About Bookit.com

Now that summertime has arrived, if you’re searching for some of the best travel deals online, BookIt.com might be just what you’re looking for. This web-based company claims to feature deeply discounted flights, hotels, cruises, packages, and more and to have “perfected the art of online travel.”

With this in mind, is BookIt.com deserving of your hard-earned money? Let’s sift through the facts and see what we dig up.

How Bookit.com Works

By providing deeply discounted travel deals for flights, hotels, cruises, packages, car rentals, and activities and services, BookIt.com claims to be the perfect online destination to plan and book your travel. In fact, BookIt.com claims to use FROM™ (Fast-Relevant-Origin-Method) Pricing Technology to condense a great deal of highly-relevant data into just five seconds of search time, and to provide the best, most user-friendly web interface and fantastic guest service.

Like most travel deals sites like CheapCaribbean and Vacations to Go, you’ll begin your BookIt.com search by choosing what kind of deal you’re looking for, and entering your departure and arrival cities, dates, the number of rooms you’ll need, and the number of adults and children in attendance. You can also specify what types of travel deals you’re interested in, such as flights, hotels, and rental cars, or any combination thereof. Alternately, you can be redirected to travel deals for popular destinations and themes (e.g. all-inclusive, luxury, family, and many others).

After pressing the Search button, your results will be displayed per-package, and will include flight details (e.g. dates, carrier, departure and arrival times), hotel information, Guest ratings, amenities, and per-person price. If you find a package you’re interested in, simply click the More Info button, at which point you’ll be able to view details such as hotel descriptions, photos, maps, TripAdvisor ratings, and more.

If you decide to purchase a package on BookIt.com, you’ll need to press the Select button. On the following page, you’ll be given the opportunity to upgrade your flight (if available) and add activities or services specific to your destination, such as guided tours, museum passes, and other unique experiences. Afterward, you can then add guest information, purchase travel insurance, and enter your payment information.

If you’d prefer to book your travel deals on the go, BookIt.com also offers iDevice and Android mobile apps.

BookIt.com Pricing & Refund Policy

BookIt.com basically acts as a travel agent, and takes a commission from the service provider (e.g. airline, hotel, rental car company, etc.) for each sale they make. As such, the company’s services are completely free to use as a consumer.

If you’re looking to save a little extra money, you can enter your email address to become a BookIt.com member, which claims to provide access to coupon codes valued anywhere from $15 to $50. However, if you scroll down to the bottom of the BookIt home page, you can find many coupon codes available under the Coupon Codes link.

BookIt.com claims to match any price advertised through another travel website, but only within 24 hours of making your reservation. Once you’re ready to purchase your vacation, the website accepts all major credit cards and PayPal, as well as their own PayDelay service that allows you to split the total cost of your deal into 2 equal payments.

According to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided by BookIt.com are non-refundable.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookIt.com?

BookIt.com is based out of Panama City Beach, FL, and was founded in 2000 by Bud Finlaw. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 450 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, difficulty obtaining refunds, website errors (prices displaying incorrectly, pictures displayed not of actual hotel rooms, etc.), and bad travel experiences (hotel was overbooked upon arrival, ground transportation failed to show, etc.).

Outside of the BBB, customer sentiment appears to be quite negative, with the most common complaints citing very poor customer support (more about this in the following section).

What’s the Bottom Line About BookIt.com?

Even though BookIt.com claims to offer deeply discounted travel deals and outstanding customer service, is this really the case?

At its most basic, it appears the biggest benefit associated with BookIt.com is their ability to feature good deals. In fact, even among the numerous complaints we read, many customers specifically found lower prices than advertised through many of the heavy hitters in the industry, including Expedia and Travelocity.

However, the biggest complaint we found during our research overwhelmingly referenced poor customer service. Based on these reviews, it would appear that customer support staff are very disinterested in helping Guests solve their problems, and are often rude and keep you on hold for extended periods of time (>30 minutes), which are disconnected without warning and without callbacks.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind that like other travel websites we’ve reviewed, BookIt.com is not responsible for errors on their website. Also, unlike a traditional travel agency, remember that if something happens outside of BookIt.com’s control, such as a flight being delayed due to weather, a hotel being overbooked, etc., you’re often on your own to figure how to make it work. And even when something is under the control of BookIt, such as changing flight details, customers often find little help through support.

