About Bookit.com

Now that summertime has arrived, if you’re searching for some of the best travel deals online, BookIt.com might be just what you’re looking for. This web-based company claims to feature deeply discounted flights, hotels, cruises, packages, and more and to have “perfected the art of online travel.”

With this in mind, is BookIt.com deserving of your hard-earned money? Let’s sift through the facts and see what we dig up.

How Bookit.com Works

By providing deeply discounted travel deals for flights, hotels, cruises, packages, car rentals, and activities and services, BookIt.com claims to be the perfect online destination to plan and book your travel. In fact, BookIt.com claims to use FROM™ (Fast-Relevant-Origin-Method) Pricing Technology to condense a great deal of highly-relevant data into just five seconds of search time, and to provide the best, most user-friendly web interface and fantastic guest service.

Like most travel deals sites like CheapCaribbean and Vacations to Go, you’ll begin your BookIt.com search by choosing what kind of deal you’re looking for, and entering your departure and arrival cities, dates, the number of rooms you’ll need, and the number of adults and children in attendance. You can also specify what types of travel deals you’re interested in, such as flights, hotels, and rental cars, or any combination thereof. Alternately, you can be redirected to travel deals for popular destinations and themes (e.g. all-inclusive, luxury, family, and many others).

After pressing the Search button, your results will be displayed per-package, and will include flight details (e.g. dates, carrier, departure and arrival times), hotel information, Guest ratings, amenities, and per-person price. If you find a package you’re interested in, simply click the More Info button, at which point you’ll be able to view details such as hotel descriptions, photos, maps, TripAdvisor ratings, and more.

If you decide to purchase a package on BookIt.com, you’ll need to press the Select button. On the following page, you’ll be given the opportunity to upgrade your flight (if available) and add activities or services specific to your destination, such as guided tours, museum passes, and other unique experiences. Afterward, you can then add guest information, purchase travel insurance, and enter your payment information.

If you’d prefer to book your travel deals on the go, BookIt.com also offers iDevice and Android mobile apps.

BookIt.com Pricing & Refund Policy

BookIt.com basically acts as a travel agent, and takes a commission from the service provider (e.g. airline, hotel, rental car company, etc.) for each sale they make. As such, the company’s services are completely free to use as a consumer.

If you’re looking to save a little extra money, you can enter your email address to become a BookIt.com member, which claims to provide access to coupon codes valued anywhere from $15 to $50. However, if you scroll down to the bottom of the BookIt home page, you can find many coupon codes available under the Coupon Codes link.

BookIt.com claims to match any price advertised through another travel website, but only within 24 hours of making your reservation. Once you’re ready to purchase your vacation, the website accepts all major credit cards and PayPal, as well as their own PayDelay service that allows you to split the total cost of your deal into 2 equal payments.

According to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided by BookIt.com are non-refundable.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookIt.com?

BookIt.com is based out of Panama City Beach, FL, and was founded in 2000 by Bud Finlaw. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 450 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, difficulty obtaining refunds, website errors (prices displaying incorrectly, pictures displayed not of actual hotel rooms, etc.), and bad travel experiences (hotel was overbooked upon arrival, ground transportation failed to show, etc.).

Outside of the BBB, customer sentiment appears to be quite negative, with the most common complaints citing very poor customer support (more about this in the following section).

What’s the Bottom Line About BookIt.com?

Even though BookIt.com claims to offer deeply discounted travel deals and outstanding customer service, is this really the case?

At its most basic, it appears the biggest benefit associated with BookIt.com is their ability to feature good deals. In fact, even among the numerous complaints we read, many customers specifically found lower prices than advertised through many of the heavy hitters in the industry, including Expedia and Travelocity.

However, the biggest complaint we found during our research overwhelmingly referenced poor customer service. Based on these reviews, it would appear that customer support staff are very disinterested in helping Guests solve their problems, and are often rude and keep you on hold for extended periods of time (>30 minutes), which are disconnected without warning and without callbacks.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind that like other travel websites we’ve reviewed, BookIt.com is not responsible for errors on their website. Also, unlike a traditional travel agency, remember that if something happens outside of BookIt.com’s control, such as a flight being delayed due to weather, a hotel being overbooked, etc., you’re often on your own to figure how to make it work. And even when something is under the control of BookIt, such as changing flight details, customers often find little help through support.

