About Clever Investor

Real estate investing is a risky business, which is why Clever Investor claims to be one of the largest, most moral resources on the Internet for investors and enthusiasts alike. The company claims that their award winning training products can help you live the life you’ve always dreamed, and their outstanding customer support can help you every step of the way.

However, if you’ve researched the real estate “guru” industry in the past, you know that it can be filled with empty advice and half-baked promises. So is Clever Investor a real estate training company where, as they put it, “real estate investors profit,” or is the only one profiting the company itself? Let’s flip the facts and see what they have to say.

How The Clever Investor Works

Clever Investor claims that becoming a successful real estate investor can help you live the life you’ve always wanted; working when you want, taking long vacations, spending quality time with your family, and perhaps most importantly, helping you become financially secure. However, founder Cody Sperber also claims that there is a science to successful real estate investing, which is where his self-proclaimed award-winning real estate investment training and support come in.

With this in mind, Clever Investor claims to provide you with actionable (what the Clever Investor calls “tactical”), step-by-step investing advice, including information that you can immediately put to use regardless of the niche you’re thinking about pursuing, whether it’s flipping, wholesaling, foreclosure investing, and more. As such, there are five primary sections to the Clever Investor website:

  • Education – Courses and tips related to creative real estate investing, wholesale real estate, buy, fix, and hold; and buy, fix, and flip.
  • Products – Video and audio courses related to Reverse Short Sale Systems, Fast Track Profit Systems, and Automated Marketing.
  • Events – Infrequent gatherings of other like-minded real estate investors where you’ll learn new ways of taking your business to the next level, many of which can be immediately implemented into your business plan.
  • Mentoring – Unlike other real estate programs such as Fortunebuilders and Scott Yancey seminars, Clever Investor claims that their one-on-one mentoring programs provide you with real-world information that you can use to start or grow your real estate investing business, without being promised “better” information through continuous upsells (more about this in the Bottom Line section).
  • Blog – Regularly updated content related to real estate investment.

Clever Investor Pricing & Refund Policy

Most of the information found under the Education section of the Clever Investor website appears to be free, although the Reverse Short Sale System is priced at $97. However, there are no prices listed for any of the other products on the company’s website, including for the Fast Track Profit System, Automated Marketing Machine, or for the Mentoring programs.

After reading through the Clever Investor’s Terms & Conditions, we found out that subscription programs come with a 30-day trial, after which you’ll be billed $97 per month on a recurring basis until cancelled. With this in mind though, we didn’t find anything on the Clever Investor website that was available through a subscription program.

Despite this, their refund policy claims that all of their products come with a 30-day, no risk, money back guarantee.

What’s the Bottom Line About Clever Investor?

So, what’s the bottom line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on Clever Investor products? While we located very few online complaints regarding the company, and while they are Ripoff Report Verified based on their commitment to customer service and their client’s success, keep the following in mind:

First, although Clever Investor appears to have a primarily positive online reputation, the most common complaints we encountered cited:

  • That the information they provide might be more suited toward beginners, although much of the same information can be found through other real estate investing books.
  • Accusations that Clever Investor makes most of their money through selling their systems and mentoring programs than they do from actually performing real estate deals.
  • Some material only gives you basic real estate investing information while constantly upselling you on additional products.

Next, based on her several appearances in Clever Investor videos and webinars, it appears that Barbara Corcoran (ABC’s Shark Tank) endorses their products, as she herself has a deep background in real estate. However, don’t take this to mean that everything she invests in is a good product—a prime example of this would be AngelLift strips.

Finally, similar to many other real estate and stock investment sites, several of the intro videos on the Clever Investor website seem to be more about tugging on your emotions (e.g. claiming that the video will only be available for a short time, that you shouldn’t share the link with your friends, etc.) than they are about providing real information about Clever Investor products.

Bottom line: In order to gauge how helpful Clever Investor will be for you, you may want to thoroughly read through the free Education section of their site. If you find the information there useful, only at that point might you want to spring for something more costly.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Customer Reviews for Clever Investor

Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 19 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 2
Bottom Line: 91% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Really was the best!

    I have been a real estate investor off and on to one degree or the other for years and a licensed real estate agent. I have purchased and studied over these years numerous real estate training and even "mentoring" programs and I can sincerely say that this was by far the very best! It actually took you from beginning to end and clearing up things I had always been confused about even from my agent training.

    What impressed me was that they DID NOT strategically hold back information or leave you with confusions, like the others, so that they could continuously solve such with an upsell program. They laid it out easier and better than anybody ever has and left me feeling like I could actually do it and now I am!

