About Aqua Stone

Aqua Stone is a clay humidifier sold by Telebrands that claims to be an all-natural way to moisturize the air in any room of your house. They promise it uses no electricity or batteries; just fill the basin with water and they state it will absorb and disperse it automatically.

But is Aqua Stone Humidifier really as revolutionary as it sounds? Or is it just another product from Telebrands that on the surface seems cool, but…

How Aqua Stone Works

Aqua Stone Humidifier is a piece of round clay of unknown size and density that looks like an egg; it comes with its own black basin. To use Aqua Stone, they instruct you to pour cold or room temperature water over the Aqua Stone, filling the basin. They claim the clay will naturally and silently absorb the water and then the moist clay will release tiny water droplets into the air. Yay, science is fun!

Aqua Stone Humidifier promises it works in rooms of any and that you won’t have to constantly fill or clean it. They add Aqua Stone will naturally regulate the perfect amount of moisture into the air. They claim a humidifier is beneficial to the health, especially in the winter, when lips and skin get dry. They add humidifiers can help treat colds or flu as well as ease asthma and reduce static electricity in the air; however, they provide no source to back up these claims.

Aqua Stone Humidifier Pricing and Returns

Aqua Stone costs $12.99 plus $7.99 S&H for a total of $21.98. At checkout time you can order an additional Aqua Stone for another $7.99 in fees. These fees are non-refundable.

Telebrands offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on Aqua Stone Humidifier; however, you must include a written explanation as to why you are returning it, otherwise they could reject your request. They will keep your $7.99 shipping fee and you will also have to pay to send it back yourself.

Bottom Line: Is Aqua Stone Humidifier a Scam?

The science behind Aqua Stone is valid; clay can serve as a natural humidifier. But there are a few things we feel we should point out about Aqua Stone.

First, and perhaps most importantly, they don’t tell you how big it is. This will directly affect the size of the room/area it can moisturize. Without this info, it is difficult to tell if it will work in any room as indicated (Telebrands uses an automated ordering system and customer service cannot be reached without a purchase order number).

Second, this is an “As Seen On TV” Product – in fact, the manufacturers Telebrands invented the ubiquitous red-and-white logo now used by all other companies. These types of products advertised by infomercial may look like a great idea, but are usually cheaply made and consumers end up being disappointed with them upon arrival.

In addition, Telebrands does not have a good track record when it comes to consumer satisfaction. In 2014 they lost their accreditation with the BBB and their rating plunged to an F due to over 1700 complaints in the last 3 years about advertising, products, and billing issues.

If you are experiencing dryness from the cold winter months, there are a few easy remedies aside from buying Aqua Stone or any other humidifier. You can add some plants to the room, boil some water on the stove, or even use a plain terra cotta pot soaked in water. Here are a few more inexpensive ideas.

Let us know what you think of Aqua Stone Humidifier below. Did it moisturize your room or did it leave egg on your face?

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Customer Reviews for Aqua Stone

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 12 4 stars: 11 3 stars: 6 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 21
Bottom Line: 52% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stone has black marks on it

    Ok so I purchased 5 of these, three for me and two for my big kids. I fill them every other day. I love them, but the stone has black marks on them. I clean it, but the marks do not come off so it looks terrible. One has more marks on it then the other. I have them in my bedrooms. I purchased them in Bed Bath and Beyond. Does anyone know why this is happening?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Loving it

    I bought my humidifier for only $1.99 at DD's. It is working great. I use water and a drop or two of my favorite cologne and it smells up the whole room. I even use lavender oil. It's a great product. Using the additives I put in I don't get any mold. But I do recommend washing the ball every two days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 19, 2015

    It has developed mildew all over the stone. What should I do?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2016

      Anonymous

      It does need to be washed. That would prevent any mold and mildew.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone growth is not mold

    • Nov 29, 2015

    We have had the Aqua Stone for several months and while it helps somewhat I think it is too small for the room. I see some complaining about mold but the deposits I see on mine are not mold. It appears to be calcium/lime collecting as the water evaporates, like the ring you get when you boil water in a pan.

