About Booster.com

You may have recently seen TV advertisement for Booster.com, which is a crowdfunding website that claims to help you raise money for your project, cause, or organization through the sale of customized t-shirts. As such, the company claims to be a new way to raise money online, and to be more powerful than traditional fundraisers, without all the hassles.

But does Booster.com really represent a viable option of earning money for your cause, or is it more beneficial to the company? Let’s gather the facts and find out.

Booster.com Details

Booster.com is a crowdfunding website that claims to have serviced nearly 35,000 charitable groups and events through the sale of customizable t-shirts. The company claims that you can seamlessly rally your community, support a loved one, a charity, team, or school, or finance your project or business—not just with t-shirts—but also with custom printed sweatshirts, jerseys, tank tops, performance wear, and more.

According to the company, your Booster.com campaign can be up and running in four steps:

  1. Create your t-shirt – Use the existing fonts and graphics on the Booster.com website, or you can upload your own artwork.
  2. Create a personalized Booster page – Here, you’ll outline specifics such as selling price, campaign description and close date, and fundraising goal. You’ll also be able to add photos and videos at this same time.
  3. Promote your campaign – You can use Booster.com’s embedded sharing tools to spread the word and gain support for your cause.
  4. Fulfillment – Once your campaign has ended, Booster.com will print your t-shirts in bulk and ship them out within 2 weeks. You can choose to receive all your t-shirts in one bulk shipment, or Booster.com can mail them to each individual campaign contributor.

Booster.com Pricing & Refund Policy

Running a Booster.com campaign is free, although final costs are calculated once your campaign has ended, and include shirt production costs, service fees, and a 2.9% payment processing fee on donated amounts. This means that the more shirts you sell the lower your per-shirt cost will be, and the more money that will be available for your cause.

Your campaign supporters can also choose to add donations on top of the per-shirt contribution amount. If you choose to have your shirts shipped to each individual contributor after your campaign ends, they’ll be charged a $5 fee at checkout.

According to Booster.com, there is no limit to the amount of money you can raise. However, if your campaign sells at least 20 t-shirts but doesn’t reach your ultimate goal, the company will still print the shirts and ship them to the contributors. If you don’t reach this level at all, donations will be refunded to contributors.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Booster.com?

Booster.com was created by CustomInk LLC based out of McLean, VA. The company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, although CustomInk holds an A+ rating, based on just two closed complaints over the past three years.

The Booster.com URL was originally registered in 1996, although it appears to have been operating in its current capacity since 2013. Despite this, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews during our research. However, CustomInk appears to have a very positive online reputation, with the most common complaints citing incorrect orders, screenprinting errors (off-center logos, faded colors, etc.), and high prices.

What’s the Bottom Line About Booster.com?

If you’re looking to create a fun and unique crowdfunding campaign for your cause or business, Booster.com may be a viable option. This is because the company is owned by CustomInk, which has been in business since 2000, and which has a solid reputation for outstanding customer service that is willing to do whatever it takes to keep their customers satisfied.

With this said, after you’ve paid for shirt production costs, service fees, and a 2.9% payment processing fee, it makes us wonder how much of every dollar contributed to your campaign actually ends up in your pocket? With so few online Booster.com customer reviews, we weren’t able to gauge this, but we can’t help but think that the company will ultimately make more money than you do, especially if you don’t have a lot of contributions.

What’s your experience with Booster.com? Were you able to earn a lot of money for your campaign, or was it a flop? Share you story with others by writing a review today!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for Booster.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 8
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of time

    I was hoping to raise funds for a small non-profit for which I have done volunteer work for the last few years. The idea of having t-shirts to promote our group was presented and I foolishly chose one of the first sites I came across and set up an account. I should have looked into it more.

    We sold 18 shirts at $17 each. I was told that was the print minimum. We made $3.22 on the shirts. That's it. I was never told that at that number of shirts or at that price, I would generate no profit for my organization. No one contacted me, prior to the end of the campaign, to say “Hey, you're not going to make any money unless you price your shirts higher…” Instead,I got auto generated emails telling me, “YOUR CAMPAIGN WAS A SUCCESS” after it ended, bragging to me about my whopping $3.22 gain. If I were a site that boasted assisting organizations with fundraising campaigns, I would be embarrassed to send such an email to anyone.

