About Copper Fit

Whether you’re a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or just enjoy gardening in your spare time, Copper Fit is a brand of knee and elbow compression sleeves claimed to help support painful, stiff, and sore muscles, and to prevent the buildup of bacteria.

In order to accomplish this, the compression provided by Copper Fit is claimed to stabilize and support muscles, improve muscle circulation and oxygenation, prevent muscle strain and fatigue, and to help reduce muscle recovery time. In addition, Copper Fit is claimed to be lightweight and comfortable, to wick sweat and prevent chafing, and to feature anti-static and anti-piling (prevents it from bunching) properties.

When compared to other compression sleeves though, Copper Fit’s namesake is in its copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria that can lead to the appearance of stains and odors, and that can accelerate fabric deterioration. While these copper ions only make up about 4% of Copper Fit’s total materials, the company makes it seem like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

But is this really the case? In other words, can you really expect Copper Fit to works as advertised, and is it worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What’s Different About Copper Fit?

As we mentioned above, the primary selling point for Copper Fit is that these sleeves contain copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria, as well as the stains, odors, and deterioration this can cause. We’ll talk more about the effectiveness of this copper-infused fabric in a moment.

For now though, keep in mind that once you clear all the marketing hype away, there doesn’t seem to be any significant difference between Copper Fit sleeves and a generic neoprene sleeve you’d find at your local pharmacy or sporting goods store.

Can Copper Fit’s Compression Provide Any Benefits?

As we detailed in our The Science of Compression Wear article, prescription-only compression garments have been used in medicine for many decades, due to their ability to “prevent the occurrence of, and guard against further progression of venous disorders,” prevent the formation of blood clots, improve blood flow, reduce inflammation, and more.

However, when compared to consumer-grade compression wear (like Copper Fit), medical-grade compression garments “use stronger elastics to create significant pressure.” In other words, the amount of compression—and therefore the level of benefits you’ll receive—is much higher with compression wear used in the medical community.

Are There Any Health Benefits Related to the Copper in Copper Fit?

Here’s where you have to tread lightly. This is because the Copper Fit website uses some fuzzy language when it comes to copper’s benefits, claiming it “is known to possess antimicrobial properties and enhancement benefits.” Exactly what these “enhancement benefits” are isn’t made clear. But what about copper’s anti-microbial properties?

In short, the copper-infused fabric featured in Copper Fit may help reduce bacteria buildup, which can help prevent odor and stains. After all, you’ll probably be fairly active in your Copper Fit sleeve, so it’s perfectly reasonable that it will get dirty and sweaty.

Keep in mind though, that Copper Fit claims that their copper-infused fabric has been “tested to remain effective for numerous washes.” In other words, after a long enough period of time has passed, all (or most) of the copper will no longer be present.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

Are Customers Having Good Experiences with Copper Fit?

Based on 100 HighYa reader reviews for Copper Fit (as of 2/13/15), Copper Fit has an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing:

  • Poor quality products that don’t provide adequate compression.
  • Poor customer service (difficulty processing refunds, numerous upsells during calls).
  • High S&H charges (more about this next).
  • Extremely long shipping times, often lasting 2+ months.

Copper Fit’s manufacturer, Idea Village based out of Wayne, NJ, holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite holding more than 130 closed complaints. Most of these mirror the complaints noted above.

Copper Fit Pricing & Refund Policy

2 Copper Fit knee or elbow sleeves are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H, and are available in size S-XXL.

Note: Keep in mind that when you’re asked how many “Buy One Get One Knee (or Elbow) Sleeves” you’d like during checkout, this references the number of pairs, or sets, that you’d like. In other words, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can order 1 elbow sleeve and 1 knee sleeve. If you do something like this, you’ll actually end up paying twice ($35.97 X 2).

Copper Fit comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your sleeves, you’ll immediately lose nearly $16 in S&H charges, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship them back to the manufacturer. In reality, you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a tactic many ASOTV products use.

With this said, in order to process a refund you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-818-8300.

Will Copper Fit Provide Improved Mobility & Reduced Pain?

Chopping to the point: If you suffer from minor mobility problems or joint pain, the mild compression provided by Copper Fit sleeves may help provide some relief. However, other than perhaps providing some microbial protection, the copper contained in Copper Fit provides no health benefits whatsoever.

This means that, from a performance perspective, it’s likely that Copper Fit will provide the same level of support as any generic neoprene sleeve from your local pharmacy. In fact, Copper Fit is available at a variety of retailers, so if you’re dead-set on trying it out, this can help you save a ton of hassle if you need to return it, as well as losing a big chunk of change in non-refundable S&H charges.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

219 Customer Reviews for Copper Fit

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 48 4 star: 19 3 star: 6 2 star: 15 1 star:  131
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 219
Sort reviews by:

  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit-Users Beware of Usury

    • Bronx, NY,
    • May 8, 2014

    I waited more than two weeks to have the product delivered via USPS in a lightweight package that could have been paid with the cost of two or three forever stamps. Although I ordered large sleeves, they fit uncomfortably tightly, providing intense compression to the point of strangulation. After much thought and the inconvenience of waiting such a long while for this product over-priced shipping and handling cost, I would have fared better wearing panty hoses, that would have done the same trick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 11, 2014

      S

      Terrible product

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Over price shipping and handling

    • Jun 30, 2015

    Customer service is really bad, very rude, not very customer friendly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Buy This Product, unless you want to get ripped off

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    Well first of all, I Googled Tommie Copper but the Copper Fit website came up and I thought for some reason I was ordering from the Tommie Copper site but unfortunately it was not. Copper Fit is a site that sells fake Tommie Copper products.