Bottom line: If you’re willing to roll the dice and hope nothing goes wrong (whether caused directly by BookIt.com or by a third party service), you might find that the company provides very low prices on travel deals to most global destinations.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

57 Customer Reviews for Bookit.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  55
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    We booked our trip with Bookit.com and then regretted it.

    First, they had put our seats (a family of three which has a 6-year-old) in three different seats on the plane. We had to ask other people if they would mind changing seats with us. The person on the phone who helped us told us nothing about having different seats, knowing we have a child who will be coming on the trip.

    Secondly, we were told the car rental will be right outside the terminal, but not only was it not outside the terminal but we had to take a 20-minute shuttle ride to it. On top of that, we did not know which shuttle we are taking, as there were different ones for different rentals. We stood outside with our luggage at hand and a tired 6-year-old, calling Bookit.com to find out which company our car rental will be from. No info provided in the email at all. A lady next to us was also told that the car rental is outside the terminal, clearly Bookit.com is making things sound convenient, but actually causing real inconvenience.

    Because of this entire long procedure, our plans were moved to a different day, causing our whole day planned to be ruined. On top of that, we were told nothing about a children's car seat, whether to bring our own booster car seat or that we will need to pay an additional daily fee for using their car seat. Also, apparently our car was already chosen for us, without ever asking us what type of vehicle we prefer.

    And because we booked with a "third" NO WHEREparty, our hotel did not include anything, no breakfast no lunch nothing. Every time we called Bookit.com to complain, we were put on hold for 20 minutes and hung up on. We spend six hours in total of our vacation on holds and hang ups only NOWHERE with them, but offering $25 and then $50 off our next trip with them, (like that would ever happen!). The worst place to book with, and I don't recommend it to my enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    All-inclusive is non-inclusive

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I book a trip for my three college students children for an all-inclusive. I would just send my kids with a budget since all it's all-inclusive. I even check how much will be the deposit with the hotel, and a Bookit agent told me that all was taken care of. My children arrive to Mexico and had to use their money for the deposit, and it's non-inclusive.

    I call and the manager told me to call tomorrow, which means no food and no drinks.

    Thanks for a vacation from hell Bookit. My first and last time booking with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't count on getting any help from Bookit.com

    • Portland, Oregon,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently went on a Mexico trip with my family, using Bookit.com for my accommodations at the Hilton in Puerta Vallarta.

    When we arrived (my wife and two kids) we noticed construction next door. When we were shown our room, it was nothing like what I saw on Bookit. It was overlooking the construction site with lots of noise. I objected to the hotel and called Bookit, but got no help. The best they could do was for me to pay a higher rate and change the room.

    To make a long story short, the accommodations and the food was so terrible at the HILTON I called Bookit again for help, and I got nothing. We couldn't take it anymore, and I left the hotel two nights earlier and went to the hotel that we went to the last time I was there, which cost me money.

    When I got back to Portland, I contacted Bookit several times for a refund of the two nights, but all I got is that I was being passed around between Hilton and Bookit. I asked for escalation of my complaint, and they said they will call me, and I am yet to get that call. Do yourself a favor and NEVER use Bookit.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't use!

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jun 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My boyfriend and I used Bookit.com to plan our first trip out of the country, and it was an awful experience. We booked on Black Friday because they were offering a great deal, but we ended up spending the money we would have saved to fix Bookit's mistakes.

    1. We booked round trip transportation and paid for it, yet once we received our voucher, they said we never booked it and made us re purchase it. We met a couple at our resort that used Bookit and had the EXACT same issue.

    2. They never updated us when our flights changes. Luckily, I'm an organization freak and called the airport who informed me of the changes.

