About Ankle Genie

Ankle Genie is a neoprene-based compression sleeve that’s claimed to give you the support you need to relieve ankle swelling, reduce inflammation, promote healing, and reduce foot fatigue. In fact, Ankle Genie is even claimed to “re-energize your feet and ankles.”

Compared to other ankle compression sleeves, Ankle Genie features a built-in zipper with an adjustable Velcro strap, so that you can size it according to your needs. In addition, according to the manufacturer, Ankle Genie can be worn over socks or with most kinds of footwear, under clothing, as well as while playing sports.

If you’re suffering from painful, swollen ankles (and who hasn’t at some point?), the Ankle Genie commercial might make it seem like it’s some kind of revolutionary product. As it turns out though, this may not necessarily be the case. Why? Consider the following:

Will Ankle Genie Reduce Your Pain & Swelling?

As we detailed in our compression wear article, compression garments have been shown to improve circulation, reduce inflammation, and decrease recovery time (lactic acid buildup) after intense physical activity.

However, the circulation and inflammation benefits were experienced by using medical-grade compression garments, which require a prescription to purchase and generally provide much greater levels of compression than most consumer-grade products.

With this said, the Ankle Genie website doesn’t provide any information about the level of compression it provides. In fact, based on the fact that it features Velcro straps and a zipper, we’d be inclined to think that whatever level of compression it does provide might not be evenly distributed across your foot and ankle, thereby greatly reducing its overall effectiveness.

Other Ankle Compression Sleeves

Speaking of effectiveness, the manufacturer directly compares Ankle Genie with medical compression socks in their commercial, claiming that the former are much more difficult put on and take off. On the other hand, they claim that Ankle Genie makes the process much easier due to its side zipper.

And ultimately, Ankles Genie’s zipper and Velcro-based adjustability seem to be its primary selling points, although as we mentioned in the previous section, this may come at a cost by creating uneven compression.

Outside of this though, Ankle Genie appears to be no different than a standard neoprene sleeve that can be purchased at your local pharmacy or sporting goods retailer, many of which are less expensive than Ankle Genie, especially considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

In fact, we’ve reviewed many similar alternatives here at HighYa, including Foot Angel, Copper Fit Socks, Miracle Copper Socks, and more. Granted, this doesn’t mean that these options will work any better than Ankle Genie, but the point is that you have options.

Customers Don’t Seem Happy with Ankle Genie

Since writing our original review, nearly 90 HighYa readers have provided their feedback about Ankle Genie, and have given it an average rating of 1.5 stars, with only 4% claiming they’d recommend it to a friend (as of 6/6/15). This is primarily due to complaints of poor quality (Velcro won’t completely close, broken zipper, etc.), improper fit (generally too small, causes more pain than it relieves), and difficult customer service experiences.

It seems like Ankle Genie fared a little bit better on Amazon.com, where it had an average rating of 2.5 stars at the time of our research, based on nearly 200 customer reviews. While some customers claimed that Ankle Genie helped reduce their pain and inflammation, nearly half of all these reviews were 1 star, based on many of the same complaints noted here on HighYa.

From a company standpoint, Ankle Genie is manufactured by Telebrands, who makes hundreds of popular ASOTV products, including Mighty Blaster, Grassology, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and many more. Similar to Ankle Genie, among more than 650 HighYa reader reviews for these products, they had an average rating of 1.5 stars and noted many of the same complaints.

In fact, the Better Business Bureau recently revoked Telebrands’s accreditation, due to an overwhelming number of complaints that consistently reference these same concerns.

Ankle Genie Pricing & Refund Policy

Ankle Genie is priced at $12.99 plus $6.99 S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second sleeve for an additional $6.99 S&H.

Ankle Genie comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you take advantage of the BOGO offer, you’ll end up losing 50% more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-789-4108.

Can Ankle Genie Provide You with Pain Relief?

Chopping to the point: While we’re always willing to give products the benefit of the doubt here at HighYa, based on the overwhelming number of negative customer reviews for Ankle Genie, as well as its very high, non-refundable S&H charges, we’d recommend exploring local options before placing your order.

Better yet, if you’re experiencing regular ankle pain and swelling, you’ll definitely want to speak with your physician about more effective options based on your specific diagnosis. 

90 Customer Reviews for Ankle Genie

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 77
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 90
Sort reviews by:

  • Ankle Genie

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 16, 2015

    One size does not fit all. Not even close for larger feet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 10, 2015

    Don't bother with this product. The Velcro closures do not close completely, leaving the flesh exposed. I have thin ankles, and this item was much too small for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Youngstown Ohio,
    • Mar 27, 2015

    Took out of package, put on, and as I tried to pull up zipper, the zipper broke... waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Ankle Genie

    • United States,
    • Feb 23, 2015

    I just bought ankle genie today. When I got home and opened the package, there was a label attached that there was an odor to neoprene the smell would lessen with time. OK so I put it on. After about 1/2 an hour the smell was so STRONG it made me want to vomit. I removed it and put it outside, never to be worn again, unless the smell is gone forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy these, they are poorly made

    • The Florida Keys,
    • Jan 24, 2015

    I bought two of these Ankle Genies because I have an old injury that creates swelling in my right foot after standing or walking. The compression socks are so hard to put on. I thought these would be great. The first day I tried it on my foot, the zipper broke and would not zip up again. I put the other one on and the same thing happened after about two hours. These are crappy, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Junk. Don't waste your money

    • Canada,
    • Jan 7, 2015

    The Ankle Genie Doesn't fit large feet and the zipper broke after trying to make it work.

    A complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    One size does not fit all

    • Sherman, Texas ,
    • Dec 24, 2014

    I could not get the Ankle Genie to fit comfortably at all. When I finally managed to get it on, the zipper broke! Waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    One size fits only small feet

    • Hartford, CT,
    • Oct 26, 2014

    Junk! Couldn't even fit on my foot but after 5 or so times I really gave up, threw across the room and said that was it. Save your money NOT WORTH THE AGGRAVATION !

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    It's helpful

    • Monroe, La,
    • Oct 25, 2014

    This compression ankle apparatus is helpful. I wear it for a couple of hours when I get home from work. The only thing better is a real foot and calf massage, but who can afford that everyday?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    wasted money and zipper breaks

    • Texas,
    • Oct 23, 2014

    Don't buy zipper breaks and is made of plastic. If you must, then go to Amazon for $2.99. The zipper broke and so I wasted my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Uncomfortable seam

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Oct 19, 2014

    Tight band going around your foot has a thick seam at the top that actually hurts! Also has a poor fit. Wasn't able to adjust bottom closure small enough, but the top closure couldn't be made large enough. I have a pretty average ankle size. Returned immediately. Brace from my Dr is bulkier, but more comfortable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 90

Write a review for Ankle Genie!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review