About Casper Mattress

Based out of New York, NY, Casper is a new company that’s on a mission to provide a better night’s sleep for everyone, as well as to revolutionize the industry—using only one model of mattress. However, despite much lower prices than the competition, Casper claims that their mattresses are developed and crafted in the USA using only superior, resilient materials that provide a “luxurious marriage of latex and memory foam.”

It’s a simple concept in the retail industry: Control the manufacturing and distribution processes, reduce overhead and retail expenses, and pass the savings on to your customers, which is exactly what Casper claims to do.

But in a world of “you get what you pay for,” do Casper Mattresses really perform as well as they claim, and are they worth the price? You might be surprised what we found out.

How Does Casper Mattress Claim to be Different from the Competition?

The core of Casper’s business model, and a big reason for their recent Series A success, is to deliver a low cost, high quality product to a segment of the market that has been sorely in need of rejuvenation for years: Mattresses.

Before you scoff, keep in mind that Casper’s focus on:

  1. Re-engineering their supply chain (threads, fabric, and cover stitching are sourced from South Carolina, Illinois, and Belgium, and their mattresses are manufactured in Atlanta, GA),
  2. Removing retail costs (there is only one showroom in NYC), and
  3. Drastically reducing their shipping costs (all mattresses are shipping in a small box “about the size of a golf bag” but which easily unpack),

…means that their mattresses can be sold profitably for 3 times less than what they would cost in a traditional retail environment.

In addition to price, Casper claims to focus on quality as well, with mattresses that are designed to conform to your body, and to support all your contours with minimal sinkage. In order to accomplish this, the company claims to use premium latex foam that provides cooling and bounce, while the memory foam provides support and comfort.

Related: Purple Mattress Review

Overall, Casper claims to put “real people’s feedback above all else” when designing their mattresses, which meet a “Goldilocks standard” of sorts. In other words, like a great hotel bed, the company claims that their mattresses are not too soft or too firm and most people will love the sleep they get.

Casper Mattress Pricing & Refund Policy

As noted above, Casper Mattresses are available in only one model, although in 6 different sizes:

  • Twin (39”×75”): $500
  • Twin XL (39”×80”): $600
  • Full (54”×75”): $750
  • Queen (60”×80”): $850
  • King (76”×80”): $950
  • CA King (72”×84”): $950

All Casper Mattresses come with free shipping, with same day delivery in NYC and within 5 days elsewhere around the nation.

On top of this, Casper Mattresses come with a 100-night risk free trial, including a hassle-free return process that provides pickup from your location, as well as a 10-year full warranty.

Laying Out the Facts: Can Casper Mattress Help You Achieve a Better Night’s Sleep?

When it comes down to it, can Casper provide you with a mattress that not only helps you get a better night’s sleep, but at a lower price than the competition? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind:

Customer Reputation

Despite the fact that Casper is a relatively new company, with its URL having just been registered in November 2013, it appears that their mattresses have an overwhelmingly positive online reputation with their customers. In fact, several even commented that it’s one of the best mattresses available for your money.

And if you’re not satisfied with your Casper Mattress, the company appears to stand behind their product with a 100-night risk free trial, which even includes pickup and return delivery to the warehouse.

It’s Not All Roses

With this said, there are some important considerations you should keep in mind before ordering your Casper Mattress:

First and foremost, some customers might find the fact that Casper Mattresses only come in one model to be disconcerting, as well as the fact that they can’t try them out beforehand (unless you live in NYC and can visit their small retail location). Also, other than size, Casper Mattresses can’t be customized in any way, so if you tend to prefer firmer mattresses, you might find Casper’s too soft.

Finally, if you’re located outside of the U.S., you won’t be able to purchase a Casper Mattress, although the company claims to be actively working on this.

Bottom line: If you’re open to a new mattress buying experience, Casper appears to provide a high-quality, low-cost product that most of their customers seem to enjoy. And if you don’t fall into this category, Casper’s 100-night return policy can go a long way in helping you to make a decision.

More on Buying a Mattress:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Customer Reviews for Casper Mattress

Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 14 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 4
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bliss... Finally!

    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Mar 7, 2016

    I won't bore you with unnecessary details regarding our miserable sleep history. Suffice to say that my husband and I absolutely love our Casper. It was an odd and unexpected gift from my Father in law. I (we/everyone!) have listened to my husband complain for 20 years about every mattress we have ever owned (many), and in the month since our Casper arrived, not a single negative comment. It's literally a race to bed every night. I will admit that it was not love at first sight so much for me. In fact, I refused to get rid of my old mattress and had it leaning against the bedroom wall "just in case" for almost 2 weeks. It took me a little over a week to get used to the feel of it - not too soft, not too firm - but, I'm now head over heels as well. It's great support, but, doesn't engulf you like other memory foams and I find it to not be as hot as my old (much more expensive) foam mattress. It's honestly the best sleep I've had in years and the old mattress is just a distant memory now. We are so pleased that we are buying 2 queen size Caspers for our teenage sons.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not what I had expected

    The mattress is of very poor support. I wake up each day with pain in my hips. Don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    So great I bought another one!

    We love our Casper mattress so much we ordered another one for our son. Maybe we'll try the sheets and pillow too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 23 people found this review helpful

    I found the perfect bed

    • Port Huron, MI,
    • Nov 18, 2015

    For quite some time I knew of the elusive “Casper” but had no idea they were a mattress company. In fact, I followed them on Twitter and believed them to be a brilliantly witty cynic or two sitting around in a dimly lit room lamenting the daylight and sharing scholarly articles about the detriments of sleep deprivation and the superiority of those of us that are quasi-nocturnal.

