What Is Biocilium?

Using a blend of folic acid, biotin, and other multivitamins, Biocilium hair health support supplement promises to nourish your hair follicles and provide them with the essential nutrients they need to regrow.

By energizing follicle growth, the manufacturer claims that Biocilium’s intensive nourishment may also help naturally thicken hair, as well as prevent future damage from occurring.

What's the deal here? If you're one of the millions of men (or women!) who is currently experiencing hair loss, have you finally found a solution with Biocilium?

Or, is all of this just more overblown marketing hype for nothing more than an overpriced sugar pill?

Here, we’ll discuss what we learned during our research and leave the final decision up to you.

Your Quick Reference Hair Supplements Buyer’s Guide

Before understanding how Biocilium might address hair loss, we first need to know what causes it. Stick with us as we quickly run through the details.

In Laymen's Terms, How Does Hair Grow?

The human head contains about 100,000 hairs, each made up of protein filaments. These filaments grow from individual cells formed in the root of follicles, where they slowly push up until exiting the scalp.

Hair doesn’t constantly grow, though. Instead, there are three distinct stages: 1) Anagen, the growth stage that lasts 2-6 years; 2) telogen, the rest phase that lasts about 100 days; and 3) catagen, the phase in between.

Now, what can cause this process to temporarily stall, or stop altogether?

What Can Cause Hair Loss and Is It Possible to Regrow with Products like Biocilium?

There are likely thousands of different conditions that can cause hair to become unhealthy and fall out, including medical conditions (e.g. diabetes and vitamin deficiencies), some medications, too much stress, and heart disease.

By far the most common cause is male or female pattern baldness, which itself is caused by a hormonal imbalance that results in the gradual shrinking of hair follicles. The hair produced by these follicles becomes increasingly thinner until they eventually cease producing hair at all.

There are some products, such as topical treatments like Rogaine and prescription medications like Propecia, that can help delay this process. Often, though, they'll stop working after a couple of years or come with some unwanted side effects.

Are There a Lot of Different Hair Supplements?

Because of this, thousands of men and women have started turning to “natural” supplements like Biocilium over the past several years to reduce hair loss and improve thickness. As a result, hundreds of products have entered the market in order to meet this demand.

We’ve reviewed many of these competing options here at HighYa, including TLS Hair, Hairburst, Hairfinity, Viviscal, and Hair Vitality. This is to say nothing about the other topical treatments and systems like Hair La Vie, Ovation Hair, and E-VOSS Hair Loss Control.

Including Biocilium, how can you possibly decide which of these is right for you?

First, if you browse through feedback for many of the products above, you’ll quickly learn that many customers claimed to have experienced no results, making them feel like their high prices weren’t worth it. Additionally, many found it next to impossible to cancel their free trials and autoship programs.

Obviously, without testing it firsthand, we’re not necessarily saying this is the case with Biocilium. But based on the frequency of this feedback, it’s definitely worth noting.

Second, as we outlined in Everything You Need to Know About Hair Supplements, most of these supplements feature ingredients that haven’t been clearly shown to provide real-world hair-related benefits. Is it the same for Biocilium?

Are Biocilium’s Ingredients Effective?

Important note: The manufacturer appears to have made a substantial change to Biocilium’s ingredients since first writing our review in December 2016. Whereas the original formulation listed Biotin, Vitamin C, Folic Acid, Silica (Silicon), and Beta Carotene, the updated list now shows:

  • Ginkgo Biloba (24% extract) 50mg
  • Phosphatidylserine Complex 125mg
  • Acetyl-L-Carnitine 50mg
  • St. John's Wort (0.3% hypericin) 250mg
  • Glutamine (L-Glutamine HCL) 150mg
  • DMAE Bitartrate 50mg
  • Bacopin (20% Bacosides) 100mg

Will any of these substances help regrow hair, pause or stop the hair loss process, or otherwise improve hair quality?

In short: According to authoritative websites like WebMD and Examine.com, there is insufficient clinical evidence for these ingredients. In fact, many of these new ones are commonly found in memory and testosterone supplements; not hair supplements.

And here's why: 240-600mg of ginkgo per day may help improve mental function and reduce anxiety, while 300mg of phosphatidylserine daily and 1,500-4,000mg of acetyl-l-carnitine have both been shown to help address some aspects of Alzheimer’s and age-related memory loss.

