About Beard Czar

Published on: Jun 3, 2016

Whether you’ve got just a little stubble or a full on wizard thing happening, you don’t want just any beard; you want something that looks healthy, vibrant, and stylish.

To help you get there, Beard Czar claims their line of beard care and grooming products—for real, powerful men, no less!—use natural ingredients to help you grow, style, and tend to your beard. This includes dietary supplements, oils, and eBooks that can help you get the information you need.

Beards are all the rage these days, and you’re ready to get in on the action. Unless you want to look like something out of the Stone Age though, you need the know-how and tools to do things right.

Will Beard Czar’s products get you there, or are you better off shaving your beard and calling it quits? That’s what we’ll explore in this review:

Beard Czar’s Product Lineup

Overall, Beard Czar offers four different products:

Facial Hair Complex

This specially formulated supplement contains a blend of essential vitamins that can stimulate dormant hair follicles, provide nourishment and hydration, and improve growth. The company claims Facial Hair Complex will also “nourish the dermal matrix,” which may improve beard quality.

To experience these benefits, you’ll have to use the complex daily along with a regular beard care routine.

Beard Oil

Compared to their supplements, Beard Czar’s Beard Oil contains argan oil, which might hydrate and nourish your hair from the outside in. This same tonic will also make your beard more manageable for styling, and can reduce fallout and itchiness.

Phytoceramides

Another of Beard Czar’s supplements, Phytoceramides may help improve “collagen build up” (we’ll come back around to this term shortly). This can also nourish the dermal matrix and improve skin health, leading to improved growth and a softer texture.

Beard Czar’s eBook

Titled “Beard Czar Beard Care”, this e-guide claims to cover various topics that can help you choose products for the best results, everyday tips to improve beard health, provide a list of styles, and more.

Sure, these products sound great, but is there any science behind these claims? Let’s take them one-by-one.

Are the Ingredients In Beard Czar’s Products Effective?

Facial Hair Complex

According to the supplement label on Beard Czar’s website, Facial Hair Complex contains:

Most of these vitamins play important roles in our body, so if we’re deficient for some reason, this can certainly cause reduced hair quality. If a vitamin deficiency is severe enough, it can even lead to hair loss.

However, the reality is that unless you’re deficient, there’s little evidence showing that any of these ingredients can improve hair health—whether on your head or face.

On top of this, we found the Complex’s inclusion of forskolin, garcinia cambogia, green coffee bean, and caralluma to be highly puzzling. Why? First, these are some of the most overhyped, under-evidenced ingredients around today. Second, the limited evidence available only indicates they may have any effect on weight, but not on hair growth. So why include them?

Based on the clinical evidence, Facial Hair Complex’s ingredients probably won’t work, but they likely won’t cause any side effects, either. In fact, other than flushing from niacin, you might not experience anything worse than mild digestive upset.

Beard Oil

The only ingredient found in Beard Czar’s Beard Oil is Argania spinosa, also known as Moroccan Argan Oil. This substance has been used for generations to help maintain soft, smooth hair, since it contains high levels of vitamin F and omega-6 fatty acids.

Recently, it’s been touted as a miracle hair product by hundreds of different companies, including less-than-stellar options like Silk of Morocco and Pure Moroccan Silk.

The problem is that, other than adding manageability (at least as well as any other conditioner), there’s little evidence showing argan oil can boost hair growth. Also, remember that if you use too much or leave it in too long, argan oil can give your beard a greasy appearance.

Phytoceramides

Unlike the Facial Complex, there wasn’t a label for Phytoceramides on the Beard Czar website. However, we’re told it contains:

Like Facial Complex, there’s little clinical evidence showing these ingredients can boost hair growth or result in “collagen build up”, as claimed by Beard Czar’s manufacturer.

How Much Do Beard Czar Products Cost?

Beard Czar products are priced as follows:

  • Facial Hair Complex: $89.99
  • Beard Oil: $88.99
  • Phytoceramides Supplement: $89.99
  • eBook: $1.95

There was also a “limited time offer” listed on the Beard Czar website. Basically, you’ll pay $4.95 S&H to obtain a full-size bottle of Facial Complex, which will start your 14-day trial. Then, once the trial ends, you’ll be billed the full price of $89.99.

