About AutoVantage

Similar to AAA, AutoVantage is a “total car care program” with more than 25 years of service across all 50 states. Unlike other auto programs though, AutoVantage claims to provide towing service up to 150 miles, lockout assistance for both home and auto, and more.

AutoVantage is owned by Trilegiant Corporation based out of Stamford, CT, which has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau. Online customer reviews are fairly limited, though most that we were able to locate appeared to be satisfied with the service. However, the most common complaint we encountered during our research related to being billed without the customer’s knowledge.

How AutoVantage Works

AutoVantage is a towing assistance program that is available in all 50 states across the US, 24 hours a day, 365 days per year. In addition to towing, the company claims to also help you save you money on car repairs, new tires and service, oil changes and other maintenance, and new car purchases. In addition, the AutoVantage website claims you can save 5-50% on non-discounted hotel rooms, and anywhere from 5-25% on auto rentals.

When compared to some of the more popular auto programs, AutoVantage claims to offer towing services up to 150 miles, in addition to professional roadside assistance (e.g. fuel delivery, jump start, changing a flat tire). On top of this, lockout assistance for both auto and home is also provided.

When making a claim, you’ll just need to call 800-999-4CAR, and the AutoVantage FindMe service will immediately lock onto your location using the GPS technology from your smartphone. This service claims to leverage all the largest cellular carriers, and to only require that you open the company’s proprietary app. You’ll then be connected to AutoVantage’s network of more than 15,000 certified and insured towing providers, who will get you where you need to go. For full details about the services, terms, and conditions, please click here.

AutoVantage Pricing & Refund Policy

A one-year AutoVantage membership is currently priced at $69.99 per year, which covers the primary member, as well as the “member's immediate family including spouses, domestic partner, fiancé, dependent children living home or away and parents living in the household.” If you sign up for a two-year membership, you’ll be provided a total of 26 months of coverage for $139.98. Membership will start immediately if ordered through the website, though it may take as long as 72 hours to begin if ordered over the phone.

According to the company’s website, you can cancel your AutoVantage membership within the first 30 days for a full refund, and any time thereafter for a pro-rated refund.

Bottom Line: Is AutoVantage a Scam?

Based on our research, we didn’t find anything that lead us to believe that AutoVantage is a scam.

However, online customer reviews were fairly limited, but those that were available appeared to be primarily positive. With this said, we did run across numerous complaints about underhanded billing practices, so you may want to keep a close eye on your credit card statement.

Also, keep in mind that your personal information may be passed along to third parties for marketing purposes. So if you don’t enjoy unexpected sales calls in the middle of the day, you might want to think twice before signing up with AutoVantage.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Customer Reviews for AutoVantage

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 19
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • Peace if mind

    • Burlington, NJ,
    • Aug 15, 2016

    We have been members for years. We have used the service 2 to 3 times a year always with reasonable dependable service. One of the things I like best about their service is that all my children and my husband and I are covered. So no matter which car breaks down all of us can use the membership, not just one or two of us and not for specific vehicles. We pay 150.00 per year in a one time automatic payment withdraw with a email reminder prior to payment withdraw. That membership provides us with 3 service calls per year up to 80.00 each. Well worth it for this momma to have peace of mind for her family. Sometimes we do have to wait a bit for the call to be answered or for the tow company to respond, but longest customer service wait was 30 minutes, then call was answered with great and friendly customer service. One service call did take almost two hours for tow to respond but that's because they went to the wrong location. I would highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Was pleased, now wondering.

    I used it once for a flat tire after signing up from a Walmart display of their pamphlets. Went to renew and they state they were not renewing this type of service but I could pay a larger amount of 11.99 per month. Sounds like bait and switch to me. Start you off cheap then raise the price. Back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Serious issues, don't use.

    • Jacksonville Fl,
    • Nov 20, 2015

    I had their policy as outline here. I did not need to use them for the year. I called today as I was locked out of my login and they said my account was closed? I got no bill but they said they sent me an email. What they did, is close my account to make me open another! Now they sell a Gold plan for $11.99 a month or $143.88 per year NOT what is shown at the homepage. This plan is the only they issue and only allows $80 credit for a tow. The 150 mile free tow with membership is gone. Also MUST pay monthly, will not accept a years payment? What king of business is that.

    They doubled their prices to AAA levels and severely cut benefits, way under AAA Plus benefits.

