About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Customer Reviews for Carvana

Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 15 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They will change what they say

    I was going to buy a car from them in the beginning. I put my home address, and I told them where I wanted the car delivery (to my apartment because I was selling my house), the down payment was $800 down. My house sold, I put the apartment address on. When I got ready to get the car this week, they told me for the same car now the down payment will be $4,000 just because my address changed. That is crazy. They don't care and told me there is nothing that they can do.

    Be very careful with this company. If you have one little thing changed, like the address, they will screw you on the down payment. I am going to a dealership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best experience buying a car I've ever had.

    We've bought many cars over the years, both from dealers and those big box used car dealers. This was the easiest and best experience we've ever had purchasing a vehicle.

    When you first sign up, it will show you your interest rate and required down payment (if any) for any vehicle your searching for. You're in complete control of what you spend and what your payment will be. After we selected our car, I simply uploaded 2 pay stubs and my driver's license.

    I then proceeded to select a delivery date, which was today from 3-4). We received a call yesterday and they offered to deliver it this morning if we liked. Awesome! It was exciting to see our car arrive and do a test drive. We signed a couple papers to finalize and we had our car.

    Everyone from Carvana, from start to finish were extremely nice. The process went off without a hitch or glitch. I highly recommend Carvana to ANYONE looking for a used car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for the great feedback, Nannette! We aim for a seamless and stress-free car buying experience, so it is awesome to hear we are on the right track. We hope you love your new-to-you car and please don’t hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554 if any other comments, questions, or concerns come up. Congrats on becoming a car buying genius!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    They are a joke

    I was going to buy a car from them. They told me that the down payment would be $800 down on the car that I was looking to buy but in a week. Later they told me that the down payment would be $4000 on the same car. I ask why and the answer that I got was because my address changed. I moved, and can you believe that it wasn't my job or my income, but for an address change? I never heard of a dealership or bank telling anyone that just because you move we are going to charge four times the down payment.

    And no one would try to help me, everyone told me the same thing, "your address changed, nothing that we can do." So I will be going to other dealerships and will not buy a car from this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for sharing details about your Carvana experience and bringing this matter to our attention. We are disappointed to hear you that you had a less than perfect experience with us. We are truly sorry. You are right in mentioning that an address change can sometimes affect the terms we are able to provide to our customers, as all information must remain consistent in our system.

      However, the reason for your terms changing was due to the terms expiring, as well as selecting a higher priced vehicle. Carvana financing terms are good for 45 days, and we factor in your annual income, overall credit history, as well as the price of the vehicle.

      We apologize if there was any poor communication from our team regarding this process. This is valuable feedback that has been passed along to the appropriate teams. Please contact us at 800-333-4554 if you have any further comments, questions, or concerns we can assist with.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Delivery horror

    Well first I must say the staff over the phone are nice. However, the delivery was hell and back.

    I started the process on June 19, 2017, and received amazing news on June 29, 2017, from the delivery driver that they are ready to deliver my BMW 3 series at 4 pm at my home in Las Vegas, Nevada. But guess what? The driver was delivering the car in the state of Maryland 2,500 + miles away! The car originated from their Texas location in Frisco, Texas and somehow the car ended on the opposite side of the country on the east coast. Now, how dumb of a mistake can that be? Get it together Carvana.

    It is July 4th, and I received an update that the car was now at their Washington DC location and is not even scheduled to be picked up until July 7! And then go cross country from an estimated delivery date of July 12-13! What a screw-up and now the whole process realistically is taking almost a whole month. Not cool.

    They apologized and apologized and gave me a whopping refund of $199 delivery fee (discounted the price of vehicle) and a new key since it had only one. Overall not cool and not convenient, as they state with the process of buying a vehicle online. I hope the car gets to the west coast safe and sound. And no, I will not recommend this service. Just go to Carmax.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to share details about your Carvana experience. We are very disappointed to hear about your delivery process. You are right, this was a clear mistake on our part and there is no excuse. Unfortunately, we did transport your vehicle to an incorrect location and we cannot express enough how sorry we are for dropping the ball here. At this time, we are waiting for our third party transport company to begin the process of getting your vehicle to you. In our best efforts to try and rectify this situation, we were also able to provide you with transportation until your car arrives.