Bottom line: If you’re willing to roll the dice and hope nothing goes wrong (whether caused directly by BookIt.com or by a third party service), you might find that the company provides very low prices on travel deals to most global destinations.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

46 Customer Reviews for Bookit.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 45
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 46
Sort reviews by:

  • Nothing but good experiences

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 22, 2017

    I see all the negative reviews, but I have had nothing but good service with them. I've used them twice and had great customer service.

    On our last trip to Costa Rica, we switched hotels and canceled our transport after we originally booked. Customer service was quick, efficient and refunded the extra amount quickly.

    One thing I like is that after your initial booking you can easily keep checking back and switch rooms or even hotels if you decide to. We are going to Tulum, Mexico soon, and I love that I have my room booked but can keep looking. As for flights, I book my own through the airlines. Too many problems with airports and airlines lately for me to risk going through a third party.

    One last note, I am a bargain hunter and have found their prices to be cheaper than anywhere else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrible

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    I have used Bookit.com in the past. This will definitely be the last time we use them. For my last vacation, they made a mistake with the billing cycle and drafted it earlier than the set date, and charged me for it.

    And just now (January 2, 2017), I was in the process of making a reservation, changed my flight, then proceeded to check out. After I put all my info in and submitted the payment, I realized they changed the flight.

    When I called to rectify, I could barely understand the representative who had a strong accent. They threatened not to give me a full refund when they couldn't get me the flight I selected earlier. Then, after finally doing the cancellation with the refund, they charged me $50. I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Rip off scam artists

    • Minnesota,
    • Jan 16, 2017

    This company's bottom line seems to be supported by holding deposits hostage to gain additional fees. This poor excuse of a company decided that it was in its best interest to take advantage of my daughter (who is in her young 20's) when her credit card was lost, and between the added fees and change of date (which caused added airline fees), rose this "inexpensive" trip by another $1,400.

    Customer service refused to address the issue. Legal recourse will follow, believe me.

    Please spread the word, this company needs to be put out of business before they prey on any additional consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    Vacation reservation that was essentially held hostage and we were threatened to lose $2000 if we didn't agree to pay an extra $400. First reservation: 40513915 paid over $2000 and the final payment was due 1/2/17, but we decided to pay it off early - the computer misidentified our credit card number and payment was declined. Within hours of this, we called to pay the balance online and they threatened to have us forfeit our previous $2000 unless we agreed to pay an additional $450. We were made to create a new reservation: 42210885. The first person we spoke to said the card was declined because of the code on the back was typed incorrectly, yet the other representative stated that the address was input incorrectly. We feel this a scam that has been happening in order to get extra money from clients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    We called to book a trip for a large group of people. We spoke with Sheila. She was excellent gave us great detail about the resort and promotions. Once we booked our trip, she was supposed to call me back for further details on the promotion and to book the remaining people for the trip. I never heard from Sheila again. She sent me an email 3 weeks after she was to call me back, stating she was waiting for the promotion to be approved. I have called and requested a manager and been denied. It has been over a month and payment is now due and I have not heard from anyone at Bookit. This has been the worst experience ever. They want to charge a $25 per person cancellation and I still have not heard from anyone. I plan to file a complaint with the BBB and anyone that will listen. I will never book anything through this company again. We had over 20 people wanting to book with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't use this company

    This company charged my credit card for the full amount of our trip. Then sent me an email that only part of the trip was booked and my card was only charged for the part that was booked. Wrong! My card was charged for the full amount. They then said they would refund my credit card for the amount that was charged and it would take 7-10 business days because they couldn't book the flights separately for the same price. What they are wanting to refund me is over 4K less than what I was charged. The customer service lady would not let me speak with a manager.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 26, 2016

