About Aqua Stone

Aqua Stone is a clay humidifier sold by Telebrands that claims to be an all-natural way to moisturize the air in any room of your house. They promise it uses no electricity or batteries; just fill the basin with water and they state it will absorb and disperse it automatically.

But is Aqua Stone Humidifier really as revolutionary as it sounds? Or is it just another product from Telebrands that on the surface seems cool, but…

How Aqua Stone Works

Aqua Stone Humidifier is a piece of round clay of unknown size and density that looks like an egg; it comes with its own black basin. To use Aqua Stone, they instruct you to pour cold or room temperature water over the Aqua Stone, filling the basin. They claim the clay will naturally and silently absorb the water and then the moist clay will release tiny water droplets into the air. Yay, science is fun!

Aqua Stone Humidifier promises it works in rooms of any and that you won’t have to constantly fill or clean it. They add Aqua Stone will naturally regulate the perfect amount of moisture into the air. They claim a humidifier is beneficial to the health, especially in the winter, when lips and skin get dry. They add humidifiers can help treat colds or flu as well as ease asthma and reduce static electricity in the air; however, they provide no source to back up these claims.

Aqua Stone Humidifier Pricing and Returns

Aqua Stone costs $12.99 plus $7.99 S&H for a total of $21.98. At checkout time you can order an additional Aqua Stone for another $7.99 in fees. These fees are non-refundable.

Telebrands offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on Aqua Stone Humidifier; however, you must include a written explanation as to why you are returning it, otherwise they could reject your request. They will keep your $7.99 shipping fee and you will also have to pay to send it back yourself.

Bottom Line: Is Aqua Stone Humidifier a Scam?

The science behind Aqua Stone is valid; clay can serve as a natural humidifier. But there are a few things we feel we should point out about Aqua Stone.

First, and perhaps most importantly, they don’t tell you how big it is. This will directly affect the size of the room/area it can moisturize. Without this info, it is difficult to tell if it will work in any room as indicated (Telebrands uses an automated ordering system and customer service cannot be reached without a purchase order number).

Second, this is an “As Seen On TV” Product – in fact, the manufacturers Telebrands invented the ubiquitous red-and-white logo now used by all other companies. These types of products advertised by infomercial may look like a great idea, but are usually cheaply made and consumers end up being disappointed with them upon arrival.

In addition, Telebrands does not have a good track record when it comes to consumer satisfaction. In 2014 they lost their accreditation with the BBB and their rating plunged to an F due to over 1700 complaints in the last 3 years about advertising, products, and billing issues.

If you are experiencing dryness from the cold winter months, there are a few easy remedies aside from buying Aqua Stone or any other humidifier. You can add some plants to the room, boil some water on the stove, or even use a plain terra cotta pot soaked in water. Here are a few more inexpensive ideas.

Let us know what you think of Aqua Stone Humidifier below. Did it moisturize your room or did it leave egg on your face?

40 Customer Reviews for Aqua Stone

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 7 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 19
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • A waste of money.

    • Louisiana,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    There is mold forming. I think it's a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Aqua Stone

    • Vienna, VA,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    This works for me - however, I can't wash off the mold that gets on its surface. It is quite ugly. Any suggestions?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous Mold

    • Shreveport, LA,
    • May 22, 2015

    I purchased this item, used as directed with bottled distilled water and ended up with the stone covered in mold within two weeks. I called the company and they attempted over and over to sell me another one. At my cost! After pushing, they told me that it was perfectly normal to have mold and that it was SAFE to use with the mold present. I have filed a complaint with the consumer safety commission. Coincidentally I have had respiratory irritation and fatigue for the last two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dummies in humid states!

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Apr 25, 2015

    All the bad reviews were from people in states that already have humidity ! Bah! This Aqua Stone rocks! I live in the dry desert and I set it on the night stand. Boom! Humidity by the bedside. I feel great, look great and no mold! People in Washington stae, are you kidding me with your gripe of mold?! What were you doing trying to get humidity in a "rain state"?! Aqua Stone serves it's purpose tremendously in naturally dry areas! I would buy 20 more!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2015

      Cynthia Raufmann-Trewartha

      I live in Las Vegas and have been using this item for a while. It dries pretty fast, so I have been keeping it filled. It now has a mold ring around it! Yes, in this desert climate! I don't know what to do now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Mold!

    • Wilkes Barre, PA,
    • Apr 20, 2015

    Unfortunately, I had the same problem as other the reviewers here had with mold! It was fine for a few weeks, I changed the water every few days, but then the mold began. Black and pink swirls and blobs all over the clay. Now I'm worried about how much mold I inhaled before I realized what it was! Would NOT recommend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy. There's a dangerous mold issue.

    • Seattle WA,
    • Mar 22, 2015

    I recently purchased one of these Aqua Stones. After using it for a few days, I noticed that mold is growing on the outside of the globe. My daughter and I are highly allergic to mold so this is a huge danger. Also, it is really small. Unless you are wanting to use it in a room the size of a bathroom, it isn't going to be effective. I do not recommend anyone buying this item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Johnstown PA,
    • Feb 24, 2015

    I bought my Aqua Stone at Walmart for $15.00 in November 2014. I put it in my bedroom and still my son and I woke with nose bleeds. I had to refill constantly. I just stopped using because didn't make a bit of difference! My bedroom is very small I paid money to get scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone

    • Central US,
    • Feb 18, 2015

    I think it looks cool and I have three now! If people have a problem with mold then they can just use something to remove it so they shouldn't complain so much. Most mold isn't even bad for you. As for raising the humidity - that I'm not so sure about. I have a humidity gauge and it hasn't changed too much. Over all I think it's a lot easier then using a humidifier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great if you don't mind mold

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    I've had my Aqua Stone for 3 weeks. I like that it doesn't take up much room and looks like a decorative piece. However, mold started to grow several days ago. I cleaned it, but mold has already started to grow again. I'll either throw it away or give it to my ex.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Great, once you know how to care for it

    • Feb 11, 2015

    After reading what everyone else has to say about this product, I had to add in my opinion, to hopefully help others! Both me and my mom have one of these, for about 2 months. The instructions in the box are not enough to let you know how to care for this item. First, I use only distilled water (some people seem to prefer filtered), but not plain tap. Change the water at least every other day, and once a week, rinse out the stone and bowl in hot water and leave it to dry out. Do NOT use soap or bleach, nothing but water. The way this works is that the stone absorbs whatever is on it, clay is highly absorbent, and if you put soap or bleach, that is what will be released back into the air and you will inhale it. It does tell you in the instructions not to use any cleansing agents. Also, every so often I add a drop or two of an essential oil that is anti fungal, this can help prevent mold growth as well. Basil, lemon, orange, are some good ones. I don’t add oil every time, because I don’t know if the stone should be always absorbing oil. Neither me or my mom has had any mold issues with the aqua stone. It does require some care, but not nearly as much as a plug in humidifier. It does work, but it is small and will only work in a smaller room. You could get more then one if you want it in a larger room. I feel that it replaces lost moisture, but i don’t think it adds much extra. if you really want intense humidity, you’d need something more powerful, but this is a great product for what it is!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Sunnyvale, CA,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    I'm returning Aqua Stone. We got this for Christmas and now there is mold forming on it. We change the water all the time and keep the humidifier clean. This is horrible as the mold is bad for your health!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a review for Aqua Stone!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review