About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

72 Customer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  66
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 72
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not use this company!

    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't even give this horrible company 1 star. I had an AC company come out, who I have paid my $125 service call fee to them the last two times they came out, and they finally came out to install a new unit for us. A few days after the service I receive an email stating that I was not supposed to pay the service company and that they will be charging my card. I was never told not to pay the company like I had been and they charged my card the $125 service call fee. I got in touch with an agent who told me she would process a credit request for my account and that I should see the credit in seven days, that was the best she could do for me apparently.

    A week goes by, and I never received a credit. I got in touch with an agent who told me she did not see a credit on my account and that it only takes three business days for a credit to show up and that I should have received it by now. She puts me on hold to get in touch with the agent to see how she processed my credit and to make sure she did not. After waiting 30 minutes on hold, I was told she got in touch with the agent that helped me previously and that the request was processed and that I should be receiving it either later that day or tomorrow morning. She also told me she would follow up with me in the morning to make sure I received my credit back on my card.

    The next day comes, and I never receive my credit or a phone call. I call that evening to speak to a lady that I demanded to speak to a supervisor. She transfers me to what sounds like the exact same lady and tells me she is the account manager. I tell her my story and she then informs me credits take 15-20 business days (this is the third new lie I have been told now!), but that she didn't even see a credit even in processing status on my account because no one has reached out to the AC company to verify that I paid them in cash! She put me on hold to call the AC company (even though it was 8 pm at night and no one was going to be in their office). She told me she left them a voicemail to contact her back to get this issue resolved and that she would also email them. She told me she would also follow up with me in the morning to verify everything. I also got her name and number in case I did not hear from her.

    The next day comes and I still never hear from anyone, and no credit has been issued on my account. I call the number that was supposedly was this agent's direct line only to be directed to a completely different agent's voicemail. I call the AC company who tell me they have been having issues with American Home Shield and their owner had already been on the line with them very upset. She told me she would call me back shortly after she looked up my invoice to verify that I paid them cash so we could go from there. She also told me she never received a voicemail from American Home Shield regarding my situation. (lie number five!).

    30 minutes go by, and the AC company calls me back to tell me they will be issuing me a check to take care of my issue because they did not want to deal with American Home Shield anymore. I told them I was very upset with them as well, and I am currently waiting for the AC company to send me a check for $125 service fee they were apparently not supposed to collect from me at the time of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Held on phone 65 minutes to talk to someone.

    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called for a plumber on Thursday night. I called the company directly. It would be six days before they could be there. I called American Homes Shield and was held for 65 minutes before I got to talk. There were no apologies, nothing. I told them to pay my co-payment. This company does not care for you and does not give customer service. Drop them if you have them. They are too expensive!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worse service ever!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has the worse service of any company I have done business with. I have waited on hold one hour for each time I have called four times now. They tell you to file for service online, however, you cannot for certain things as they are not available online. So after you wait on hold for over an hour, they schedule a service call. I waited ten days for a callback! Then am still waiting seven more days for the company to show up to do the service, which so far they have not!

    I have called the service company three times only to be told someone was coming out Tuesday, but they have not shown three days in a row. When I called again, they said they don't know why the service tech has not shown up and they can't reach him! Still, I have no service after two weeks and paid $650 for the warranty. Terrible, go elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great contractor, too bad American Home Shield isn't as efficient

    I filed a claim for my oven in May. I have been back and forth with them after the wonderful contractor from HINCO (Matt) completed his initial visit in a very timely manner. AHS closed the request after I refused to accept a lesser replacement. During this time I received a review on what I thought was AHS because that is how the survey was written, but come to find out AHS placed the bad review I gave them onto the CONTRACTOR.

    LET ME STATE, the review I left for AHS was NOT for HINCO. I have called AHS to have the negative review removed, but was told that the review CANNOT be deleted. Shame on you AHS! Meanwhile, the wonderful contractor from HINCO is here trying his best to repair my oven regardless of the bad review he believed I gave him! AHS has absurdly long telephone wait times, making it nearly impossible to complete a claim efficiently. I am thankful for Matt at HINCO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very poor service

    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think I'm being pretty generous to give it one star. This company provided the worst service I've ever received in my life! The wait was three days to fix a central A/C unit that goes out regularly. The unit appears to be leaking through the ceiling. In Texas summer heat (with triple digit 100+ temperatures), the wait is excessive, especially with sick people in the home.

