About Bye Bye Foundation

Published on: Sep 12, 2015

Since the rise of BB Creams, those wondrous five-in-one potions that were touted by magazines around the world as the next holy grail, it seems as if every cosmetic product is stepping up to promise more, more, more.

And Bye Bye Foundation is no exception. IT Cosmetics calls the product a “Full Coverage Moisturizer,” and claims that it infuses moisture, blurs away flaws, and protects from sun damage in one simple step.

The brand also claims that Bye Bye Foundation goes beyond making you look beautiful in the moment, by creating visible improvement in your skin that lasts – even after the foundation is washed off.

IT Cosmetics founder Jamie Kern Lima states that the IT Cosmetics line was inspired by her own struggles in the makeup chair while working as a news anchor in her early twenties. The result, according to Lima, is an innovative line of products that starts as cutting-edge skincare – without sacrificing performance and coverage.

Bye Bye, Foundation?

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation is designed to cover dark spots, fine lines, pores, acne and imperfections - and claims to do so “INSTANTLY!”

What else, you ask? Pulled straight from their website: “And is clinically shown to last all day.”

Let’s sidebar for a moment. There are many new claims of advanced formulas that can make your trip to the cosmetics section a confusing experience. If you’re buying foundation at all, chances are, you’d like to look your best.

However, like many shoppers, you don’t want to throw your money at a product simply because it’s pricier or makes bigger promises. This is, in essence, why we at Highya review product claims from an objective standpoint.

So, before we look any further at IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation, I’d like to point out (objectively):

  • EVERY foundation since the use of white lead (circa the 1500s) has covered dark spots, fine lines, pores, acne, and imperfections.
  • Claiming that a product is “clinically shown to last all day” covers up a lack of actual scientific proof better than any cosmetic could do for a complexion – it’s pure fluff for two reasons. First, the statement skirts real validation by using “shown” instead of “proven.” Second, not all clinical trials are created equal, and results may be subject to a considerable amount of bias.

Still there? Great! Let’s get back to it.

In Just 10 Minutes & Just 10 Days

As we’ve just explored, IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation promises to… act as a foundation. Here are some other things it claims to do:

In “Just 10 Minutes,” Bye Bye Foundation claims to increase your skin hydration by 79%. Interestingly, the percentage to which it “increases skin’s hydration” is the exact same as how many test subjects reported more supple skin – 79%.

So, within 10 minutes of using Bye Bye Foundation, your skin will either feel 79% more moisturized or 78 other people will also feel slight additional suppleness at the same time.

Moving on, in “Just 10 Days,” Bye Bye Foundation claims to create visible improvement in your skin’s smoothness, including texture improvement (which sounds redundant, but is stated separately), and a reduction in wrinkles.

It’s So Good, You Can Sleep In It

Never to sleep in your makeup is so ingrained in our idea of good grooming habits, that it’s become trendy for cosmetics companies to claim that you can do otherwise as a show of how gentle or great their product is.

IT Cosmetics claims that you can do the same with Bye Bye Foundation. However, they don’t explicitly state that doing so won’t clog pores or cause breakouts. Besides, there are more good reasons to wash your face at night than just removing makeup!

So, while you most certainly can sleep in Bye Bye Foundation, you could also sleep in heels. Is either a good idea? Likely not.

Finally, Bye Bye Foundation Promises Full Coverage Sun Protection

IT Cosmetics claims that their foundation is also a mineral-based UVA/UVB SPF 50 sunscreen – insinuating that you can skip the extra step of applying a separate sunscreen.

This is a dangerous claim, and certainly not great for the long-term health of your skin. As we’ve previously reported, a dab of your foundation isn't the same as the amount of sunscreen you'd slather on your face.

Additionally, makeup wears off during the day, and chances are you aren't religiously reapplying the way you should with sunscreen. And why would you? Bye Bye Foundation has been clinically shown to stay on all day!

Let’s Talk IT Cosmetics Technology

How does Bye Bye Foundation help you achieve sudden and lasting skin suppleness? With their 3D Skin Flex Technology – exclusive to IT Cosmetics, of course.

As taken directly from the website, IT Cosmetics claims that their 3D Skin Flex Technology targets your skin issues on three levels:

  • It Corrects - Within the skin’s surface, a proven blend of powerful anti-aging ingredients - such as peptides, hyaluronic acid, & hydrolyzed collagen - infuse moisture and help correct the look of aging skin.
  • It Perfects - At the surface, light diffusing pigments cover and perfect the look of your skin, and they flex so they move with you. They're designed not to crease or crack.
  • It Protects - On the top of your skin is a broad-spectrum, mineral-based, 50+ (physical, not chemical) SPF sunscreen to help protect your skin from the sun.

