aimed at keeping them stable enough to remain in the program for as long as possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • May 11, 2014

      Joe from Alphretta

      I'm now convinced that this is not the place for my nephew. We found another facility but American Addiction Centers was still in the back of my mind. You have made me realize that another facility was the best choice.

    • Jul 28, 2014

      Sheila

      Very well said, also so true. They can not help with bipolar treatment.

    • Nov 11, 2014

      Brenda

      So true, and so much more could be added.

    • Jan 25, 2015

      Jorie

      A very will written commendable report and people are reading these. It is quite unfortunate that where there is a lot of money to be made off of someone else's misfortune you'll find a greedy opportunist right on the spot.

    • Feb 18, 2015

      Dave W

      Teddy, Interesting stuff. Very detailed. Were you a patient or did you work there?

    • Apr 23, 2015

      Fran Cohen Wickham

      I kick myself for not having read this before sending my daughter. I'm going to dispute their charge with my credit card company. She may have signed away her rights to sue them, but I have not, and we didn't get what we were promised.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Unethical

    • Jul 18, 2015

    First 10 days were good. That is if you are self reliant. Keep yourself focused and it can help you a great deal. After that its just a waste of time. The place is on autopilot and at times feels like a high school raging out of control. Make you sign forms when your mental state is at risk then if you want to leave they will keep your stuff, meds and all. Good luck outside because if you say the word they brand you as a problem and isolate you from everything regardless of your actual mental state. Funny how much more you are important to them when you want to leave. FYI, keep your stuff on person, don't give it to them because you will want to leave. That's a fact. All help aside. It's just not there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 29, 2015

      Marjorie

      I sympathize with your horrific experience with an American Addiction Center and their way of doing business. They only want to help themselves to your money. I'm $26,500.00 poorer from entrusting a family member into their so called rehabilitation care methods. He left worse off when he left than before he was treated.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't go here.

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    Greenhouse in Grand Prairie, TX ruined my life. It is the absolute worst place I have ever been. I was there for about 45 days and in my time there I got switched from therapist to therapist, eventually seeing four different ones when your only suppose to have one your whole time there. I didn't see the doctor or the psychiatrist until I had been there for weeks.

    The groups are boring, repetitive, and not helpful at all. There are a few BHT's that are okay, but many are wildly inappropriate. One tried to have sex with me while I was still a patient there and another one tried after I left. Other patients were sneaking out every night and bringing back drugs and needles. Practically everybody in the place was getting high while there.

    I couldn't take it anymore and was adamant about leaving. They wouldn't let me call my family, have any of my stuff including my money or phone, and I was just kicked to the curb thousands of miles away from home with nothing. Walking down the street from the facility, someone offered to help me and I ended up being a victim of sex trafficking.

    Apparently these people stay around the facility waiting for girls to leave to do this to them. I am lucky to have escaped with my life after six months and I have the physical and mental scars to prove it. All this happened because of this facility and I do not want anyone to have to go through what I did. Please do not go here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2015

      Jorie

      I'm so sorry to hear that you are yet another victim at one of The American Addiction Centers so called rehab facilities. The complaints are growing every day and the founder, Michael Cartwright keeps lining his pockets.

    • Mar 28, 2015

      MC

      I am sorry that happened to you. That is a tragedy. Everyone has known about "D" for a long time and you were not the only girl from GHTC to be taken. I believe some are still missing. Those were the guys that were selling drugs to GHTC. The CEO was reluctant to work with the police, because it doesn't look good when you know people are continually getting high in your facility but no corrective action is taken due to the insurance money coming in. I hope those BHT's no longer work there. A lot of young people have fallen through the cracks because of the dirty way it's run. Thank you for posting, because those assholes are still preying on the young women there and GHTC is a major funder for the drugs they sell. And something needs to be done about it.

    • Apr 29, 2015

      Jorie

      How is it possible that American Addiction Center stays in business? A doctor or hospital would be sued out of existence for this type of activity.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Rip off and over-marketed.

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Singer Island promises frequent outings, however my loved one only went out a few times to the beach and it was raining both times. They were cooped up inside, which lead to severe depression.

    They got over the withdrawal in a week, but was then given money by American Addiction Centers to buy cigarettes and dip, none of which they did before. Also, any injuries they had (using a punching bag and dislocating knuckle) the "doctors" just put them on heavy and addictive drugs like Oxycodone.

    I sent them a letter, which they never received.

    The only thing they came out with, was more nicotine in their lungs, and heightened depression from having too much time to think and dump on themselves.

    American Addiction Center puts money before the patients. What they advertise makes it seem almost like a resort, but it's more like a prison.

    You send you're loved ones to rehab for get help and heal, not feel like you are punishing them and that they are horrible people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 26, 2015

      Jorie

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience with the American Addiction centers Singer Island facility. I know first hand how devastating this type of situation can be when you are trying to get help for a loved one. You are not the only victim caught in this company's web of deceit and lies. I was victimized by their Las Vegas, NV facility for thousands of dollars as a self paying client for a loved one. This company can not continue taking patient's money fraudulently and stay in business. Continue to post on other web sites like Rip Off.com, Better Business Bureau and Scamorg.com. You may want to view all of the other comments posted at these sites. If we can keep one potential patient from going through what we have endured it will matter.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a review for American Addiction Centers!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review