About Bookit.com

Now that summertime has arrived, if you’re searching for some of the best travel deals online, BookIt.com might be just what you’re looking for. This web-based company claims to feature deeply discounted flights, hotels, cruises, packages, and more and to have “perfected the art of online travel.”

With this in mind, is BookIt.com deserving of your hard-earned money? Let’s sift through the facts and see what we dig up.

How Bookit.com Works

By providing deeply discounted travel deals for flights, hotels, cruises, packages, car rentals, and activities and services, BookIt.com claims to be the perfect online destination to plan and book your travel. In fact, BookIt.com claims to use FROM™ (Fast-Relevant-Origin-Method) Pricing Technology to condense a great deal of highly-relevant data into just five seconds of search time, and to provide the best, most user-friendly web interface and fantastic guest service.

Like most travel deals sites like CheapCaribbean and Vacations to Go, you’ll begin your BookIt.com search by choosing what kind of deal you’re looking for, and entering your departure and arrival cities, dates, the number of rooms you’ll need, and the number of adults and children in attendance. You can also specify what types of travel deals you’re interested in, such as flights, hotels, and rental cars, or any combination thereof. Alternately, you can be redirected to travel deals for popular destinations and themes (e.g. all-inclusive, luxury, family, and many others).

After pressing the Search button, your results will be displayed per-package, and will include flight details (e.g. dates, carrier, departure and arrival times), hotel information, Guest ratings, amenities, and per-person price. If you find a package you’re interested in, simply click the More Info button, at which point you’ll be able to view details such as hotel descriptions, photos, maps, TripAdvisor ratings, and more.

If you decide to purchase a package on BookIt.com, you’ll need to press the Select button. On the following page, you’ll be given the opportunity to upgrade your flight (if available) and add activities or services specific to your destination, such as guided tours, museum passes, and other unique experiences. Afterward, you can then add guest information, purchase travel insurance, and enter your payment information.

If you’d prefer to book your travel deals on the go, BookIt.com also offers iDevice and Android mobile apps.

BookIt.com Pricing & Refund Policy

BookIt.com basically acts as a travel agent, and takes a commission from the service provider (e.g. airline, hotel, rental car company, etc.) for each sale they make. As such, the company’s services are completely free to use as a consumer.

If you’re looking to save a little extra money, you can enter your email address to become a BookIt.com member, which claims to provide access to coupon codes valued anywhere from $15 to $50. However, if you scroll down to the bottom of the BookIt home page, you can find many coupon codes available under the Coupon Codes link.

BookIt.com claims to match any price advertised through another travel website, but only within 24 hours of making your reservation. Once you’re ready to purchase your vacation, the website accepts all major credit cards and PayPal, as well as their own PayDelay service that allows you to split the total cost of your deal into 2 equal payments.

According to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided by BookIt.com are non-refundable.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookIt.com?

BookIt.com is based out of Panama City Beach, FL, and was founded in 2000 by Bud Finlaw. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 450 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, difficulty obtaining refunds, website errors (prices displaying incorrectly, pictures displayed not of actual hotel rooms, etc.), and bad travel experiences (hotel was overbooked upon arrival, ground transportation failed to show, etc.).

Outside of the BBB, customer sentiment appears to be quite negative, with the most common complaints citing very poor customer support (more about this in the following section).

What’s the Bottom Line About BookIt.com?

Even though BookIt.com claims to offer deeply discounted travel deals and outstanding customer service, is this really the case?

At its most basic, it appears the biggest benefit associated with BookIt.com is their ability to feature good deals. In fact, even among the numerous complaints we read, many customers specifically found lower prices than advertised through many of the heavy hitters in the industry, including Expedia and Travelocity.

However, the biggest complaint we found during our research overwhelmingly referenced poor customer service. Based on these reviews, it would appear that customer support staff are very disinterested in helping Guests solve their problems, and are often rude and keep you on hold for extended periods of time (>30 minutes), which are disconnected without warning and without callbacks.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind that like other travel websites we’ve reviewed, BookIt.com is not responsible for errors on their website. Also, unlike a traditional travel agency, remember that if something happens outside of BookIt.com’s control, such as a flight being delayed due to weather, a hotel being overbooked, etc., you’re often on your own to figure how to make it work. And even when something is under the control of BookIt, such as changing flight details, customers often find little help through support.

