About BarkBox

Based out of New York, New York, BarkBox is a subscription-based online service where members receive monthly surprises for their dogs, consisting of all-natural treats, hygiene products, and toys. The service is for dogs of all sizes, including puppies, medium-sized adults, or even large breeds such as Great Danes. As such, BarkBox carefully crafts each of your monthly boxes to your specific dog’s size—and because you never know what you’re going to get, each of the 4-6 items you receive will always be a surprise.

According to the BarkBox website, all edible items are tested in-house, are sourced directly from the U.S., Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, and are never processed with formaldehyde. Because BarkBox’s founders are dog lovers as well, they wouldn’t send anything to your dogs, that they wouldn’t send to their own. In addition, the company claims that at least 10% of all profits are given to canine-related shelters, rescues, and welfare organizations.

Getting Started with BarkBox and Pricing

To get started with BarkBox, simply select your dog’s size: 0-20 pounds, 20-50 pounds, or 50+ pounds. Regardless of your dog’s size, all plans are offered at the same price:

  1. Month-to-month pricing is $29 per month
  2. A three-month subscription is $24 per month (a 17% savings)
  3. A six-month subscription is $19 per month (a 34% savings)

All plans are billed automatically, include free shipping via USPS, and can be cancelled at any time without further commitment.

Each BarkBox surprise is sent on the 15th of each month, and most consumers have reported that they’ve received their packages quickly and without delays. However, if you’re a new BarkBox customer and sign up after the 10th, keep in mind that your package will not be sent until the 15th of the following month. In the event that your BarkBox is delivered with a defective item, the company provides all members with the opportunity to immediately send it back, at which point you’ll either receive a replacement or a credit toward your account.

Pros:

  • The BarkBox monthly surprises are specifically tailored toward your dog, and often include useful items.
  • According to users who have tabulated the value of their BarkBox packages, the combined retail value exceeds the price of your monthly membership fee—even if you sign up for the most expensive option ($29/month).
  • Free shipping.

Cons:

  • No customizable packages.
  • BarkBox does not offer packages for cats or other common pets.
  • Other than these minor items, there don’t appear to be any other negatives. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

105 Customer Reviews for BarkBox

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 41 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 105
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jun 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I'd try BarkBox out because I had a coupon. My first box was nice, but I could not get my dog to play with his new toys (he's been sick with kidney problems), and it just didn't seem to be worth the price.

    There is an option on their website to cancel your "next" subscription, but not your "current" subscription. And I saw no indication when you will be billed next, leaving you guessing.

    I sent them an email and PLAINLY asked that my subscription please be canceled. Then I changed my credit card number, just to be safe. And guess what? Yep, they tried to charge me anyway.

    I would personally stay away; they're just trying to take your money at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A bit pricey, but great!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot stop recommending BarkBox to people. I think it's so cute and creative. The customer service is amazing! My dog's favorite toy that he literally sleeps with every night in his bed came from this subscription box (he's never slept with a toy before). I like that they give a combination of toys and treats. When the box arrives, my dog immediately knows it's for him and he barks until we open it together. I do think it's a bit pricey, so I only got three months worth. I will definitely get more in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Blaming others

    • New York,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading through these reviews is infuriating. It's pretty clear that when you sign up for a 6 or 12-month subscription, you're committing to the entire length. Why else would they give you a cheaper per month price? I don't understand how you all just assume you can get their cheapest price for absolutely nothing back on your end. They're a business trying to make money, so of COURSE they are going to have practices that benefit them. That's the entire point of their existence. I get that the "cancel at any time" line is a bit misleading, but worse than being misleading is not doing your research before signing up for something, or even worse, having absolutely no common sense and then blaming the company for your idiocy. Sorry, not sorry.

    As for the actual product, I love BarkBox. They save me a lot of time, effort, and money for my little weeny King. Their treats are enjoyed and healthy, and their toys are all great quality for my little destroyer (once I went on their free Tough Chewer option)! I love BarkBox, and I think they're doing a great service for us passionate pup parents. It goes without saying, but do your research before going into business with them! If you think it is right for you, though, I would wholeheartedly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been charged every month for the last three after canceling a 6-month subscription. I have three Chihuahuas, and they destroy every toy that has ever been sent. I signed up thinking "cancel anytime" but nope, I'm locked in. The BBB needs to be involved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Very sneaky subscription commitment.

    • Mayfield, KY,
    • May 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my first box a week ago, after signing up for the 6-month subscription. Seeing all the ads out, I was super excited for our fur baby to open up her box. To my dismay, the box that we received came with two toys (one decent quality, one really cheap) and two bags of treats (both crappy quality). This isn't what I signed up for, and I had no intention of paying for any more boxes if this was the quality I would come to expect each month.

    I got on the website to cancel my order, because as it says time and time again, "cancel anytime." I even got the sobby "we're sad to see you go" message after I canceled my subscription RENEWAL! Read the fine print people, because yes, you can cancel your RENEWAL anytime, meaning the subscription that THEY have already decided you're definitely going to want after you finished the subscription you're already tied up in. BarkBox, I see you! And thank goodness I caught that little lie on your part!

