About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Customer Reviews for Carvana

Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 18
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Selling cars with issues to innocent buyers

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 20, 2017

    I recently purchased a 2015 BMW 3 series, 328i X drive with premium package (VIN# wba3b5g59fns17562) on Carvana.com. I got it at a really good price, and after receiving it, I decided to run the VIN number through the BMW dealership service department to get the vehicle history and make sure the car was still under warranty.

    On running the check, BMW advised me that this car was bought back by the dealership from which the previous owner purchased from under the Lemon Law. It had been to the garage around 4-6 times before it reached the 500-mile mark and had multiple issues. It even had a limp transmission issue in the first couple of hundred miles! BMW said they would repair anything like this until the first 50,000miles or 4 years, but mentioned that this car may have similar issues for the rest of its life.

    I immediately called Carvana, and they checked the records themselves and said that they could not sell me this car since it would be a liability on the company and advised me to return it. I asked them if they were just going to reduce the price and resell it on their website, and they said that they would not, and they would have to sell it to an auction.

    Soon after, I ended up buying another car with almost five times the mileage and for more money.

    A couple of weeks later, after returning it, I decided to go online and see if they were honest about that. To my surprise, they had the same car on sale, and for the same price I paid for it! They are trying to palm off this car onto an unsuspecting buyer. And if everything was fine to resell the car, why didn't they let me keep it?

    Please be warned; they may be selling other similar cars that have had major issues and hoping that buyers won't find out until its too late.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My Carvana experience

    I just recently purchase a certified pre-owned car from Carvana and would definitely do it again. My credit is not the best (not the worst either, but still) and the only places willing to work with me near where I live wanted large down payments and high APR on older model cars that were sold as is.

    I have utilized these types of dealers in the past. They are friendly and eager to "get you into your new car," but once you sign the papers, they love to give you the line, "once you leave our lot if the car breaks in half, well then, both halves are yours." I swear, over the past 20 years I've heard that same line several times. And you get to pay them a dealer fee for that humor.

    So fast forward to Carvana. I came across it and thought to myself that it seemed somewhat shady, but after a few months of reading reviews and checking out dealers near me, I went ahead and started seriously looking at their inventory (which by the way is HUGE). The cars are viewable, almost if not better than in person. The biggest difference is that you can look without any high-pressure salesmen rushing you around. You can't take as much time as you want to browse from bed while comfy in your pajamas. Which is also how I began the purchase of my Carvana car; in my pajamas.

    I purchased a 2015 GMC Terrain for about $4k less than my local dealership was offering theirs and about 20k fewer miles. And a lower APR translates into much lower monthly payments. And there is no dealer fee. I was smitten with my choice. However, I was still anxious over the whole delivery process. I'm in Florida, and the car was in Atlanta, GA. Carvana offered to pay my airfare (up to $200) to fly in and drive the car home. Yea, no. I don't like planes. So they would have to deliver (for a free).

    Now, buying a car without driving it was the biggest hurdle for me personally, but once they deliver the car, the delivery person waits after delivery so you can test drive it (I mention the seven-day trial below). If you don't like it, then you don't keep it. They simply load it up and take it away. However, all cars are inspected and have to meet a high standard just to be offered for sale. All purchases come with a 100-day bumper to bumper warranty on top of any manufacturer warranty that may still be in place (for me that was a winning point because if it splits in half than they would fix LOL).

    Concerning my purchase, there was a hiccup or two during delivery, but the Carvana representative kept me updated and was so eager to apologize and make it right. They even discounted the price of the car by $250 just for being inconvenienced. Also, keep in mind, they worked hard to make me happy before I even paid a single penny. I'm driving my car today, day one after delivery, and my down payment still hasn't been processed yet. They give you seven days to decide if you still want the car, so it's like a seven-day test drive.

    When the delivery man showed up with my car, I was surprised at not being surprised by the condition of the car. There were no extra little dings or scratches from a delivery that one might expect. It was perfect. It even had a full tank of gas. Nice. To top it off The delivery man gave me a goodie bag that included a Visa gift card and an Amazon Echo.