300mg to 2,000mg of DMAE per day has been shown to help with symptoms of depression and 300mg of bacopa (active ingredient bacopin) have been shown to help improve memory and thinking in otherwise healthy individuals.

The problem is that, even if Biocilium were marketed as a brain supplement, based on what we learned from authoritative websites, it doesn’t contain high enough concentrations of most ingredients to make a meaningful impact.

As far as the original list of ingredients? All of these vitamins are critically important for human health. Vitamin C, for example, helps make collagen, which is basically the “glue” that keeps our body together.

As a result, if you’re deficient in any of them, you can experience some nasty side effects—hair loss included.

However, authoritative sites like WebMD indicate there’s insufficient evidence showing these ingredients can help reverse hair loss, regrow hair, or improve thickness in otherwise healthy individuals.

The question to ask here is how exactly will Biocilium's ingredients address your hair health.

Looking for something to point you in the right direction? Folica.com provides a detailed list of ingredients that have been clinically shown to address hair loss and/or improve hair quality—none of which appear to be featured in Biocilium.

Will Biocilium’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

Except in the rarest of instances, it doesn’t appear than Biocilium’s ingredients will cause anything worse than mild, temporary digestive upset.

However, in some instances, acetyl-l-carnitine can cause a "fishy" odor of the urine, breath, and sweat; ginkgo may cause a forceful heartbeat and allergic skin reactions, and St. Johns Wort might cause trouble sleeping, vivid dreams, restlessness, anxiety, and irritability.

Bacopa may lead to dry mouth and fatigue, while deanol can sometimes cause insomnia, confusion, depression, and even unwanted movements of the face and mouth.

Finally, phosphatidylserine has been used in research studies for up to six months, so long-term safety isn’t fully understood.

How Much Does Biocilium Cost?

There seemed to be some confusion about how much Biocilium costs. For example, on the left side of the ordering screen, the following prices were listed:

  • 1 Bottle: $59.99
  • 3 Bottles: $119.97
  • 5 Bottles: $139.95
  • 7 Bottles: $188

We also found the following text underneath the credit card field:

  • 7 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $139.97 and sent a fresh 5 month supply in 150 days.
  • 5 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $119.97 and send a fresh 3 month supply in 90 days.
  • 3 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $94 and send a fresh 2 month supply in 60 days.
  • 1 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $49.99 and send a fresh 1 month supply in 30 days.

It appears this membership will cost you $9.99 per month, in addition to the cost of your products.

There wasn’t any shipping or refund information available listed on the Biocilium website.

As a result, we reached out to the company for more information at contact@getBiocilium.com and customer@getBiocilium.com. As of 2/6/17 (a month and a half after sending) we hadn’t received a response.

A Quick Note About Biocilium’s Arbitration

In a nutshell, an arbitration agreement is a contract between two parties who have agreed to settle a dispute outside of the court system. This means you’ll be waiving some important rights as soon place your Biocilium order, including a trial by jury or becoming part of a class action lawsuit.

How Can You Decide If Biocilium Is the Right Hair Supplement?

As we mentioned at the beginning, our goal isn't to tell you what to do with your hard-earned money. Instead, it's to provide you with the information and allow you to make up your own mind.

At the same time, we’re consumers too! And based on our experience reviewing hundreds of nutritional supplements (many of which directly compete with Biocilium), as well as reading thousands of reviews from consumers just like you, we have a handful of concerns:

1. Ingredients, Clinical Evidence, & Dosage

Yes, it’s positive that Biocilium’s manufacturer chose to provide an ingredients label and dosages on the supplement’s website.

However, there seems to be a vast difference between their original formulation and their updated list of ingredients, so we’re not quite sure what’s going on here. But, more important is the fact that neither of these ingredients lists contains any substances—according to authoritative websites—that can address hair loss or hair quality in any meaningful way.

Furthermore, even if Biocilium was marketed for purposes that have plenty of clinical support (addressing memory, for example), it doesn’t seem to contain enough to deliver.

Taken together, the clinical evidence doesn’t seem to support any of the manufacturer’s claims.

2. What Do We Know About the Manufacturer?

Biocilium's URL was just over a month old at the time of our research, so the supplement hadn't been around long enough to garner any customer feedback. Their registration information was also masked so that we couldn't learn more information about the company.