    When I complained about the lack of profit, I was told that shirts cost $17 to print and that's why my campaign generated no profit, which I know for a fact is not true, based on my experience printing with other companies. In some cases, individual shirts have generated a higher percentage of profit than we made on this order of 18 shirts.

    I'm assuming booster is paying retail price for their t-shirts, if it is costing them so much to make them.

    The site should prevent people from pricing their shirts so low that they won't generate profit. It's just unethical.

    You also don't even get to keep all of the straight donations that are made to your cause. They take 2.9% of that as well. Which I saw in the FAQ but thought was reasonable, until I realized how much of the shirt profits they'd be taking.

    I ended up buying a few shirts myself, just so we could make our print minimum. Had I realized that it wasn't actually going to go to the organization, I would have just skipped the shirts and made a donation to the organization directly.

    Booster is not at all up front about the amount of money they plan to take from your sales or direct donations. Which is a very large percentage. They make it sound like their profits are just based on percentages. Their FAQ lists that "25 shirts sold = approximately $300 raised ($12.00 per shirt)" It does suggest that you should price the shirts $20-$25. But nowhere does it say that should you price them less than that, you won't get any money. And that is unethical.

    I actually get a larger percentage from the sales made on redbubble and tee public, which are not geared towards fundraising and non-profit orgs.

    This was a total waste of time. Not only won't I be recommending this site, but I will be actively telling other non-profits to stay away.

    Hopefully the Booster PR rep will spare me the patronizing "we're so sorry and we will look into this" rhetoric.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So much for receiving my order

    • Michigan ,
    • Aug 23, 2016

    My family and I are very disappointed in our recent experience with Booster.com. We placed an order for t-shirts as a way to support and donate money towards a great cause and we never received our order. Needless to say we will not be donating to any causes affiliated with this company again nor will we be referring any one to use their services either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    So bad that I feel stolen from

    I sold 42 shirts at 20 dollars each. That is 840 dollars spent on my fundraiser. Not including donations, Booster.com is giving me 80 dollars of the 840. That is not even ten percent of the money spent. On top of it, I did get donations, 70 dollars worth, and they took a percentage from that as well, I'm getting closer to 65 dollars. I can't believe that they are taking such a large portion of my fundraiser, I'm doing this to study abroad, but what if somebody was doing it for a sick relative? Booster is a company that makes more than they could ever need, and doesn't care if it effects the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Cassidy,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Booster. Would you mind sending the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com? I'd like to have my team take a look into this.

      Thanks so much!

      Sophie

    • Sep 14, 2016

      Leslie

      My family and I are very disappointed in our recent experience with boosters.com. We placed an order for t-shirts as a way to support and donate money towards a great cause and we never received our order. Needless to say, we will not be donating to any causes affiliated with this company again nor will we be referring anyone to use their services either.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The worst

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 3, 2015

    Wished I had researched this before doing this. Amazing what people will do to make MONEY off YOU! There may be some others who have done well, but I tell you, I could have raised more money by simply asking for DONATIONS. Man, wish I could do it all over again, and get my money back. It makes me sick thinking about what a waste of time and energy this is. The shirts are nice, but it's not worth. Still raising money in my own way. We learn from all of it, whether it's a SCAM or NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi PD,

      I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your campaign at Booster. If you wouldn't mind sending the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com I'd like to have my team look into this further. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected but there good for my publicity of my business to get the word out about my services.

    I sold 37 T-shirts but they didn't really provide any direction as to what I should do to get satisfactory level on all these different brands before I got the site up and running. They have not been too supportive on suggestions. I only got around $69 back from my campaign out of 27 t-shirts that were sold. Now that's the sad part

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Stephany,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your campaign outcome, and we would like to make it right for you as best we can. Can you please send the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com?

      Thanks so much.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Fundraiser Beware

    • New York, NY,
    • Sep 19, 2015

    I was in a rush, but had I looked into this a bit further, I would have chosen another option to be honest. Yes, it's easy and the shirt looks nice but I didn't come close to my goal, or really a print minimum (only sold 12) but they were printed and shipped anyway.

    My issue is out of $252 approximately, my check was for $77! Booster.com took more than half. I could deal with maybe 30% tops but over 50% is a bit sad especially for a company trying to help causes and events.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 20, 2015

      Judy

      I love Booster and our rescue made a lot of money! We sold a lot of T-shirts and we actually ended up with close to $2000.00. Booster did not keep much of our money at all. I know other non profit rescues that have used Booster and were very happy with the results. I highly recommend this company.