    I will not rejoin and I suggest you DO NOT do business with Auto Vantage. I think the company is in trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 6, 2015

      Jay Gordon

      The very exact same happened to a friend December 1, 2015 . We were about 25 miles from home when he needed a tow. The customer service rep gave him the same line. They stated his plan expired November 27, 2015, and had to reapply and wait three days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Billing Scam

    • Floral Park, NY,
    • Nov 11, 2015

    My Aunt was scammed by this company and CompleteHome and Great Fun. Three companies that preyed on an elderly woman and charged her $16.99 per month each for over 2 years without her knowledge or consent. I am filing a complaint with the DA's office first thing in the morning. I am pretty sure they have targeted many elderly people. My aunt doesn't drive or own a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    They will leave you for dead

    • East Windsor, CT,
    • Nov 8, 2015

    Ok, so my car broke down at about 1 PM so I called AutoVantage and talked to a guy and I told him my car broke down and that I need a tow truck. We were on the phone for about 20 minutes and that's ok, everything sounded great. He told me that it's going to be a 60-90 minute wait. I was fine with that because I was going to wait at my house either way.

    So now it's 4 PM and I'm wondering what the heck is going on. I obviously called AutoVantage again and a lady on the phone said the guy didn't submit the order to the towing company, so it will be another 30-45 minutes. I figured it's ok again.

    Well now it's 5:30 PM and no one came. I called them back and another guy on the phone told me the same thing, the towing company never got the order. Well at this point I'm pretty heated because I figured, ok fine, two times for this to happen is ok, but a third? He said it will be another 30-45 minute wait.

    I was with AAA for 10 years before switching over to AutoVantage and never did I have ot experience such service with them. I'm switching back to AAA and I don't care about saving money. Don't switch to AutoVantage otherwise you will regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad company

    • Golden, Co.,
    • Nov 7, 2015

    This company is a rip-off. I called them today after locking my keys in my car. I had just taken my daughter to the doctor and stopped for medicine, soup and some soda. I called the company and told them I was locked out. Their ad says Lockout "Assistance". They "assisted" by offering to call a locksmith for $79.95. I'm standing there with a sick child so I paid with a credit card over the phone. The first locksmith they set me up with was OUT OF BUSINESS! I found that out on my phone in the parking lot! Why didn't they know? The second locksmith came from the foothills and was unable to open my Jeep. In the process he bent my passenger side door. I called a close by used car lot and asked if they knew a good locksmith. They gave me a name and a number and within an hour I was back in my car, received 2 new spare keys at no charge and he charged $50. That's $30 less than Autovantage charged me. What a poor business this is. I'm going back to AAA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent roadside service from Autovantage

    • Boyds, Maryland,
    • Nov 6, 2015

    My car broke down due to failure of alternator in Rockville, Maryland late evening yesterday. I called Autovantage. The tow truck came in about 30 minutes. The services from Autovantage and the towing company are great. They are the heroes in helping me with broken car in darkness at midnight. I was skeptical about Autovantage before, but my yesterday's experience completely convinced me that Autovantage is a great company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized charges to credit card

    • Atlanta, Ga.,
    • Oct 13, 2015

    These lowlifes run the same scam that satellite TV companies were sued for. If you give them a credit card number they will add endless unauthorized charges. It would take a complete idiot to give these lowlifes a credit card number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lousy Service

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2015

    I was with another popular roadside assistance company for over ten years. I thought I would give Autovantage a chance because they were cheaper. BIG MISTAKE. My car broke down one night when it was 6 degrees outside and I had my child and 65 year old mother in the car. It was over an hour and customer service still did not find me a tow. They said they could not get anyone to come. It wasn't until I demanded to speak to a manager that they finally found a tow company to tow us. They had to outsource the tow to another company. Ironically the one that I switched from. I placed a call at 9:30 PM. I did not get home until 1:00 AM (was only 20 minutes from my house) and if I did not keep calling them back demanding assistance I might still be sitting their waiting for my tow. I went back to my old roadside company the next day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The best thing ever.

    Used AutoVantage 3 times this year and they are fast and friendly. They called when they got here and when they got to the place where the car was going. Yes, will renew when it's over.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Slow operators

    • Aug 10, 2015

    We switched from AAA to AutoVantage. We had been with AAA for 20 years and switch to AutoVantage was a big mistake. It was the first time we have used them after switching. Now I know it is a false sense of Security.

     It was one degree outside and it took three separate 20 to 30 minute on hold time calls on my dying battery cell phone to get through to an Operator. They kept transferring me to different operators. We have never had a problem like this with AAA operators.

    The tow service used by AAA has been slow to arrive sometimes at times but their support was great But the AutoVantage operators make up the difference as they were very slow and seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I received a callback about 15 minutes after the three long hold times and the operator said she would call back and tell me who was coming because she did not know who they used for the towing service.

    I prefer the customer service from AAA because the tow driver always called us before he came out so we could go to a sanctuary like a local gas station or restaurant if it was bad weather out. We did not get a call from the other driver and I had to stay out in freezing cold weather for a long time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a review for AutoVantage!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review