Peptides, hyaluronic acid, and hydrolyzed collagen can be found in many anti-aging products, thanks to their collagen-boosting effects. However, IT Cosmetics doesn’t disclose the percentage of each used, so there’s no telling the potency of any anti-aging ingredients in Bye Bye Foundation’s formula.

Related: Your Guide to Avoiding Sunburn During Summer Vacation

What about perfects and protects? We can’t speak to the “perfects,” as each individual’s preferences for foundation coverage will vary. However, as mentioned above, it is imperative for your skin’s health that you not rely on a foundation for complete sun protection – no matter how high an SPF they claim.

Bye Bye Foundation Test

For more product tests & tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

Let’s Not Forget the FDA

While we’re inspecting claims, this seems an opportune moment to mention something we touch on in many of our articles: It is against FDA regulations for a product classified as a cosmetic to create real and lasting change in your skin.

“As long as anti-aging products include the disclaimer that they’re not ‘intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease,’ manufacturers can basically make any claim they like, without having to support these claims with a single shred of evidence or to show that they’re safe to use. In fact, the FDA doesn’t get involved until enough people have complained about a specific product, at which point the legal process begins.”

Learn more about when cosmetics claims cross the line: A Comprehensive Guide to Buying Anti-Aging Products.

How Much Does Bye Bye Foundation Cost?

Bye Bye Foundation is available in four shades: fair, medium, tan, and rich, and can be purchased at www.tryitnow.com.

However, you can’t purchase this single product alone.

Instead, IT Cosmetics forces potential customers to purchase one of two cosmetics collections:

  • Your Most Beautiful You Collection ($49.95): This five-piece kit also includes two bonus products, totaling seven. Each of the products are pictured, but not named, so for accuracy I’ll refrain from doing so.
  • Beautiful You Collection ($39.95): This kit advertises you’ll buy only the foundation, with an additional four products for free.

Customers are also rewarded with an additional two gifts, a blush and brush, before checkout.

Customers also have the option to customize their own makeup kits. However, orders for custom kits must be placed by calling 888-922-0487.

But, That’s Not All!

The cost of each kit does not include shipping and handling. It does include a membership to IT Cosmetics autoship program, however!

All IT Cosmetics customers should be aware that purchasing one kit signs them up for recurring monthly charges. At Highya, we’re very wary of autoship programs as they can be difficult – and costly – to cancel.

See Also: What is An Autoship Program, & Why Should You Avoid It?

Returning an IT Cosmetics purchase may also prove difficult. Their terms and conditions simply state that you may return items in accordance with the Return Policy instructions that accompany your product shipments. Or, if you are uncertain about your right to return the product, you may also call Customer Service (888-922-0487) for assistance.

Bottom Line On Bye Bye Foundation?

Foundation is a particularly difficult product to purchase online – shade matching, skin allergies, and general quality can’t be tested before opening your wallet. And considering the steep stakes of doing so for an IT Cosmetics product – meaning their questionable return policy and autoship program – it might be safer to shop elsewhere.

Have you purchased an IT Cosmetic product? Please share your experience in the comments below!


More on Skincare:

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

209 Customer Reviews for Bye Bye Foundation

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 47 4 star: 16 3 star: 10 2 star: 26 1 star:  110
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 209
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive practices

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could choose zero stars, I would.

    Buyer beware! If you buy the product thinking it's a one-time purchase, even when you click that option, think again! They will charge you again and again. The have since taken down the "Try it Now" website to hide that they are ignoring their customers' purchase option.

    When challenging the additional charge, they stated that the "website" stated that if they were not notified within 28 days, they would charge on a subscription even though it was not ordered. Then when requesting a refund, since I never purchased the subscription and recurring products, they advised that they deducted shipping and handling for a product I never ordered.

    Buyer beware. They are using deceptive practices, plus the product does not work as advertised. I'm sticking with my bb cream, which works better than the IT Cosmetics product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Brenda

      I use IT Cosmetics and have the membership. I really like my foundation and all of my products in my kit. I even ordered extra items made by IT Cosmetics because it works so well for me. The price is comparable to Clinique, or Estee Lauder. If you are over 55 the moisturizers are worth it, their weight in gold!

      As for the club membership, try purchasing IT Cosmetics on Amazon, one product at-a-time. The price for the kit in the club is much less than buying "Bye-Bye" foundation and their blush, sculpting mini palette, eyeliner, dual sided brush, highlighter, concealer, mascara and loose finishing powder one item at a time.

      You save money if you really love the IT Cosmetics line, I highly recommend purchasing through the club. They also make eye shadow kits with matte shades that perform as well as any other I have used like Clinique and Estee Lauder.

      If you have problem skin, like excess oil, IT Cosmetics Bye-Bye foundation may not be for you. The foundation smells lemony to me when I apply it. I am loving the IT Cosmetics Club and makeup kit.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Liars!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered my first kit and it came in the mail within five days, and everything was fine. I would say everything other than the counselor was below average, but I thought it wasn't bad for $40 as advertised.