    I contacted BarkBox directly and told them that I was attempting to cancel my plan and told them about my products and why I was unsatisfied. They basically told me that I will be paying for them anyway. HA! BarkBox, you are hilarious. Try and make me pay for something I don't authorize, go ahead. I dare you.

    After a long-winded back and forth with customer service, I finally said: "you will not get another dime from me." And now that I see how you handle your unsatisfied customers, I won't be referring anyone to your company. Furthermore, and here's the kicker, I promised to write a hearty review of their services, especially emphasizing how hard they try to screw the pooch (ha! See what I did there?).

    Don't get this box. Even if the products WERE good, you're locking yourself into a commitment you may not be able to walk away from, even if you aren't satisfied. Luckily, I grumbled enough that they completely canceled my subscription effective immediately and that was that. But I get the feeling that they rarely ever do that for people.

    Save your money! Use another subscription box. Go to the dang store and buy your dog's treats and toys yourself! Don't go into business with this company. They are not out to help anyone but themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 18, 2017

      Cara

      When you sign up for a 6-month subscription, you agree to pay for the sixth month. Just about all subscription boxes work this way. It sounds to me that they didn't do anything wrong. You can cancel your subscription at any time. But, if you sign up for the 6-month subscription, that means your subscription is twice a year, and you agree to pay for the next sixth months, every six months. By canceling, you're saying you don't want to renew your subscriptions but still pay for the sixth month you agreed to pay when you started the subscription.

      I have no comments on the items in the box because I know nothing about that. But, the majority of your review was bashing them for something you really should have realized before signing up.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Superior quality!

    I read these reviews to my husband, and we decided to try out the BarkBox anyhow. We have a 5-month-old Siberian Husky. He has grown up so far on quality treats and food only (all natural and organic). He went absolutely nuts for the treats, and he is in love with his toys. He is a destructive pup when it comes to toys but so far, they've held up.

    Out of curiosity, and due to the bad reviews here about the boxes worth, we decided to check our local Psystar for the items we received. In total, we were sent five items and paid less than $23.00 with the BarkBox. At PetSmart, our same items came to just under $80.00. I'm sorry, but this box is just amazing, and if our puppy could talk he'd tell you the same.

    We highly recommend the BarkBox!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    This company is sneaky

    • Walnutport, PA,
    • Mar 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be careful! They put you on an auto-renewal system without your obvious knowledge, and they will bill you after a year, and you won't find out until you get a bill for something you didn't order.

    Bad and sneaky!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Animal cruelty

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Mar 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I opened my first BarkBox to find a package of cut off lambs' ears. That is disgusting and inhumane. There is no need to engage in abject animal cruelty in order to make dog treats. There are many yummy non-animal based alternatives, such as peanut butter treats. Disgusting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Tommy

      Umm, do you realize that dogs are descendants of wolves? Dogs are carnivores, and their natural diet isn't peanut butter. It is for other animals. What is disgusting to you, isn't disgusting to your dog.

    • Jun 27, 2017

      Erica

      Thank you, I was thinking the same thing. Dogs eat other animals. Is your dog some sort of vegan?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest company!

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their "you can cancel at any time," which is clearly written on the very front page of their website, is a complete lie. You can't cancel for 12 or 6 months (whatever you sign up for), EVEN IF you complete a cancellation form on their website and go through the fake formalities that they have set up. I did this and was still charged for February.

    I contacted their customer service, and they informed me that "you can cancel at any time" actually means "when your 12 months is up, you can choose to not renew the service, otherwise, it will be renewed for you." Really?

    It's FRAUD. They are literally scamming people left and right. This is my second negative encounter with them too (one time they charged me for a box and never shipped anything to me). Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2017

      Tommy

      Um, do you realize dogs are descendants of wolves? Dogs are carnivores, and their natural diet is other animals. Your dog's natural diet isn't peanut butter. That is a human fabrication. (Disclosure: I am not even a BarkBox customer yet, I was just reading reviews).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I definitely recommend the BarkBox

    I ordered it, and two days later I received it in the mail. My pit bull Baby went crazy; she loves her new toys and treats.

    Thank you BarkBox, you guys rock!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding customer service

    I have had the best experience with BarkBox. The first box we got in December was wonderful, and my dogs loved it!

    Having ordered the first box, I didn't read the fine print very well and didn't realize that I had signed up for a year. I contacted BarkBox and asked them if I could opt out for just one month (it wasn't in the budget that month). Well, I was told that they didn't do that, HOWEVER, I was comped a free box for January.

    The box we got in January, however, was not a hit. There were treats that the dogs didn't like, and my rat terrier tore up the toys within a day. I contacted BarkBox again and was put on the "heavy chewer" plan and sent a few packages of treats as compensation.

    Today, I noticed that BarkBox was charging me $29 instead of $20 (as my subscription stated). I contacted them again and was informed that somehow I had been placed on the month to month plan (which was not what I wanted). The agent immediately refunded me the extra $9 and corrected my account.

    I just want to say that, while their service has flaws, but if you contact the company, they are more than accommodating. We will just say that if DirecTV had that kind of customer service, I wouldn't have switched to cable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 105

Write a Review for BarkBox!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review