About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Customer Reviews for Carvana

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 10 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 20
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Carvana doesn't report rust, get car inspected

    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 12, 2017

    Although they pride themselves on identifying blemishes, dents, and dings as part of a "transparent" car buying process, Carvana does not report "surface" rust because it's not a safety issue. You should go into your purchase wary of any car that comes out of the North (snow/salt) and be fully prepared to have a mechanic put the car on a lift to check for rust on the chassis. I did exactly that and promptly arranged to have the car picked up as a result.

    I contacted customer service team, and they told me that there are two types of rust, which is insultingly false.

    Direct quote from Carvana:

    "There are two types of rust: embedded and surface rust. We do not sell any vehicles with embedded rust as it damages the integrity of the vehicle. Surface rust does not damage the vehicle, and so we do not notate it on our site. Embedded rust occurs when it has advanced beyond the surface level and begins to compromise the strength of the metal."

    I have three problems with this.

    1. "Surface" rust with time will always become "embedded" rust, even when removed from the conditions that create it (i.e. Carvana is happy to sell you a car with pre-cancer, not cancer). The consumer takes the hit on both the increased cost of future repairs when, for example, a bolt breaks off and the mechanic has to re-thread the component and/or replace the component, and a plummeting resale value.

    2. Carvana notates the blemishes that you'll see, even though they aren't a safety issue. But they won't note the rust that you can't readily see, even though isn't an immediate safety issue, either.

    3. With the amount of rust on this car, Kelley Blue Book would consider it fair to poor condition. Carvana is charging no-haggle prices that equate with good/excellent condition, which require "little to no rust" or "rust-free" respectively. I was open to keeping the car, but not at the amount I paid for it. Although I asked, Carvana offered no alternative to sending the car back.

    I was excited about Carvana and super disappointed when I sent the car back. Since Carvana doesn't notate rust, I did not feel that I could trust them enough to purchase another vehicle from them. I would HIGHLY advise that Carvana start noting rust, just like they do with other blemishes that aren't immediate safety issues.

    Regarding their customer service, the car was delivery was rescheduled to a later delivery date because of their error, but picked up in a timely manner, and everyone I dealt with was pleasant.

    However, service ultimately can't make up for the fact that they don't live to their own standards by providing a transparent buying experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 25, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent Carvana purchase. As a growing company, our customers’ feedback is very important to us. It allows us to continue improving our customer experiences moving forward. As you mentioned, transparency is of the utmost importance to us, especially in regards to the condition of our vehicles. We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with the condition of your car. Carvana currently makes a distinction between surface rust and embedded rust, but we continually assess our process, and your feedback has been shared with all the necessary departments. You raise a valid point about notating cosmetic imperfections, even when they do not affect the safety of your vehicle and will review that possibility.

      We want to apologize again for the disappointing experience, and we are glad that you were able to utilize the 7-day money back to return the vehicle. If we can do anything else to assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 1-800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware! Don't do it!

    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Apr 7, 2017

    I was excited to look through the Carvana website and see so many cars are available in the make and model I wanted.

    I landed on one with low miles and at a great price and made arrangements to deliver it to a mechanic before accepting the car. Carvana claimed that no accidents had been reported on the car. Within 10 minutes of having the car up on the lift, my mechanic brought me in to look underneath the chassis. It was clear to anyone (including the average car owner) that the car had been in an accident. There was a clear indication of a bad paint job (in multiple places) and Carvana, which claims to do their own analysis of the car, would have easily been able to see that this car had been repaired from an accident of some kind.

    Now, I rented a car for a week while I waited for this car to be delivered, wasted a day waiting for the car to be delivered and examined, and then went to the local Lexus dealership and was put in a position of having to buy a car in desperation. Needless to say, I was both disappointed and seriously inconvenienced by Carvana. While they didn't actually lie about the condition of the car (Car Fax had no accident listed), they certainly omitted the truth and could have saved me a great deal of trouble and money in the process.

    Do NOT use this service! It's not a scam, but it's not the way to buy a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best way to buy a car

    A co-worker recommended this company to me, and I decided to check it out. Best decision ever.

    It took me an hour to go through their process online. I had already researched what type of car I wanted. I searched and found one with very low mileage. The process was so simple. The car was delivered a few days later, and the delivery girl was just as excited as I was. She gave me alone time to check out the car and then I took it for a test drive. I am now on day 7 and will not be returning the car.

    What a fantastic experience. My delivery girl Nicole gave me a gift card for gas and also a goodie bag. She even donated paper and ink to my school a few days later. I will never go back to a dealer to buy a car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience thus far

    • Grand Prairie, Texas,
    • Apr 4, 2017

    I would like to say that my experience has been top-notch, and on top of it, I get home today from work, and there's a FedEx package filled with toys for my new baby boy bulldog, and a card congratulating me and wishing me a happy early birthday from my advocate Samantha!