    I am interested in the other levels because they did such a good job on the first levels and lessons to others. Thank You!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    A product review

    I joined Clever's apprentice program for $7,000. I'm sure some of you think I'm crazy. Maybe you're right, well I decided to invest in education instead of blind marketing campaigns. You go on to sites like bigger pockets and nothing against them as a lot of stuff on there is really good information but when you see companies like Cody's, they bash them as every other company. They say things like, “Don't spend money on a program like this, do a direct mail campaign and net yourself 2-3 deals.” That's also not as easy as you think it is.

    Then again I'm not going to lie, I haven't closed a single deal in my three months of working with them. They have given me every single thing I need and then more to be a successful real estate investor. The only thing holding me back is me. I slacked at times, I wasn't as persistence as I needed to be.

    Bottom line is – even though I haven't closed a deal yet, i couldn't be more happy with my experience with Clever Investor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor Mentoring Program

    Mentoring program will be used to help our business get off the ground that we can start buying and selling real estate properties.

    Pros: Price - My business partner and I have spent lots of money in the past without getting a one on one mentor. If we needed one in which we did, it would have cost us at least another $20,000. The cost that Clever Investor offered is more than reasonable and they worked with us and we did not have to pay all at once.

    Pros: Staff - We cannot find the words to express the professionalism and friendliness of the staff at Clever Investors. We are very pleased.

    Pros: Service - Clever Investor has provided us with excellent service thus far and even though we no longer have a one on one mentor, my mentor and the other staff at Clever Investor is still available for us.

    Cons: Wish we had a little more time with our mentor Andrew Massoro, who was really great to work with. He held us accountable for our assignments and that kept us on our toes. Thanks Andrew.

    We would 100% recommend Clever Investor. No we are not a paid or non-paid spoke persons for Clever Investors. We are two sisters from NYC trying to make a dollar out of fifteen cents and we are on our way to doing it with Clever Investor's help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great Company. To recommend

    • New York,
    • Feb 23, 2016

    I wish to retract a negative comment I made earlier. After writing my original review about Cody Sperber, I realized that I may have overreacted and said some things that went way overboard. I have had some bad experiences in the past with other coaching programs, and I allowed my past to effect how I felt about Cody and his team.

    After getting to know them, I realize that they are actually pretty genuine people that really do care about their students, and their success. I was trying to do wholesaling in the U.S., but I live in Europe and this was much more difficult than I originally thought it would be. They did everything they said they would do, and have some of the best training I have seen online.

    I feel bad that I took out my frustrations on Cody Sperber by saying some of the things I did. He immediately reached out to me, and we resolved our differences. He stepped up and made things right, and I truly do apologize for saying some of the things I did about him online.

    At the end of the day I believe that Cody is very knowledgeable about real estate, and that the Clever team works hard to teach their students to invest in real estate the right way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    So much info

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jan 2, 2016

    I never leave reviews, I never make the time. But for The Fast Track Profit system I had too. I absolutely love this program and all the step by step information it provides. Cody isn't hiding anything, he literally educates you on real estate and shows you step by step how to be successful in this business. I've tried other programs and they were nowhere near as informative as this program. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Whatever they are selling, buy it.

    I have looked at many courses concerning investing in Real Estate. Many made big promises, many charged more money, but none delivered like Clever Investor. I purchased their "Fast Track" program and at the exact same time and the exact same price purchased a direct competitors program to do a split test and see which worked best for me. I found the test to be over almost before it started. Both programs had the exact same language and pretty much the same techniques; however, the Clever Investor program was more thoroughly thought through on the psychology of the process from beginning to end. I was so impressed that I purchased the Mentorship program to keep myself accountable to someone else. The mentorship program is top notch and very cost effective as my mentor saved me from rushing into a marketing campaign to early and suggested a great approach that has proven to be quite successful. I trust this company and its claims as they are doing active real estate deals at all levels of the company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great coaching

    • CA,
    • Nov 26, 2015

    I am getting great hands on training for doing real deals thru my coach Torston, and special coach Bridget, alongside my specific team members that are designated and hand picked just for me, the student.

    They are very experienced real estate investors and they have given me coaching strategies that are tailored to the market that I am working in and it is really helping me work toward getting deals. I am able to talk with them specifically concerning specific things that I am working on, things I need understanding or help with, and/or problem areas. They also help give me specific strategies and experiences that they have gone through and what they recommend for me with powerful strategies to move forward to be successful and focused, not just general stuff. I even get help with walking through a live deals, and steps to take for progression, which is the main part of the coaching program.

    I really appreciate the personal touch with the team and they are so helpful in getting me to be successful in real estate investing. And my coach was very caring when my dad passed away half way thru the program and helped get me one session with specialist coach Bridgett who was so great, in order to catch me up when I had to take a few weeks away after my dad passed -- that's care! Her strategies were so helpful. And Torsten gives some great coaching, direct strategies, focus planning for my market, and pushes me to forward to get real deals done. I am always energized when I have my coaching sessions and get moving in my real estate investing business.

