About Care.com

Founded in 2007 and based out of Waltham, MA, Care.com is a website dedicated to bringing together families who need caregivers, and caregivers looking for work. According to the company’s website, they are committed to “improving the lives of families and caregivers by helping them connect in a reliable and easy way.”

Care.com holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having nearly 300 closed complaints within the past three years. Considering the fact that the company claims to have more than 9.5 million members, online reviews seem to be primarily positive. However, by far the most common complaint we encountered during our research referenced the company’s auto-renewal program (more about this in the final section).

How Care.com Works

With more than 9.5 million members and a presence in 16 countries, Care.com claims to be the “largest global destination for quality caregivers.” As such, the primary categories on the website include:

  • Child Care – Includes babysitters, nannies, family day care, tutors, and more.
  • Adult & Senior Care – Everything from errands and exercise, to companionship and 24-hour care.
  • Pet Care – Dog walkers, boarding, training, and more.
  • Home Care – Housekeepers, event help, and more.

Because Care.com provides a wide variety of services, both for families looking for caregivers, and for caregivers looking for families, there are two different ways to use the site:

As a Family:

  1. When you’re looking for a caregiver, the first order of business will be to post a job. Here, you’ll outline your needs, list your pay rate, and provide any other information you feel is important. This is the listing that caregivers will read and decide whether or not to apply for, so the more information you can provide, the better.
  2. Care.com guarantees responses from qualified candidates within three days. Once they apply, you’ll be able to review their responses, and even view detailed background checks.
  3. Narrow your list, and interview only those candidates you feel most closely match your needs.

As a Caregiver:

  1. If you’re looking to advertise your services to those needing caregivers, you’ll first need to sign up for a Care.com account, which can be completed in minutes.
  2. After signing up, you’ll need to take some time to complete an in-depth profile, which can take some time to perfect. Be sure to include at least one photo of yourself, in addition to references, reviews, and background checks.
  3. Once you find a job posting that you feel you’re qualified for, simply apply in one easy step.

Whether you’re an individual or a caregiver, all correspondence is handled directly through the Care.com messaging system. Overall, the website appeared very user friendly, and can be accessed from almost any electronic device with an internet connection, including smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Care.com Pricing & Refund Policy

As an employer (e.g. posting a job for another member to fill), a Care.com membership will cost you:

  • 1-Month Membership – $39 per month
  • 3-Month Membership – $26 per month
  • 12-Month Membership – $13 per month

As a caregiver however, your account is completely free of charge.

When paying a caregiver you’ve hired, you can pay them through the Care.com HomePay system. Here, you’ll be able to set up automatic completely control your payroll, withhold and file taxes, and more.

An important note: One of the most common complaints we came across during our Care.com research included billing issues—more specifically, the automatic renewal program. For example: If you sign up for a 1-month membership at $36 per month, it will continue renewing every month and charging your payment method on file, until you contact the company and cancel it. We came across numerous complaints of people being charged several hundred dollars before they realized what was going on.

When this occurs, it appears that Care.com customer service has been unwilling to process refunds. In fact, according to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided through the site are non-refundable.

Our recommendation would be to sign up for the free account, see how you like using Care.com, and then signing up for the membership option of your choice. Then, once you find a caregiver, you can simply cancel your account, or change it back to the free version.

Pros:

  • Claims to have more than 9.5 million members, and to be active in 16 countries.
  • Easy way to post a job for a caregiver, and for caregivers to match themselves with a family.
  • User-friendly website.
  • Three different membership options.

Cons:

  • By far the most common complaint we noticed was regarding the company’s auto-renewal program, and their refusal to process a refund.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Customer Reviews for Care.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It is a company taking money from you

    They offer you the option of a one-month trial, and then sneak in the email registration that they will renew your registration automatically. What's the point of a month registration if they automatically renew it without sending you a notice before doing so?

    They just stole $200 from me because, at $40 a month, you do not notice it right away.

    I am very disappointed. This commercial behavior is the sign of a company trying to get money out of you, and it is against my conception of business. Shame on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Con artist cyber tool

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Apr 19, 2017

    I was appalled and infuriated when my mother was almost taken advantage of because of this site.

    About two years ago, my mother had placed a job seekers post looking for a caregiver position. She got a response, and the person sent a photo of themselves and the elder, prospective client. Things began to slowly get odd when she said she'd send her a check, but first, it would have to be forwarded to another party to cover the cost of a wheelchair. Had my mother's bank not been experienced enough to recognize a fraudulent check, it would have been catastrophic.

    Not good. Stay away. Find other resources for getting help. Unless they start using proactive screening measures and monitor posts, it's just not safe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Oklahoma,
    • Apr 18, 2017

    I canceled my subscription back in July. Several months later I noticed that I was still being billed. I tried to log in, and none of my email addresses were recognized in the recover your email screen. I then reached out to the careteam@care.com. They emailed me back without verifying who I was, other than the name I gave them in the email and said they would credit back the last month and change the subscription to basic (which has no charges). I thought that was strange, and then even stranger was that they included someone else's email on the reply.

    I verified that the last month was credit back to my credit card. Then I got concerned. After eight emails of no help, I found a phone number (877) 227-3115. They were able to tell me that all my information was under an email that was not mine. They said they deleted the account, but boy am I worried that some other person had access to my address, billing info, etc. and Care.com seemed to not really care at all. Go figure.

