About CloudPets Teddy

CloudPets Teddy is a stuffed bear that delivers a personal message from mom, dad, or anyone connected via its proprietary iTunes app. They say a loved one can send a short voice message through the app, which is then transferred to the "cloud" and delivered through the internal speaker in the toy. To return a message, the child squeezes the bear's paw and records their own 10-second reply.

CloudPets Teddy is made by Spiral Toys LLC, which also markets this product under the name Toy-Fi. However, there is no rating or accreditation info on Spiral Toys on the BBB website.

How CloudPets Teddy Works

CloudPets Teddy does its communication shtick via a free app in the iTunes Store (they say Android is coming soon). They claim it will work on any iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch using OS 7.1 or later. To use CloudPets Teddy both the sender and receiver (meaning the child with the bear) must have the app installed on their smartphone or tablet. In addition, the receiver's device must be enabled for Bluetooth and within 10 meters of the toy.

Then, when mommy or daddy is away from home, they can open the app and record a 10-second message. The message goes to the "cloud" and is transferred to the receiver's app and the red heart-shaped LED on the bear's chest will glow. It is unclear how the child activates the bear to retrieve the message, but to respond, the child squeezes one of the bear's paws which activates a recording device; the message is then sent back via Bluetooth to the app and up to the cloud.

…or so they say.

CloudPets Teddy Pricing, Returns, and Privacy

The CloudPets app is free, but the CloudPetsTeddy sells for $29.99 plus $8.99 S&H for a total of $38.98. You can return CloudPets within 30 days and get your money back minus S&H and what it cost to ship Teddy back. CloudPets Teddy privacy policy states they can keep your name, address, phone, and email and use it to solicit you with other products or services; they also state "from time to time" they may give this info to "reputable" third parties.

Bottom Line: Is CloudPets Teddy a Scam?

This is a cute idea that may appeal to parents who are often away from their young children (they offer free shipping to members of the military). We like that the app is available for free, so you can check out the technology before buying the bear. However, getting the toy to "talk" may require a few more steps, so both parents need to be a little bit tech savvy. But do you really need a talking bear to deliver a 10-second message via iPhone when you can have unlimited video chatting between parents and children with the same device? We'll let you make that "call," but we strongly suggest downloading the app and trying it out first before spending any money.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Customer Reviews for CloudPets Teddy

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 35
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not a very good product

    My sister bought a Cloud Pet for my granddaughter, and it is not that good of a product. First, the instructions that are included are vague and even incorrect on some things. Second, I cannot connect to it if there is a wall between the Cloud Pet and myself. This really sucks because they live in the apartment adjacent to me and their living room is on the opposite side of the wall from my living room. Third, while the messaging works fine, when I send a song to the Cloud Pet it plays for a few seconds and then it makes this horrible noise. The only way to get it to stop making the noise is to turn it off. I would not recommend this product to anyone until badly needed improvements to the hardware and the instructions are made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    These Cloudpets are a piece of crap. I can't even get my money back. Don't work at all. I can record fine, but when I sent the message the hearts didn't blink like it said. I went outside over 30 feet away - nothing happens. I went inside in the same room - nothing happens. Waste of money. It's a scam. From the comments I'm not alone, shame on you. Made both my kids cry. I definitely won't ever recommend these crappy things to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Monica,

      We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Swansboro, North Carolina,
    • Feb 14, 2016

    My fiancé got this for me for Christmas before he left for boot camp. He was able to send messages from his work and his friend's house and even from his hotel he stayed at before leaving. This product is fantastic. Definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    CloudPets

    • Newnan, GA,
    • Jan 15, 2016

    This is the worst purchase I ever made. Complete false advertisement. You need to be right next to the pet to leave a message. You can not be in another room or town or country like the commercial says.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2016

      Carla Walls

      That's incorrect. The article above is right, you have to be a little tech savvy. It can be done. A mistake that I've seen when helping people set them up is that they create the account wrong. Delete your account, recreate it, do not add the child to your friends list. Wait for an invitation from the person that the bear is near, then you can send it to them no matter where you are. It needs an adult overseeing the messages near the bear to work.

