About Beepi

Co-founded by Alejandro Resnik and Owen Savir, Beepi is a peer-to-peer marketplace that’s claimed to take all the hassle out of buying and selling a used vehicle, or what the company calls the “largest broken market in the world.” On top of this, Beepi claims that their business model allows sellers to get more money for their vehicles, and for buyers to pay less.

In order to accomplish this, Beepi claims to “connect buyers and sellers in an organized, efficient and safe environment;” almost like a virtual dealer, but without salespeople or showrooms, so the savings get passed on to you.

How Does Beepi Claim to Work?

First, you’ll fill out an online questionnaire about your vehicle, which will include important details such as make, model, year, mileage, options, and so forth. This is also where you’ll indicate whether or not everything works as it should, if there are any defects, etc.

Then, Beepi will send one of their inspectors—each of which has years of experience in the industry and undergoes more than 100 hours of training—to meet at your convenience. At that time, the inspector will verify that you are the legal owner of the vehicle, after which it will undergo a 185-point mechanical and cosmetic inspection.

If your vehicle is deemed “Beepi certified,” the company will use their proprietary algorithm to give you a better price than you’d receive at a dealership (and you won’t have to worry about random people coming to your house, like you would selling it elsewhere online).

If you accept the offer, your vehicle is then made available to the company’s customers. There is no haggling, so you won’t have to worry about the price changing, and Beepi guarantees they will find a buyer in 30 days or less (you can continue driving your car in the mean time). If they don’t, Beepi will buy the car directly from you at the original price.

Once your car has been sold, Beepi will take care of all the paperwork and ensure that it’s filled out correctly, and will also handle pick up, delivery, and the secure transfer of funds.

Sounds really easy, right? But should you choose Beepi if you’re buying or selling a used car? Consider the following:

Is Beepi Available in Your Area?

First and foremost, because Beepi is a newer company, they’re currently only available to customers in CA and NV. However, residents in neighboring states such as WA, OR, NV, and UT can have Beepi cars shipped to them for an additional $999 through the company’s Prime program.

How Much More Can You Expect to Get Using Beepi?

According to the Beepi website, “We take into account the mileage of your car, the demand for the model, the retail price quoted on Edmunds, and other factors. The price you get is always higher than what a dealership would pay, by as much as 20% more.”

Does Your Vehicle Cut the Mustard?

Despite the higher amount Beepi sellers can get for their car, the company claims that only 1 in every 3 cars they inspect ends up being listed on their website.

At their most basic, all Beepi-certified cars must have less than 60,000 miles and be less than 6 years old. However, if there is any sign that a vehicle has been in an accident or has had alterations made, it will not pass inspection (more about this in a moment).

Is a Test Drive a Deal Breaker for You?

Perhaps the biggest (and perhaps only) downfall related to Beepi is that as a buyer, you won’t be able to test drive a vehicle until you’ve purchased it an it’s been delivered at your home.

However, Beep does offer a 10-day trial period where you can return the vehicle hassle-free.

What Are Customers Saying About Beepi?

Based on 127 Yelp reviews (as of 5/11/15), Beepi had an average rating of 4.5 stars, with common compliments citing quick and easy process (whether buying or selling), better prices than expected, and complete transparency throughout. With what few complaints there were, they appeared to reference failure to pass certification (which primarily was due to factory bolts that had been removed at some point) and lower offers than expected.

In the instances of poor reviews though, it appears that Beepi responded quickly and attempted to rectify the situation.

Beepi also held 37 customer reviews on eKomi, with an average rating of 5 stars and many of the same compliments noted above.

From a company perspective, Beepi (aka Carsavvy Inc.) is based out of Los Altos, CA and holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints as of 5/11/15.

Beepi Pricing & Guarantees

Although it’s free to list your car through Beepi, once it sells, the company will charge a fee ranging between 3% and 9%, depending on the vehicle. Despite this, Beepi claims that sellers are guaranteed to get more than trade-in value for their vehicle, while buyers are guaranteed to pay less than the dealer advertised price (fees included).

