About BookBub

If you’re an avid—but price-conscious—reader, BookBub claims to send you email alerts any time a book matching your interests is offered at a deeply discounted price, or even completely free. In fact, with more than 2 million subscribers, the company claims to be the #1 service for e-book price promotions.

But is BookBub really all that it’s cracked up to be? Let’s peek behind the cover and find out.

Quick Facts About BookBub

According to the BookBub website, publishers often provide flash sales on their books in order to stimulate sales or to make them stand out from the competition. However, these price reductions are generally only offered for a limited period of time, and finding out when they occur can be a painstaking process.

To change this, BookBub claims to “help you discover your next great book” by sending you daily email updates for ebooks that meet the following criteria:

  • Free or deeply discounted
  • Top quality content
  • Limited time offers
  • Matches your preference

BookBub emails feature content from top-tier authors and publishers, as well as from up-and-coming standouts, across the following genres:

  • Bestsellers
  • Mysteries, Thrillers, & Action
  • Romance
  • Other Fiction
  • Fantasy, Science Fiction, & Horror
  • Nonfiction

In order to sign up for BookBub daily emails, you’ll only need to provide your email address, which the company claims is not shared with any third-party entities. After entering your email address, you’ll then be taken to a page where you can choose which genres and sub-genres you prefer, as well as your preferred formats (e.g. Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, Apple iBooks, etc.). Once you’ve completed the process, you can visit your home page, which will feature a list of titles based on your specifications, as well as a short description of each title and the platform(s) it’s available on.

BookBub Pricing & Refund Policy

BookBub daily email alerts are free, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Publishers and independent authors can submit their books to the company for review, which will entail a fee (if selected).

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookBub?

BookBub was founded in 2012 by Josh Schanker and is based out of Boston, MA. Although the company has been widely featured in the media, including the New York Times and Forbes, they are not listed with the Better Business Bureau. However, since they provide a free service for consumers, this makes perfect sense.

All online reviews we encountered during our research were positive, and no complaints not related to personal preference were noted.

What’s the Bottom Line About BookBub?

At its most basic, BookBub can be likened to the Groupon for ebooks. Unlike Groupon though, BookBub comes risk-free: You’re not required to spend money in order to receive discounts, or to go through a complicated redeeming process. Instead, simply sign up for a free account, and when you find a book you’d like to download, all you have to do is click on the link and you’ll be taken directly to the download page.

With this in mind, our initial impressions about BookBub are positive, as the company provides a completely free, no-commitment-required service that can potentially save you money. In our limited experience, we've found that some BookBub daily emails may only contain one recommendation, while others may include 8-10—so if you're expecting to receive dozens of recommendations each day, you may be disappointed. This seems to be especially the case if you're looking for nonfiction and/or short stories or novellas, as BookBub focuses primarily on fiction, and any book they feature must be a full-length novel of 150 pages or more.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for BookBub

Average Customer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 10 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 1
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do your homework

    • Pacifica, CA,
    • Nov 23, 2016

    I really like this app and have downloaded several books that I've received free or paid as much as $2.99 (oh my), so I think it's super.

    I came across an interesting quirk, I wanted a book that they were charging $2.99. When I checked on Amazon separately, not from their link, I found it for $1.99. Not a huge difference and for the convenience, this could be worth it to a lot of people but just be aware that you may not be seeing the best price, no matter how ridiculously low it is!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic

    How can anyone give this site less than 5 stars? It's completely free, sends you an email everyday with a selection of books and allows you the opportunity to try new authors. Anyone who complains that Bookbub doesn't give you more free books to choose from has a warped idea of what this site offers. When they signed up it was spelled out what was being offered. I believe there has been only one day since I joined that I didn't choose a book and EVERY BOOK I RECEIVED WAS FREE. What more can you ask for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed I no longer receive BookBub email.

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • May 11, 2016

    I loved this service. However, about a month ago I stopped receiving daily email notices of new books.

    I tried to create a new account using my same email address. BookBub site confirmed I already had an existing account. I attempted to reset my password, but never received email instruction as indicated by BookBub site.

    I emailed BookBub and they suggested I look in my other email folders or in junk mail. This was not the problem.

    I'm very disappointed. I've purchased my books elsewhere for several weeks now. Wish someone could have helped me reset my password.

    If you attempt to give less than a 3 star rating, the site will not allow you to finish and post your review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected.

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    Out of 10 books that they suggest on any given day, only 1 or 2 are free, the rest are $0.99 to $2.99 or so. I happen to know that authors and publishers on Amazon's Kindle frequently offer a day or two of FREE ebooks. I thought I would see a good selection of those on BookBub, but they're just not here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2016

      May

      That would be because BookBub promo costs us, authors, a lot of money (up to $270 in my category to have my free e-book listed) so a lot of authors aren't advertising their free books on there. But those who advertise on BookBub obviously spare no expense, you can expect good quality, well written, error free books.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Awesome service

    • Edmonton, Alberta,
    • Oct 15, 2015

    BookBub does exactly what it claims to do and it does it well. I am an avid reader but can't afford to pay the hefty price of a new book. I receive the email every day as promised and I've enjoyed just about every book I've gotten. I also like that they provide a variety of choices of different genres. One of my favorite parts about this service is that I have discovered many authors whom I've not read before and have found that I thoroughly enjoy their work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2015

      Alan

      Just get a Library Card and ALL the books are free. I have gotten dozens of them that cost up to 15 bucks on Amazon for free. Read on a Kindle, it's a free program.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 39 people found this review helpful

    From a reader's and author's point of view

    • Oct 12, 2015

    Fundamentally, BookBub is for authors who want to promote their books since this is how BookBub makes its money. BookBub.com and KindleBookPromotions.com remain my favorite sites from an author's point of view since it's a great way to get a lot of people to download your book. From a reader's perspective I also enjoy it as a way to try out new authors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    I love it and recommend it often

    • Florida,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    I've used it for maybe a year and I look forward to the daily email.I may download only 1 or 2 books per week because I try to find the free ones that sound interesting. I've discovered several new authors that I very much enjoy and am quite pleased with this service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Look forward to emails

    • Phillipsburg, NJ,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    Used for over 6 months and have downloaded and read many free books. At least 2-3 choices free each day and not been disappointed with any of them. Easy to use as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 8, 2015

      Ed Boyle

      L.K. of Phillipsburg, if you like BookBub so much why did you only give them one star?

    • Nov 30, 2015

      K.A.S.

      Your rating does not agree with your comment. I also want to know why you only gave them 1 star.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Free books

    Would like to see more free books offered. I check BookBub everyday. I do buy books from it but would also like to see more free books.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    The best email.

    When checking my email, I always open my BookBub email immediately because I can't wait to find what books are waiting for me. There are usually about 10 books listed, all at a discounted price and at least four that are free. Because I was able to specify what genre of book I most wanted, my choices are always good. My Kindle account is now choked full of good books just waiting to be read. Thanks BookBub for being the best email I get.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam but not great either

    • Canada,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    BookBub isn't a scam at all because they provide what they say they will. However, the content is hardly top-notch. Much of it is stuff you'd buy in an airport (not very good). If you're looking for books to divert you, and aren't concerned with quality, BookBub is great. If you're picky about your literature, then it's not. Since it's free to subscribe, though, it's probably worth checking out. Who knows? You might find a few gems in there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for BookBub!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review