    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Maegen,

      We're very sorry you're having trouble. It sounds as though there is a misunderstanding regarding how CloudPets messaging works. You can definitely receive messages from anywhere in the world. Please visit our website at www.cloudpets.com, where you can view our helpful tutorial videos. If you'd like assistance with troubleshooting, please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    • Jul 30, 2016

      Patrick

      Nicole Roher, do you actually work for the company that makes Cloud Pets? The reason I ask is because the information you provided regarding the hours you can contact support is incorrect. I just tried contacting support and the recording said contact hours ate 10am - 8pm EST. Also, they do not seem very interested in assisting with troubleshooting. I submitted a request a day ago and still have not received a response.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • St Charles, MI,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    Bought this for my granddaughter and wouldn't work even in the same room. Then to make matters worse, the app messed my phone up. I uninstalled the app and phone is working fine again. By the way, my phone is a Galaxy 4 Note so other people should know don't try this application on their phone. Total waste of money for this, just buy a stuffed animal that records because that's all this is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Debbie,

      We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    The kids are mad at Santa for bringing them toys that are way too hard to understand, and on top of that do not work. That's sad. Good job CloudPets. I'm going to be very upset if I can't get my money back. I would absolutely would not recommend

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Tamara,

      We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Were you able to obtain a refund? If not, or if you would like troubleshooting assistance, please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Three very dissatisfied kids

    • Haworth, NJ,
    • Jan 10, 2016

    We got three CloudPets for our three kids. The first one worked fine the first hour. We set up the other two and they just don't work anymore. They make this horrible loud noise. The unicorn (looks actually more like a pig though) doesn't even send or receive any messages. The dog and the rabbit do not send any messages. If you send a lullaby to the pets they just stay on repeat. Not sure if it's because we have more than one cloudpets or they just have a bug. They also turn themselves off all the time, so I have to turn it off and on for them to work. The worst is that horrible loud noise they make. This is all the kids talked about and wanted for Christmas. Now they have three non-working stuffed animals. At least they're fluffy. I actually recommended it to some friends, before I had the CloudPets issues. I hope they don't hold it against me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Lee,

      Thanks for reaching out. We're aware of this bug, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We recently released an updated CloudPets App for iPhone and iPad that addresses the problem.

      The App 2.7 update for iPhone & iPad addresses the following:

      • Constantly flashing LED
      • Occasional story narration stutter
      • App re-connection problem immediately following firmware upgrades

      If you are an Android user, we'd like you to know the 2.7 update for Android is in the works, and we expect its release within the coming days. Please check back for updates.Please let us know if you have additional questions or concerns.

      The CloudPets Tech Support Team available at 1-800-482-1072 and open Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST

      support@cloudpets.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't waste your money

    • Bethpage NY,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    This has to be the biggest piece of junk made. To hook it up started out simple, but once you try to link other people to it that is the end. I have reloaded it multiple times with no luck. There is no help online and no number I can find to call. Don't waste any money on this toy, your kid will be very disappointed like mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Jason,

      We're very sorry for your frustration that you were unable to locate the tech support contact information. You can reach us via email at support@cloudpets.com or by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terribly disappointed

    • Jan 8, 2016

    It simply doesn't work. I consider myself fairly tech savvy and have gone through the instructions thoroughly. I couldn't get the cat to say a word.

    I suspect that the few that gave this toy a five star rating work for Cloudpets, what a fraud. Too bad, really, it is a nice looking toy and very plush for a tech toy. Terribly disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Nat,

      We're sorry for your negative experience. We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Product

    • Jan 8, 2016

    My mother bought one for our son and since day one the free app, which is the only way to communicate with the device, is pure crap. I am a senior level developer with all high end mobile devices, none of which have been able to sustain the app.

