About Big Boss Insta Mop

Big Boss Insta Mop is a rotating mop that comes with its own bucket and promises to be better than a regular mop because it can be used wet or dry and includes a spinning centrifuge with areas for clean and dirty water.

Big Boss is a brand name used by Emson, Inc., a NYC-based direct marketing firm for products such as the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer and Big Boss Slice-a-Roo. Emson has a B+ rating from the BBB, due to a failure to respond to one complaint and 24 complaints in the last 12 months (as of August 2014).

How Big Boss Insta Mop Works

Big Boss Insta Mop seems very similar in design and concept to the Hurricane Twin Spin or Hurricane 360 Mop sold by Telebrands. All of them utilize a round mop that swivels 360 degrees as well as having a machine-washable head that they claim attracts dust and pet hair. All models also have a centrifuge in their accompanying bucket that, when pushed down upon (or in the case of the Hurricane 360, activated by a foot pedal) they claim spins the mop dry.

The main difference between the Big Boss Insta Mop and the Hurricane-brand Mops appears to be the bucket. The Insta Mop has 2 separate areas, one for clean water and one for dirty, with the centrifuge over the “dirty” side; they claim this will prevent you from washing the floor with dirty water. In addition, the Insta Mop has a drain plug on the dirty side and the bucket separates in half for storage.

To use Big Boss Insta Mop, they instruct you to snap on the mop head and simply start cleaning. If you are using it in dry mode, they claim electro-static energy from the mop will attract dirt as you move it. They add because of the 360 swivel, you can reach areas that other mops can’t.

If you are using in “wet” mode, fill the side without the centrifuge with water and submerge mop. Again, use the mop head anywhere, and when its time to wring it out, place on the centrifuge side and push; they state this will activate and spin your mop head dry, depositing the dirty water in the separate area underneath.

Big Boss Insta Mop Pricing and Returns

Big Boss costs 1 or 2 payments totaling $39.90 plus $7.95 S&P for a total of $47.85. If you would like a second mop head, add another $5.95 in processing at checkout. You have 30 days to try Big Boss Insta Mop and if it doesn’t make mopping as easy as they promise, you can return it for your $39.90 (so long as you pay to ship it back).

When you order Big Boss Insta Mop, it should be noted that you are also signing an arbitration agreement preventing you from suing or joining a class action lawsuit for damages.

Bottom Line: Is Big Boss Insta Mop a Scam?

As we mentioned, Big Boss Insta Mop seems almost identical to the Hurricane 360 Mop, with a few minor modifications to the bucket. Although they do seem to be sold by 2 different companies (Telebrands and Emson) it is quite possible they are purchasing the mop from the same vendor and re-branding.

Again, since they are so similar, let us point out the main product problems listed in some of the 90 reviews we’ve accumulated from Hurricane 360. Namely:

  • The product appeared cheaply made.
  • The mop handle broke easily.
  • The mop head was impossible to clean even after washing.
  • The centrifuge didn’t spin very well or get the mop dry.

Big Boss Insta Mop may or may not have similar issues. If you do order Big Boss Insta Mop, let us know below how it works for you!

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Customer Reviews for Big Boss Insta Mop

Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 7 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 17
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Mar 4, 2016

    I bought this mop from one of the retail stores and it is not worth the money you paid for it. Firstly the swivel head doesn't swivel properly so you are constantly fighting with it to get it to go in the right direction. Then you are constantly having to renew the soapy water side, as in order to "spin it out" you have to go to he "dirty water side," even with the brand new never used clean water, so you end up spinning out most of the soapy water on the first two spins. Would not recommend this mop to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not waist your money

    I give this a NO stars rating, this mop is horrible. I add to change my water times times within 50 feet, because it runs out on the "clean" side. They say it's clean water (nice concept), but in fact, it is only clean once, after the very first dip, then after that it's not. The mop's head design is horrible, and when you try to mop one way, it gives and bends on you. Do not waist your money on this, I am now out $30, and for $20 more, I could've bought the mop I wanted. I only purchased this one over the other because it was cheaper (which I have I just broken), but I have seen the difference between clean and dirty, and this one is a joke. I hope this saves someone else the back ache, and a little money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hard time assembling the mop

    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    Just as the previous reviews, I had a hard time assembling the mop. One of the holes was off centered. I had to heat up the screw and push it through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 31, 2015

    WARNING. Only order one deal at a time. This company is very dishonest. I ordered a mop online, buy one get one, then it asks if you would like more for no additional shipping charges. They ask this after they already have your credit card info. It does not return you to your cart so you can view your order, it just says order complete. So I immediately made a call to the customer service department to see if they were all buy one get one free, they confirmed yes so I did not cancel the order.

    After several calls to customer service, I am still three mops short. It will probably cost me more in shipping than they are worth to send them back. Big headache and I have no even tried the mops yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love my Big Boss Insta Mop.