    Thank you so much, I'm very appreciative. Kingston loves the toys; I wanted to attach pictures!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Perfect

    • Deerfield, FL,
    • Mar 29, 2017

    I looked at the review of this place just a little after I order the car. I was scared/nervous because of the rating. But now it is two weeks in and I have no regrets. Everyone is complaining, but honestly, my experience was perfect.

    I found my perfect car (Audi S5 2011 red interior). I was scared from what other were saying that there would be problems. I haven't run into one. The customer service is the best I've ever had. Extremely friendly people. The car came not only two hours early, but they informed me continuously on the status. I got the car and the guy let me take my time at look/inspecting the vehicle. They called me after five days to make sure I was happy with it. The car was, and is, perfect.

    After the seven days, I called about the title. Two days later I got it along with my new plate. They also have a gift card for my next tank of gas, and a little basket full of stuff for the car. Everything was smooth and easy. I work for a car dealership and I have to say that Carvana does it better, and they do it right. I've been telling every one about my experience and finally decided I should write a review to help them out. Great place!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 30, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Customer Advocate team and the delivery process. We aim to provide a stress-free car buying experience, and we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our Customer Advocates a call at 800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying.

    • Apr 3, 2017

      Eleanor D Sanderson

      What a fantastic way to purchase a car. The process was smooth. I researched what car I wanted before I went to their website. I then, put in the parameters and found the car I wanted with very low mileage. The process took me about an hour, and the car was delivered a couple days later. The delivery person was great, and just as excited as I was. She let me examine the car by myself and answered questions that I had. I took the car out for a test drive and fell in love. What a pleasant experience. I will never purchase another car ever again at a dealership. I did not feel hassled at all. This was the best experience I've ever had buying a car.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Amazing experience from start to finish

    This is was the most simple car buying experience ever!

    The 360-degree tours are the actual images of the car, and it looked even better in person. They have a pretty big selection of vehicles, and you can browse through the inventory with your financing terms applied too. Step by step the process was extremely easy, even up until the vehicle was delivered, with a WONDERFUL customer service experience along the way.

    Major props to those Customer Advocates for all your help. I can't wait until you officially launch in the west coast for free delivery! Thank you Carvana.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 27, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our online process, customer service, and delivery. If you would like to share any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554. Thank you for choosing Carvana and the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Selling cars with issues to innocent buyers

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 20, 2017

    I recently purchased a 2015 BMW 3 series, 328i X drive with premium package (VIN# wba3b5g59fns17562) on Carvana.com. I got it at a really good price, and after receiving it, I decided to run the VIN number through the BMW dealership service department to get the vehicle history and make sure the car was still under warranty.

    On running the check, BMW advised me that this car was bought back by the dealership from which the previous owner purchased from under the Lemon Law. It had been to the garage around 4-6 times before it reached the 500-mile mark and had multiple issues. It even had a limp transmission issue in the first couple of hundred miles! BMW said they would repair anything like this until the first 50,000 miles or 4 years, but mentioned that this car may have similar issues for the rest of its life.

    I immediately called Carvana, and they checked the records themselves and said that they could not sell me this car since it would be a liability on the company and advised me to return it. I asked them if they were just going to reduce the price and resell it on their website, and they said that they would not, and they would have to sell it to an auction.

    Soon after, I ended up buying another car with almost five times the mileage and for more money.

    A couple of weeks later, after returning it, I decided to go online and see if they were honest about that. To my surprise, they had the same car on sale, and for the same price I paid for it! They are trying to palm off this car onto an unsuspecting buyer. And if everything was fine to resell the car, why didn't they let me keep it?

    Please be warned; they may be selling other similar cars that have had major issues and hoping that buyers won't find out until its too late.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 27, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Carvana experience. As a growing company we appreciate our customers’ reviews and can assure you they are taken seriously. Providing an honest and transparent experience is something we strive for at Carvana and we would like to apologize for not providing you with this. We are very sorry that we listed a vehicle that fell outside of our mechanical and safety standards. This was an obvious oversight on our end, and that vehicle never should have been posted to our inventory. Additionally, we dropped the ball again when we failed to remove the vehicle from our site a second time. We can confirm that we have since removed this from our inventory, as we do not feel comfortable selling a vehicle in this condition to our customers. We can assure you this was an honest mistake and we have no intentions of misleading our customers. Please don’t hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554 as we would love the opportunity to turn this experience around for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    My Carvana experience

    I just recently purchase a certified pre-owned car from Carvana and would definitely do it again. My credit is not the best (not the worst either, but still) and the only places willing to work with me near where I live wanted large down payments and high APR on older model cars that were sold as is.