    The apps continuously crash, usually within only seconds. It took 6 attempts to create an account. Once we were finally able to get through, we are now stuck with a firmware upgrade that has yet to make it past 25% on either of our devices.

    This product should be scrapped until the designers of either the software and/or hardware can produce a quality system. I also think that restraining the client operation to only android and/or apple devices was a horrible idea if development presented such a high demand of resource allocation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Chris,

      We're very sorry that CloudPets didn't meet your expectations. We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Misleading

    • Dec 17, 2015

    I understand the concept of safety, but there has to be a better way than requiring the device to be within 30 ft. The commercials does not make this clear at all. The 30 ft. requirement completely defeats the purpose. I'm sending messages because I'm not at home. To add insult to injury, even when you are within 30 ft., it still doesn't send the message to the CloudPet. It sends it to the inbox and then you have to send it from there to the CloudPet. Same deal for your child messaging back. This product is entirely too complicated and does not work as advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 18, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Amanda,

      We're very sorry for your frustration. It seems that there may be a misunderstanding of how CloudPets messaging works. Through the Cloud, messages can be sent from one profile to another from anywhere in the world. But, to protect children from unauthorized messages, your CloudPet can only receive those messages from a device within 30 feet. In the same way, messages can only be sent from your CloudPet to a device within 30 feet. Once in the device, messages have reached the Cloud and can go anywhere. In addition to providing privacy for your children, Bluetooth messaging does not require Wi-Fi, which can be quite helpful on the go. Another unique benefit of CloudPets is that they provide little ones with a physical connection to parents and other loved ones when they can't be together. Many customers have found our tutorial videos on www.CloudPets.com very helpful. Also, we are happy to help with troubleshooting; you can reach tech support by phone at 888-906-3251 or at support@cloudpets.com. Thanks so much for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    • Dec 25, 2015

      Bambi M. Slevin

      This needs to work on a Samsung Galaxy S2 and a Samsung Galaxy S3, as that is my father's and my phone. If we cannot download the app for these phones, it makes this whole gift unable to be used. Please contact me with information on how to get this to work. Can we use an android tablet with the app?

    • Dec 26, 2015

      Dawn

      Do I need a pin number from the Cloudpest to connect via Bluetooth?

    • Dec 28, 2015

      Victoria

      I bought four CloudPets. Two for my grandchildren's house and two for my house. Come to find out, our phones don't work with CloudPets. I called and they told me they are working on making the pets to work with all phones. I don't know how they sleep at night knowing how many children they disappointed this Christmas. This company is the scrooge that stole Christmas.

    • Dec 30, 2015

      Amanda

      I bought three of these clouds pet for my three younger kids for Christmas. I was unaware that all messages had to be sent to a "profile" and that a device had to be in a 30' range. Also, in order for my kids to send me a message from their pet to my phone, the app must be open (not just logged in) but open and on the main screen. With that said, these pets are completely pointless to me and a waste of $40 a piece for them. The kids are just being kids, they are going to send messages at random, and that in my opinion is part of the joy of it. However, they can't do that if I don't have the screen pulled up and I can't have all three screens pulled up at the same time. Anyway, it was a nice thought, but it definitely needs to be modified. I do not recommend this at this time. I'm going to try to return them to the store.

    • Feb 11, 2016

      Iris

      I bought a cute kitty for my daughter to speak with her when I'm away on business. The 1st night I have ever been away from her and tried to communicate with her through the CloudPet, it wouldn't let us. When I got home I tried again. Works just fine if you're right next to the CloudPet. Does not work if you're miles away. Very disappointed.

    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello everyone,

      We're very sorry for your trouble. It seems that there is a misunderstanding as to how CloudPets messaging works. You absolutely can send and receive messages from anywhere in the world. Please take a few minutes to review the tutorial videos on our website www.cloudpets.com. Many customers have found these very helpful. If you'd like assistance with troubleshooting, please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a review for CloudPets Teddy!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review