    However, after sending a friend of mine a barrage of their more hilarious tweets (do yourself a favor and follow them), he asked me if I had “ever looked into buying a Casper.” Considering the fact that I believed Casper to be a small, cynical hipster collective, I was confused about how I would go about owning one and really whether the question was even PC. Then I finally looked past the brilliant quips and discovered that this “Casper” was in fact a company that claimed to have created “the perfect mattress.”

    As someone who struggles nearly every night to fall asleep before it’s technically already morning, I am a sleep enthusiast. In fact, there are days that I wake up already scheming how I could sneak a nap and jealously counting the hours until I could once again be in my bed. In addition to the problem I faced of actually falling asleep at night was the one of my mattress. It was, in a word, nightmarish. Imagine a sleeping surface that was in one spot soft, another lumpy, and – ouch! – there’s a spring.

    So, intrigued by their claim to have manufactured perfection, I decided to look into it further. That’s when I became even more impressed. They were selling this perfection at a reasonable price – especially if it actually did the seemingly impossible and helped me sleep. Then came the best part – well best TWO parts: 1. they offer payment plans that make the mattress very affordable, even on a budget and 2. they have a 100 night trial (and 10 year warranty). So, if on night 99 of sleeping on it I decide that I am just not that impressed, I let them know and they swing by, pick it up, and refund me 100%.

    That’s when I knew I had to give it a shot. I ordered my Casper and then began the waiting process. During this time my archaic and obnoxiously imperfect mattress seemed even more torturous than it had before, and the day *the box* arrived, I all but threw it out a window.

    Unboxing my Casper was a nearly magical experience. As it unfurled in all it’s not too hard, not too soft glory, I felt an affection that I had never expected to experience towards a mattress. But, then again, it’s not *just* a mattress. Sleeping on it that first night, I finally understood what they meant when they claimed that it “lovingly contours to your body.” Unlike memory foam with its manipulation and abuse that molds to your body but then traps you in one position for the remainder of your stay, it holds you ever so tenderly but knows to let you go, free to readjust. Casper accepts you in whatever position you come in and just makes you better. It IS the perfect bed.

    The longer I own this mattress, the more I love it. In fact, as I lay on it typing this post, I have one thing to say: stop reading and go buy your own. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain.

    Go buy the perfect bed. You won’t regret it. Although, even if you do (who ARE you?), just return it within 100 days – no hassle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 32 people found this review helpful

    It's just a futon

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    I've had futons that sleep better than this cheaply made, small, too soft mattress. It's just a cheap futon mattress, nothing more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing Bed.

    • Oklahoma,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    The mattress was exactly what they said it would be. It's like the perfect, posh hotel bed in your very own bedroom. The comfort layers gently, and almost instantly conform to your body, but you don't get sucked in like with a pure memory foam mattress. It really supports both me and my girlfriend well. I'm 6ft 180lbs, and she's 5'6" about 120ish. Between the two of us we're side/stomach/back sleepers. It's very comfortable and supportive in each position. And it sleeps so much cooler than those mushy, gassy, quick-sandy Tempurpedics and the like.

    Unless you have a medical condition requiring either an incredibly soft or firm mattress, I don't see how anyone wouldn't love this mattress. Either way, you can try it for 100 nights in your own home, and if you don't love it, they'll come pick it up, donate the mattress to a charity that needs it, and pretty much instantly refund your money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Under whelmed

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    I was super excited after all the hype, but then I actually slept on the bed. It is kind of stiff and not that comfy. They make you keep it for longer than you want when it's not comfortable, which is a bummer. In the end, it went to a local donation station and I got my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best deal for the money

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    I just bought the Casper mattress and am excited to get it. After a ton of research (including this site), I feel like it's really the best cost/benefit ratio. Also, I just got back from test-driving it in their NYC showroom - which is literally a super nice apartment (where their office is) with the bed in the master bedroom. Very cool. I laid on the Casper Mattress on was ready to sleep for days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    We love our Casper, got a great discount

    • Providence, RI,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I absolutely love this mattress. The customer service, speed of delivery, and quality of mattress are outstanding.

    I am 6' 2", about 190 lbs. I have always had a difficult time finding a mattress that is supportive enough but not overly firm and uncomfortable. I think what is unique about this bed vs some other memory foam beds that I have used is that it remains very supportive under my lower back, in any position. My old mattress would lead to lower back pain in the middle of the night, whereas this mattress eliminated that from the start.

    I would highly recommend this mattress to anyone, and have referred multiple friends/family towards Casper. I do not work for them, but always try to refer people towards companies with quality products and great service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Best mattress I have ever owned.

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    This Casper mattress has changed my life. Dealing with the company has been an absolute joy from start to finish. You are buying the customer service and the comfort of knowing you will be taken care of if anything happens, as well as the comfort of their amazing product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great mattress!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I've been extremely pleased with my Casper. Super soft, but great support also. And the price? Well, that was definitely a major well point also.

    Anyone on the fence might want to give http://sleepopolis-mattress-reviews.com/casper-mattress-review/ a quick read. It definitely helped push me over and I'm glad I did.

    Happy sleeping!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a review for Casper Mattress!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review