About Conscious Box

If you’re looking to live healthier by making better decisions about the products you buy, Conscious Box claims they can help. This company claims to make healthier living easy by helping you to discover a wide variety of natural, GMO-free products manufactured by ethical companies, delivered directly to your door each month.

But is Conscious Box really a good option? Let’s dig in and see what the facts have to say.

Conscious Box Details

Similar to Beauty Box 5, Wantable, Birchbox, and many others, Conscious Box is a personalized subscription service that delivers boxes filled with an assortment of products directly to your doorstep each month. Unlike these other services though, Conscious Box claims to be driven by “conscious consumption,” and to provide only the purest, safest, most natural GMO-free products, which are produced without toxins, are authentically green, and are manufactured by ethical companies. Even their boxes are claimed to be 100% recyclable, printed with soy inks, and labeled with BPA-free materials.

According to Conscious Box, their boxes contain a variety of products, including snacks, household items, beauty essentials, and more, which are available in two different types:

  • Conscious Box Taster – Includes 5-8 items such as snack bars, soaps, and home cleaners.
  • Conscious Box Plus – Features 8-12 full-size, premium natural products.

Whichever box type you choose, you’ll be able to customize them with classic, vegan, or gluten free options. With this in mind, Conscious Box claims that the process works over three steps:

  1. Choose the size and type of box you’d like to receive.
  2. Receive your products and rate them.
  3. Purchase deeply discounted products directly through the Conscious Box shop.

Conscious Box claims that their tracking system monitors what you receive each month, in order to avoid receiving duplicate products in a subsequent month.

Conscious Box Pricing & Refund Policy

Conscious Box Taster boxes start at $6.95, while Plus boxes start at $16.95. You can also choose between monthly, quarterly, bi-annual, and annual subscriptions, which will automatically renew unless cancelled. Keep in mind that the longer the your subscription, the lower per-month price you’ll receive.

Conscious Box also allows you to earn 10 points for every review you write on their website, and for every 100 points you earn, you’ll receive a $1 credit to use in the Conscious Box shop.

However, it’s important to remember that Conscious Box does not provide the ability to return boxes, nor do they provide refunds—even if you cancel your non-monthly subscription midterm (read more about this in the Bottom Line section).

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Conscious Box?

Conscious Box was founded in 2011 and is based out of Portland, OR. The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, which is surprising considering the fact that they have more than 40 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these complaints appear to reference difficulty cancelling subscriptions (e.g. the company would continue sending boxes even after the account was cancelled), unresponsive customer service, and boxes/products that were never received.

Outside of the BBB, online customer complaints are nearly identical to those above, which makes it appear that Conscious Box has a relatively poor customer reputation.

What’s the Bottom Line About Conscious Box?

If you place a lot of emphasis on using only eco-friendly, GMO-free products, Conscious Box may be right for you. However, before signing up for a subscription, keep the following in mind:

While Conscious Box claims their boxes are customizable, this ability is very limited. In other words, you can choose your box size as well as classic, vegan, or gluten free product types, but you won’t be able to further customize your choices based on personal preferences (e.g. only beauty products, only snacks, etc.). Also, keep in mind that coupons for product discounts may be included as one of your items, which doesn’t go very far in helping you decide whether or not you like a product, without having to spend additional money beforehand.

Next, Conscious Box seems to have a very poor online customer reputation, primarily due to poor customer service, and includes complaints such as difficulty cancelling subscriptions (e.g. the company would continue sending boxes even after the account was cancelled), unresponsive customer service, and boxes/products that were never received. In fact, we read more than one review during our research claiming that customer service personnel actually argued with customers after they complained that they never received their boxes. As if this weren’t enough, the Conscious Box Facebook page is littered with customers who never received email responses after submitting support tickets, and without a phone number, their only other option was to try and get a response through social media.

Finally—and this is a biggie—Conscious Box does not provide returns or refunds except in exceptional cases (e.g. a customer is deceased). Because of this, you might want to start out with a monthly subscription, and then decide if you like it before committing to a longer-term subscription. According to several customer online reviews, you might even be able to skip Conscious Box altogether if you live near a health foods store/grocer, who often provide free samples of similar products to their customers.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Customer Reviews for Conscious Box

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 10
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • How do you discontinue delivery of products?

    • Nov 28, 2015

    This has been a two year nightmare. I have tried for years to discontinue delivery of a "gift box" to my granddaughter. The gift was for her 17th birthday, She is now 20. Please HELP. The boxes are nice, but I can not get them to stop coming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Renewed Without My Permission. Will Not Respond To My Requests To Cancel

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Aug 19, 2015

    My subscription was automatically renewed for over $200. I never authorized this and the ability to manage my account online had been conveniently disabled. They are not responding to my emails and they conveniently have no phone number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Poor Customer Experience From Start to Finish

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 15, 2015

    I purchased an Amazon local voucher to get a 6 month subscription to Conscious Box at a discounted rate. I was excited to try it out because they offer an all vegan box, and I like to support companies that recognize the impact of what we eat on the environment. My first box did not ship when it was supposed to. I contacted customer service and it took days to get a response. They did ship my box but never sent the tracking info. This was a disappointing start but at least I did finally get my box.

    The contents for the next few boxes were mediocre. I think there was maybe one item I really, really liked. I realize that a box like this is all about trying new things, but if you're going to send me mostly sample sizes, wouldn't you want them to be high quality products? There were also a couple of boxes that were poorly packed and things got crushed. And there were numerous repeat items.