    But then for four months, they continued to take out $40, so I called them, and they said that was the total price of my package and they take it out in $40 installments for a total of almost $160! I called very upset because nowhere did I see or agree to that when I bought my first kit, but like they always say "there's a catch!"

    I told the lady had I known that I would never ever have paid that because I don't think the kit is worth it. She apologized and said she would send me one more kit even though I didn't want one. Of course, that was a lie as well! I never got anything.

    Bye Bye is a "lie lie" in my opinion!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    I purchased a kit to cover a red spot on my nose, and it absolutely does not cover it, and you can still see redness. My biggest complaint is actually with being automatically signed up for a monthly supply. Then when I call, I'm told different information and continue to be billed. I wish I had never tried products from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • Sherburne, NY,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for a foundation that was not heavy like many full coverage foundations are. While I really liked this foundation, it was moisturizing and covered well without feeling heavy, I really dislike that you cannot just order the foundation and you cannot find it anywhere except online from IT. You are forced to buy it as part of a kit, and it is set up as an auto shipment. I did cancel my shipments because I like to buy my makeup when I run out and need it.

    Bottom line, would I recommend the product? Yes, IF I could buy just the foundation, I definitely would, but I refuse to have to buy the whole set.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ok for others, not for me

    The makeup was ok, but as I have very sensitive skin, it did not work for me. When I received the follow-up shipment with the full-size items, I read all the paperwork included.

    I called the listed numbers to inquire about returning the product, as I had not opened any of the new items just the box. The operator at customer service was very polite and explained that in order not to be charged, I needed to ensure that the items were returned, and at the time of the call, I had not been charged yet. I was told that I would receive a return shipping label from the company so that I would not have to pay the return fee.

    I recommend to anyone if you are not happy, return the product as soon as possible within the MBGO time, this allows for delays, and write all information down as to date and time of call/email and who you spoke to (i.e. "I spoke to a James @ CS on 14 May 2017 @2117 est. or 9:17 pm est").

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed with foundation sadly

    • Indiana,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sadly I was not impressed with the foundation, I have dry skin in large pores, which is the reason that I bought this foundation because it was lightweight and hydrating, everything that you can want.

    The foundation, however, it was so cakey on my face that I couldn't even wear one layer. And to get full coverage, you have to have multiple layers. I'm in between the darkest and the one before that, and I bought two different shades and mix them together to try and get the perfect color for my skin, and even then it was still very very cakey. I was truly heartbroken because I have been wanting to try this so so bad.

    However I have to say their My Hero mascara is amazing, their Contour Kit palette whatever was amazing, and the eyeliner is amazing, but I truly just am not impressed with the foundation due to the cakiness that it causes on my face. I tried it with a primer, without primer, and different primers, and it was the same look on my face!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Not what they said

    • Bennington, VT,
    • May 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They showed it covering like an orange against other coverups. There is no way that is true. Some kind of camera trick I would guess. Soon as I put it on my face and turned around to my daughter, she said to me, "oh mommy what happened? You have holes in your face." I do have big pores, but after putting on the makeup, it looked like holes in my face.

    It never really dried, so anytime I lean on a pillow, blow my nose, or touch my face in any way, it came off on to everything. I would not recommend this to anyone. I was very much not happy. I really wish I read the reviews first, but I was just too excited and stupid after watching the info commercial.

    Yes, I was put into an automatic renewal so. I just called and canceled, so we will see. They did tell me nothing would be taken out of my bank account, and the order was canceled. I have never written a review before, but I just don't want you to make the same mistake I did. It was easy to order, but to cancel it was different. They kept trying to talk me into something else but were very nice. Thank you for listening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Happy with product

    I have been using Bye Bye Foundation for almost a year. I'm 51 and don't want to use a full coverage makeup. I wanted something to build on, and this is perfect. I get the kit auto shipped every 20 weeks and have never had any issues with customer service or billing. I go online to order the products, and sometimes I order three products, sometimes five. Whatever I feel like I need. I like the monthly installment plan; it's three monthly payments!

    I go to Ulta to buy other products, but for my foundation, I will stay with this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    For me, it's worth it

    I think it's important to give my review of this product because I have had a very positive experience with this particular item. Speaking of both quality and performance, I rate this product a 5/5. I have worked in cosmetics and the beauty industry for over ten years and am myself a makeup artist. When people ask me what I use for my skin, I tell them about IT Cosmetics Foundation and how much I love it over the brands that I have worked for in department stores (and I have worked for high-end brands).