    3. We couldn't get ahold of customer service. I was on hold three different days for three hours and never heard from anyone until I messaged them on Facebook. (Customer service also speaks poor English).

    4. At one point our bank had blocked a payment to Bookit from going through (not Bookit's fault), but Bookit kept trying to charge our card every hour, racking up $35 charges without contacting us to let us know our card was declining. If I wouldn't have checked they would have kept charging it. The payment was also due at some point that day, and they started charging us late payments at 8 am. We fixed it and were able to pay the full amount due on that day around 12 pm, and they still charged us late fees even though we had the payment complete ON THE DAY IT WAS DUE. Mind you, they never said payment due at 8 am, just at some point that day.

    Long story short, just don't book through them. It was our first time out of the country, and we did not feel like Bookit had our back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Charged my card more

    The website is easy to use, however, if I never looked at my billing statement I would have never known they charged my card more than they should have. They charged my card twice, and when I recognized the transaction, I called.

    I called customer support and was on hold waiting for a rep for over 20 minutes. I hung up and called back, and this time I prompted to speak with someone to make a new reservation. Wow, someone picked up right away. So they have plenty of agents to take your money, but none to help resolve your issues. I called back a third time and am still on hold for 25 minutes.

    I am going to file a dispute with the BBB. There are better companies. I'd just use an agent next time, they have better payment plans, and if I get charged twice I will be able to reach the person in charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch - terrible experience

    • Texas,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I talked for over an hour to an agent at Bookit.com, defining very clearly that we were interested ONLY in "all-inclusive" resorts for a vacation we'd saved up for over a year for. Very clearly we explained we wouldn't even consider packages that weren't all-inclusive. The agent told us which properties to click on, and we reviewed those within our parameters.

    Going over all the details of many packages, we narrowed it down to a couple. We had the agent again verify ALL the details of the "all inclusive" package and confirmed, over $2,000, which is an enormous amount of money for my family.

    When we received the email confirmation, the very top of the email says NOT all-inclusive.

    Immediately we called back and canceled, demanding a refund of our money so we could find a more reputable vacation company to plan our vacation. Twenty minutes later, we're on the phone to cancel, and we had to wait on the line for 47 minutes before someone came on the line to speak with us, 47 minutes!

    Then the person tells us it will be ten days before our money will be refunded. Ten days! It's now ten days later, and there is no sign our money is being refunded.

    The tactic was clearly a fraudulent "bait and switch," and I'm amazed this company is still in business. Unfortunately, after the fact, we're reading all the other negative, horrible reviews about Bookit.com. I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone, and I will continue to post my review everywhere possible until they change the way they do business and stop practicing in a fraudulent manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cancellation

    • Weatherford, TX,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to cancel my reservation four times. They claim it is canceled, but they will not send me a written notification. They keep saying they will email me and don't. They claim the cancellation number is the same as my confirmation number, which makes no sense to me. All I want is a written notification. They didn't have any trouble sending me an email when I booked it. Now it's a problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Jensen Beach, FL,
    • Mar 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a vacation for my family of four. The last traveler listed was my youngest child. We have a long last name (13 letters), and the first three traveler names were correct, but the last traveler's name was cut off at three letters on the info sent to the airline. When I tried to check in for the flight the airline wouldn't let him on the plane because the name was incorrect.

    I was on hold with Bookit for hours and was told a supervisor wasn't available. Finally, I reached a supervisor who said it was my fault (I misspelled my own name?). Then they told me they would fix it with the airline, but they didn't do so. I had to purchase another ticket for an additional $500 so we could go on vacation. After vacation, I called them again. After hours on hold, the supervisor was not available (same story as before).

    They finally said no refunds, no credits, tough luck. Then a few hours later they called and offered me a $100 credit (with so many restrictions it wasn't worth it). So here's my question: if it's my fault, why the credit? I refused the credit and will never use them again. I also filed a complaint with the BBB (they have a D- rating, surprised?). My advice is: book somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The worst.