    Booked a hotel during hurricane Matthew for Atlanta Sheraton Suites at an exuberant price, but had no other choice, flight from Ohio had been cnacelled and had a cruise ship to catch. To make a long story short, the reservation was never made, we would not have known had I not called the hotel to say we were arriving even later than originally thought we would. The hotel had no reservation for us. Bookit didn't believe me and called hotel themselves and then they did. Wanted to put me in some off the track who knows what B and B, no thank you. Told them I didn't want to be charged, put me on hold again to talk to hotel and said no wouldn't be charged since we didn't have a reservation. Do not use these people, they are a fraud and run a scam. We were 2 women driving alone to FL and they didn't care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False advertising on Parc Hotel Waikiki

    I was shopping for 2 rooms for 4 adults in Waikiki to attend my nephews wedding. A pop up add came on and advertised a great price which included breakfast. I jumped on the deal but after I had put all my info in and given my CC number the final receipt came up and did not include breakfast. (That was $17 each a day for 4 people.) I immediately called Bookit and told them what happened.

    After lots of hold time and at least one disconnect call, they came back and told me I must have misread the ad and that they did not offer that package. Little did they know that I had taken out my phone and taken a picture of the pop-up. When I told them this they said I would need to send them a copy which I was glad to do. After a few days and no response, I called again. They suggested that I had altered the add!

    I called the hotel and they told me I had to go through Bookit and there was nothing I could do. Since the wedding was next door and I was recovering from a broken leg, I went ahead and reserved 2 refundable rooms to be safe from getting caught without a room. I continued to have a run around with Bookit and they came back with an offer of half the cost of the breakfast. Do the math - 4 people for 4 nights at $17 a night. I told them I was not interested and wanted them to just cancel the reservation and lets go our separate ways. They refused. I told them I had already talked to my CC people, reported this to BBB and was discussing options with my sister who is a very successful plaintiff's attorney whose son was getting married at the 5 star sister hotel to the Parc.

    After a couple of weeks, I got an email from Bookit thanking me for my business and informing me that the reservation was cancelled.

    I don't know how many hours I spent on the phone or writing emails.

    The only thing I really learned was that:

    1) Bookit is not an honest company and has no problem ripping people off.

    2) Never click the button to accept charges unless they are clearly on the page and are totaled. Take pictures!

    3) Call the credit card company first. They'll take care of it and you won't waste your time talking to rude representatives from BookIt. They don't care one bit about honesty and integrity - they just want the money.

    I learned my lesson and did have a happy ending. We stayed in a nice Ocean Front room at Waikiki Parc and the service was over the top! From now on I will book directly from the hotel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Oak Harbor, WA,
    • Aug 22, 2016

    I have used Bookit for years and will never use them again. What a nightmare for just trying to change a return flight date and extend my hotel reservation! It took over an hour of multiple phone calls, wrong information was given which generated more phone calls and very long wait times!.

    I was given two different set of prices for the changes, the second one was more than the first one! Booking was easy, just don't try and make any changes!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not use

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 20, 2016

    My sister made reservations for a Florida weekend getaway and after a 6 hour drive to Panama city, we could not check into the room due to hotel being overbooked by Bookit.com. This company had apparently did the same to a number of customers. My sister phoned the company and spoke to an idiot in Jamaica with no resolution. Needless to say, she was highly upset. She was told the room would be available a day later. As a result, another room had to be located for the night. She was told her money is not refundable even though the funds have been deducted from her bank account. This company is a scam and will be reported to the Better Business Bureau. Please do not use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst Experience

    Please do not book with BookIt. I guarantee you guys will have the worst experience ever, please stay away!

    I booked a trip with Bookit they gave me a wrong flight would not do nothing about. They put me in a overnight flight when I called, they asked me to pay 200 dollars per person to change flight. 25 dollars per person because I am asking them to do this. Also, the flight price was different than what the representative told me was 700 dollars and some change. Remind you, that I already paid 800 dollars and some change just for the flight part of the vacation.

    The total they wanted me to pay 1,900 dollars for my flight. They wouldn't refund or let me speak to a supervisor. I never leave reviews but trust me please, if you want your moneys worth treated with respect and not beat for your money, stay away.

    Do not book from this place, they do not care about you as they just want your money. I did tell them I will go every website to write a review so everyone can know my experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 46

Write a review for Bookit.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review