    I have utilized these types of dealers in the past. They are friendly and eager to "get you into your new car," but once you sign the papers, they love to give you the line, "once you leave our lot if the car breaks in half, well then, both halves are yours." I swear, over the past 20 years I've heard that same line several times. And you get to pay them a dealer fee for that humor.

    So fast forward to Carvana. I came across it and thought to myself that it seemed somewhat shady, but after a few months of reading reviews and checking out dealers near me, I went ahead and started seriously looking at their inventory (which by the way is HUGE). The cars are viewable, almost if not better than in person. The biggest difference is that you can look without any high-pressure salesmen rushing you around. You can't take as much time as you want to browse from bed while comfy in your pajamas. Which is also how I began the purchase of my Carvana car; in my pajamas.

    I purchased a 2015 GMC Terrain for about $4k less than my local dealership was offering theirs and about 20k fewer miles. And a lower APR translates into much lower monthly payments. And there is no dealer fee. I was smitten with my choice. However, I was still anxious over the whole delivery process. I'm in Florida, and the car was in Atlanta, GA. Carvana offered to pay my airfare (up to $200) to fly in and drive the car home. Yea, no. I don't like planes. So they would have to deliver (for a free).

    Now, buying a car without driving it was the biggest hurdle for me personally, but once they deliver the car, the delivery person waits after delivery so you can test drive it (I mention the seven-day trial below). If you don't like it, then you don't keep it. They simply load it up and take it away. However, all cars are inspected and have to meet a high standard just to be offered for sale. All purchases come with a 100-day bumper to bumper warranty on top of any manufacturer warranty that may still be in place (for me that was a winning point because if it splits in half than they would fix LOL).

    Concerning my purchase, there was a hiccup or two during delivery, but the Carvana representative kept me updated and was so eager to apologize and make it right. They even discounted the price of the car by $250 just for being inconvenienced. Also, keep in mind, they worked hard to make me happy before I even paid a single penny. I'm driving my car today, day one after delivery, and my down payment still hasn't been processed yet. They give you seven days to decide if you still want the car, so it's like a seven-day test drive.

    When the delivery man showed up with my car, I was surprised at not being surprised by the condition of the car. There were no extra little dings or scratches from a delivery that one might expect. It was perfect. It even had a full tank of gas. Nice. To top it off The delivery man gave me a goodie bag that included a Visa gift card and an Amazon Echo.

    I have to say; I am so happy with my experience with this company and I couldn't wait to leave a review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique process. We aim to provide a stress-free car buying experience, and we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our Customer Advocates a call at 800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Overall a great way to buy

    • Sanford, FL,
    • Mar 9, 2017

    I recently purchased a Jeep from Carvana. Overall it has been a great experience, and I would likely do it again, and recommend it for others. I enjoyed having the ability to take my time viewing vehicles of all makes and models while reading reviews and performing thorough research. For me, going to a dealership is time intensive and usually high pressure. I enjoyed not having to deal with that. The customer advocates at Carvana have been attentive, friendly, courteous, and helpful, as was the driver that delivered the vehicle and picked up my trade-in.

    Acquiring financing was simple. Carvana offered several options for financing, and I chose to go through their lender. After registering for their website and providing a few minor details, I received a financing quote within minutes. My credit has some blemishes, so it's not stellar, yet I was easily able to acquire financing at what I felt was a decent rate. After purchasing the vehicle, I received a call from a representative from the lender, GO financial, to review the terms. She too was friendly and helpful.

    I had a trade-in vehicle that was in fair condition with a couple of mechanical issues. I entered all of the details through their website, and again, it was relatively painless. While the website states that you can receive a quote in two minutes, it took a couple of days for me to receive my quote. I didn't really mind the delay as I wasn't in a major rush to make my purchase. I would imagine that the delay was a result of the fact that I had started the process on a Saturday and had entered some notes about the mechanical issues with the vehicle, so it probably needed human review. On Monday morning an advocate emailed or called to check in with me, and I mentioned that I was still waiting for my quote. The quote was received minutes later. It was relatively painless, but the delay is worth noting for those with similar circumstances.

    As to finding my jeep, and as previously stated, I wasn't in a rush to make my purchase and enjoyed taking the time to check out all of my options and do research on my purchase. I was working from an iPhone, which of course gave me a slightly more limited mobile site to work with. Even still, I found it to be loaded with features, and useful filters to narrow my options down. There were some minor bugs in the interface (e.g. at one point I had to resign my documents and, after doing so, the site didn't show it as being done and the problem was easily resolved by an advocate over the phone), but nothing that necessarily made my experience unpleasant or hindered my usage greatly. Overall, I thought it worked fine for my needs.