In fact, if you get a written offer from a dealership that's higher than Beepi’s, the company claims they’ll beat it by $500.

All Beepi cars have clean titles and AutoCheck and CarFax reports are included at no extra charge.

Once you’ve listed your vehicle, Beepi claims you can cancel at any point, up until it’s actually sold. In addition, if you sell your car through Beepi, they will give you a $600 coupon right away to buy your new car with them.

As a buyer, you can pay for your Beepi vehicle using a credit card, wire transfer, check, ACH transfer, or choose an online financing option through one of Beepi’s partners.

Once you’ve received your vehicle, you’ll have 10 days (and less than 1,000 miles) to try it out. And if you don’t like it, you can return it to Beepi with no questions asked.

If you have questions for Beepi, you can reach customer service at (888) 542-3374.

Should You Buy Your Next Car Through Beepi?

Chopping to the point: If you’ve ever purchased a car before, you know how harrowing the experience can be. In fact, according to an Autotrader survey, only one half of one percent were satisfied with the current car buying process. As such, Beepi seems to be paving new roads in an effort to make us all happier car buyers.

Despite how broken the current car buying process may be though, it can be scary to embrace change, especially considering the large amount of money on the line. But if you’re willing to forego the initial test drive and accept a 10-day return policy instead, it seems that most Beepi customers were very pleased with their buying experience.

Also, keep in mind that from a selling perspective, while you might get more money for your car using Beepi than through a traditional dealer, Beepi’s guidelines appear to be much more stringent. In fact, numerous customers have complained that their vehicles were rejected because the paint on one or more factory bolts had been chipped, indicating a repair was made, even though they bought their cars new.

Have you bought or sold a car through Beepi? If so, tell us (and millions of HighYa readers) all about it by writing a review below!

More on Buying a Car:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Beepi

Average Customer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 2
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beepi.com Online Car Purchase

    This was my first individual financed car purchase. It was a very simple, easy process that I completed over my cell phone. Then a few days later, right on schedule, my car arrived at my front door. The Beepi team kept me informed and always immediately responded to any questions or concerns I had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 31, 2016

    My Seller review: Ford Edge SEL 2014 sold to Beepi today 10.20.16

    I wanted to sell my Ford Edge a few months ago, however, when I took it to be appraised at Carmax (Ugh) they gave me a much lower price than they had given me just 2 weeks before. This really irked me so I decided to search other options. After reading many reviews I decided to go with Beepi.

    Beepi met me at my location of choice and appraised the car. It took a bit longer than Carmax but they offered 2k more which made me super happy! The price is pretty much written in stone until they either sell the car or 30 days pass, whichever comes first. Be aware that they allow 1000 miles overage during the 30 day period otherwise, you will be charged 0.50c/mile. I went over the allotted mileage so I had to pay by credit card $550; to me this was reasonable and I still came out much better than Carmax.

    Hercules (love that name!) was patient, knowledgeable, and very flexible. Because the check was not a cashier's check I wanted to verify funds first. The branch manager at Chase Bank called a Beepi financial rep who in turn called Comerica Bank to verify funds for us. The Comerica branch manager said, "Beepi is one of our good customers" and she verified the funds. This made me feel confident so I deposited the check at Chase. It would have been much more convenient to have a bank certified check which is my only complaint about the whole process.

    Overall, I will give Beepi an A+!

    Thank you Beepi for making a typically difficult process almost painless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good experience

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 13, 2016

    I've sold cars to dealerships and Carmax and this time I discovered Beepi and sold my last car to them. They beat everyone else. The experience was smooth, convenient, and worthwhile. Lance was the Beepi employee who breezed through the paperwork with me, gave me my money, and took my car away. The experience was flawless from beginning to end. Based on my experience, I highly recommend Beepi and would work with them again if I had a car to sell.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    After reading reviews I decided to give Beepi a shot. My initial impression was good. They followed up via phone quickly and set up an appointment to have my vehicle inspected. Shortly after I received a confirmation email stating the date and time, and the name and picture of the individual doing the inspection.