    Unfortunately, the problem was never fixed and three days later, the issue is back. I stayed on phone with customer service for well over an hour before line dropped. Thoroughly disappointed and unsatisfied!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never use AHS

    Technicians are awful. Also, I called in for a service on a garage door, yet I came to found out that the problem (garage door springs) are not covered. We had to pay the service fee of $125, and a garage door man that came out fix the issue out of pocket. Instead of just the repair. AHS would not waive the service fee. I would not recommend AHS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an American Home Shield customer, you should expect to:

    - Be on hold for 45 minutes to an hour regardless of when you call.

    - Never receive a call back when they tell you they will.

    - Receive below quality work from the companies they contract with to repair your appliances.

    - Pay upfront for services you have not received and that sometimes doesn't happen at all.

    - Be given the run around for a week to a month about major issues.

    - Be told about fine print that does not exist in your contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Air Conditioning

    • Miramar Beach, Florida,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My AC broke down. I called American Home Shield. They dispatched a technician 48 hours later. He arrived at the house and said he would need to come back later that afternoon. I made an appointment with him. He canceled this to the next day. Then he canceled to the following day. Each time I tried to call American Home Shield, I was on hold for over an hour.

    The technician did not turn up again. We were now six days without AC in 90-degree weather.

    I called in another company who replaced the system. Needless to say, American Home Shield did not cover any of it. They had all kinds of excuses. This is what they do. If it can't be fixed cheaply, they don't fix it. And you always have to wait days it to get it fixed.

    Their home warranty is a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2017

      Sheri Curtin

      We just sued them and won $11500 default judgment. We will have to take it to a lawyer to get a lien put on them in reference to this. I'm willing to spend the money to teach them a harsh lesson. It took us two months to get our air conditioning replaced and another couple thousand dollars for wasted time on the phone. I was out and could not our bills for it because I couldn't work during all of this. We spend $1500 to have the electrical work redone because of their installers having wired our unit in properly.

      We sued them for the amount of what it would be to replace the air conditioning that they installed with a unit of the same manufacturer of the compressor. The air handler was also replaced because when they installed this, they ended up putting a Lennix compressor unit in and a Payne air handler in our attic.

      Neither one of them was operational after they installed them. Then, we came to find out that they had hooked up to 110 amp unit instead of a 220 as it should've been. So we also lost the warranty for the bad installation on both units. I would certainly look at taking your case to your local jurisdictional court and sue them for exactly what it cost you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Embarrassing

    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company's customer service is embarrassing. The waiting time for someone to answer is over 45 minutes. After the conversation with representative nothing is resolved. They still send the same company to try to resolve the issue no matter how many times I will call for the same problem. And there is no access to the supervisors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Will not answer phone or respond

    Our air conditioner broke while covered under an American Home Shield policy. It has been five weeks, and it is not fixed. Apparently, no one knows where the parts are. I can't say for certain because American Home Shield just puts us on hold, drops the phone call or promises to call back and then doesn't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful service

    I reported that my nearly new front loading washer was no longer rotating. At first, all was well and I was scheduled immediately with a contractor. But this is also when the problems began. This particular contractor had come to repair my refrigerator over a year ago. They had me unplug the unit to defrost the freezer. The technician merely replied the unit but claimed he had performed a repair. I requested a detailed invoice of the work performed but never received one after both the contractor and American Home Shield gave me the runaround. When the unit failed shortly thereafter, American Home Shield wanted another deductible even though it was never repaired the first time.

    Now, they are dispatching the same horrid company. The first appointment? A no-call/no-show. I attempted to call the appliance company but could only leave messages for days. American Home Shield even attempted but could not reach them. American Home Shield sent them an email notice, and I had to wait 24-48 hours to allow a "fair" amount of time for them to call. 72 hours later, the contractor dispatch said he has had these complaints before and apologized and set-up another appointment. This tech came, and in less than 20 minutes after arrival determined he needed a second opinion but was sure it was the bearings.

    He left, and now the waiting begins again, no call to schedule. Finally, after asking American Home Shield to intervene again, the seasoned tech comes and in minutes without any mechanical observation tells us the two-year-old unit is irreparable and no parts are available, so American Home Shield will contact us about a replacement.

    Days later, with no contact from American Home Shield, I call AGAIN, and now get a report that the contractor ran diagnostics, and due to customer overload, the machine has been damaged, therefore making me ineligible for repair or replacement. What?! When the new front loaders sense that the load is heavy, like too many towels, it alarms, you unload it, and then the machine carries on. I have owned front loaders for over a decade, and I'm well versed on loading the machine.

    So this incompetent company submits this ridiculous report and when I request a second opinion, now they sending Sears! Sears? Sears was an option, but they sent incompetent creeps to my house when I requested they not return? The matter is not resolved, and I will now wait another six days to get an answer. This process is horrible. I highly recommend you get the extended warranty from the individual appliance vendor or manufacturer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 72

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review