About Ankle Genie

Ankle Genie is a neoprene-based compression sleeve that’s claimed to give you the support you need to relieve ankle swelling, reduce inflammation, promote healing, and reduce foot fatigue. In fact, Ankle Genie is even claimed to “re-energize your feet and ankles.”

Compared to other ankle compression sleeves, Ankle Genie features a built-in zipper with an adjustable Velcro strap, so that you can size it according to your needs. In addition, according to the manufacturer, Ankle Genie can be worn over socks or with most kinds of footwear, under clothing, as well as while playing sports.

If you’re suffering from painful, swollen ankles (and who hasn’t at some point?), the Ankle Genie commercial might make it seem like it’s some kind of revolutionary product. As it turns out though, this may not necessarily be the case. Why? Consider the following:

Will Ankle Genie Reduce Your Pain & Swelling?

As we detailed in our compression wear article, compression garments have been shown to improve circulation, reduce inflammation, and decrease recovery time (lactic acid buildup) after intense physical activity.

However, the circulation and inflammation benefits were experienced by using medical-grade compression garments, which require a prescription to purchase and generally provide much greater levels of compression than most consumer-grade products.

With this said, the Ankle Genie website doesn’t provide any information about the level of compression it provides. In fact, based on the fact that it features Velcro straps and a zipper, we’d be inclined to think that whatever level of compression it does provide might not be evenly distributed across your foot and ankle, thereby greatly reducing its overall effectiveness.

Other Ankle Compression Sleeves

Speaking of effectiveness, the manufacturer directly compares Ankle Genie with medical compression socks in their commercial, claiming that the former are much more difficult put on and take off. On the other hand, they claim that Ankle Genie makes the process much easier due to its side zipper.

And ultimately, Ankles Genie’s zipper and Velcro-based adjustability seem to be its primary selling points, although as we mentioned in the previous section, this may come at a cost by creating uneven compression.

Outside of this though, Ankle Genie appears to be no different than a standard neoprene sleeve that can be purchased at your local pharmacy or sporting goods retailer, many of which are less expensive than Ankle Genie, especially considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

In fact, we’ve reviewed many similar alternatives here at HighYa, including Foot Angel, Copper Fit Socks, Miracle Copper Socks, and more. Granted, this doesn’t mean that these options will work any better than Ankle Genie, but the point is that you have options.

Customers Don’t Seem Happy with Ankle Genie

Since writing our original review, nearly 90 HighYa readers have provided their feedback about Ankle Genie, and have given it an average rating of 1.5 stars, with only 4% claiming they’d recommend it to a friend (as of 6/6/15). This is primarily due to complaints of poor quality (Velcro won’t completely close, broken zipper, etc.), improper fit (generally too small, causes more pain than it relieves), and difficult customer service experiences.

It seems like Ankle Genie fared a little bit better on Amazon.com, where it had an average rating of 2.5 stars at the time of our research, based on nearly 200 customer reviews. While some customers claimed that Ankle Genie helped reduce their pain and inflammation, nearly half of all these reviews were 1 star, based on many of the same complaints noted here on HighYa.

From a company standpoint, Ankle Genie is manufactured by Telebrands, who makes hundreds of popular ASOTV products, including Mighty Blaster, Grassology, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and many more. Similar to Ankle Genie, among more than 650 HighYa reader reviews for these products, they had an average rating of 1.5 stars and noted many of the same complaints.

In fact, the Better Business Bureau recently revoked Telebrands’s accreditation, due to an overwhelming number of complaints that consistently reference these same concerns.

Ankle Genie Pricing & Refund Policy

Ankle Genie is priced at $12.99 plus $6.99 S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second sleeve for an additional $6.99 S&H.

Ankle Genie comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you take advantage of the BOGO offer, you’ll end up losing 50% more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-789-4108.

Can Ankle Genie Provide You with Pain Relief?

