About CloudPets Teddy

CloudPets Teddy is a stuffed bear that delivers a personal message from mom, dad, or anyone connected via its proprietary iTunes app. They say a loved one can send a short voice message through the app, which is then transferred to the "cloud" and delivered through the internal speaker in the toy. To return a message, the child squeezes the bear's paw and records their own 10-second reply.

CloudPets Teddy is made by Spiral Toys LLC, which also markets this product under the name Toy-Fi. However, there is no rating or accreditation info on Spiral Toys on the BBB website.

How CloudPets Teddy Works

CloudPets Teddy does its communication shtick via a free app in the iTunes Store (they say Android is coming soon). They claim it will work on any iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch using OS 7.1 or later. To use CloudPets Teddy both the sender and receiver (meaning the child with the bear) must have the app installed on their smartphone or tablet. In addition, the receiver's device must be enabled for Bluetooth and within 10 meters of the toy.

Then, when mommy or daddy is away from home, they can open the app and record a 10-second message. The message goes to the "cloud" and is transferred to the receiver's app and the red heart-shaped LED on the bear's chest will glow. It is unclear how the child activates the bear to retrieve the message, but to respond, the child squeezes one of the bear's paws which activates a recording device; the message is then sent back via Bluetooth to the app and up to the cloud.

…or so they say.

CloudPets Teddy Pricing, Returns, and Privacy

The CloudPets app is free, but the CloudPetsTeddy sells for $29.99 plus $8.99 S&H for a total of $38.98. You can return CloudPets within 30 days and get your money back minus S&H and what it cost to ship Teddy back. CloudPets Teddy privacy policy states they can keep your name, address, phone, and email and use it to solicit you with other products or services; they also state "from time to time" they may give this info to "reputable" third parties.

Bottom Line: Is CloudPets Teddy a Scam?

This is a cute idea that may appeal to parents who are often away from their young children (they offer free shipping to members of the military). We like that the app is available for free, so you can check out the technology before buying the bear. However, getting the toy to "talk" may require a few more steps, so both parents need to be a little bit tech savvy. But do you really need a talking bear to deliver a 10-second message via iPhone when you can have unlimited video chatting between parents and children with the same device? We'll let you make that "call," but we strongly suggest downloading the app and trying it out first before spending any money.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Customer Reviews for CloudPets Teddy

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best toy in the world

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son loves this toy. It's a little hard to set up but when you get the hang of it, it is very good. He loves the stories but it's shame that two don't work but overall, this is a very good idea as my son can send his dad messages in China from UK when he's away on work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My pet cloud

    • California,
    • May 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Pug on Saturday and today is Tuesday and have not received it. It has been very nerve-wracking. They keep on asking for more money and me, as an idiot, sent them the money. This was a gift for my granddaughter. She has been crying, and also have I. This is a big lesson learned, and I will never do this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful toy!

    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this toy for my two and a 1/2-year-old granddaughter for Christmas. She loves it! I love it as well, because I live three states away, and I can send messages to her. She has not figured out how to send one back, but she will as she gets older. I liked it so much, that I bought one for each of my great-grandchildren so we can communicate too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2017

      Kerry Ann Lepley

      I bought six CloudPets, one for each grandchildren's family. I have an Android smartphone. I have been trying to set up my children's email address since Christmas, and it continues to say "problem communicating with the server." Even my kids have tried to fix it. I am getting so disgusted with this whole thing because I have spent well over $200. Do you have any advice?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Requires a lot of technical savvy

    • Sunnyvale, Missouri,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, this bear ain't easy to setup, which is minus one star at least for that. But it does work fairly well for us. The droid app works ok on Android, but less so on iPhones and iPads. I believe there may be some problems there cross the platform. I'm checking around after reading about the Kuri Pets hack. I'm pretty sure this bear is susceptible too.

    Regarding hardware, I've not run into any issues I read about here. The Bluetooth range is good, but it seems too easy to pair though (yet another security concern). I wonder if some issues (crazy squawking) may be because of the batteries. The red receive light is touchy about ending the message, going over 10 seconds (it allows, but still crops at 10), leaves it off.

    This lack of documentation probably deserves another minus one star, but the online instructions are accurate and helpful.

    I also give this a credit because this bear is much, much better quality than most comparably priced record-only toys, and this will do that (record once).

    I'm putting down "no" to recommend, but that's general. Most of my friends and family are tech savvy enough. Unfortunately, caregivers aren't, and are paranoid of every app they load on their phones.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed mamaw!

