About Cellunlocker.net

Based out of Vancouver, British Columbia, CellUnlocker.net is a website that allows customers to unlock their mobile phones via email, using the company’s fully automated o­­­­nline system.

CellUnlocker.net claims to be able to unlock 99% of all phones supported by major carriers and from manufacturers including Samsung, Apple, HTC, Nokia, LG, Motorola, Blackberry, and many more. In addition, the company also claims to provide their service in more than 180 countries around the world, and that their unlock codes are 95.5% accurate.

CellUnlocker.net states that, when compared to their competition, they provide the lowest prices and fastest turnaround times available, and that if they are unable to unlock a specific phone, then the chances are that no one can.

How CellUnlocker.net Works

When attempting to unlock a cell phone through CellUnlocker.net, the first step would be to verify that the company provides unblock codes for an exact phone manufacturer and model. After the phone has been located, simply select the carrier and country, and input the phone’s IMEI number, which can be obtained by entering *#06# on the phone’s keypad (additional information regarding IMEI numbers can be found here).

Once this information has been entered, customers will then be redirected to a final page, which outlines the price and estimated turnaround time. After contact and payment information have been submitted, CellUnlocker.net will email the unlock code and unlocking instructions for the specific model, carrier, and IMEI number provided at checkout, within the estimated timeframe.

Potential customers should keep in mind that if a specific carrier is not listed under their country and phone model, the unlock codes will not work, and no orders should be placed. The CellUnlocker.net site will still process the order, though no refunds will be given.

CellUnlocker.net Pricing

CellUnclocker.net does not provide flat pricing for all their unlocking services, which can vary depending on the phone model, cellular carrier, and country in which a customer is located. For instance, a U.S.-based iPhone 5 through AT&T will cost $29.99 to unlock, whereas the same model through Verizon can cost as much as $119.99. Other popular phones, such as the Samsung Galaxy S4, can cost as little as $24.99 to unlock, if based in the U.S.

Soon after inputting their phone’s model and carrier, CellUnlocker.net customers will find out their total cost for unlocking. After this is complete and payment has been processed, the company claims turnaround times in as little as one hour, and as long as a few days, depending on the phone’s model.

When ordering through CellUnlocker.net, it’s extremely important to make sure a valid IMEI number is entered upon checkout. This is because the site will process requests that include invalid numbers, which will cause the unlock code to essentially be worthless, and no refund will be provided.

It’s also important to note that 100% refunds will only be granted if two conditions are met:

  1. A valid IMEI number was provided, including supporting carrier and phone model details, and all unlock attempts have failed when performed according to instructions, and
  2. You must provide video proof that demonstrates the unlocking attempt.

No refunds will be granted if an unlock fails due to reasons such as being hard-locked, or because prior attempts were made to unlock the same phone using other codes.

Important Information for USA Phone Unlocking Customers

Any phones purchased within the United States after January 26th, 2013 are no longer eligible for unlocking, as the procedure is now illegal. Unless a customer has prior approval from the associated service provider, CellUnlocker.net will not provide any type of unlocking service or support for phones purchased after this date. Furthermore, CellUnlocker.net states that they will not be held liable or responsible if a customer attempts to unlock a phone purchased after this date, and no refunds will be provided.

However, it’s important to specify that all services provided through CellUnlocker.net continue to be 100% legal in Canada.

Pros:

  • Claims to be able to unlock 99% of all phones supported by major carriers, in more than 180 countries around the world.
  • Unlock codes are claimed to be 95.5% accurate.
  • Ordering and checkout process is fast and simple, including the use of PayPal for payments.
  • If unlock codes do not work after all instructions have been followed, customers may be eligible for a 100% refund.

Cons:

  • No support for cell phones located in the United States, if purchased after January 26th, 2013
  • Extremely strict refund policy, which includes the requirement of videoing the unlocking process.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Customer Reviews for Cellunlocker.net

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 17 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 35
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • Always takes longer, frustrating support, not worth the anxiety

    I've ordered now about six codes from these guys over a span of about two years. Although most of them were riddled with frustration, my current order is going to be my final order.

    As stated by many people on this review page, these guys like to jerk you around about how long it takes for the code. They'll first claim you have the wrong estimated completion date, although the date is present before you check out, after you check out, and again in the email receipt. They'll say it'll be a day longer on the final day when you still haven't received anything. Then when you have nothing the next day, they'll say either one more day or you'll definitely have it by midnight. Then they'll keep asking for one more day or just say we're doing the best we can and you'll receive the code in your email when it's finished.

    I would not mind if they were honest and said it's taking longer than we expected and actually apologized. They're just belittling and act like you're wrong and you shouldn't be asking about your order. Their time estimates should be the maximum time for them to either come up with a code or issue a refund. They should also ask the customer if they'd like to continue with trying an "alternative database" as they usually do, instead of automatically extending the search without any communication with the buyer (which may or may not result in a code anyway).

    I'm plenty patient and understanding if I'm being asked to wait a bit longer and am treated kindly and feel like I'm being kept informed if things aren't going quickly and smoothly. This is not the case with these people.

    I would recommend buyers seek out other merchants if they desire an unlock service that operates in the time outlined during purchase and provides a decent amount of communication to set the buyer at ease if issues arise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Quick and simple. Happy camper

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Apr 25, 2017

    I unlocked two phones with this company; an iPhone SE and LG Leon. It was quick and easy service, and I received my code in a couple of days, (1-2 max), inserted the SIM cards, and (voila!) unlocked phones! Awesome. No need to email or call; patience is the key!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What you have to know and understand before rating these people...