    Also my Clever Investor team sent me and my family a condolence card, which meant a great deal, especially for a business to take time to show care at that time. Anytime I call for help, everyone is so positive, nice, kind and willing to help, and will get you help as fast as they can. They treat you like family. I recommend these coaches and the coaching program at Clever Investor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2015

      Keith Thomas

      Hello My name is Keith Thomas. I am thinking about buying this program, but I would like to hear from you personally if possibly. My number is 360-649-1460.

    • Jan 5, 2016

      Sam

      Just read your review. You didn't say anything about closing any deals. Have you closed any deals? I have the Fast Track Profit System, but due to "things" that I have no control over I have as of yet to do anything. How much is/was the mentoring? I live in Mission Hills, CA located in the San Fernando Valley. I would like to hear from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    My Clever Investor Program Experience

    I have been in the Clever Investor mentoring program since last year. I signed up with this company because I was impressed on how the company delivers information to the student, which is predominantly step by step video.

    Aside from all the really great instruction that Cody Sperber and his team put together on the Clever membership, there is solid value in having a coach to discuss and separate all the information you're being fed.

    My coach Dave has been great, and I really appreciate his knowledge of real estate and how he has guided me so far. I am still waiting to hit that one big deal, but I trust he will get me there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 15, 2015

      Shawn Funderburk

      Merydith, you said you've been in the mentor ship program since last year and have yet to make a big deal. Do you think it's due to lack of proper coaching or is it something personal? I ask because I'm considering the program now.

    • Dec 16, 2015

      Merydith

      Shawn,

      Good question, Shawn. I think every coach brings different experiences to the table.

      I have been an investor since 2008 and have done flips, short sale flips, rehabs and lease option. I wanted to learn wholesaling very specific to add to my strategies, and perhaps my opportunities with the marketing I was doing in my local area just didn't take me to the wholesale opportunity. However, I am now working outside of my market (yes, another state) and I am successful with that. I no longer have a coach with Clever, but from what I have learned from working with one, I now get it even more and am able to be successful.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Don't waist your time. I was constantly getting emails about how Cody the con man Sperber is not like the rest of the so called gurus. Well that's crap. He is exactly like them. I was offered a starter kit, all I had to pay for was shipping which was 6.95. On 02/06/2015 when they processed my transaction, the madness started immediately. A separate screen popped up saying that I would be charged 97.00 monthly to have access to everything besides the starter kit. But there was no option to say don't charge my credit card in 30 days. Also I didn't have the option anymore to say I don't even want the starter kit. So two weeks later, which is today 02/20/2015, my credit card was hit for, yep you got it, 97.00. But here's the kicker in the 100 percent access. I got four videos, the other links to the other 26 videos said I didn't have access because I wasn't a premium member. Oh I'm not finished. When I called customer service at 888-480-6617 yep you right again, its a voice mail saying they are closed. But they are open from Monday through Friday at 9 am through 6 pm. But today is Friday and its 9:45 am. Be aware guys, he's just like the rest. Just remember his name is the Clever Investor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2015

      Sean McLean

      Hello Kenneth, My name is Sean from Minnesota. I have been working with the Clever team since March of 2014 and just recently joined the inner circle as a top mentoring student with Cody and his team as of January 2015. I started just like you but with out the negative attitude, "nothing against you" but please do research prior to talking down about a product, program or person. I am sorry it sounds like you haven't had the greatest experience so far and I'm sure with other programs or people as well but I can reassure you that Cody and the Clever investor team are outstanding, amazing, and most genuine group of people I have ever met and have gotten to know personally and have met in person several times now. Cody and his team are true mentors, not guru's, as I have come to know Cody hates gurus.

      I originally found Cody on Facebook through an advertisement and did the same thing you did but I invested into the entire Fast Track Profit System knowing there was a 30 day money back guarantee, what did I have to lose? Nothing. That was probably the greatest investment I have ever made in my life and I'm 24. I watched all his videos and training in about a week and was amazed with the amount of information and training provided along with all documents ever needed including scrips. I set up the entire business within a month. However nothing happened until I took action later that year and sent out advertising in September 2014. I used all of Cody's training and systems to get my first deal under contract, flipping it to and end buyer in 4 days and later closed in November for a profit of $20,487.95. I only used $250 of my own money in that transaction for earnest money when I probably didn't even have to use that much as we closed in 9 days. Since then I have made much more money. Feel free to search YouTube for my testimonial videos, and others. I have met and talked to personally several of the other students and they are all making huge profits and having breakthroughs but they are also working very hard for their success and Cody and his team are there every step of they way in the background making it all possible with the training, systems and programs.

      Bottom line, Cody and the Clever Investor team are amazing and completely dedicated to their students and their success. After joining the Mentorship program, I wish I would have done it back in March 2014 as I would have been so much further ahead VS doing it all myself. If you still have doubts, concerns or questions feel free to reach out to me 763-452-9000 I don't mind chatting.