    What I love: the light color is an absolute PERFECT shade match. The texture, finish, and luminosity of this product are unparalleled. It claims to be full coverage, but I would disagree unless you layer this product. Due to the consistency being relatively emollient, (which I appreciate) I typically use this product to even out my complexion and give a beautiful hydrated glow. Then go in with the Bye Bye Redness Correcting cream to cover hyperpigmentation, post inflammatory scarring, or any other imperfection needing additional coverage.

    Being a makeup artist, I know the importance of prepping the skin before application of makeup. For me, skin prep is one, if not the most, important step in the overall result of foundation application. I personally do not have dry skin. However, I use a lightweight moisturizer plus hydrating primer prior to this product application. IT Cosmetics claims you do not have to do these steps as this product is an "all in one," however, I have tried both ways and can tell you that it makes a difference and could result in the overall satisfaction of the item.

    When I apply this product on top of a moisturized complexion, it glides on effortlessly and practically melts into my skin (as opposed to resting on the surface). For me, this allows for the most natural coverage and finish.

    What I dislike: that you can't buy it in stores; the price point. I think $65.00 is a little steep comparatively. The CC+ cream foundation from IT Cosmetics is $38.00. What makes this item worth the additional $17.00 per skew? I have used both items, IT Cosmetics makes claims for both products delivering exceptional performance and offering many skin benefits, they claim the difference is that Bye Bye Foundation has Skin 3D Flex technology whereas the CC+ cream offers targeted pigmentation correction. I don't see why there is such a gap in the price point of these two products from this brand.

    With that said, I still love the Bye Bye Foundation. I tried to save money and opt for the CC+ cream and had to return it. When I'm going for a hydrated, HEALTHY, natural, luminous look, this is my foundation choice. Of course, this is not my only foundation choice or routine, depending on the look I am trying to achieve, I will vary my skin aesthetics. But for my everyday go-to, this is a personal favorite.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Sucked into auto shipment

    • Florida,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I have to say that I don't have a problem with the products in general. However, the makeup is way too thick for me. And the color was too light. Sometimes it is hard to know until you put it on your own skin. The other products I can use.

    But I received a second auto ship order that I do not remember even ordering! I would have never reordered the makeup I can't even use it.

    I immediately emailed IT Cosmetics a day after I got an email, that said I had to email a different company that handles the autoship. I did. I have not gotten any confirmation back to say that they will not send me any more shipment totaling $161.82!

    Where is the customer SERVICE?

    I don't like to write bad reviews. But I am hoping that the next person will read the fine print that I still can't find.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money, read this review!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for a lightweight foundation product as summer was on its way. Now, I should say right from the start that I do not have problem skin (i.e. acne, rosacea, etc.), only mild redness from time to time.

    What sold me on the Bye Bye Foundation was the fact that it was supposed to be both lightweight and have excellent coverage. Please don't ask why I didn't read the reviews before I purchased. It was a moment of stupid because normally I do so for every online purchase.

    The kit arrived, and the first thing I noticed was that the products they ship are super tiny munchkin sized. Much like what you would receive in a free sample from a cosmetic retailer. The squeeze tube of the foundation, which I ordered in a medium, wasn't even completely full! It seemed as though they took half of it out, and shipped.

    Now, after applying this very thin almost moisturizer like cream, I realized that it didn't cover anything! Again, I do not have problem skin, but I guarantee that if I did, this stuff wouldn't cover anything. Now, that being said, they sent along a medium setting powder. They really should send translucent so that it doesn't change the foundation color. The setting powder is more the shade of a bronzer. I felt the color was off, so I took my mirror and went outside. I looked like a tangerine with a bad spray tan. Wrong shade aside, this stuff covers next to nothing.

    As a sidebar, none of the other products included in the kit were particularly spectacular, intact much less so. But perhaps the most insulting part of the whole experience was the return process. I really didn't try and beg too hard for a refund. What I really wanted was to be sure they were taking me off their auto shipment process. Speaking to customer service was a series of recommendations for different products to purchase. Anything to get you not to cancel. Until finally I had to very rudely tell the representative that all I wanted was to be no longer enrolled in the auto-shipping program. To that, he said that I didn't have a balance due so that they wouldn't charge me anymore. I then read to him the auto ship statement from the bottom half of my invoice.

    By the way, they do not charge you another $39.99, they charge you several installments totaling $119.00. Again the rep from customer service said: "don't worry, we are not going to charge you anything." I asked for him to send me a confirmation email that my account had been canceled. He said he would do so, but it would take 25-48 hours to do so.

    Stay tuned guys because I just bet in a few more weeks I get charged again. One last thing, there is a 60-day guarantee with this product. No one will offer you a refund, they will simply try to sell you more products. Push for your refund! As I said earlier, I didn't really care about the refund, as much as I worried about them continuously charging my card.

    Long and short of my review, this product stinks! It doesn't deliver the results it guarantees, customer service doesn't really want to help you, and if you buy it anyway, good luck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 209

Write a Review for Bye Bye Foundation!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review