    First of all, I would say that 90% of the "bad" ratings, on here, are from first-timers who don't understand how it all works and they were either impatient or ignorant of how to proceed before/during/after the unlock or during the waiting period.

    My receipt said it could take 2-5 "business" days, so I will wait 2 to 5 "business" days before getting concerned.

    Not every phone takes the same amount of time to unlock. One might take 2 hours, one might take SEVERAL days, it's just the way it is UNLESS you want to go somewhere else and pay more for faster service.

    If you look at all the sites, you will see that more money makes processing faster, it's just how it is.

    Sending texts and unlocking phones have NOTHING to do with one another. "After" you unlock the phone, you HAVE to set a "new" APN so you can send SMS/MMS correctly. I've seen people blame cellunlocker.net for their own lack of understanding of, well, everything to do with the phone and the situation and it's not fair to the company.

    I've bought, over the years, maybe 5 or 6 unlocks from them and never had any real issues with them. I go through phones, pretty rapidly, so I've got a history with these people and I know not every situation is going to be the same.

    READ THE RECEIPT. It's going to be your guide to sanity with this process. Read it ALL, especially the part where it says "days to complete" and you won't get so wound up.

    Now, in all fairness, I will take note of the other side of the situation. The phone service, associated with this company, it kind of "sucks" because you're put on hold forever sometimes.

    You don't always get emails back fast when you email support and sometimes this company's website (like today) goes down for a period of time.

    Like I said, I've done this SEVERAL times with this company, and always seem to have a decent experience for ONE reason, I understand the rules.

    If you're impatient or paranoid which, let's be honest, there are a LOT of you out there who are both, you're not going to have a good experience with this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst service ever

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 10, 2017

    This company is a fraud they would use very cheap methods to unlock the phone, and then the phones works with no problem for a few months and then gets relocked again, and they won't fix the problem or refund your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2017

      Jeff Vaughn

      I actually think it must be you because I've used this service for years with no problems. I've unlocked, at least six phones with this service and usually got my email or code within two to six hours after purchasing an unlock code.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It worked with my Samsung Galaxy S7!

    • Zwolle, Netherlands,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I was being a skeptic because after requesting the product, it said that it would take one to three workdays, and after three days, my order status was still processing. One day later, I got an email that they have a worldwide delay, and it would take another three to five days. I thought I was being faked, but another day later I received an email that it was finished! And it's true (in my case).

    I have a Samsung S7 T-Mobile from the USA, and I couldn't unlock it, even after calling the service from T-Mobile a lot of times. So after receiving this email, I was still a skeptic, but I opened the unlock app and when I tapped "permanent unlock," it was unlocked! Normally it said, "this phone is not eligible for unlock." So I'm very happy because now I can use it in the Netherlands!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists

    • Peterborough, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 3, 2017

    Once you pay you never get a code, and you never hear from them again. Look at all these negative reviews. Do NOT do business with them! The only thing that saved me is that I paid via Paypal, and got them to rip my money back out of Cellunlocker's hands.

    They get less than one star from me! In fact, they owe me three

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2017

      Jeff Vaughn

      It must be you because I've been using them for years with no problems whatsoever. Of course, there is another company with a similar name, which a lot of people seem to get them confused and Cellunlocker.net gets the blame.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It worked like a charm

    Thank you Guys! It worked like a charm. A very happy and a satisfied customer saying thank you. It took them a day but they were constantly in touch and responded with an hour notifying me that they will get back to me ASAP and they are trying an alternative database for the unlock code. The unlock code worked and my LG G5 is unlocked now. I recommend their service highly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    I tried their procedures, followed it to a "t". I was not successful. It was a brand new phone. The result of switching SIM cards resulted in not being able to receive or send texts. I had Tech support on and off for 2 days. I was not successful in getting my Samsung to work properly.

    I ended up taking my phone back and now must purchase a new phone. Cellunlocker will not refund my money as I must video myself following the procedures. Pretty tough to do when I couldn't even send a text. And now I don't have the phone.

    Oh well, lesson learned. Beware of too good to be true refunds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2017

      Jeff Vaughn

      Text sending and phone unlocking are two different things. Just because you unlock a phone does not mean it will send texts. Anybody, who knows anything about cell phones, knows you have to configure the APN settings for your new network, or it just won't work right. So you're slamming them for your lack of knowledge. Bad karma!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    Waited for my code for over a week. Every time I chatted with them they said wait until tomorrow. Paid $74 to stay pissed while on vacation and waiting for their email. Got my codes in 7 hours with Bell and for $52.5. Honestly I dealt with them 3 years ago and they were great but like all companies they fall over. Call your provider if you can before dealing with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Fraudsters

    • Delta, BC,
    • May 7, 2016

    Bye bye $29 USD. Order made, money taken, but failed to unlock.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Wished I had read these reviews before I contacted them.

    My issue is exactly like many of the others. They were very quick to get the $24.99 out of my account but I still have not received an unlock code. It's been five days. In order to request a status of my order, I needed an order number which I did not receive from them. I wrote two emails requesting the number and did not receive a response. So I called them and was sent in a circle by their answering machine. I have filed a complaint against them through PayPal. They have still not responded to any of my requests. So, I ordered through a different company and had my information in less than four hours and it was eight dollars cheaper. This company is a scam and I will not pay them. Of course, this does tie up my $24.99 for about three months while it is in litigation.

    Company is fraudulent and I can only assume that the few reviews here that are positive were written by the company themselves. There are many other companies you can choose from. This one is nothing but a scam and too cowardly to even respond to customer questions. I should know by now to always check reviews before I order anything, even if it is only $24.99. Thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for Cellunlocker.net!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review