    • Tallahassee, Florida,
    • Nov 23, 2015

    I am a professional house cleaner for the Tallahassee area and I have just traded out my old mop system for my Big Boss. I've been using it for a couple weeks in my own home and all day at work. It does everything it claims and more! My back doesn't hurt from bending and ringing out mops over and over. It swirls around the baseboards cleaning them as well. It massages the Murphy's oil into the wood floors SO NICE. It picks up EVERYTHING and once my day is done I throw it in the wash with my cleaning rags. Each time I wash it the head comes out looking like brand new. I LOVE mopping now, it takes half the time it used to and is no longer my most dreaded task in my work day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I like it!

    I bought this mop at Walmart. I have a stiffer and to be honest, I was tired of buying pads and solution bottles. I use it regularly with just a little bit of Armstrong floor cleaning solution. I have never had the issues of the top head not turning or wringing it out. I love this mop.

    The complaints I do have are the handle is a little on the flimsy side and after wringing it out you do have a tiny bit of residual dirt left on the head when you put it back in the clean water side. Other than that, it works wonders. I was able to mop up water till it was dry when my dishwasher hose started leaking the other day.

    When I clean the mop head, I just toss it into the washer and it's good as new.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The Handle

    • El Paso Tx,
    • Oct 19, 2015

    I received the mop three weeks ago and can't use it because the last part of the handle won't go in for some reason. I called the customer service number and the lady that answered was lost and had no idea of the product I was taking about, but finally she said they will send me another handle, so far nothing. Can't rate it because I can't use it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 23, 2015

      Olga Padilla

      It is November 23, 2015 and I still have not received that handle. $43.00 down the drain.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Big Boss

    I bought mine at Walmart. I clean houses so I use it regularly. I like it. Yes, you do have dirty water in the clean side after the first rinse, I do have to hold the mop up out of the water for about 30 seconds to drain or the dirty side fills up to fast. I like the pivot head on the mop it works well for cleaning tubs and shower walls. It saves my back a lot. So I would recommend this product. I use less cleaning solution in my water to prevent the sudding in the spin side.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Better than my other option

    • Saskatoon, SK,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    Firstly, the clean/dirty water separation - all fine until you bring back a dirty mop to get wet again. Secondly, the head does not rotate as advertised, and not so freely as on the infomercial. If you over spin the clean water side, it gets too sudsy - I find less water and cleanser works, although you might have to fill it up a couple times. Over spinning the centrifuge side, and you create a lot of suds which in turn require a rinse. I find that less water, and suds - followed by a hot rinse and it seems to be doing the job. Sure beats having to put pads on the head of the steam mop, and lug that around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Bad Customer Service and Disappointment

    • Canada,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I ordered the Insta Mop plus the bonus mop head online on September 30th and didn't receive the order almost a month later. When I received the package, the bonus mop head was missing. Called the customer service and they said the bonus mop head was canceled. I felt like they scammed me. They canceled the bonus mop head and didn't even call or email me. I would of canceled the order. Also, as a Canadian customer, the order is in U.S. dollars. Don't buy from the Big Boss Insta Mop website. If you want to try this product, go to Canadian Tire, they sell this product for 39.99 plus tax which equals $45 and you don't have to pay for shipping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Double order cost me $20 plus no mop or bucket

    • Newfoundland, Canada,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I mistakenly ordered the mop watching TV and at the end of processing my order, the total showed $102 so I knew something was wrong. Not being able to do anything to fix it online, I called the customer service department to have the order corrected but was told I would have to wait four hours for my order to appear in their computer system so I would have to call back. I called back in four hours and was then told my order could not be changed and the item had been shipped from the warehouse. Wow! What service that would be. Nonetheless, I let it go until Monday morning.

    I called again first thing Monday morning and was then advised I would have to wait to actually receive the package and then to return one set for a refund. Ok, I can handle that but when I got the package, both mop sets were shipped in one fairly big box so shipping one back was impossible without opening the box. Rather than doing that and have to re-package the extra set, I opted to call them the next day and ask them how I was to ship it back to them without a return label.

    This time I find out I am responsible for sending the set back and the refund would be completed once I did that. Really frustrated by now: so frustrated I decided to return both sets and cancel the entire order. They now tell me that was fine and refunded me the shipping & handling fee for the extra set that I was going to ship back ($13.95 CDN). I was boldly advised this company does not have return labels: returning the product is the customer's cost regardless of the circumstances. I was originally willing to keep one set until it became clear I was going to end up having to return both sets and wait heaven knows how long for the refund. I also had to pay $35 (Canadian Dollars) just to return the mops for my refund.

    This kind of rip-off should be punishable by law and no sales contract should be allowed to trap customers like this. There is no way my order was shipped out of their warehouse within four hours of ordering it online and any reasonable company would have gladly changed the order to be only one set and kept a happy customer. I've ended up with choosing between paying $102 for a mop and bucket or pay $35 to return it and end up without a mop and bucket - not a fair position to be placed in. I am utterly disappointed with ordering from this company. Ignorant service agents to boot! I have no choice but swallow my loss but I do intend on contacting the President of the company to file an official complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a review for Big Boss Insta Mop!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review