Bottom line: If you’re willing to roll the dice and hope nothing goes wrong (whether caused directly by BookIt.com or by a third party service), you might find that the company provides very low prices on travel deals to most global destinations.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Customer Reviews for Bookit.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 49
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • Cancellation

    • Weatherford, TX,
    • Apr 27, 2017

    I tried to cancel my reservation four times. They claim it is canceled, but they will not send me a written notification. They keep saying they will email me and don't. They claim the cancellation number is the same as my confirmation number, which makes no sense to me. All I want is a written notification. They didn't have any trouble sending me an email when I booked it. Now it's a problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Jensen Beach, FL,
    • Mar 26, 2017

    I booked a vacation for my family of four. The last traveler listed was my youngest child. We have a long last name (13 letters), and the first three traveler names were correct, but the last traveler's name was cut off at three letters on the info sent to the airline. When I tried to check in for the flight the airline wouldn't let him on the plane because the name was incorrect.

    I was on hold with Bookit for hours and was told a supervisor wasn't available. Finally, I reached a supervisor who said it was my fault (I misspelled my own name?). Then they told me they would fix it with the airline, but they didn't do so. I had to purchase another ticket for an additional $500 so we could go on vacation. After vacation, I called them again. After hours on hold, the supervisor was not available (same story as before).

    They finally said no refunds, no credits, tough luck. Then a few hours later they called and offered me a $100 credit (with so many restrictions it wasn't worth it). So here's my question: if it's my fault, why the credit? I refused the credit and will never use them again. I also filed a complaint with the BBB (they have a D- rating, surprised?). My advice is: book somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The worst.

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2017

    This is the worst online booking site ever. They have terrible customer service; everyone I spoke to was either moronic or rude and unhelpful. They make you pay for THEIR mistakes and won't refund your money for TEN business days. Then they charge you $50 to cancel. I wish I looked up their other horrible reviews before trying them. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never again!

    • Sylvania, OH,
    • Mar 3, 2017

    Wow! Where to start?

    First of all, this is our second time using Bookit.com. We went to Cancun a few years back and this time we planned for a trip to Daytona Beach, Florida.

    We used Bookit.com for our hotel and car rental. Keep in mind, my wife booked this trip back in December of 2016, and it is now the end of February 2017. She CALLED and spoke to a representative (Jeremy) to book a hotel near the Peabody Auditorium (we were attending a show there). When Jeremy recommended the Hilton, my wife looked it up and it was right across the street. We were very happy with this!

    We had to fly into Orlando so we needed a car from Orlando Airport for five days, as well as five days for the hotel. That was about $1,200. A little steep but hey! We are right in Daytona Beach right!?

    Fast forward over two months later. We arrive at Orlando Airport, get our luggage and hit the Budget Car Rental Kiosk. Upon arriving at the kiosk, they couldn't find our reservations. Hmmm. After doing some digging by the (Budget) agent, we found out that Bookit.com reserved our car in Daytona. My wife CLEARLY stated (and this can be verified via call logs to Jeremy) we were flying into Orlando and needed a car FROM ORLANDO. We call called Bookit.com to have them correct their mistake. They REFUSED! They stating that my wife made these reservations online and SHE is the one that made the mistake (LOL).

    (No, no, no Bookit.com! But we will come back to this).

    Subsequently, we had no choice but to book another vehicle at the airport, which was a total of $400 PLUS and a $200 deposit. This OBVIOUSLY tied up $600 of our vacation money.

    Ok, it is time for us to take a breath. Let's just get to the hotel and put this behind us, we are on vacation!

    We punch in the address to the Hilton that we pulled from our itinerary. I said to my wife, "This is weird, but we don't seem to be very close to the beach." Well, that's because it wasn't! We were booked at a hotel 35 miles away. That's not a typo; 35 miles!

    When we got to the hotel, my wife spent the first three hours talking to Bookit.com and trying to get them to see their errors. Did they? Did they make arrangments to get us to the right hotel? Or at lease CLOSER?

    No, they spent our quality time explaining that MY WIFE made these mistakes. Remember when I said I would revisit this? Well, Bookit.com doesn't know my wife. She writes everything down. She had Jeremy's full name, phone number, the dates they spoke and all of the notes from the conversation.

    So, they NOW head into a different direction. Like hanging up on us MULTIPLE times. They claimed they were having phone issues (LOL).

    After they realized they couldn't blame my wife for booking the trip, they said they would need to review the calls and get back to us. Well they got back to us on the hotel deal NOT the car.

    Although they wouldn't play the recordings to us, they claim my wife merely said close to the Peabody Auditorium, not across the street. Reall? That is your excuse? Really?