    I spent all night downloading this huge app, even having to delete several other apps to get it. I then signed in, went to verify the email address, clicked on the link and it said the email doesn't exist!

    I clicked on another link, finished what it says to finish with the password, went back to the app, and it still says it needs to be verified.

    How can I do this, if it's not a real link they are sending me to, so I can verify it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not a very good product

    • Jul 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My sister bought a Cloud Pet for my granddaughter, and it is not that good of a product. First, the instructions that are included are vague and even incorrect on some things. Second, I cannot connect to it if there is a wall between the Cloud Pet and myself. This really sucks because they live in the apartment adjacent to me and their living room is on the opposite side of the wall from my living room. Third, while the messaging works fine, when I send a song to the Cloud Pet it plays for a few seconds and then it makes this horrible noise. The only way to get it to stop making the noise is to turn it off. I would not recommend this product to anyone until badly needed improvements to the hardware and the instructions are made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    These Cloudpets are a piece of crap. I can't even get my money back. Don't work at all. I can record fine, but when I sent the message the hearts didn't blink like it said. I went outside over 30 feet away - nothing happens. I went inside in the same room - nothing happens. Waste of money. It's a scam. From the comments I'm not alone, shame on you. Made both my kids cry. I definitely won't ever recommend these crappy things to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Monica,

      We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    • Dec 30, 2016

      Dodee Webber

      When a message is sent to the pet from a family member that is out of town, can the message be played over and over again for the pet?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Swansboro, North Carolina,
    • Feb 14, 2016

    My fiancé got this for me for Christmas before he left for boot camp. He was able to send messages from his work and his friend's house and even from his hotel he stayed at before leaving. This product is fantastic. Definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    CloudPets

    • Newnan, GA,
    • Jan 15, 2016

    This is the worst purchase I ever made. Complete false advertisement. You need to be right next to the pet to leave a message. You can not be in another room or town or country like the commercial says.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2016

      Carla Walls

      That's incorrect. The article above is right, you have to be a little tech savvy. It can be done. A mistake that I've seen when helping people set them up is that they create the account wrong. Delete your account, recreate it, do not add the child to your friends list. Wait for an invitation from the person that the bear is near, then you can send it to them no matter where you are. It needs an adult overseeing the messages near the bear to work.

    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Maegen,

      We're very sorry you're having trouble. It sounds as though there is a misunderstanding regarding how CloudPets messaging works. You can definitely receive messages from anywhere in the world. Please visit our website at www.cloudpets.com, where you can view our helpful tutorial videos. If you'd like assistance with troubleshooting, please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    • Jul 15, 2016

      Patrick

      Nicole Roher, do you actually work for the company that makes Cloud Pets? The reason I ask is because the information you provided regarding the hours you can contact support is incorrect. I just tried contacting support and the recording said contact hours ate 10am - 8pm EST. Also, they do not seem very interested in assisting with troubleshooting. I submitted a request a day ago and still have not received a response.

    • May 2, 2017

      Jenny Segura

      I purchased a pug on Saturday and today is Tuesday. I have not received it, and it has been very nerve-wracking. They keep on asking me for more money, and more money and I like an idiot, sent it to them. This was a gift for my granddaughter, and she has been crying. So I will never do this again. Lesson learned.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • St Charles, MI,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    Bought this for my granddaughter and wouldn't work even in the same room. Then to make matters worse, the app messed my phone up. I uninstalled the app and phone is working fine again. By the way, my phone is a Galaxy 4 Note so other people should know don't try this application on their phone. Total waste of money for this, just buy a stuffed animal that records because that's all this is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Debbie,

      We'd like to assist you with troubleshooting. Please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    The kids are mad at Santa for bringing them toys that are way too hard to understand, and on top of that do not work. That's sad. Good job CloudPets. I'm going to be very upset if I can't get my money back. I would absolutely would not recommend

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Tamara,

      We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Were you able to obtain a refund? If not, or if you would like troubleshooting assistance, please contact the Tech Support Team at support@cloudpets.com. You can also reach us by phone at 800-482-1072 Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST. Thank you for your patience.

    • Jan 15, 2017

      James Checkley

      My granddaughter was so pleased with Santa for getting a CloudPets Teddy. After two days of setting it up, her smiles got even bigger! Later, to find out that there were just three tunes, three stories, and just one game. She was very upset because she has other toys that are less than half the price of this one, and do so much more.

      I would recommend it as a toy but, not an interactive one. Give us our money, and we both might recommend it.

    • Jul 16, 2017

      Beth

      The app won't accept my password. When I try the reset the password, the link it says it's invalid. Any ideas?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for CloudPets Teddy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review