Did you just do a double take? In our experience, this is why it’s best to avoid free trials. But wait, it gets better.

You’ll also continue receiving monthly shipments of Facial Complex and charged $89.99 each time!

Beard Czar’s products come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, although this only applies to unopened, unused merchandise (more about this next). If you don’t feel like shipping it back to the manufacturer, you can incur a $19.95 service fee and keep the product.

In order to request a refund, cancel or trial, or stop your recurring shipments, customer service can be reached at 888-302-5686 or support@beardczar.com.

An Important Note About Arbitration

Arbitration is a way of settling disagreements without going to court. While this might sound pleasant, it means that you’re waiving most of your legal rights, including a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

Why’s this important? Because as soon as you place an order on the Beard Czar website, you’re automatically bound to an arbitration agreement.

Why Aren’t There Any Beard Czar Reviews?

The only online feedback we found for Beard Czar during our research was on a four-month old Reddit thread, although quite a few readers chimed in about their experience.

Almost universally, it was agreed that their products should be avoided. Why? Most complained they were unknowingly charged $90 after signing up for a “free” trial, and then were met with unhelpful customer service reps who refused to process a refund. Multiple customers complained that it took a week just for the product to ship, leaving them with very little time before being charged full price.

If you find yourself in this situation, one reader offers some potentially helpful advice:

“Politely disagreed with the charges. Was told there was nothing they can do the charge is already through and since I opened the product there is nothing they will do. I mentioned filing in conciliation court and that I felt tricked. Suddenly I was offered a 30% refund, I expressed I was not happy with that. Suddenly it went to a 50%refund. I said I still was unhappy at a price of $45 and didn't want to pay it. I then said I would just be filing in court. Suddenly I qualified for a full refund somehow.”

Is Beard Czar an Emperor With No Clothes?

The long and short of it is that, while some ingredients might be more advantageous than others, most hair supplements won’t deliver on their lofty promises. Why? For an in-depth look at the situation, take a few minutes to read Everything You Need to Know About Hair Supplements.

In a nutshell, there isn’t enough clinical evidence to support their claims, or their lofty prices. Speaking of which, even if Beard Czar’s products could work as well as we’re led to believe, you can find many of these same formulations elsewhere online for a whole lot less cash.

In fact, even “premium” beard care companies like Beardbrand don’t sell their oils for more than $24.99.

Looking for the most value? We’ve already discussed why you might choose to avoid supplements. But based on our research, it seems like a lot of men are pleased with beard oil, since it acts as a conditioner for added manageability. Oils also come in a variety of scents to match your mood for the day.

So, if you’re itching to enter the world of beard care products, oils might make a logical first choice. In the end though, we’re not quite sure why you’d choose to pay a premium for Beard Czar’s.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Customer Reviews for Beard Czar

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not a horrible product, just overpriced and has those crappy trials attached

    • California,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I picked it up on eBay for like $50 a bottle with none of that autoship crap, and it was actually a decent product. My beard is growing faster and fuller. I mean nothing insane, but an obvious difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy unless your name is Bill Gates

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is full of scammers. I've seen this product on Instagram, and I decided to give it a try. The free trial is only $4.95 because of shipping/handling. But after reading reviews about Beard Czar being a scam, I immediately called my bank company to cancel my debit card and afterward, I received a new debit card. But since my e-mail is linked to my bank account, I was receiving countless e-mails saying suspicious activities was going on with my account.

    While unsuccessful from having my old debit card number, they literally tried taking out at least $600 approximately. But since I bought the product on March 6, they literally charged me $44.99 on April 6. I didn't know how they did it, and I was so furious because I had a new debit card. Subsequently, I closed out my bank account to avoid the monthly charges. Unless you have ridiculously amount of money to waste, I don't recommend this product to anybody. I hope they go out of business soon and received prison time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Biggest sham

    • Southington, CT,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son fell prey to the lure of a free trial offer for $4.95. Of course being 22, he didn't read the small print about recurring charges. Charges on his card weren't even from Beard Czar, but from other names they go under. We canceled and tried returning the unopened product for a refund, but all they did was say sorry and hang up. Emailing isn't any better. I finally got the Arizona Attorney General's office involved, and I got all my son's money back. If this company owes you money, contact the office.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it.