Speaking of the website, it featured multiple spelling and grammatical errors.

Taken together, this gives us pause, especially since we’re discussing a product that you’ll ingest. And in this instance, you’re basically putting a largely unknown substance in your body from an almost completely anonymous company.

3. Missing Information

Finally, because this is something you’ll be putting in your body, we think any reputable manufacturer should provide as much information as possible. From this perspective, can we trust that this updated formula truly represents the ingredients contained in the supplement?

Considering that it’s vastly different than the original ingredients list, and that authoritative sites report none of these new ingredients will have any impact on hair loss or quality, we’ll leave the answer up to you. At the very least, it’s our opinion that you should be wary before placing your order.

Also, because you work hard for your money, you deserve to know the correct prices, refund details (including restocking fees and restrictions), and shipping costs.

We reached out to the manufacturer about each of these concerns, and we’ll be sure to update this review as soon as a response is received.

In the meantime, we'd recommend speaking with your doctor about your different options for addressing hair loss. While you’re there, you can also ask what they think about supplements like Biocilium.

Did you purchase Biocilium? How long did you use it? Did it provide real-world hair growth? Tell us in your review below!

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for Biocilium

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • Total thieves

    I ordered on 4/30 and paid $188.00. I called back to see if I could get a lower price. They refunded $94.00 but canceled my order. I called them back, and they said they would ship.

    On 7/8/17 I called again and told them I never received. I wanted my money back. I got "BS" about the company policy, but I told them I didn't care about their company's policy, I just wanted my money back. I said I would contact the Attorney General in Washington state. They promised to refund the other $94.00, but I haven't seen it yet.

    I just got off the phone with them again today, 8/6. Still no refund. They started "BS" about their company policy. I told them either I get the other $94 as promised or I will contact three TV stations, and the Attorney General in Washington and Oregon, as I own a home in Oregon but am staying in Washington. I said if we have to make Good Morning America I would love to get the publicity, and if I don't get the refund by next Sunday, I will let them know, turn the credit card company loose on them and go for national publicity.

    I will have to wait and see what happens, but if I have to go for the publicity, it is fine with me. Bad publicity is all they understand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Authentic scam artist

    • Fort Worth, Texas,
    • Aug 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow, I see a lot of other people that have gotten robbed as well. Seems like they have experienced EXACTLY what I've been going through with this FAKE company.

    On May 16, 2017, I ordered five bottles for $188.00. After a month of waiting, I called several times to inquire about the status of my order. Remind you that each and every time I called, I would get brushed and rushed off the phone with no clue still of the status of anything. I was asked for my name, order number, etc. as if someone was going to return my call. No one has returned any of my calls!

    One day I called and was told this was their "answering services." This lady was so nice and had sympathy when I shared my experience about this company. I was so surprised about the honesty and eagerness she shared with me (maybe because I was crying because these people have taken my money). She told me that so many people have called and this company was a scam. She understood my pain, and I needed to cancel my credit card and get a new one. Wow, she had CONFIRMED this is a SCAM four real!

    On June 21, 2017, I received one bottle in the mail. I called again and was told that I would receive the remaining four bottles and a FREE one. I also found out before canceling my credit card that they were taking out $119.97 for two months for a darn membership that I didn't approve of! I called, no answer.

    I emailed on July 13, 2017, and stated I was going to give my story to channel 8 NEWS and got a response. This company told me I would get my full refund. On July 14, and July 16, I saw $119.97 go back into my account for the membership fee they were charging me. They NEVER refunded ALL my money back. I was charged on my credit card $188.00 for five bottles. I received only one bottle at $37.60. They STOLE $150.40.

    Now, when I email it says "a message error, unable to deliver." When I call, it's as if I am BLOCKED. This is the worst scam I've encountered!

    I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy. Run as fast as you can! Do not look twice. I'm going to call Texas Attorney General and Channel 8 News and give my story.

    Today is August 1, 2017. I still haven't received a reply from an email, nor have I received the remaining bottles that I paid for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off and not happy!

    • New Mexico,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It did absolutely nothing. I called and talked to a representative of the company for my money back guarantee, and since I had high hopes, he told me to continue with the product. I continued using the product with no results. This product is a scam.

