About Car Cane

If you suffer from knee pain, back pain, or other mobility issues, Car Cane is a patent pending portable handle that locks instantly into the door latch of any car, provides leverage to lift you up, and helps you get in and out with ease. In fact, Car Cane is claimed to be so easy to use that you simply “open your door and snap it on,” regardless of the type of car you own.

Even if you’re not suffering from mobility issues, Car Cane’s Forged steel construction can hold 350lbs, which means you can use it as a handy grip on icy days, while its built-in flashlight can illuminate your path at night. And when you’re finished using Car Cane, it stores away easily in your door or glove box.

We have to admit that the simplicity of Car Cane’s design is intriguing. But can you really expect it to work as well as the manufacturer claims? Consider the following:

Are There Any Instances Where the Car Cane Won’t Work?

Overall, it appears that most modern vehicles use the same (or very similar) door striker designs, so the Car Cane should work in the vast majority of instances.

However, keep in mind that if you drive an older classic vehicle on a regular basis, this may not be the case.

Is There a Weight Limit for Car Door Strikers?

While it’s good that the Car Cane is claimed to hold up 350 pounds of force, after learning this, the first question that came to our mind was, “How much weight can door strikers withstand?” In other words, under enough pressure, would your door striker give out before your Car Cane?

As it turns out, this is an easy question with a difficult answer. This is because there doesn’t appear to be a load-bearing limit for car strikers, at least according to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.

However, modern vehicle strikers are designed to remain in place and keep a car door from opening in the event of a collision or rollover, so it’s likely safe to say that your Car Cane will break long before your door’s striker will.

Will Car Cane Scratch Your Door?

Next, we noticed that where Car Cane fits through your door latch, the bottom portion might actually touch the paint of your car. And with repeated use, this could cause some scratching and/or flaking paint, which could be expensive to repair.

Similar Options to Car Cane

Also, while Car Cane’s manufacturer might make the product seem revolutionary, the fact of the matter is that most “As Seen on TV” products are simply different versions of products already on the market.

In fact, if you type the phrase “vehicle support handle” or “car striker handle” into your favorite search engine, you’ll come up with several other options, including HandyBar and Able Life.

Watch Out for The Arbitration

Finally, it’s important to note that by placing an order on the Car Cane website, you’ll automatically be bound to an arbitration agreement. This means that if you experience any damages, your legal rights will be severely limited, including becoming part of a trial by jury or class action lawsuit.

Customers Seem Pleased with Car Cane

Car Cane was a fairly new product at the time of our research (URL registered March 2015), so there weren’t many online customer reviews available.

However, we did find 12 customer reviews on HSN.com, where Car Cane received an average rating of 4.2 stars. There, common compliments cited that the device works very well, is easy to use, and that it also features a flashlight, seatbelt cutter, and window breaker for emergencies. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints appeared to claim that it didn’t fit into the door handle easily and that the flashlight malfunctioned.

From a company perspective, Car Cane is manufactured by Bell + Howell, who also makes the microBrite and Solar Charger. Among these products, they had an average rating of 1 star here on HighYa, based on complaints of poor quality and failure to work as advertised.

Granted, you may not experience the same with Car Cane, but it’s certainly something to keep in mind.

Car Cane Pricing & Refund Policy

Car Cane is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H, and comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

However, Car Cane’s website and commercial claims the device is “guaranteed to last a lifetime,” although there wasn’t any additional information provided.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-663-5569.

Is Car Cane the Right Solution for You?

Compared to many of the other ASOTV products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, Car Cane appears to perform as advertised and to come with relatively high customer satisfaction ratings.