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst online booking site ever. They have terrible customer service; everyone I spoke to was either moronic or rude and unhelpful. They make you pay for THEIR mistakes and won't refund your money for TEN business days. Then they charge you $50 to cancel. I wish I looked up their other horrible reviews before trying them. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Never again!

    • Sylvania, OH,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow! Where to start?

    First of all, this is our second time using Bookit.com. We went to Cancun a few years back and this time we planned for a trip to Daytona Beach, Florida.

    We used Bookit.com for our hotel and car rental. Keep in mind, my wife booked this trip back in December of 2016, and it is now the end of February 2017. She CALLED and spoke to a representative (Jeremy) to book a hotel near the Peabody Auditorium (we were attending a show there). When Jeremy recommended the Hilton, my wife looked it up and it was right across the street. We were very happy with this!

    We had to fly into Orlando so we needed a car from Orlando Airport for five days, as well as five days for the hotel. That was about $1,200. A little steep but hey! We are right in Daytona Beach right!?

    Fast forward over two months later. We arrive at Orlando Airport, get our luggage and hit the Budget Car Rental Kiosk. Upon arriving at the kiosk, they couldn't find our reservations. Hmmm. After doing some digging by the (Budget) agent, we found out that Bookit.com reserved our car in Daytona. My wife CLEARLY stated (and this can be verified via call logs to Jeremy) we were flying into Orlando and needed a car FROM ORLANDO. We call called Bookit.com to have them correct their mistake. They REFUSED! They stating that my wife made these reservations online and SHE is the one that made the mistake (LOL).

    (No, no, no Bookit.com! But we will come back to this).

    Subsequently, we had no choice but to book another vehicle at the airport, which was a total of $400 PLUS and a $200 deposit. This OBVIOUSLY tied up $600 of our vacation money.

    Ok, it is time for us to take a breath. Let's just get to the hotel and put this behind us, we are on vacation!

    We punch in the address to the Hilton that we pulled from our itinerary. I said to my wife, "This is weird, but we don't seem to be very close to the beach." Well, that's because it wasn't! We were booked at a hotel 35 miles away. That's not a typo; 35 miles!

    When we got to the hotel, my wife spent the first three hours talking to Bookit.com and trying to get them to see their errors. Did they? Did they make arrangments to get us to the right hotel? Or at lease CLOSER?

    No, they spent our quality time explaining that MY WIFE made these mistakes. Remember when I said I would revisit this? Well, Bookit.com doesn't know my wife. She writes everything down. She had Jeremy's full name, phone number, the dates they spoke and all of the notes from the conversation.

    So, they NOW head into a different direction. Like hanging up on us MULTIPLE times. They claimed they were having phone issues (LOL).

    After they realized they couldn't blame my wife for booking the trip, they said they would need to review the calls and get back to us. Well they got back to us on the hotel deal NOT the car.

    Although they wouldn't play the recordings to us, they claim my wife merely said close to the Peabody Auditorium, not across the street. Reall? That is your excuse? Really?

    Not only does that sound absolutely absurd, but you mean to tell me that 35 miles away is your "go-to?"

    There are literally DOZENS of hotels in Daytona! However, Bookit.com decided to book us three towns over and nowhere NEAR the beach! Oh, did I forget to mention, at the same cost?

    That's right! Bookit.com even refused to issue us the difference!

    We have YET to hear anything about the "recorded phone call" regarding the car rental. Weird!

    This was SUPPOSED to be a pleasant Christmas gift from my wife. It turned out to be the vacation from hell and it is all thanks to our wonderful friends from Bookit.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Monterey Tides

    • Pleasanton, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a king garden room at Monterey Tides Hotel through Bookit.com. When we arrived, they had no idea about our confirmed reservation. The Front Desk was hectic, and they brushed us to the side while they checked in "easier" clients that showed up in their system.

    After much discussion and sharing our confirmation with Bookit.com with them, we were given a room on the end that overlooked Highway 1. It was two double beds, noisy, poorly working heating/cooling, a running toilet and bright lights shining into the room (in spite of the shade).

    This was not exactly what I had hoped for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a Review for Bookit.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review