    The humidifying effect would probably work just as well as a bowl of water without the stone, but looks better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone

    • Birmingham, Al,
    • Nov 6, 2015

    I've only used mine for a week now, so no problems with mold or peeling paint. I do feel I've had improvement from my dry, scratchy throat.

    I will say, however, to those who have had a mold problem that it needs to be emptied every morning and rinsed with very hot water. Then the best thing to do would be to allow it to air dry while you are at work.

    As a registered nurse I still remember my microbiology teacher explaining that standing water grows bacteria. I had never thought of that before that class. Thus, I altered my habit of adding water to my dog's dish and instead rinsing it with hot water and putting in fresh water daily. This, too, may be the solution to the mold situation. If it does not work I will not use it any longer. Mold is worse than a dry, scratchy throat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2015

      Solee

      Try using 'distilled water'.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Aqua Stone

    • Stowe, VT,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    Very disappointed. Had it on my desk at work. Looked great for about two weeks. Came in today and there is mold growing on the stone. Thankfully I did not spend a great deal of money on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Aqua Stone experience

    • San Antonio Texas ,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    I have two of these, one in my bedroom one in my living room. I find my allergies are less bothersome, my allergy meds are not used as frequently as before. The one in my living room developed mold. I bleached it and it's fine. I didn't get mold on the bedroom one. I am assuming that the mold is in the air, I use bottled water only. I am glad that the stone shows the mold. I then use my air purifier. So I feel that the aqua stone is well worth every penny I spent. I have recommended it to my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2016

      Robert

      "I then use my air purifier". Yea... That would obviously be the explanation for why your allergies got better. Having a random stone lying around won't do anything for your allergies. But, I don't know, filtering the allergens out of the air probably will.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I got my today

    • Winston Salem, NC,
    • Oct 31, 2015

    Well I just bought one today for only 5.00 dollars at Max Way, and I only used it for a couple of hours and it feels a little different in my living room.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Little Thing

    • Oct 23, 2015

    I got my small aqua stone at CVS for approximately $7. It's great for my 10' x 11' room. I measure humidity with a humidity measurer and the Stone's effect shows on the meter. Depending on environmental factors, I also know the Stone works because I can see that the water evaporates. Yes the same effect might be possible with an upside down clay pot, but I like the Stone's look. I used to use baby humidifiers, but their design always seemed disproportionately large compared to their effect. This rock is very easy to fit on a dresser, with no ugly cords or need for any power source. Plus, it feels good to the touch. The tray is smooth and the rock is a little rough, but smoother than some of Avon's porcelains. There is no odor, no plastic, and almost nothing to clean. I can tell when the tray is empty because the stone reverts to ghost white, from being a little beige when wet. Even if the room were larger, I would prefer a few of these, without the whirring and electric field of conventional humidifiers. And, if this one drips or spills there is only oneself to blame, since the design is simple. One can tell with almost no effort whether tampering has occurred, but with conventional humidifiers one must open them to find out if there residue from sissy's aromatherapy rosin. With this device, I don't have to take it to the kitchen to fill and never have to carry much water at a time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love This Product

    • Taylors, SC,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I have to take allergy medicine at night that completely dry me out and in the middle of the night I'm coughing like crazy; the Aqua Stone has eliminated that for me. Ever since I've had the Aqua Stone I no longer cough at night and if I start coughing I go to get it and I am relived. I will be purchasing more to go in extra rooms. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Aunt loves it!

    • Freeport, IL,
    • Sep 8, 2015

    My aunt is now residing in a nursing home. Her room gets warm and dry feeling easily. The Aqua Stone keeps her more comfortable and fits easily and stylishly on one of her shelves!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a review for Aqua Stone!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review