    The actual purchase (signing the paperwork) was great. It's mostly all done through electronic signatures in a very intuitive and user-friendly interface. As previously mentioned, I did have to resign my documents as I failed to advise Carvana that I wanted to transfer my registration from my trade-in to my new jeep. Doing so was no major ordeal. There was some additional paperwork that needed to be filled out at the time of delivery, which took all of about five minutes. Again, no major ordeal.

    I scheduled delivery of my Jeep to my driveway for the following Saturday. It was supposed to be done in the afternoon, but the delivery driver contacted me the day before and offered to come out earlier than scheduled. Of course, I didn't mind getting my new toy early, so I accepted. The delivery driver showed up exactly on time and was a pleasure to work with. She gave us the opportunity to test drive the new Jeep, which I took, while she looked over our old one to ensure that it was in line with what I stated. Upon our return, we spent a few minutes with the driver, confirming details and signing paperwork. The experience was so quick and pleasant that my wife and I were joking with each other about feeling like it was too good to be true and our expectation that someone would be showing up shortly to take the jeep that they had mistakenly left at our house back! Haha.

    The driver noted that the new Jeep was missing its floor mats and had thus found some that would work in the short-term and threw them in prior to leaving. She ordered the proper mats, which were delivered to the house within days.

    The Jeep was detailed that morning, and was spotless when it arrived.

    Overall the entire purchase experience exceeded my expectations.

    And now for the bad part, and reason that I didn't give a 5-star rating. While test driving the new Jeep, my wife and I noticed a sound coming from the rear of the vehicle, but as our old Jeep made similar noises, we chalked it up to being a "Jeep thing" and blew it off. We also noticed that there was a faulty tire pressure sensor, but again didn't really think of it as a major issue.

    Carvana gives a seven-day trial period for their purchases. Unfortunately, I was busy through that seven-day period and didn't have the opportunity to take the vehicle to a mechanic to check it out. I would highly recommend that, even if one thinks the vehicle is immaculate, they take advantage of that trial period and take their purchase to a qualified mechanic or dealership to have it thoroughly looked over. My wife took our Jeep to a local dealership, who determined that the noise we were hearing was a rusted out rear differential. Fortunately, it was covered under the 100-day warranty provided with Carvana vehicles, and it was replaced at no cost. They reset the tire pressure sensor, which cleared the initial error, but it returned the following day. We haven't taken the time to get that sorted out yet.

    When purchasing a used vehicle, of course, I expect there to be some issues, but I certainly didn't expect to be replacing something so major immediately after purchasing it, especially considering the thorough inspection and repair process that Carvana touts. I find it hard to believe that anyone else that drove the vehicle wouldn't have noticed the same problems. That part was disappointing. I probably should've realized something that was up when I saw on the inspection paperwork that a rust treatment had been performed by Carvana. Hopefully, additional internal rust damage won't be found at some later, out-of-warranty time.

    As stated, overall I am pleased with the entire experience, and would recommend Carvana to others, just make sure to be a smart buyer and take advantage of that seven-day trial period.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your awesome review regarding the purchase of your Jeep. We are so glad you enjoyed our online process and the delivery experience. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal and it’s great to hear that we are on the right track. Please don't hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554 if there is any additional feedback you would like to provide. Congratulations on your new vehicle and thank you for choosing the better way to buy a car!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Incredible

    • Dunn, NC,
    • Mar 8, 2017

    We bought a 2016 Nissan Rogue and absolutely love the way the whole process was handled. Carvana went above and beyond in every aspect of the process, and we will definitely be buying from them again. I was sick of dealing with dishonest used car salesmen, and Carvana was the solution. The day our car arrived they had a gift package and a $25 gift card for us. Great company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 8, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Eli! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique process. We aim to provide a stress-free car buying experience, and we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our Customer Advocates a call at 800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Can't get a quote on my trade

    The website has a slick, user-friendly design. Pictures and information are all there, and from what I've seen, every car for sale looks great. And the pricing is very reasonable.

    The only reason I can't recommend Carvana is because I can't get anything back from them. My Toyota Tundra "stumped the algorithm," and I was told my trade-in would have to be valued manually. That was three days ago, and I've not heard a word. I asked for an update in the live chat, and I was told that I would be added to the queue. If I submitted my truck for appraisal, shouldn't I have already been in a queue without having to pester someone to do it?

    At this point, I would have to have a GREAT trade-in value to consider using the service. The communication is seriously lacking, other than automated emails asking me to come back and search for a new vehicle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 24, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Carvana experience, Dennis.

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our website and our inventory, but we are disappointed you were unsatisfied with your entire experience. Customer satisfaction is something we hold to a very high regard, so we sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on our end. Our team should have done a much better job of communicating with you and reaching out in a timelier manner about your trade-in value.

      We are glad to report that we have since been able to contact you about your trade-in. We hope you will contact us at 800-333-4554 if there is anything we can do to further assist you and turn this experience around for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review