Chopping to the point: While we’re always willing to give products the benefit of the doubt here at HighYa, based on the overwhelming number of negative customer reviews for Ankle Genie, as well as its very high, non-refundable S&H charges, we’d recommend exploring local options before placing your order.

Better yet, if you’re experiencing regular ankle pain and swelling, you’ll definitely want to speak with your physician about more effective options based on your specific diagnosis.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

92 Customer Reviews for Ankle Genie

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 77
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 92
Sort reviews by:

  • Good support

    • Mar 3, 2016

    I have a chronic ankle sprain and pain issue. Ankle Genie gives me relief from pain and also the support I need daily. I have tried many ankle supports and sleeves, this is by far the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very helpful

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 8, 2016

    I have two metal screws in my ankle and it's gets swollen and fat. I got the Ankle Genie as a gift and it's so easy to put on, it fits and feels amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ankle Genie

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    One size does not fit all. Not even close for larger feet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very good.

    • Minnesota,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    I admit that I hadn't seen the Ankle Gene on TV, and when I bought it ( just happened upon it while browsing through my local Walgreens' store a few days ago), it wasn't what I thought it was (I thought it was more of an ankle brace) but, it does seem to help the pain in my ankle and foot. It fits well and stays in place. I've read through several reviews that mentioned problems with the zipper/zipper pull and I've had no problems with mine. The first day, I wore it for about 10 hours, about the same again the second day, and it was comfortable all day both days, I definitely notice a difference in how my foot feels when I wear it, so for me, it has been a worthwhile purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Zipper problems

    • Wisconsin,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    After one week of wear, the zipper parted and would not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Telephone Scam

    • California,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I called the telephone number and got an automated response. It is required that you give all your information including credit card and shipping address right away. I expected to get a confirmation number but the automated voice continued to try to sell me their other products. I got disgusted and hung up believing the order wasn't completed. They charged my card plus shipping. A $20 order became $39.96.

    I had it shipped to my sister in ND and I'm in CA so I can't return it and she is now in assisted living. Don't fall for the telephone scam. Fortunately, it is charged to my AM Ex card and they took it off my bill.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 30, 2014

      Sandra lemons

      I purchased this item at local Walmart, unfortunately half way into it's use the zipper broke. I would not waste the money on this again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • North Dekota,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    The zipper broke the first time I put it on. Hard time to get them on. Not like on TV. Finally got one on so I will try it today. So far, junk.

     

     

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Feeling ripped off

    • Goshen, NY,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    First, I wish to say we feel we were deceived at the price we paid. Second, two months later, and one of the two ankle genies we received, the zipper keeps breaking. The service rep was very cordial on the phone, but said since it is over 30 days later, he cannot replace the "faulty zipper" one. Very disappointed in this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Ankle Genie is an awful Product

    • Florida,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    The zipper broke after only the second use and unfortunately I was out of town when they arrived and didn't try them until after the 30 day guarantee was up. The reason I was out of town was because it took them over three weeks to ship. I was told over the phone that they were sorry they couldn't help me since the 30 days was over then ended by saying ok? No it's not fine and so I asked for a supervisor and got the same foreign speaking person, maybe a brother? When I asked for a manager they told me my call was already transferred once and could not be transferred again, really? I asked for this agent's name and he gave me Gilbert Hunt. I don't think a person with your accent is named Gilbert Hunt. Don't buy this item as the zipper is cheaply designed and will not realign itself, as most other zippers of this type do. A real rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Complete fraud.

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    One size does not fit all. My husband can't even get his foot into the sleeve. People who need to wear compression hose have leg and foot swelling due to their health condition causing it.

    Isn't there a product out there that works on this idea of a zippered compression hose? Ankle Genie lies when it says one size fits all.

    No product is one size fits all. Should have taken the hint that this was a rip off on the disabled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    Don't bother with this product. The Velcro closures do not close completely, leaving the flesh exposed. I have thin ankles, and this item was much too small for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 92

Write a review for Ankle Genie!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review