      We will be sure to stay in full communication with you until your vehicle arrives. Again, we are sincerely sorry for the stress and inconvenience we have caused you with our mistake. Thank you for your patience and understanding while we work to make this right. Please contact us at 800-333-4554 if you have any additional questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great experience.

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quite possibly the best car buying experience I could imagine. I've dealt with dealers, bought cars on eBay, and none have been as good of a deal and have had as good of service as Carvana. I dealt with Bobby in Raleigh, but every time I reached out via chat, phone or email, I was greeted with friendly, professional and useful service. I got a great car at a great price and with zero anxiety. Highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for the great review, Evan! Here at Carvana, we aim to provide a new way to buy a vehicle that is convenient and hassle-free. We are so glad that you enjoyed that experience. We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you again for choosing Carvana. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our customer advocate team at 800-333-4554, if we can assist you in any way. Congratulations on becoming a car buying genius!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great job Carvana

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very skeptical at first. While searching for a car, I found Carvana and was very confused on how it worked. I called and spoke with a very nice rep, and she explained the entire procedure and asked if she could help set up my account for me. Still slightly leery, I declined and continued on my own, but after a couple of technical glitches I had to call back, and this rep was also very kind and fixed all of my problems quickly, and before I knew it, I had purchased a car online.

    Now to wait. Less than 48 hours later my new Buick Regal GS was delivered to my door by yet another nice rep. The car was exactly what I expected. I did find one small panel missing that was not disclosed in the overview, and the rep ordered one and is having it delivered to my home at no charge to me. I could not ask for a better car buying experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 17, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your awesome review, Martha. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Carvana experience. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal and it’s great to hear that we are on the right track. Congratulations on your new Buick Regal GS and thank you for choosing the better way to buy a car!

    • Jun 24, 2017

      Sterling E. Frierson

      I live in Mississippi and I know what your delivery charges are for one of your vehicles.

    • Jul 2, 2017

      Martha D

      Sterling delivery charges for my car, but they were free. I think you have to live within 100 miles from their vending machine stores for free delivery. I paid about $2,800 less than Kelly Blue Book value for my car, so if there was a delivery charge it would probably not made up the difference.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Several positive experiences with Carvana

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since my first experience with Carvana a year and a half ago I know of and referred a total of five other individuals to Carvana. The experiences they had rated from good to great. The only problems ever experienced were delayed delivery, small discrepancies in listing online and actual car and quality of detailing. Their customer service is hands down fantastic. It's the only way, in my opinion, to buy a used car.

    Their seven-day return policy is exactly as they state. One of the people I referred returned the first car. They delivered her second car and picked up the first one in the same transaction. It went smoothly and everyone I know who purchased is happy with their auto.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 13, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We aim to provide a stress-free and transparent car buying experience. We are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our customer advocates a call at 1-800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Roanoke, VA,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Carvana staff are extremely friendly, the purchase process was effortless, but the overall experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

    After spending some time with my 2013 Cadillac ATS, I've found that my windshield has permanent mineral deposit damage (it's difficult to see through in direct sunlight), there are scratches all over the other windows, and there are other cosmetic issues that were not highlighted on the website. In addition to this, the steering wheel creaks whenever I turn it. None of these problems are covered under the limited warranty. I'm considering legal options to have these issues corrected.

    I'd like to see the travel voucher problem expanded to include reimbursement for other modes of travel. I was not reimbursed for a less expensive train ticket (I'm afraid of flying and live far outside of a delivery zone).

    I'm not sure if I'd buy a car from Carvana again, and I'd advise anyone considering it to inspect their vehicle closely before taking ownership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your Carvana experience. While we are happy to hear you enjoyed our customer advocates and the ease of our online process, we are disappointed that your overall experience fell short of perfect. We strive for a seamless process from the online purchase to the ownership of your vehicle. We apologize that this was not the case here.

      We are sorry if there were additional cosmetic imperfections than what was visible on our 360-degree virtual tour. If a customer feels that the imperfections on their vehicle are more than regular wear and tear of a used vehicle, then we are always happy to review these situations. Unfortunately, your concerns with these cosmetics were not discussed at the time of accepting your vehicle, nor has it been brought to our team’s attention since. Please contact us at 1-800-333-4554 so we can further discuss the process of reviewing your concerns with your vehicle.