    On inspection day I received a call from Jesse stating he was on his way and to make my vehicle accessible. After he arrived he explained the process, and I left him to conduct his inspection. Unfortunately it rains a lot in Florida, so we had to reschedule the inspection. Fast forward two days, and Jesse was back in my driveway. He completed the inspection and explained the results to me. There were some issues with the vehicle (which I was aware of) and a few I wasn't. He stated an engine mount was bad, my back bumper had been repainted, and the headlight housing was going foggy. He told me he does not decide what passes and what doesn't. He advised that there is a team back in California that takes car of that. He stated I would hear back in 24-48 hours. This was at 9:30 AM Thursday morning.

    On Monday afternoon (taking into account the time difference) I called because I did not receive any information concerning the inspection. The individual I spoke with on the phone placed me on hold to review the file. After a brief pause he returned to the line, and told me I should hear something by the end of the day. After no word, I decided to use the chat option this afternoon so I could take screen shots of the conversation so I could have a record (you learn things from being in the military). The individual I typed with was Jamie. He advised me my vehicle did not pass inspection, but Beepi could offer me 5,700 under their "blue service". He was polite, and apologized for them not responding faster. He stated, “they should have reached out shortly after the inspection”.

    Here are my issues:

    1. When you originally put in your information, they give you a ballpark range. I understand this will very depending on the condition of the vehicle. The 5,700 offer was 79.00 more then the "low-ball salesman offer.
    2. I passed on numerous private offers waiting to hear back from Beepi. The offer that was supposed to arrive to me within 24-48 hours. Who knows if, or when I would have received this if I had not contacted them multiple times.

    A little background on my vehicle. It is a 2011 with 54k miles. It is a one owner vehicle, and has never been in an accident. There are no dents or dings.

    I understand this is a business and they need to make a profit. Selling "questionable" vehicles could sour their reputation. It's the way they handle things that upsets me. So go into a transaction with them not expecting anything. That way you will not be disappointed.

    FYI, the offer they gave me under their Beepi blue was 300.00 less then a popular blue and yellow dealership that purchases cars nationwide. Per their inspection, everything on the vehicle passed. Just something to keep in mind. I wish I had the option to upload pictures of my vehicle, the CM inspection and report, the Beepi conversation, and their report, if it's ever emailed to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Car-buying Experience

    • Texas,
    • Jul 14, 2016

    Absolutely fantastic, hassle-free experience.

    It was my first time buying a car, so I looked through a few online pre-owned car sites. Beepi offers one of the most user-friendly user interfaces, and its reps are quick to respond to any queries/concerns I have regarding both the online experience and the vehicles themselves. The checklist Beepi offers on car "dimples" is honest, and includes even imperfections on the car that is not visible to the naked eye. Once I decided the make a purchase, the process is transparent and efficient. I was first contacted by an agent who set up my deal and I only had to pay $500 deposit upfront to reserve the vehicle. Beepi is willing to accommodate my delivery date, and responsibly gave me an accurate delivery window a few days prior to the actual shipment.

    In the period between purchase and delivery, Beepi followed up with me frequently, querying for delivery address and prepping me for the big day. They keep me updated with the status of my car, and what's more, they take care of all the paperwork and DMV registration. The pricing scheme is transparent, and in no instance did they try to force me to purchase unnecessary insurance, pay over-the-top premiums etc. Also, there is a guaranteed 10-day period where if you don't fall completely in love with your car, you can return it, with no questions asked.