    Keep the phone number 877-227-3115 handy in case you run into issues. This was the only way that I got anything partially resolved. I would avoid this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay FAR away

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2017

    Care.com is the worst. I'd give them zero stars if I could. They take your money, offer no additional benefit and no refunds. Save your $19 and go elsewhere. Absolutely horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Discrimination

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 13, 2017

    I signed up for Care.com because I love taking care of pets (from birds to reptiles) and because I care about families. They turned me down because of a DUI almost 10 years ago. Really? Does that make me a bad person? I'm not a felon, and I'm not a thief. I'm a law-abiding citizen, and I made a MISTAKE 10 year ago when a parent passed away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money.

    Care.com is a hiring website. I paid for a subscription because they had a special, then I found out that there is no difference in using their free site or paying for it. This is a total scam and I've spoken to many people who have said they never found a job on this site and that it's just a waste of your money.

    Do not fall for this, do not pay for a subscription on Care.com. There isn't even a way for you to speak to anyone, they only email you. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Sitters rarely respond and Care.com does nothing about it

    It has been very frustrating - while I found some sitters, many that look great and I would like to meet never respond - not even after I use the Care.com option of setting up an appointment with them and not even after I contact them repeatedly. When I told Care.com they repeatedly gave me their blanket statement that they know how it can be frustrating and I should post a job and try that route, but basically they will do nothing more than be sympathetic. So this has been a huge waste of time. This website should not keep caregivers that never respond (for whatever reason). If feels like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    They Stole My Money

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Feb 8, 2016

    Truly unbelievable. I canceled once and it didn't take. I canceled again and they stated they had no record of my original cancelation. So I canceled twice. Now, I just received my credit card statement and lo and behold, they have charged me yet again. What a nightmare! This is a truly heartless organization. Incredibly unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Never use Care.com, they will steal your money

    • washington, Dc,
    • Oct 14, 2015

    Any company that needs to hide behind an extra fine print disclosure (Auto renew billing) that is 10 shades lighter than the rest of an enrollment page is a fraudulent non transparent, thieving company that preys on hard working Americans. Care.com provides no receipts to customer emails because if they did they would not be able to steal money from their customers. This is a shameful display of taking advantage of modern tactics and is illegal is many states. Karma is real and these CEOS will have their share of misery coming their way. All criminals fall in the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Warning - Do Not Use

    Care.com is a fraudulent misrepresented .com platform that puts kids lives in danger daily.

    None of the information provided by Care.com is verified at all. Not background checks, references, CPR or even first aid.

    Background checks are provided by an out side .com company that clearly states they are not responsible for the accuracy or completeness of any background check since no ID is ever seen by anyone. A caregiver punches a DL number into the computer herself from her home computer and any ID can be used to pass a background check.

    References are also provided by the caregiver by forwarding them over the computer by email. The caregiver can provide any email and verify it herself with her own computer as the parent. Nothing is checked out by Care.com. No CPR or first aide cards are registered on the site anywhere.

    A parents account will be terminated by Care.com for writing a negative review on a caregivers page. Only a few negative reviews are allowed of no importance like no call or no show. This keeps the Care.com webpage free of too many bad reviews and weeds out the undesirable parents that complain. The same is for the caregiver. If any caregiver should report a parent for non payment or any issue, the caregiver is terminated from the community. This is less costly than dealing with any issues. Both the parents and caregivers receive this auto generated response when terminated. "We reserve the right to remove anyone for any reason or no reason at anytime."

    The BBB is covering for Care.com by collecting the $500 membership fee. Any company can be accredited for $500 a year and monitor/pick and choose reviews and keep an "A" rating.

    The review boards at the top of the pile when Goggled are "Care.com reviews what customers are saying." These boards at the top are all owned and operated by Care.com and do not allow negative reviews.

    The real review boards are as follows:

    • Jabbersite
    • Reviewopedia
    • Pissed Consumer
    • Waffles at Noon
    • Complaints Board
    • WMAG working moms against guilt
    • The Doll house
    • One nanny's experience

    Here are 1000's of reviews backing up what I am saying.

    Care.com uses predatory auto renew billing buried in small grey font that most parent do not see. One month membership turns into sometimes years of billing with no E-receipt to the email. They use a Bait and Switch marketing tactic to lure people in the trap.

    Care.com allows minors to babysit.

    Care.com is hosting check scams, prostitution, identity theft and much more.

    Care.com has 13 million accounts in 16 countries. American's personal information is being sold between the countries by dishonest Care.com employees.

    Do not use. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2017

      Brenda Merritt

      What a great and accurate review. I had the nerve to complain, and my membership was canceled one month into a new 3-month renewal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Free Trial is a Joke

    • Washington,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I mentioned to a friend that I was going to check out Care.com for pet-sitting services and was warned against signing up with them because of the auto-renewal process that is next to impossible to get out of.

    So I decided to use the free account instead. What a joke. I could post my needs but was not allowed to respond to any of the folks who responded to my posting because it was not a benefit of the free account. Therefore it was a total waste of time for me to even visit the site. Then it took forever to get them to stop sending me marketing emails about their "great" service.

    I'm glad I took my friend's advice, though, and didn't get involved with their billing nightmares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review