      We also would like to apologize that we did not reimburse for your train ride when utilizing our Fly and Drive program. We do only reimburse for flights when using this program and we apologize if that was not clearly communicated to you beforehand. We appreciate the feedback and we will consider the option of reimbursement for other modes of travel in the future. We do understand flying is not always the best option for everyone.

      We are happy to report that we have since been in contact with you to address your concerns and were able to come to an amicable resolution. Please do not hesitate to contact our customer advocate team if you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns.

      Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • May 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very hesitant to buy a car online, but I ended up having an excellent experience with Carvana. I got my car so quickly, felt confident with my return policy, and everything is great two months later. The price beat out anything I found locally, and I loved being able to see all the details and imperfections online.

    I don't know if I'll ever go back to regular obnoxious car salesmen again. Thank the Lord for that. Oh, and I got a Jeep that I've always wanted for way less than I was expecting.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 23, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Here at Carvana, we aim to provide a new way to buy a vehicle that is convenient and hassle-free. We are so glad that you enjoyed that experience, Matthew. We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you again for choosing Carvana. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our customer advocate team at 800-333-4554, so we can assist you in any way. Congratulations on becoming a car buying genius!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Beware if you reapply for better terms

    • Atlanta, Georgia,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I must admit, when I first heard of Carvana I thought it was just like other subprime lenders that leave a bad taste in your mouth. However, I applied not putting much thought in it being a good option and to my surprise, I was approved. Although I was not really ready to purchase because I saw some options I had not considered given being obtainable and would need more time to make it work.

    After speaking with them, I discovered my terms would be refreshed and I could reapply when I was ready and I did. But my terms took a turn for the WORST!

    They contained higher interest rate that was worst than what I was being offered locally and then I thought, “See I knew this was not different. Now I felt like it was a bait and switch thing.”

    I called and asked what happened and they told me that the computer algorithm decides, not a human so it can't be wrong. I was not happy with that answer so I continued to ask and was told to see if my credit score had any changes and I discovered I had a 5 point drop.

    WOW, it made my interest rate go up 5+%. I was told to get it back up, let this application expire and the computer should give a better rate.

    Very long story short, I got my score not just up 5 points but almost 100 points after discovering errors on my report and reapplied after my application was refreshed and got the lowest interest rate I had seen from Carvana. However, my down payments now for even smaller cars had moved from $700 to $4000 for a 2015 Toyota Corolla and all I was told was that the computer algorithm did it.

    Well, I insisted that someone check it out because that didn't make sense to give me better interest rate and a bad down payment for being in a better credit score bracket.

    Being very unhappy, I was told they do not keep the history of my previous soft pull application to compare it to see if I am telling the truth about previous offers (i have screen shots I took to compare the prices once it refreshed but that me keeping the history).

    So they have to set my expectation that the computer is right. I was hoping this would be a good story tail ending, but they still need to have some human connection on the application side to make sure the computer isn't doing it, causing customers not to choose them.

    Like the idea of Carvana but that's all I got, an idea.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 15, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us and providing us with some details about your recent Carvana experience. We pride ourselves at Carvana on the ease and simplicity of our entire online process, and that includes applying for Carvana financing on our website.

      The majority of our customers do take advantage of Carvana financing because of the simplicity of that process, and we apologize that your expectations were not met. For our financing, you only have to be over 18 years of age, make over $10,000 a year and not be in open bankruptcy to be approved for every vehicle in our inventory. The soft pull terms are good for 45 days, and once they expire, you are always able to re-pull terms if you would like. In this case, your terms had expired, and you were able to resubmit your information to re-pull those financing terms.

      Our algorithm calculates terms based on your annual income, credit history, and the price of the vehicle, so there is always the potential that terms will change once we re-pull terms, and we are not able to guarantee the terms will remain the same. Over time, and as our company expands, our financing requirements can and will change.