    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi JC,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at Booster. Could you please send the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com? I'd like to have my team look into this for you.

      Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2015

    Someone bought one of my shirts and it never arrived at my house or their house, so I asked them and they said they did not send it even though my costumer had bought it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Jordan,

      I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our customer service. Could you send the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com? I would like to have my team look into this problem further.

      Thanks so much!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Simply the Best.

    • Summerville, SC,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    I have done traditional fund raising in the past and it's always been ok and I usually had people helping. Well, I took a chance with Booster for a new fundraising effort and it was just me with no money. Boosters site is so user friendly I got my shirts designed in record time, then when my campaign went live the staff kicked in like gang busters. Everyday or so they checked to see how they could make it successful. Then when it was over supporters were so pleased with how quickly they got there shirts and my funds were deposited ASAP. So trouble free I'm recommending it to everybody. I'm on my second booster and looking forward to my success with this one. Way to go Booster, you're simply the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Shirley,

      Thanks for sharing! I'm glad you enjoyed your Booster experience. Looking forward to seeing the success of your future campaigns.

      Sophie

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Good (and not just T-shirts, you can do a 'donations' one)

    • Palmerston North, New Zealand,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    Really like Booster. I created a small trial Booster campaign. It almost instantly raised a few donations, but I had to cancel it because the charity organization wasn't yet ready to run a campaign.

    So I had to then manually refund those donations, which was a minor pain. But I still very much look forward to using Booster again. The staff supervised and helped a lot, which was comforting.

    I don't like T-shirts (junky, costs to make them, then delivery hassles, and they get thrown away causing waste).

    So I'll prefer to simply rally enthusiasts willing to pool resources to get the money for the purpose.

    Key Recommendations:

    Make your image a beautiful picture of the goal benefit being enjoyed (hunt the web, images, and modify it to make it vividly illustrate what success means to the donor).

    Also make your text description really grab-you interesting from the first words, ultra-concise and easy to read, but full of really persuasive, real facts about benefits.

    Cover all the expected objections right there too.

    Welcome even 'small donations of a few dollars' to help get there too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Bruce,

      So happy to hear about your positive experience with Booster! Can't wait to see your next campaigns go as well as the first.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Booster is a scam.

    • New York,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Booster is not oriented to help charities like mine, but its aim is to prey off the ignorant and mislead people into giving them money. There was so much miscommunication and misrepresentations that I am hoping people see these reviews and properly learn about Booster before making the same mistakes I did.

    Booster told me I needed to meet the shirt minimum of 20 shirts. No one from Booster said that at this number they would be taking a majority of the profits. Everyone who bought a shirt, like I did, assumed that most of the money was going towards the charity. Well it turns out that 25 cents of the $20 shirt went to charity and the rest to Booster.

    So essentially, 98% of the price of the shirt goes to Booster which is more than ridiculous. I understand there are some costs and fees but this is just absurd. Everyone was misled, including me, and we are only infuriated that we were scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2015

      Didi

      Please, If someone knows how to delete my campaign on this site, write to me.

    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Harley,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Booster. Can you please send the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com? I would like to have my team look into this issue to resolve it for you as best we can.

      Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not what it's cracked up to be

    • Inland Empire, CA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I can tell you right now, I am in the midst or at the end of my first booster campaign. I get an email from an "advisor" asking do I want to increase the number of days in the 30 day fundraiser. Then it says I have not met the minimum to ship of 34 shirts. Initially when I first signed up it said 22 shirts to ship. I don't see making any profit other than the donations, but they playing games on the "advisor" mess like three days from the close date, and I won't probably hit 22 and definitely wont get to 34 in 3 days or even seven more days. I am staring to think this is a scam and will be filing with the better business bureau this and customink. They refund the money to those who contribute, but what is the catch? I am thinking it may be a partial refund that they do not tell you about. We will see soon enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2016

      Sophie Mekjian, Marketing

      Hi Jamaal,

      I'm sorry for the confusion, and for your negative experience with Booster. If you could please send the email address you used to start your campaign to support@booster.com I can have my team look into this for you.

      Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a review for Booster.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review