    On the day of delivery, the agent called me 30 minutes prior to arrival in my driveway. He was friendly, polite, and efficient with the process. He unloaded the car from his Beepi truck and walked me through all the paperwork within 20 minutes. He then showed me the controls in the vehicle and took me out for a test-drive. His explanations are professional and in-depth, and he answered any lingering questions I had (remember, my first car, so). Finally, he told me that should I have any questions on the road, I can always call Beepi for help and assistance.

    The entire process, all in all, feels extremely honest and professional. Also, response time from Beepi is efficient, so I am never left talking to robots or waiting on dial tones. Even when the purchase is made and payment is complete, the company continues to cater to customer needs to ensure I have a good driving experience. This is an extremely ethical company, and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I would recommend Beepi to anyone who is looking to purchase a pre-owned car in excellent condition.

    P.S. The registration/title transfer is also processed in a timely manner, and mailed to me as soon as it's ready. Beepi kept in contact with me and was accountable throughout the process even after the payment is processed. Such a committed team.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Transparent, Patient, Efficient

    I found Beepi through a Yahoo article wherein the columnist detailed his experience buying a Beepi.

    I HATE, hate, hate having to deal with the panhandlers that are referred to salesman, so this sounded like a dream opportunity; my car would cost roughly a thousand dollars in repairs to pass inspection, and it was time to move on. I perused Beepi for days, checking out everything in the way of smaller cars (we rented a Yaris on a trip and LOVED it), and found my little mint green Fiat convertible. I was in love with the car, and the website provided everything you could imagine needing to know.

    My husband is INCREDIBLY detail-oriented, so he took on the task of checking out the website, the company, the car, the "dimple report", everything. The car was RIDICULOUSLY cute, and I never dreamed I'd actually end up with it. We moved forward on the car through the website, established contact with a rep, a week and a half after putting in our request for financing quotes, decided to go ahead and put down the reserve deposit. Go another week and a half, and the car arrived in front of the office -- they delivered it to my job. I was ecstatic, and my coworkers were really impressed with the process -- they insisted on staying updated every step of the way. There was no haggling, no having to worry about what I'm ending up with, and four months later, I'm still LOVING my little car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and empty promise

    A Beepi agent came to my house to inspect my truck. Very nice man. Prior to him coming over, I asked if this was going to be a waste of my time. He told me the process takes two hours and they will fully inspect the truck to make an accurate assessment of the worth. I told him and the online rep the details of my truck. That included a lot of upgrades, lifted, etc. So if they could not beat Carmax's offer, it's not worth two hours. They said it is fine and he would be there in an hour. After the full inspection and a lot of pictures, the rep informed me I would receive an offer within 24-48 hours. I was very excited to move forward. Later that night I received a email informing me they could not make me an offer based on the upgrades of my truck. My truck is too nice to list apparently. What? So much for the 30 day promise. This has been a waste of two hours and I feel very mislead. Would never recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Beepi is everything it says it is - They say what they do and do what they say!

    • San Antonio, Texas,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    My Beepi experience was "exceptional". When you read what Beepi is all about, it is that and more. Their process is to the letter and the process has integrity. There is "no hassle" whatsoever. If you're looking for a method to sell your car and you don't won't to be bothered with potential buyers just call Beepi. I certainly received more money for my private own auto than if I would have traded it at a dealership. Beepi's process for estimating the value of your car is one of the best evaluations I've ever been exposed too. One can rely on Beepi to sell or buy your vehicle and you will not be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Beepi lies!

    This buying experience started out so promising, then unraveled with missed communications, cover-ups, and outright lies.

    On July 2 of this year I bought a 2009 Lexus LS 460 from Beepi.

    After looking for a couple months I found a model that I liked on the website CarGurus and it happened to be a listing from Beepi. The price seemed to be reasonable considering the low mileage (43k), so I called and found out how their process works. The young customer service representative I spoke with seemed knowledgeable and was friendly and very upbeat. I was thinking that this just might be a painless experience!