      We apologize for the confusion and inconveniences that this may have caused. As you mentioned, we are only able to reference terms that were locked in when you started the purchase process with a particular vehicle. You are always able to re-pull your Carvana financing terms once your current terms have expired in order to see if your new terms would be more of the range you are interested in. Otherwise, we are always happy to work with a third party bank or credit union of your choice for financing.

      Again, we want to apologize that you were not satisfied with your Carvana experience, and if you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Here's the deal

    OK. Here's the deal with Carvana.

    I work at a collision repair facility, so I look at vehicles day in and day out. I'm going to know if something's been wrecked and I have a certified mechanic that is going to know if a vehicle has any mechanical defects.

    I purchased a 2013 Toyota Rav 4 a couple of months ago. On the site, it listed a scratch on the hood and a few chips. I called about a million times prior to delivery to make sure everything was in order. Everyone was very helpful and friendly on the phone, and there was zero wait time. I even got a quote for trade in on my 2008 Toyota Avalon, and I am still wondering why they gave me so much money for it.

    The vehicle arrived on time, and the delivery driver was awesome. She pulled it right off the truck and told me to take it for a test drive. While I was test driving it, she looked at my trade in. She even let me take my new delivery to my mechanic and put it on a lift right away. The oil was clean, new brakes on the front, new tires and under the hood was clean with no issues.

    Now here's the part where people are knocking Carvana. The undercarriage rust. Yes, this vehicle did come from up north. It had more rust than the average vehicle in my area (Virginia). However, it is surface rust. It is on the bolts to the suspension and exhaust and a little on the exhaust pipe. Yes, the vehicle will continue to rust but it will no longer be exacerbated by northern driving conditions.

    Was it a dealbreaker? Not for me. Nowhere bad enough to be an issue. When I got the vehicle off the lift, there were a few more scratches than noted in the online photos. A few light ones on the door (buffed out), deep one in liftgate and a couple deep ones on the front bumper. Interior was very clean except for front floor around mats which could have been detailed a little better. Also, the bumper had been replaced before, but all the other body lines on the car looked good (usually indicative of no prior body damage).

    The VIN report on the vehicle listed no accidents (that doesn't mean there weren't any, just means none were reported) The delivery driver offered to waive the 100-day insurance deductible to get the scratches fixed that weren't noted online. Anywhere I wanted. They also paid my shop within a day of the claim, so Silverrock (the insurance claim company) was on top of things. Paperwork was easily taken care of at delivery. There were no hidden fees and it was so easy! The plates arrived earlier than expected in the mail. The car was about $900 less than cargurus.com (excellent deals) and about $1,000 less than NADA value.

    So overall, the experience was great. If you are super picky and things like a little surface rust underneath and maybe a few extra scratches/dings bother you, maybe this isn't the place for you. If you do, just make sure you check out the vehicle thoroughly, because they probably do get their vehicles from auctions up north. For me, the high trade in value, zero hassle, and automatic paperwork was worth the less-than-perfect condition on the vehicle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 18, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your Carvana experience. We take these reviews very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve our processes. At Carvana, we take pride in our seamless purchase process as well as high-quality vehicles. Our team is extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the ease of the car buying process, but we are disappointed that your entire experience fell short of perfect. When it comes to annotating imperfections on the website, Carvana annotates any imperfections that fall outside of our inspection standards. We deeply apologize for overlooking the larger additional scratches on your vehicle but are happy to report that we were able to cover it through our warranty provider, SilverRock.

      Before delivery, all vehicles are thoroughly detailed and washed, and we clearly missed the mark on this. This is not a standard representation of Carvana and will be sure to take this information to improve our inspection process. As part of our buying process, Carvana purchases all vehicles from an auction. We do not buy any vehicles that have been in any reported accidents or that come with embedded rust. Vehicles from the north may come with surface rust. However, our team does thoroughly inspect these vehicles to ensure it is not going to hurt the integrity of the vehicle.

      Customers also have the option of rejecting, swapping, or returning the vehicle at the time of test driving and during the 7-day money back guarantee. Carvana always aims to provide positive experiences for our customers. We truly appreciate the feedback given. We will continue to look for ways to create a better car-buying experience and hope you are enjoying your new vehicle. If there is anything else that we can do for you, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review