    I have to say; I am so happy with my experience with this company and I couldn't wait to leave a review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique process. We aim to provide a stress-free car buying experience, and we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our Customer Advocates a call at 800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Overall a great way to buy

    • Sanford, FL,
    • Mar 9, 2017

    I recently purchased a Jeep from Carvana. Overall it has been a great experience, and I would likely do it again, and recommend it for others. I enjoyed having the ability to take my time viewing vehicles of all makes and models while reading reviews and performing thorough research. For me, going to a dealership is time intensive and usually high pressure. I enjoyed not having to deal with that. The customer advocates at Carvana have been attentive, friendly, courteous, and helpful, as was the driver that delivered the vehicle and picked up my trade-in.

    Acquiring financing was simple. Carvana offered several options for financing, and I chose to go through their lender. After registering for their website and providing a few minor details, I received a financing quote within minutes. My credit has some blemishes, so it's not stellar, yet I was easily able to acquire financing at what I felt was a decent rate. After purchasing the vehicle, I received a call from a representative from the lender, GO financial, to review the terms. She too was friendly and helpful.

    I had a trade-in vehicle that was in fair condition with a couple of mechanical issues. I entered all of the details through their website, and again, it was relatively painless. While the website states that you can receive a quote in two minutes, it took a couple of days for me to receive my quote. I didn't really mind the delay as I wasn't in a major rush to make my purchase. I would imagine that the delay was a result of the fact that I had started the process on a Saturday and had entered some notes about the mechanical issues with the vehicle, so it probably needed human review. On Monday morning an advocate emailed or called to check in with me, and I mentioned that I was still waiting for my quote. The quote was received minutes later. It was relatively painless, but the delay is worth noting for those with similar circumstances.

    As to finding my jeep, and as previously stated, I wasn't in a rush to make my purchase and enjoyed taking the time to check out all of my options and do research on my purchase. I was working from an iPhone, which of course gave me a slightly more limited mobile site to work with. Even still, I found it to be loaded with features, and useful filters to narrow my options down. There were some minor bugs in the interface (e.g. at one point I had to resign my documents and, after doing so, the site didn't show it as being done and the problem was easily resolved by an advocate over the phone), but nothing that necessarily made my experience unpleasant or hindered my usage greatly. Overall, I thought it worked fine for my needs.

    The actual purchase (signing the paperwork) was great. It's mostly all done through electronic signatures in a very intuitive and user-friendly interface. As previously mentioned, I did have to resign my documents as I failed to advise Carvana that I wanted to transfer my registration from my trade-in to my new jeep. Doing so was no major ordeal. There was some additional paperwork that needed to be filled out at the time of delivery, which took all of about five minutes. Again, no major ordeal.

    I scheduled delivery of my Jeep to my driveway for the following Saturday. It was supposed to be done in the afternoon, but the delivery driver contacted me the day before and offered to come out earlier than scheduled. Of course, I didn't mind getting my new toy early, so I accepted. The delivery driver showed up exactly on time and was a pleasure to work with. She gave us the opportunity to test drive the new Jeep, which I took, while she looked over our old one to ensure that it was in line with what I stated. Upon our return, we spent a few minutes with the driver, confirming details and signing paperwork. The experience was so quick and pleasant that my wife and I were joking with each other about feeling like it was too good to be true and our expectation that someone would be showing up shortly to take the jeep that they had mistakenly left at our house back! Haha.

    The driver noted that the new Jeep was missing its floor mats and had thus found some that would work in the short-term and threw them in prior to leaving. She ordered the proper mats, which were delivered to the house within days.

    The Jeep was detailed that morning, and was spotless when it arrived.

    Overall the entire purchase experience exceeded my expectations.

    And now for the bad part, and reason that I didn't give a 5-star rating. While test driving the new Jeep, my wife and I noticed a sound coming from the rear of the vehicle, but as our old Jeep made similar noises, we chalked it up to being a "Jeep thing" and blew it off. We also noticed that there was a faulty tire pressure sensor, but again didn't really think of it as a major issue.

    Carvana gives a seven-day trial period for their purchases. Unfortunately, I was busy through that seven-day period and didn't have the opportunity to take the vehicle to a mechanic to check it out. I would highly recommend that, even if one thinks the vehicle is immaculate, they take advantage of that trial period and take their purchase to a qualified mechanic or dealership to have it thoroughly looked over. My wife took our Jeep to a local dealership, who determined that the noise we were hearing was a rusted out rear differential. Fortunately, it was covered under the 100-day warranty provided with Carvana vehicles, and it was replaced at no cost. They reset the tire pressure sensor, which cleared the initial error, but it returned the following day. We haven't taken the time to get that sorted out yet.