    Lastly, not all vegan things are explicitly labeled as such. Therefore, I trusted Conscious Box to vet the items they were sending to me. I happened to look at the ingredients on one particular item this month and was shocked to see that it was not vegan. Which makes me wonder if there were other items in previous months that were also not vegan. I immediately contacted them and over a week later I have not received a response. They delete comments to their Facebook. Needless to say, I will not be renewing my subscription and will be telling as many people as I can that this company doesn't really care about its customers. Your money would be better spent on other subscription boxes companies that actually value their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Save your money!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    The boxes constantly have repeated items which seems very strange for what they call a "discovery service". Sure they change their boxes to be prettier and their website gets updates but why are they spending so much time with their blog and their website when they can't get even get some diversity from month to month in the boxes? The idea is great, but their execution is atrocious and really really disappointing. Save your money and request samples from the companies they list on their website. You'd probably get better results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Conscious box shoddy business practices are unconscionable!

    I purchased a prepaid 6 month Conscious Box account via Amazon. While there's certainly is a good idea, the items provided are not really worth it.

    We have not been happy with their products, so requested that our account NOT be continued beyond the six month prepaid period ended.

    I am a trusting idiot, so I didn't catch the fact that they were charging me. How dare they accept my prepayment via Amazon, and then charge me an additional 107.70.

    Shame on me for not catching the error until now. Shame on Conscious Box for continuing my account and charging me an additional 107.70 well after I requested it be canceled after the prepaid period ended.

    I guess I’m lucky they decided to be greedy and auto renew our subscription, or I’d never have discovered the fact they basically charged us twice for two six month Conscious Box memberships.

    1. 107.70 for our initial six months, for which we paid in advance via Amazon.
    2. Auto renewal for an account which WAS not supposed to be continued on beyond the initial membership.

    Conscious Box does not have a customer support phone number listed. Nor do they offer any means of canceling accounts online.

    They have never shipped anything but boxes full of basically sample sized items, for which we were charged an outrageous amount of money.

    I am lodging formal complaints against Conscious Box, to both the BBB and the FTC. I expect full refunds for all the money fraudulently charged against us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, lack of customer service.

    • Washington,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Purchased three month deal through living social which said I could cancel at anytime, well after three months of tiny crap samples. For the most part I canceled the very next day. There was a charge on my c.c.. Contacted conscious box about this said they would get back to me one week later said sorry auto renewal no refund so I contacted living social they are looking into it for me. Will be contacting my bank to dispute charges if living social can't help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 6, 2014

      Janice

      Yes, I too did though Living Social. The original "welcome e-mail and your box is on the way" did not say anything about automatically renewing unless you hit the FAQ button. That's where it tells you about the auto renewal. Why would I go under FAQ unless I needed to know something? That fact should have been in the body of the email easily displayed. 800 number does not work and main number just gives you the 800 number! Guess I'm out of luck!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service, deceptive business practices.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    Conscious Box charged my credit card for a renewed subscription without asking if I wanted my subscription renewed and without telling me. I really feel as if they intentionally tried to sneak the charge by me. What kind of company doesn't even tell you they're charging your credit card? I get an email every month saying I paid for Netflix.

    I reached out to their customer service department and Joe Salas, who is the rudest customer service representative I have ever dealt with, kept sending me screenshots of their current FAQ page which says renewals are automatic. I found an archived version of their website from when I subscribed (April 2013) to show them that back then, the FAQ page said no such thing. There was also nothing in my order confirmation about automatic renewal and I do not recall being asked to agree to such terms.

    Anyways, Joe refused to work out a reasonable compromise. I offered to accept credit to spend on their website (this way, they don't lose any cash flow) but he said no.

    If you are considering subscribing to Conscious Box but are unsure, don't. You will receive samples of garlic pills in every other box and things like dog poop baggies and diarrhea-relief shots. Their boxes are unfocused and full of junk. For a company trying to be green and "conscious," I can't imagine how much of the contents of their box go unused and end up being tossed.

    If you care about the environment, don't subscribe to Conscious Box. If you don't want to deal with sneaky business practices and rude customer service, don't subscribe to Conscious Box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Alright for a while, then not worth it

    • Jun 30, 2015

    I was not totally satisfied with Conscious Box. I started off with the Vegan Box and was very excited when I first got it, but after three months I found that most of the products were repeats. Isn't the point of this to learn about new products? I decided to switch to the Classic Box to see if that would change it up, but again some of the products were the same and after a second batch of the Classic. With over half of the products repeats from the previous, I decided to cancel. I am very disappointed because I love the idea of getting new vegan, non-GMO, health- conscious products but Conscious Box went about it all wrong. The products are boring, repetitive, and things I could easily find in the grocery store or drugstore. Sorry to be so negative, but this box is way to expensive for what it's worth and it's not even exciting to get the box each month because you can expect many of the same things as the month before.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized Billing.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 26, 2015

    I was at a Celiac Disease Foundation in June 2014, and I signed up for this. Since I don't usually like the products in the boxes I receive, I decided not to renew, however, my credit card was charged. I never received a renewal notice, they just charged my account. When I went online for contact information I found nothing, no phone number or email address for customer service. I'll dispute the bill with Visa and let them deal with it. I am definitely not paying the bill.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stole my money, no customer service, no delivery of product

    • Texas,
    • Nov 16, 2014

    Charged my account for three months gift. Bought gift first part of October. Gift was suppose to be delivered by end October. Gift never sent and its already the middle November No customer service number to call. Took an hour just to figure out how to put a trouble ticket in. Ticket never answered until I involved the BBB. Answered with a mass email not an actual person that's concerned. Still nothing...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Cheryl Meola

      The phone number is 877-269-2262.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a review for Conscious Box!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review