About Cerebral Success

Have you ever wished you could boost your brain’s power? How about improving focus and energy throughout the day? If so, Smart X by Cerebral Success claims to help you do this—and more—by addressing four key areas of brain function: focus, memory, mental energy, and overall brain health.

But is Smart X by Cerebral Success really a smart choice? Let’s hit the books and find out.

Details About Cerebral Success

Cerebral Success recently appeared on the popular television show Shark Tank episode 522, which originally aired on April 25, 2014. The only Shark who ultimately chose to invest was Barbara Corcoran, who received a 40% stake for $75K.

During the presentation, the supplement’s creator, Trevor Hiltbrand, claimed that Cerebral Success was developed to provide many of the same benefits as Adderall, but to also improve overall brain function and health. By strengthening brain cell walls; providing essential vitamins, nutrients, and amino acids; increasing blood flow to the brain; stimulating protein synthesis; and boosting neurotransmitter production, Smart X by Cerebral Success claims to provide the following benefits:

  • Boosted focus and concentration
  • Improved “mental energy” and agility
  • Enhanced memory
  • Improved brain health
  • Reduced anxiety

Cerebral Success claims that their 99% pure, pharmaceutical grade ingredients have been clinically shown to improve focus and memory, which include:

  • Huperzine A – Extracted from Chinese club moss, this ingredient may help prevent the breakdown of acetylcholine, and to improve short and long-term memory.
  • Vinpocetine – Dilates blood vessels, which may increase blood circulation and oxygenation to the brain.
  • Phosphatidylserine – May help strengthen cell walls, improve information transmission, and promote anti-aging benefits for the brain.
  • Schisandrin A – May help enhance your central nervous system function.
  • Bacopin – May help improve synaptic function within your brain.
  • L-Tyrosine – As a precursor to dopamine, this ingredient may help improve focus, increase wellbeing, and reduce fatigue.
  • Cognizin – May help improve communication between neurons.
  • Glucuronolactone – May help prevent fatigue and increase wellbeing.
  • DHA – A key Omega 3 fatty acid that plays a crucial role in brain function.
  • L-Glutamine – May help boost focus and memory.
  • Caffeine & L-Theanine – L-Theanine is claimed to “reduce the harsher effects of caffeine,” while still providing increased focus.
  • B-Vitamins – May help prevent mental decline.

To begin experiencing the benefits of Cerebral Success, the company claims you’ll need to take 1-2 capsules per day, depending on your needs. Side effects are rare, but include headaches, nausea, and appetite suppression.

Cerebral Success Pricing & Refund Policy

Each bottle of Cerebral Success includes 60 capsules, and are available through three purchasing options:

  • 1 Bottle: $69
  • 2 Bottles: $119
  • 3 Bottles: $159

Smart X by Cerebral Success comes with a 60-day money back guarantee, although no additional details are provided on the product’s website. Because of this, you may want to contact customer service at 866-624-3113 for additional information prior to placing your order.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Cerebral Success and Smart X?

Smart X is manufactured by Cerebral Success based out of Provo, UT, and is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. However, due to the product’s newness, this isn’t surprising.

Public perception regarding Cerebral Success appears to be mixed, with some consumers claiming that it may have the potential to provide the benefits it claims, while others are calling it an outright scam. Some of the most common complaints we encountered during our research cited failure to work, high price, and frequent headaches.

What’s the Bottom Line About Cerebral Success?

Bottom Line: Smart X by Cerebral Success probably doesn’t work as well as it claims, and here’s why:

Most importantly, despite claiming that its ingredients have been clinically shown to provide a wide range of brain benefits, the fact of the matter is that much of this evidence is insufficient to come to a conclusion. In other words, while some studies for some of Cerebral Success’s ingredients (Huperzine A, Vinpocetine, Phosphatidylserine, etc.) have shown potential benefits, there remains insufficient clinical evidence to state that, without a doubt, they have a beneficial effect. And even for those that may be beneficial, they may not provide benefits for all people.

For example: Huperzine A may be effective for improving memory and mental function, but it has not been shown to increase alertness or to reduce age-related memory loss. On the other hand, Phosphatidylserine may be effective in improving Alzheimer’s-related decline, but has not conclusively been shown to improve thinking ability or to reduce ADHD-related symptoms.

Next, this article outlines many of the concerns related to the recent boom in brain supplements, including failure to disclose all ingredients (some of which can be dangerous), blatantly false claims, and that many of these types of supplements simply contain ingredients formulated by third parties (e.g. Bacopin and Cognizin in Cerebral Success). With this in mind, while the product’s website does provide some of its ingredients, they do not provide a product label or dosage information. This is something that many supplement manufacturers skirt around by claiming their ingredient combinations are “proprietary.” For more details about common tactics employed by supplement manufacturers, take a look at our Complete Guide to Buying a Nutritional Supplement.