    When purchasing a used vehicle, of course, I expect there to be some issues, but I certainly didn't expect to be replacing something so major immediately after purchasing it, especially considering the thorough inspection and repair process that Carvana touts. I find it hard to believe that anyone else that drove the vehicle wouldn't have noticed the same problems. That part was disappointing. I probably should've realized something that was up when I saw on the inspection paperwork that a rust treatment had been performed by Carvana. Hopefully, additional internal rust damage won't be found at some later, out-of-warranty time.

    As stated, overall I am pleased with the entire experience, and would recommend Carvana to others, just make sure to be a smart buyer and take advantage of that seven-day trial period.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your awesome review regarding the purchase of your Jeep. We are so glad you enjoyed our online process and the delivery experience. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal and it’s great to hear that we are on the right track. Please don't hesitate to reach out at 800-333-4554 if there is any additional feedback you would like to provide. Congratulations on your new vehicle and thank you for choosing the better way to buy a car!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Incredible

    • Dunn, NC,
    • Mar 8, 2017

    We bought a 2016 Nissan Rogue and absolutely love the way the whole process was handled. Carvana went above and beyond in every aspect of the process, and we will definitely be buying from them again. I was sick of dealing with dishonest used car salesmen, and Carvana was the solution. The day our car arrived they had a gift package and a $25 gift card for us. Great company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 8, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Eli! As a growing company, your feedback is greatly appreciated and very important to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique process. We aim to provide a stress-free car buying experience, and we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to provide, please feel free to give our Customer Advocates a call at 800-333-4554. Welcome to the higher state of car buying!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Can't get a quote on my trade

    The website has a slick, user-friendly design. Pictures and information are all there, and from what I've seen, every car for sale looks great. And the pricing is very reasonable.

    The only reason I can't recommend Carvana is because I can't get anything back from them. My Toyota Tundra "stumped the algorithm," and I was told my trade-in would have to be valued manually. That was three days ago, and I've not heard a word. I asked for an update in the live chat, and I was told that I would be added to the queue. If I submitted my truck for appraisal, shouldn't I have already been in a queue without having to pester someone to do it?

    At this point, I would have to have a GREAT trade-in value to consider using the service. The communication is seriously lacking, other than automated emails asking me to come back and search for a new vehicle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 24, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Carvana experience, Dennis.

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our website and our inventory, but we are disappointed you were unsatisfied with your entire experience. Customer satisfaction is something we hold to a very high regard, so we sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on our end. Our team should have done a much better job of communicating with you and reaching out in a timelier manner about your trade-in value.

      We are glad to report that we have since been able to contact you about your trade-in. We hope you will contact us at 800-333-4554 if there is anything we can do to further assist you and turn this experience around for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Overall, okay.

    Let me give a comprehensive review of what I went through.

    First of all, I would like to mention that the customer service throughout the entire process was very good.

    The first car I attempted to purchase was no good. There were issues with the spark plug coils or oxygen sensor. After bringing it to the dealership, Carvana waived any expenses, including a rental for two weeks. The car (2013 Jetta) did some pretty scary things on the highway (engine seizing).

    So, they came and got that and traded me for a 2014 Kia Forte. The car is awesome. Again, the customer service was excellent for the delivery, all the issues I went through and never having to take my card out of my pocket for any of the expenses from the previous vehicle. The gave good customer service over the phone, too.

    Some notes for my Kia; the interior/detailing of the vehicle was very lackluster. The car feels like it needs an alignment, so I got a tire rotation with my first oil change just to make sure that wasn't the only issue. But, yeah, I'll need an alignment or tire balance still.

    My only real issue with Carvana is that they claim that their vehicles are inspected and make it seem like you should have no real issues, but some minor things (a nice detailed clean, alignment, and tire balance) and major things (whatever ended up really happening with the Jetta) were overlooked.

    I think the concept, the customer service and the ease of business are great, but they can improve in the inspection and detailing department. By the way, I also found some old junk in the Jetta and a package for an e-cigarette in the Kia Forte. Just makes me wonder if they actually even cleaned it?

    I would probably still buy another car with them, though, because everything else was really impressive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your experience with Carvana.