    • Apr 5, 2015

      Cody Sperber

      Kenneth,

      It’s Cody, the founder of Clever Investor. As soon as I saw this post I immediately checked our records and saw that we immediately refunded your Starter Kit ($6.95) purchase as well as the $97 monthly subscription payment that was charged on your card.

      As far as your claims that we were closed during business hours that could not be the case. We are open during normal business hours Monday through Friday and the ladies in my customer service department are amazing individuals and serve our students at the highest level possible. In your situation I saw that you called when the lines were busy and that you were responded to within minutes.

      And to clarify your ability to choose whether or not you wanted to take a free trial in our Pro Members area – our checkout process is set up in a way that you had to physically check a box saying you wanted to take the free trial and that you had to cancel within 30 days if you didn’t want your card charged. I apologize if there was a misunderstanding on your part but we made the checkout process as simple and clear as possible.

      Calling people online a “scam” is hurtful and in this case completely uncalled for. I have children and I would never want them to grow up thinking their dad “scammed” someone. In fact we try really hard at Clever Investor to always do the right thing and put our students success first. I hope that this was just a big misunderstanding and that at some point in the future we can earn your business again.

      I will also be calling you personally to make sure everything has been taken care of to your liking.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Let's Go Places.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Being a complete beginner in real estate investing, I joined the Clever team not knowing what to expect. What I received is world class education and training from a world class mentoring team. My first impression was that this team really do have my best interests in mind. They want me to be successful, and push me to new levels of excellence I never thought I could reach. The education taught by Cody and the Clever team are simple, applicable, and effective. And the mentors will push you way beyond what you are comfortable with so that you can experience tangible breakthrough in your business. My mentor, Torsten Coulson knows how to dig out the champion in me underneath the layer of self-doubt and skepticism when I'm discouraged by setback or failures.

    Ultimately, you are the master of your destiny. If you want to be a successful real estate investor, are willing to work hard, and leverage some of the best in the business, then Clever Investor is the express train that will get you there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor Products and Mentoring

    Hey all. I hope this review finds you all well as you're obviously here to make a decision to join the Clever Investor Adventure as I like to call it. I highly recommend you just don't think about it and go for it. (After reading my review of course.) Anyways, not sure how you came across Clever investor but feel privileged and lucky that you did because you just found the best real estate mentor and educator ever.

    I started back in March 2014 with just the Fast Track Profit System and that small investment changed my entire life. The amount of information and education along with all the paperwork and scrips you would need to get a deal done is mind blowing.

    I just recently joined the inner circle as a mentoring student with Cody and his team as of January 2015. I started just like you by researching the crap out of Cody and Clever Investor. I can assure you that Cody and the Clever investor team are outstanding, amazing and most genuine group of people I have ever met and have gotten to know personally and have talked to and met in person several times now. Cody and his team are true mentors, not guru's, as I have come to know Cody hates "gurus". 

    I originally found Cody on Facebook through an advertisement and did the same thing your doing, researching, but I realized after a week of that I couldn't find a reason not to. So I invested into the entire Fast Track Profit System knowing there was a 30 day money back guarantee, what did I have to lose? Nothing. That was probably the greatest investment I could have ever made in my life and I'm 24. (At this time I did interview to become a student of theirs but decided not too, I'm human sometimes I don't make the best choices, I should have done it.)

    I watched all his videos and training in about a week and was amazed with the amount of information and training provided along with all documents ever needed including scripts. I set up the entire business within a month. However, nothing happened until I took action later that year. I followed all of Cody's guidance and training I got from all the great videos and sent out advertising in September 2014. I used all of Cody's training and systems to get my first deal under contract, flipping it to and end buyer in four days and later closed in November for a profit of $20,487.95. I only used $250 of my own money in that transaction for earnest money when I probably didn't even have to use that much as we closed in nine days. Since then I have made much more money. Feel free to search YouTube for my testimonial videos, and many others who have had great success and isn't camera shy.

    I have met and talked to personally several of the other students and they are all making huge profits and having breakthroughs as well as myself but they are also working very hard for their success and Cody and his team are there every step of they way guiding myself and many others in the background making it all possible with the training, systems and programs to make sure every student is successful. They truly all are dedicated to each and every student's success.

    Bottom line, Cody and the Clever Investor team are amazing and completely dedicated to their students and their success. After joining the mentorship program, I wish I would have done it back in March 2014 as I would have been so much further ahead verses doing it all myself at first. Anyone that is truly successful in life has a mentor in someway or another. If you still have doubts, concerns or questions feel free to reach out to me 763-452-9000, I don't mind chatting. Much success to you all and I can't wait to hear from you about your success and hopefully possibly meet you at a Clever Investor event.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a review for Clever Investor!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review