About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

112 Customer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 46 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 112
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing customer service

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wrote to BarkBox's customer service to give some feedback about a toy that we had a bad experience with. They responded the next day, and it was a real person with a real response. They not only showed concern, they offered compensation for our not so great experience. I was amazed by their promptness and actual concern. They went above and beyond to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great deal

    • Washington,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We received our first BarkBox and our German shepherd loves her toys, and the little dogs love the treats. I think this is well-spent money a month. They loved it. I would like a variety of smaller and big toys sent every month if that's possible. Thank you, I am glad this was suggested to us.

    A very happy pack at the Link house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love this subscription

    If you're reading a review, the first thing you probably want to know is - Is it worth it? My answer is a definite YES. The treats and toys definitely are high quality, the kind you'd buy in a pet store. Although the treats are higher end, gourmet treats that my dog absolutely goes nuts for.

    You can upgrade to accommodate rougher dog-play, but our toys have withstood tugging and chewing with no problem.

    Customer service is superb. My dog did not like one of the toys, and they immediately sent a replacement. Then I switched to the medium sized box because she seemed intimidated by the larger toys. They not only sent me a very personable and witty email acknowledging the switch, but also sent me out a medium sized toy and treat in the meantime.

    Am I spoiling my dog? Absolutely, but it's only $21/month! The treats alone are worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Free box offer!

    • Portland, ME,
    • Jul 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love it, so does my dog. I've had it forever! Always quality. Now my dog thinks all the mail is for him, haha.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    BEST customer service

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The absolute best customer service experience I've ever had. I called BarkBox because my corgi can't eat a lot of the treats they send due to allergies (the treats are super high qualify, she just can't have a lot of stuff) and they offered to send her an extra toy each month to make up for missing out on the treats! I'll have one happy doggy when she gets her next box.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Super shady cancellation policy

    Please read everyone's reviews! I wish I had before I bought this. They are shady! While yes, our dog likes it and plays with the toys and the treats are ok, but they were very misleading with the cancellation policy.

    We've had it for three months and had some unexpected life events and are just trying to cut back. I know it's not much, but it adds up, and when we tried to cancel we realized that "cancel anytime" meant only on their time!

    I would not recommend it to anyone unless they stop being so manipulative about cancellations. Take out "cancel anytime" if that's not what you mean! Sorry but I don't recommend this. Just go to a pet shop and get a small gift once a month. It is a better option considering this hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not trust this company!

    I tried it out with the free box offer and was told I could cancel anytime. Nope! I got the box, but it was not worth it at all. I tried to cancel. Red flag number one was that I could find no option to do so on their website. I tried customer service was told sure can cancel my renewal but I will still be billed for the next six months. Junk! Do not trust this company. They told me to donate the items to a shelter if I don't want them but they'll still be sending them. I'd rate them zero if it let me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jun 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I'd try BarkBox out because I had a coupon. My first box was nice, but I could not get my dog to play with his new toys (he's been sick with kidney problems), and it just didn't seem to be worth the price.

    There is an option on their website to cancel your "next" subscription, but not your "current" subscription. And I saw no indication when you will be billed next, leaving you guessing.

    I sent them an email and PLAINLY asked that my subscription please be canceled. Then I changed my credit card number, just to be safe. And guess what? Yep, they tried to charge me anyway.

    I would personally stay away; they're just trying to take your money at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A bit pricey, but great!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot stop recommending BarkBox to people. I think it's so cute and creative. The customer service is amazing! My dog's favorite toy that he literally sleeps with every night in his bed came from this subscription box (he's never slept with a toy before). I like that they give a combination of toys and treats. When the box arrives, my dog immediately knows it's for him and he barks until we open it together. I do think it's a bit pricey, so I only got three months worth. I will definitely get more in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Blaming others

    • New York,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading through these reviews is infuriating. It's pretty clear that when you sign up for a 6 or 12-month subscription, you're committing to the entire length. Why else would they give you a cheaper per month price? I don't understand how you all just assume you can get their cheapest price for absolutely nothing back on your end. They're a business trying to make money, so of COURSE they are going to have practices that benefit them. That's the entire point of their existence. I get that the "cancel at any time" line is a bit misleading, but worse than being misleading is not doing your research before signing up for something, or even worse, having absolutely no common sense and then blaming the company for your idiocy. Sorry, not sorry.

    As for the actual product, I love BarkBox. They save me a lot of time, effort, and money for my little weeny King. Their treats are enjoyed and healthy, and their toys are all great quality for my little destroyer (once I went on their free Tough Chewer option)! I love BarkBox, and I think they're doing a great service for us passionate pup parents. It goes without saying, but do your research before going into business with them! If you think it is right for you, though, I would wholeheartedly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been charged every month for the last three after canceling a 6-month subscription. I have three Chihuahuas, and they destroy every toy that has ever been sent. I signed up thinking "cancel anytime" but nope, I'm locked in. The BBB needs to be involved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 112

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review