    Well, it wasn't long before I realized that on numerous occasions I called in to Beepi to ask a question or provide an answer and I would be speaking with or emailing yet another chirpy, friendly sounding young Beepi rep (Michelle, Alison, Sena) And each time I would have to repeat answers or give information that I had already provided. There was a lot of redundancy and it was slightly annoying.

    There was a problem in coordinating the financing between my credit union and Beepi. I put my credit union representative in touch with one of the finance people at Beepi, and still had to step in to provide information to my credit union that I had given to Beepi. Even on the date of delivery there were loose ends that Beepi had not taken care of, leaving me to call and even visit the credit union the next day to tie up loose ends.

    It was delivered to my home via flatbed truck on July 2, the delivery driver (Hercules) had the contract paperwork and went over the return process with me; I would have 10 days to return the car no questions asked for 100% of my money back. And that, I thought, would be the end of my Beepi experience. Not too bad, a few bumps here and there. Then the problems began.

    The new car sat in the garage for the better part of a month, with the exception of a 400 mile road trip to San Francisco and back. I still had my older car for daily driving for another month or two, and was in no hurry to put miles on the "new" car.

    With less than 500 miles on the odometer, a month after delivery, the battery died. Bad cell. It happens.

    With less than 1000 miles on the car I took it out at night for the first time. I hadn't yet used the headlights, and I immediately noticed when I turned them on that there is a problem with the backlighting on the head unit buttons (for am and fm radio); they aren't lit. It looks like a smile with two missing front teeth. The problem was missed when the car was inspected prior to delivery to my home on July 2. It can only be seen in the dark and with the headlights on, so it got through the inspection process. I understand, but I want it fixed.

    I immediately chatted online with Connor at Beepi; he assured me that he would pass along my request and have someone get back to me the same day.

    The next day I received an email from Ian, a "Customer Solutions Expert". He was sorry to hear about the back lights being out, and wanted to be sure I was taken care of. He suggested the best solution would be to take the Lexus into my preferred service center and have the bulb replaced. Beepi would cover the cost of replacement once I submitted a receipt for reimbursement.

    I took the car to a local shop that services Lexus and was told that the problem isn't a bulb, but an LED integrated into a board behind the faceplate of the radio head unit. He indicated that the head unit would likely need to be replaced.

    Ian reconsidered his repair offer; now he would pay me $100 for the "missed dimple". I refused, insisting that it be fixed. I asked to speak with his supervisor, and received a call from Sara Sarkas. After reviewing my chart, she agreed that they would fix the part. She would call me in a week with the particulars for the repair. She told me Beepi has a network of Lexus/Toyota service centers and I would be taken care of; she would call me early in the following week. I believed her and began to think that maybe Beepi was better than a retail used car experience after all.

    Then I received a call from Kyle Thibaut, "Head of Customer Solutions". After a brief introduction Kyle informed me that the part is not covered under the warranty. I was now confused; this was old ground that had been covered in all of my earlier phone conversations and emails. I told him what Sara Sarkas had agreed to do for me; he informed me that Sara is out of the office all week and he cannot confirm it with her. And get this. Kyle claims he has photos of the pre-delivery inspection process showing the backlit head unit buttons being fully operational! I asked to see these photos, and Kyle told me that he cannot share the photos with me. Obviously an outright lie.

    If you get to the top of customer service and meet with broken promises and outright lies, you know you are dealing with a disreputable company. Too bad. Caveat emptor. Contact me if you need more details.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 18, 2015

    The Beepi people went out of their way to accommodate my every question and to allay my fears about buying online. The car I purchased was spotlessly detailed and passed my mechanic's inspection with flying colors.

    And how many dealers would offer a 10-day unconditional return policy, not to mention their excellent 90-day full coverage warranty.

    They asked a fair price for their car and offered a fair trade-in value for our car as well. I can't imagine ever buying another anywhere else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for Beepi!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review