About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report. According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members. According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more. However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage. If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing & Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service. This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.” On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report. On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them. Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so. Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

SEE ALSO: The Problems with Online People Searches, & How You Can Find the Same Information for Free

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for BeenVerified

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 16
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • It's ok, easy to use

    • PA,
    • Nov 9, 2016

    I have belonged to this website for almost 2 years now. I pay a monthly charge of about 20 some dollars a month. The reason why I have it is because I have rooms in my home that I rent out to people and sometimes, it can be a rotating door because I live in a tourist town which is very transit. I also have found that I could use it for other things as well. I am involved in dog rescue and a lot of the people I meet are online first because that's where dogs in dyer need get featured. I like to run a background check on everyone I meet before I meet them. Anyway, I am tired but I will write a pro and con list:

    Pro's:

    It's very easy to use.

    I trust them with my credit card information and always had accurate billing with my account.

    Unlike other users and their reviews, I have found the information to be very accurate (when it's the right person, see con's for further explanation). It's rather uncanny how accurate they can be.

    Provides many details about the person such as age, criminal background checks, address, phone numbers from very far back, email addresses, Facebook accounts, all kinds of other social media accounts, your family members and friends. Sometimes they even have who you work/worked for. I'm sure I am forgetting a thing or two, but it has A LOT of information.

    It's user-friendly. A big plus for me. It also doesn't seem scammy like other background checkers. It has a nice interface, again easy to use.

    You can search phone numbers and addresses.

    Con's:

    If you are looking up a common name, such as John Robertson, good luck on finding that person. (I usually can find the person, but it takes a lot of investigating. Once you are familiar with the website, you usually can find them but it will take a long while. A tip would be, having the accurate city and state will be very helpful but still can be very hard if it is a very common name.

    They have mixed up a lot of information of those with the same names. That has caused heartache and headaches for a lot of people. Big problems sometimes.

    The criminal background check (the most important feature for myself) is the one thing I would say is lacking. Say you DO have the right person, for example, my childhood old friend, who has an extensive criminal history, half of his charges that I know he has did not show up. The half that they did have were indeed correct, but they were missing so much. That caused concern for me.

    There is a big glitch in the criminal background portion of this website. Say it says a person has 10 charges. You click on it and it's actually only 5 but they duplicate every charge. It takes up a lot of time and reading to sort through it. This happens almost every time. It also makes the person seem like they have more charges/arrests than they actually do.

    Many of the criminal records are blank. Only showing that they were charged with SOMETHING. Well, gee thanks! That really helps (note sarcasm). I usually have to do more investigating to see what those charges were on different, free websites , such as the local government index in the city or county where they were charged.

    My consensus is, I still use this website. It's better than any other website I have used in the past and while the criminal background check needs a lot of work, it DOES provide me with a lot of information. It is useful and at the very least can point me in the right directions. Other than the criminal background check, all the other features are very accurate. They can name 50 of your relatives of friends, email accounts from 10 years ago, phone numbers, addresses also from over 10 years ago (if you existed that long, lol), everywhere you ever lived, every phone number you ever had. I have tested this and I am very confidant that those items are indeed very accurate. I wish they would make their criminal background portion as accurate as everything else.

    I trust them with my money. They never incorrectly charged me. They answer right away when you call (you might have to through one or two prompts at the most) and always helpful. I like that as well.

    It's a tool that I use. I know its good parts and I know its faults. I know how to work around most of those faults because they generally do point you in the right directions if all else fails. No website is perfect, but for the money and the information you get, I think it's pretty good. Hope this was helpful. If you try it, you will see what I mean.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Pennsylvania,
    • May 9, 2016

    None of the information is current, it contained countless telephone numbers that belong to other people. Customer service lies. No refund available even if canceled on same day. You might as well just look up online and get free info. It is definitely NOT worth any amount of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    5 Day Trial

    • IL,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    I took the 5 day trial. The information I got on myself and people I knew was outdated (by years in some cases), and inaccurate. So will see how it comes to cancel my trial subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Illegally took money out of my account.

    This company is a straight up scam. They been stealing money out of my account for 5 months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Better think twice

    I did my own background check for employment purposes. BeenVertied.com offered five days for $1, for which I was charged $29.99. I knew my record was clean but there were minor errors, such as where I lived and me having different aliases, which isn't true. I asked for a refund over the phone, and wanted to know the reason why I was over-charged. The woman gave me a lame excuse, saying that I ordered extra things. I ordered nothing extra, and noticed many errors on the report. Even with a clean record, BeenVerified is a bunch of scammers. If you know where to look, you can see what potential employers see. When errors occur, even if they are minor, and the so called background checking agency doesn't correct them, it raises red flags.

    There are other means of getting your own background checked besides this site, ask your local State Representative. If you find out that something is incorrect in your record, report any and all sites to your state's Bureau of Consumer Protection. You should even take it to your local court house, where they have accurate records. You might also have to file a small claims against such background agencies, to make sure nothing turns out false. Some employment agencies use these sites, and that is where the problems start, since even minor issues will cost you a job. This site seems like it takes outdated items from the internet (which you corrected years ago) and never fixes them. It is a pure scam. So when in doubt, go to the court house, and/or find out what site the employers use. When you know you have a clean record, and sites like this show you junk names, etc, it's time to sue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Sad

    • Jan 5, 2016

    The info I found on this website is outdated, inaccurate and the face profiles do not match. I wasted my money on a complete scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Don't go there, they're simply collecting info from the net and embellishing

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    I recently ran a report on myself. What I found was not so good. I paid $23 for a one month subscription and canceled immediately after I saw the result. Results were utterly inaccurate, from my middle initial (I don’t have one), to 10 liens in court against me, which also is not true. I ran a couple of other people and they all showed 10 liens, and no court records. If you want them, it is an extra 20 bucks each. My property is not listed as me as the owner, but in my ex-husbands name. Note: he never owned this property. This is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam compamy

    I paid for 1 month to do some research. They have charge my credit card for the last 3 months and MasterCard removed it. I called this company and they sent me an email saying I was completely canceled as of October and would never hear from them again. My credit card was recharged for the $22.86 again reversing the MasterCard removal. They are scammers and actually their info, at least some of it, was wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • Rockingham, North Carolina ,
    • Oct 25, 2015

    Ok, here we go, they are lairs. They say it is ""easy'' to use and "free". Their info is wrong. I searched myself up and it said I was in jail for murder. It also said that my deceased mother was alive. My dad is also deceased, but it was right about that. Please, please don't use this. Oh, and they charged me $45.78 during a 7 day free trial. Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Harrison, Arkansas,
    • Oct 15, 2015

    I called in August to cancel, paid what I thought was the last statement but, they are still billing my credit card, after telling me my account was canceled. I got a bill in September which was the last bill I expected. Now I have been billed again, and have not used the site. This last bill I should not have gotten, I was assured my account was canceled but they are still billing me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Save your money, on the verge of a scam.

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Information, even address information, is at best 50% accurate. Complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review