    • South Carolina,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sure, they only charge $4.95 at first, but that's not it. It will then charge you $89 a month after your 14-day trial. You have to cancel by calling them within 14 days of buying it to avoid the monthly charge. Then you have to pay $40 for each bottle you bought to cancel it. I suggest locking your card right before you cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Misleading! Do not buy.

    Terrible and misleading service all in all.

    I checked my bank info and found a $45 pending charge on my account. I called Beard Czar, and the first thing the automated service said was "would you like to cancel your account?" I did so, and it then said that my account was canceled. I was transferred to a customer service representative who sounded like he had no idea what he was talking about. He told me since the charge was pending that it would not follow through since I canceled my account.

    Come to find out two days later it went through. I called, and they told me I received misleading info FROM THEIR WORKERS. Do NOT buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Georgia,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not do any type of business with this company. Terrible customer service. They get you by paying the $4.95 fee but don't mention anything about a $90 a month subscription. I haven't even gotten the product yet and canceled my membership.

    When I called support I was first surprised and happy to get someone from the States, however, when I asked why I had to pay $38 for a free trial he stated, "because you canceled your subscription." Then I followed with, "can I get a refund because this is obviously a scam." And his response was, "I'm sorry you feel that way," and didn't say anything else after that.

    I would like to figure out how to put a business like this out of business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Crooks

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After they added products that I didn't order, I went to cancel the e-book and was charged $38.71 for using some automated canceling system when I talked to an operator.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    These people are nothing but scam artists and shouldn't be dealt with. I canceled my account and was told there wouldn't be any charges to my account, yet they charged me $88 and refused to give me a refund or connect me to a supervisor. If you're smart, you'll stay clear of these snake-oil salesmen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2017

      Dani Smith

      We had a similar experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    My bad experience

    • California,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not received any product yet, not even the trial size. They hung up on me twice, but they agreed to refund me almost $90. I thought that was great, although I had to fight for it.

    I went back and noticed two other payments (of almost $90 each) that they took from my account in December. I have not looked for more yet. Again, I have not received one thing from them!

    I am going to the District Attorney on Monday, and if no satisfaction there, I will file a small claims case. I will fight them to the end because there is nothing fair about what they have done to me. I write this only so that others be careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    When you cancel, they still charge you!

    • Burleson, TX,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So after speaking with someone from a company about canceling my service with them yesterday, that company STILL charged me. And this after I was PROMISED that I would not be getting any more charges.

    So I called the company, the person that I got was extremely rude. He said, "Sir, I don't see anything on my side and no records of the charged amount you're talking about." I told him I was looking and the amount that was taken out of my account. He then tried to tell me that if HE didn't see it, it didn't happen! I said I wanted to speak with a manager, and he said none were available. I told him I would wait, so then this gentleman then tells me "I am sorry I could not resolve your issue today, have a nice day" and then HUNG UP on me.

    I will NEVER do business with them again and would NEVER suggest anyone do business with them either!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2017

      Aj

      So I got the product in the mail, and I'm wondering if I will get charged still. I emailed them saying that I wanted my account canceled. I got an email response that the account was canceled, and I will not have any further charges, besides shipping and no billing charges. Will they still charge me?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Don't get

    • Grand Rapids, Michigan,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had ordered this product thinking, "hey what they heck, $4 is nothing, why not?" But then, I learned that they had charged me $89.99 without me knowing.

    I called the customer service, and at first, there was nothing I could do. But as I pushed and pushed, informing the person of their 100% money back guarantee, I was able to climb to a 45% refund. More pushing and threatening legal action bumped it up to 50%. I still pushed and yelled, and them miraculously I got a special one-time offer of 100% money back. Fancy that.

    If you want your money back, you have ever to be firm. They will try and tell you there is nothing you can do, but there is. Don't stop until you get the full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2017

      Aj

      Will I still get charged for it? When I asked for a refund, they told me that my account was canceled, and nothing but shipping would be charged. Is this true that no further billing charges will be made?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for Beard Czar!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review