However, with so many similar options available, you might want to search at a local retailer before placing your Car Cane order, which could help save you a good chunk of change in lost S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied and decide to process a return.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Car Cane

Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Jan 20, 2016

    Won't fit in newer 2014 Ford F-150. Won't handle the 350 lbs either. The plastic handle broke after 3 uses in a car. Going to try another one if company will ship it to me, but as of now - run from it. Good idea, lousy material and quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Looks cheap and batteries would not work

    • Jan 19, 2016

    I was surprised when it arrived that it was so light in weight and there were no logos or stamping on it at all. Was it a counterfeit? I bough it from a third party vendor for $10.50 and it did look EXACTLY like the one shown on TV. I immediately found the batteries would not switch on. They were correctly inserted with a red tab between the contacts to prevent accidental discharging. My battery tester confirmed they were "dead" batteries. I bought fresh new ones the next day and they also would not work, so it appears that this mechanism is defective.

    In addition I found my wife could not really use this cane to get into the car. I have a high seating small SUV (Ford Escape) and since the cane only fits horizontal to the car she cant get the leverage to scoot her butt in, pushing against the cane. (Sorry, don't know how else to say that). I did find that it would probably help me but so far I don't need it. I will keep it until that time, if I live long enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Product does not work

    • New York,
    • Dec 23, 2015

    Car Cane does not work. It does not fit in the vehicle properly and I am afraid of falling when using it. I am disabled from World War 2 and this device was a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Canadian Version may be different but it is great!

    • Ottawa, Canada,
    • Dec 19, 2015

    I may have a different version as mine is a circular handle, but still has the window breaker and lights. It is branded with Bell and Howell.

    I have herniated discs in my lower back and it is very helpful when in pain to get out of the car seat. The short length means it doesn't take too much room in the door area either.

    I would recommend it to anyone with back pain who could use an extra hand.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Won't fit

    • Renfrew, Ontario,
    • Dec 7, 2015

    I bought this Car Cane for a Christmas gift for my wife. She has a very difficult time getting in and out of my truck.

    After receiving the Car Cane I was excited to try it out in my truck. I was very disappointed because it wouldn't fit into the latch of my door.

    I have a 2015 Silverado truck so it is not outdated for the Care. It is about 1/32" too thick. I was going to return it, but I have to pay for shipping. That will cost my $10.00. I already paid $7.00 to get it shipped to me. So the total I pay for shipping is $17.00. So by the time I get my money back, I only get $2.00 in my pocket.

    It is not worth sending it back for $2.00. I know someone that has a small machine shop, so I brought it there and had about 1/32" taken off the side of the Cane and it fits now.

    I would NOT recommend this item to anybody unless the want to rework the Stem of the Car Cane.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Florida,
    • Dec 5, 2015

    They say it woks on all vehicles. Will not work on 75 or 84 Corvettes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Cannot talk to customer service

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Sep 10, 2015

    I purchased the Car Cane online and waited for the delivery. I have been waiting a couple of weeks and decided to try and track the package. It says it was delivered 6 days ago. I never received it. I tried calling the Car Cane customer service only to be on hold for over an hour even though the message keeps telling me that my call will be handled "promptly". I don't think they understand the meaning of this word. This company had no problem calling me about a week after I purchased it to try and sell me on other products but now that I want to talk to them to resolve an issue they are nowhere to be found.

    This product was purchased for my dad's birthday which we are celebrating in less than a week from now. I thought this would be a good gift for him but it has only been a huge headache dealing with this company. I don't know if the product works or not but I can tell you that their customer service employees don't. Do not buy from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 39 people found this review helpful

    It broke

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Aug 25, 2015

    First time I used the Car Cane it broke in two. It broke where the (what I thought was metal) joins the bottom of the flash light part. I was getting in the car and didn't even have my feet off of the ground. I called the company I bought it from and got a full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Light doesn't work

    • Murphysboro, IL,
    • Aug 1, 2015

    The cane came with two batteries installed but the light didn't work, so we got two new batteries and it still doesn't work. Maybe we are installing the batteries wrong or there is a fault in the light. Please advise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • MA,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    My husband suffered a stroke two years ago and as a result remains in a wheel chair. We received the Car Cane today and tried it out right away. Well, we put the car cane into the door and it would not remain stable it moved back and forth. He almost fell so I'm going to send it back.

    Also we found a cheaper version without the extras for $14.98 in the Harriet Carter catalog.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for Car Cane!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review