    You will not have any success talking to anyone, believe me, I tried. I've talked to their answering service, or at least that's what they call themselves. They take my concerns and information and say that a representative from the company will contact me.

    Still waiting. If this product worked for you, consider yourself fortunate. What a ripoff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    • California,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product for the full 90 days as instructed and not a single hair has come out on my head, although the hair in my nose and ears have really increased. Not the result I was looking for.

    I have tried to get in touch with customer service for a full refund to no avail at present.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Cancellation email received 7/12/17

    • West Bloomfield, MI,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received an email canceling my order. The big problem is they canceled my "one bottle" order, when in fact I ordered seven. Someone, please provide the number to call direct!

    Thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Review?

    • Woodside, NY,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product in May and paid $148 by my credit card. So after collecting the said amount the company sends me an Order No: 5255E6E375. To this date, I haven't received anything from this company. I made several phone calls and spoke with a BECKY and a few others during this long stretch of months. Last time, about four weeks ago, I was told that I will be receiving routing number before the product is being shipped. That's all. So far no communication from them. Today I sent an email to Customer@biocilium.com, which was returned as undeliverable.

    Can anyone help me solve this mystery? Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Biocilium

    I have been using Biocilium for four months. I see a little fuzz, but my wife says it is my imagination. They do not offer a guarantee, and I see why. Do not waste your money. I gave it one star because that is as low as they go.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Hard company to deal with

    I ordered the three-bottle offer of Biocilium, but when my order went in, I found that they had added two other products to my order.

    I wrote that I wanted to cancel the whole order and finally ended up calling a number I found for them. I was connected with an answering service, and the lady said she would pass the information on. Within a few days, I received an email that all my purchases would be canceled. However, there was no credit to my credit card for any of the three amounts that they had already debited to the card immediately after making the purchase.

    Another call was made to the answering service, and a few days later I received another email saying that my card would be credited for the three charges. A few days later a credit for the Biocilium of $119 was credited to the credit card, but no credit for the other two charges was posted on my card. Another call to the answering service about this and she took my phone number and said she would pass on the information and someone would contact me to straighten out the problem.

    I am still waiting for that contact and still no credit to my credit card for the other two items I unwittingly purchased. My feeling is I am out about $90 for these purchases, and the company will fail to keep their promise to refund all three amounts. I guess my hope is that someone from Biocilium will read these posts and learn something about their business practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • Franklin, TN,
    • May 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the biggest scams I have ever seen. I ordered three bottles for $119.97 on April 11, 2017. They charged my credit card immediately. By April 25th I had not received any product, so I called in and was told they had an overwhelming response to their ad, and the product is still on back order.

    On May 15th I called again and was told it is still on backorder. So I told them they shouldn't have charged my credit card until they could furnish the product and that I had lost faith in the company and wanted a full refund. I was told their company policy is that they can only refund 40% of the purchase price and no more. I told them that was unacceptable and I demanded a full refund.

    The man on the phone said he had to talk to his supervisor. I told him I was going to have my credit card nullify their charge as a scam and report them to the Tennessee State Attorney General. He came back on the phone and said my full refund will be returned to my card within five days. I did receive the refund, but this is a huge scam! BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    100% thieves!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is ABSOLUTELY useless. It did NOTHING to improve my condition. To make matters worse, some hidden fine print makes it okay for them to charge you $119 every month after ordering. These people are shameless THIEVES!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It is beyond a doubt a scam!

    On 4/6/17 I made a three-bottle order of Biocilium. The Biocilium folks charged my credit card immediately and then took off for the hills. I still have not received the product.

    This is one of the most blatant scams by a bunch of very practiced shysters that I have seen. When you realize that they are not legit and you google "Biocilium," there are numerous comments and reviews, virtually all of which were apparently placed by the ITs within Biocilium. When you try to call them at the (888) 777-8113, you get some poor $3.00 an hour answering service clerk who can only tell you that he/she will pass your name on to the shysters and they will contact you.

    I'm almost ashamed to be pulled into this scam, however, who doesn't want a full head of hair. I now will contact my credit card company to retrieve my $120 and proceed to contact both state and federal agencies who police such scams. I only hope that this site was not set up by the Biocilium crooks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Biocilium!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review