      At Carvana, we take great pride in our hassle-free purchase process and high-quality vehicles. We regret to hear that the delivery of your first vehicle did not go as expected. As part of our reconditioning process, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection and pre-delivery inspection to ensure that the vehicle meets our strict mechanical and safety standards. During the pre-delivery inspection process, we make sure there are no active recalls, issues with any of the controls of the vehicle, and no additional imperfections with the car.

      Unfortunately, there were some things that were overlooked on the 2013 Volkswagen Jetta, and we take full responsibility for this. We can assure you that Carvana has taken this to the appropriate departments to prevent further occurrences like this from happening again. We understand that this caused an inconvenience in your schedule, and for that, we are truly sorry.

      We are happy to report, however, that you have since been able to swap into another vehicle that meets your expectations, minus the cleanliness. Carvana takes customer satisfaction very seriously, and as a goodwill gesture would like to offer you compensation to get your 2014 Kia Forte detailed. We would love nothing more than to repair this relationship with you, and if there is anything else additionally that we can do for you, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-800-333-4554.

      Thank you,

      The Carvana Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it if you live outside of Georgia!

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 11, 2017

    Everything was awesome; good car, good price, easy to use, and quick weekend delivery. I recommended Carvana to a lot of friends. Now I wish I hadn't.

    I bought the car in early November of 2016 and I STILL don't have my Ohio license plates four months later! When I call, they just keep blowing me off with "We've sent everything to our third party company," like that makes it okay. Now my bank is threatening to raise the rates on my loan because they still haven't received confirmation that they are the lien-holder from Ohio.

    At that point, I'll find an attorney, although I'm sure there's the usual "Binding Arbitration" clause in the contract. Bottom line, don't do it outside of their home-state of Georgia because they really don't have that part together yet, and it may cost you in the long run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 17, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your Carvana experience.

      While we are happy to hear you enjoyed several aspects of our process, we regret that the entire experience fell short of perfect. Ohio is one of our newer states we are operating in, however, that is not an excuse for the delays you encountered. After reviewing your account, it does appear we ran into some issues with obtaining all of the proper paperwork to process your registration. We strive for transparency with our customers, so we should have done a better job at communicating the situation with you. We are sincerely sorry for this lapse in communication. We are happy to report that your registration has been completed and sent out to you as of February 15th.

      Again, we are so sorry for the delays and how it affected your experience. If there is anything we can do to help repair this relationship, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at 800-333-4554. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service meets broken salesman promises

    • Texas,
    • Feb 10, 2017

    So, I purchased a Mercedes GLK for $25,000 in which I paid $22,000 upfront. I was told by the drop off for LJ's that all repairs would be covered in the first 100 days. I was told a window was faulty that morning for no reason, so I should get the car inspected by the dealership, and everything would be handled free of charge. Also, they gave me one key that worked and another key that was for another vehicle.

    After getting the inspection, it turns out there were some issues under the hood totaling $1,500 in repairs. When I sent this to Carvana, they tried to run from paying for the repairs. They called the dealership and even tried to talk the mechanics out of their evaluation.

    During all of this, the customer service rep also tried to treat me like it was unreasonable for me to send in the repairs. Like I was a nuisance. Carvana is the worst.

    By the way, the customer service rep was Natasha Tomlinson, and she even attempted to lie about the correspondence she had sent to me, etc.

    Carvana is immature from its people on the top, and on down. If you're a professional, then you'll be dealing with people who aren't on your level if you buy a car from Carvana.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your Carvana experience. We strive to provide our customers a hassle-free and stress-free experience from the beginning to end. We regret to hear that we fell short in this instance and that your experience was less than perfect. We are very sorry that your vehicle arrived with a faulty window and wrong key.

      While we are always willing to investigate issues occurring on a vehicle, we must do our due diligence. We will typically contact the mechanic or dealership to discuss the issues to ensure the items needing repairs are in fact failing, or needing immediate replacement, rather than just recommended maintenance. We sincerely apologize if this came off as us trying to avoid assisting with the repairs, as this is certainly never our intention. We are happy to report that we were able to assist in covering the cost of a sparkplug replacement, rim repair, front lower driving light replacement, and engine mount and transmission mount replacement.