Finally, it’s always best to speak with your physician prior to beginning any new nutritional supplement. In fact, they may be able to recommend a reputable brand that has been on the market longer, with a broader range of customer reviews.

See also: 6 Ways to Naturally Improve Your Focus, Energy, Productivity, and Decrease Stress

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Customer Reviews for Cerebral Success

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 4
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Better than other supplements

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2016

    I've tried a couple different brain nootropic cocktails and Cerebral Success is at the top of my list. Mainly, because it's safe in comparison to other products. There are a lot of sketchy ingredients that other companies use, that can result in headaches after you stop taking it. Luckily this brand doesn't contain those ingredients (ex Piracetam).

    On the other hand though, you can find a lot of really cheap nootropics on amazon. The only problem is that those products contain 1/10th the active ingredients as a product like Cerebral Success. So, there is really no gain.

    Bottom line: If you are like me, and choose to supplement and EAT a DIET that supports brain health, you will really like this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It helps me in certain areas.

    • Aug 6, 2015

    I have been taking for close to a year and I can honestly tell you that it doesn't do much with respect to my brain and it's effectiveness but it has cured my insane jock itch. My balls haven't felt better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    SmartX is not a miriacle pill.

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Hi, I've used this product for a week. I used one capsule per day and I've found it to be mildly effective as it increased my energy level and focus, and a reduction in add blur. My expectations in trying a new product like this are not high to begin with, so I am more pleasantly surprised than disappointed.

    I have noticed that there are a lot of bogus and biased "reviews" online, which I think does more harm than good to build trust with prospective consumers.

    I am in no way associated with anyone in the company or anyone in the supplement field. I think the product is worth a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely Ineffective and Overpriced

    • Jul 8, 2015

    The supplement isn't effective, and you will not see the promised results, It's really a scam; just a ridiculously overpriced Green Tea caffeine pill. The positive reviews here are definitely from the creators or people paid by the creators (also I've seen this whole: buy multiple bottles and take for weeks to see results, such nonsense. No, the effects won't magically appear after you've spent twice as much, and taken it for months). Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Complete Rip-Off

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    The product did nothing for me, just a regular minor caffeine rush. Definitely not worth $69. Furthermore, I looked further into the company afterwards, and can tell you that they employ a lot of sketchy tactics to gain customers. This includes fake reviews on websites, and creating websites/videos were the founder's wife ranks the supplements (ranking Cerebral Success Number One) but doesn't mention/disclaim anything about how she would obviously be biased. She also has a written article online under the name Jessica Dungan where she ranks the top 10 brain supplements. I believe it is still up. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It worked for me

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I had a severe breakdown and loss my focus and memory recollection. I checked the reviews and did some research and got three bottles. First four weeks, I didn't notice much progress, but from the fifth week I found myself more energetic, able to focus and be able to recall a number of things I had issues with. Even temporary memory, like going to the room forgetting why I was there. I can recall much faster. I have been told my skin looks good - but since I see myself everyday I didn't notice. I am ordering another batch today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great for my memory

    • Tennessee ,
    • Oct 31, 2014

    Hi I buy this for all my family because it has really worked well for my memory. I feel so much more alert in the day too. Really happy I found this on Shark Tank.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • New York USA,
    • May 22, 2014

    This product has little efficiency and does not benefit the bottom line at all! It's a scam and I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Toronto, ON,
    • Apr 30, 2014

    This product is a scam, it has minimum effects. In all honesty, the creator has little to no ethics. There is absolutely NO proof this works. The studies the company did itself are subjective so they make themselves look better than they are. Every product has side effects and not enough research has been done on this, don't risk it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Not so good

    • Denver, CO,
    • Apr 28, 2014

    This product made me jittery. I can drink coffee if I really want that. For some reason, I feel like most of the positive reviews are coming from the actual company itself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Been using it for over a year

    • Salt Lake,
    • Apr 27, 2014

    So I have been using this product for over a year. I was totally shocked to see it on Shark Tank. I thought it was a bigger company. Anyways, I absolutely love Cerebral Success and feel that it has been incredible helpful in my college career. I'm a pre-med student and have studied the ingredients heavily. Some are clinically tested and proven to work, some have very few studies. But overall, I feel great when I take it and have definitely noticed improvements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a review for Cerebral Success!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review