    Not only does that sound absolutely absurd, but you mean to tell me that 35 miles away is your "go-to?"

    There are literally DOZENS of hotels in Daytona! However, Bookit.com decided to book us three towns over and nowhere NEAR the beach! Oh, did I forget to mention, at the same cost?

    That's right! Bookit.com even refused to issue us the difference!

    We have YET to hear anything about the "recorded phone call" regarding the car rental. Weird!

    This was SUPPOSED to be a pleasant Christmas gift from my wife. It turned out to be the vacation from hell and it is all thanks to our wonderful friends from Bookit.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Monterey Tides

    • Pleasanton, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2017

    I booked a king garden room at Monterey Tides Hotel through Bookit.com. When we arrived, they had no idea about our confirmed reservation. The Front Desk was hectic, and they brushed us to the side while they checked in "easier" clients that showed up in their system.

    After much discussion and sharing our confirmation with Bookit.com with them, we were given a room on the end that overlooked Highway 1. It was two double beds, noisy, poorly working heating/cooling, a running toilet and bright lights shining into the room (in spite of the shade).

    This was not exactly what I had hoped for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nothing but good experiences

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 22, 2017

    I see all the negative reviews, but I have had nothing but good service with them. I've used them twice and had great customer service.

    On our last trip to Costa Rica, we switched hotels and canceled our transport after we originally booked. Customer service was quick, efficient and refunded the extra amount quickly.

    One thing I like is that after your initial booking you can easily keep checking back and switch rooms or even hotels if you decide to. We are going to Tulum, Mexico soon, and I love that I have my room booked but can keep looking. As for flights, I book my own through the airlines. Too many problems with airports and airlines lately for me to risk going through a third party.

    One last note, I am a bargain hunter and have found their prices to be cheaper than anywhere else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    I have used Bookit.com in the past. This will definitely be the last time we use them. For my last vacation, they made a mistake with the billing cycle and drafted it earlier than the set date, and charged me for it.

    And just now (January 2, 2017), I was in the process of making a reservation, changed my flight, then proceeded to check out. After I put all my info in and submitted the payment, I realized they changed the flight.

    When I called to rectify, I could barely understand the representative who had a strong accent. They threatened not to give me a full refund when they couldn't get me the flight I selected earlier. Then, after finally doing the cancellation with the refund, they charged me $50. I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Rip off scam artists

    • Minnesota,
    • Jan 16, 2017

    This company's bottom line seems to be supported by holding deposits hostage to gain additional fees. This poor excuse of a company decided that it was in its best interest to take advantage of my daughter (who is in her young 20's) when her credit card was lost, and between the added fees and change of date (which caused added airline fees), rose this "inexpensive" trip by another $1,400.

    Customer service refused to address the issue. Legal recourse will follow, believe me.

    Please spread the word, this company needs to be put out of business before they prey on any additional consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    Vacation reservation that was essentially held hostage and we were threatened to lose $2000 if we didn't agree to pay an extra $400. First reservation: 40513915 paid over $2000 and the final payment was due 1/2/17, but we decided to pay it off early - the computer misidentified our credit card number and payment was declined. Within hours of this, we called to pay the balance online and they threatened to have us forfeit our previous $2000 unless we agreed to pay an additional $450. We were made to create a new reservation: 42210885. The first person we spoke to said the card was declined because of the code on the back was typed incorrectly, yet the other representative stated that the address was input incorrectly. We feel this a scam that has been happening in order to get extra money from clients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    We called to book a trip for a large group of people. We spoke with Sheila. She was excellent gave us great detail about the resort and promotions. Once we booked our trip, she was supposed to call me back for further details on the promotion and to book the remaining people for the trip. I never heard from Sheila again. She sent me an email 3 weeks after she was to call me back, stating she was waiting for the promotion to be approved. I have called and requested a manager and been denied. It has been over a month and payment is now due and I have not heard from anyone at Bookit. This has been the worst experience ever. They want to charge a $25 per person cancellation and I still have not heard from anyone. I plan to file a complaint with the BBB and anyone that will listen. I will never book anything through this company again. We had over 20 people wanting to book with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't use this company

    This company charged my credit card for the full amount of our trip. Then sent me an email that only part of the trip was booked and my card was only charged for the part that was booked. Wrong! My card was charged for the full amount. They then said they would refund my credit card for the amount that was charged and it would take 7-10 business days because they couldn't book the flights separately for the same price. What they are wanting to refund me is over 4K less than what I was charged. The customer service lady would not let me speak with a manager.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Bookit.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review