      Additionally, we would like to apologize if anyone on our Customer Advocate Team came across as unwilling to help. Excellent customer service is a high priority of ours and we regret if that was not your experience. We hope you are now enjoying your Mercedes GLK and that everything else with the vehicle is up to your standards. We would love nothing more than to repair this relationship with you, so please contact us at 800-333-4554 if we can assist in any other way. Thank you for choosing Carvana.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Didn't pay off bank loan

    Our vehicle was sold to Carvana and they did not submit the payoff to the bank until we got a notice in the mail nearly two months later that we were late on our car payment. Then, Carvana owed us an additional $400, and it took days to get that figured out. The customer service was very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience with selling your vehicle to Carvana. We are disappointed to hear that we did not send the payoff out to your lien holder in a timely manner. This was a clear oversight on our end and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations this caused. We are glad that we have since been able to resolve this matter. We would love the chance to repair this relationship, so we hope that you consider Carvana for your future car buying endeavors!

      Best,

      The Carvana Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrific

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 29, 2017

    I regret my decision to purchase a car with Caravan.

    It was purchased on December 2, 2016, and I followed up on January 3, 2017, when I did not receive my plates in the mail at that point. They assured me there was a small typo in the VIN and advised me to apply for an extension at the DMV within in the next two weeks.

    After a week and a half, I went to the DMV and attempted to apply for this but was told the dealer still hadn't even submitted any registration documents at all! When I called the dealer, they apologized and said they would overnight the required documents, and that they were "waiting for a check from another department." I have been told this same excuse several times now.

    I was assured the registration would be delivered after Martin Luther King Day when the temporary plates expired. Sadly, when I returned to the DMV to re-apply for the extension, they told me my temporary plate belonged to a completely different car (2013 Ford)!

    My temporary tag has now expired. I have requested to speak to a manager several different times with no response from any manager at this point. The employees I do talk to seem confused. I have filed two complaints with different bureaus of the state. Georgia is very particular about car registrations since they receive a proportionally large amount of revenue from this.

    In summary, I am terrified to drive because I cannot legally drive the car that I purchased from Carvana. I have to walk or take public transportation to get around. It is extremely disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take our customer’s complaints very seriously and would like to express our sincere apologies that the title issues have taken so long to resolve. We understand your frustration and disappointment with the amount of time it has taken to get the vehicle properly registered. We strive to complete each step of the process in a timely and thorough manner, and it is clear we failed to meet your expectations and ours. We have made changes to our internal processes as a result of your negative experience, including improved communication with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

      The registration process took longer than usual because we received the incorrect information from the auction. As a result, we were unable to submit the information to our third party processor (Reg USA) to complete your registration. That said, we own this mistake, and we understand this should have been taken care of prior to the sale. We cannot apologize enough for the fact that you had to take public transportation because your temporary operating plate expired. We hold our customer’s experience to a high regard and will use this as a learning opportunity to improve our processes and increase customer satisfaction in all facets of the company. As a good faith gesture, we will be compensating you for the disappointment and inconvenience you encountered due to the delay with your registration.

      Our reputation of providing positive experiences and quality vehicles is essential to who we are as an online dealership. We regret that your experience with us was negatively affected due to title and registration delays. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us at 1-800-333-4554.

      Sincerely,

      The Carvana Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Service certainly not what they say it is.

    I had a number of problems with Carvana, trying to make a purchase.

    First, I reserved a vehicle that was in the process of being loaded into their system with the promise that the photos of the vehicle would be online in three days. Almost a week later, it still said the photos would be available in three days. I canceled that reservation and resumed my search.

    I found a vehicle that was available for pickup on January 2, which was later than convenient for me but was workable. I went through their purchase with multiple delays (it would have been quicker in a stand alone dealer than these folks took), and finally thought I had everything resolved. Then I was told that the earliest pickup date would be January 3rd. I canceled the order because I have to be out of town on that date, and they reported no way to accommodate my request.

    This seemed like a simple transaction, I was trading a car and placing a down payment of $10,000 with only a very small financed amount. The thing to remember with Carvana is that despite their ads on the simplicity of their product delivery, it will take you as long or more than it will at the neighborhood dealer. I wouldn't recommend these guys to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your Carvana experience. We are so sorry to hear that your purchase process was less than perfect. At Carvana we strive for a seamless experience, and this was clearly not the case in your situation. Our On Demand vehicles are available to reserve with an estimated timeline of when the vehicle will be fully ready and the 360-degree tour will be available to view on the site. We would like to apologize that the estimated timeline took longer than anticipated. We are glad you were able to receive your vehicle, but we are sorry that it was at a later date than what you were initially hoping for. We hope you are now enjoying your vehicle and please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you for choosing Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review