    When you order on the site they say you get "2 for 1" for 19.99 plus shipping. I thought it was cheap so I ordered 2 thinking it's going to be only around 50. They don't tell you the total price until they charge your credit card first by that time it's too late.

    I tried calling to cancel my order and they said they already shipped it but that was a lie cause the next day I received an email saying they shipped it the same day I tried calling to cancel. Then I noticed they had my shipping address wrong. The apt unit number was wrong. I tried calling them to tell them and they said I must put in the wrong apartment number myself. I did not because when I ordered they gave me the confirmation number with the right address and when they shipped it they missed a number on my apartment unit.

    So I tried telling them that and they did not care one bit. They kept telling me I put in the wrong billing address and I have to let the mailman figure it out. If they can't they'll send it back to them and they'll resend it. I could be waiting two months for this product. I did more research and you can get a genuine Tommie Copper for literally the same price or if not a little cheaper at those "As seen on TV" stores and you don't have to wait two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Problem from the begining

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    There was already a problem when I made the order. They are charging me two instead of one, but I thought it's buy 1 get 1 free. It's hard to get costumer service and when I finally did and I was explained that I'm being charge for 2 pair which is 4 items (2 knee and 2 elbow, and what shocks me is the shipping and handling charge is per single item. That's about $34 and yet they are placed in one package, like 2 pairs of sock in a package. And if you're going to send it back to them, you are out $34. To make it worst the product suck. Not a good quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    The Copper Fit Scam

    • Arllington, TX,
    • May 27, 2014

    This will teach me to look up the reviews prior to ordering,

    Once you place the order in the box there is no chance to get out of it. Once in the box, they slap on twice the postage and your card is charged and you are stuck. There is no review before it is processed. I ordered 2-items and expected to get an additional 2 for free. It ended up costing me $31.96 in postage for them to mail the four items which weighed less than one pair of ladies white socks (not the heavy socks) in one small package. This was no bargain. It was cheaper to buy Tommy Copper on Amazon and not only get the better product but it at a good price. By the way, on star is far too much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Unethical Business

    • United States,
    • May 27, 2014

    I would not suggest to buy from this website. It is more of scam than anything else in my opinion. I placed an order to receive two elbow and two knee sleeves. After, I went to review my order but reviewing the order wasn't not an option. Instead, they doubled my order and doubled the cost of shipping.

    When I called they said the order had been shipped but that wasn't true at all because there was no UPS tracking # nor did I get an email confirming my order.

    Not to mention that the lady was extremely rude and would not let me speak at all. Satisfaction guaranteed is not an option for this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Extraordinary Rip-Off

    • Minnesota,
    • May 29, 2014

    It seems that a pattern has evolved. I too placed an order with Copper Fit, and wanted to try one medium knee sleeve and one small, so I selected one of each.

    After I entered all of my information, I clicked submit, assuming that I would have a chance to review my order and select shipping options, which is customary with almost all other internet orders. Not so with Copper Fit! They ran the order right away, without so much as providing me with a total before doing so. I emailed them IMMEDIATELY afterwards (within ten minutes), demanding that the order be canceled before payment was processed, and I received an email back the next day stating that the order had already been "processed for shipping."

    I received an automatic notification the next day that my order had shipped. Processing and handling totaled $31.96, while the products themselves totaled $39.98. It took eight days for the sleeves to arrive. I opened the package, tried on one of the sleeves, and was disgusted with it. If the foot portion of a tube sock was cut off and the tube portion was worn over the knee, it would provide more support than this product.

    I am sending the sleeves back today, fully aware that I am out the $31.96 as well as the return shipping costs. I am going to be contacting the Better Business Bureau with this story, and I recommend that everyone who posted here do the same. I am partially to blame, because I didn't read the fine print before providing my credit card information, but I am of the opinion that the practices of Copper Fit are intentionally deceptive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive and poor quality

    • Kinnelon, NJ,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    I ordered two knee sleeves in different sizes. I would have preferred one of each but found out toward the end of the online order that it came in pairs only. To add insult to injury, I was charged S+H for each sleeve separately instead of for each PAIR. I live in Kinnelon, NJ which is three towns over from Wayne where the product is sent from. It took two weeks to arrive. People order these products because they are in pain. I was not able to review my order as all other online purchases are done and saw that the order was placed with a shipping charge of $31.96 for a $39.98 purchase. It was nothing more than a thick stocking for the knee that rolled when sitting down. I was also called the day after my purchase by a woman telling me I would receive a gas voucher and then would have to call to cancel at a later date. I told her not to send that. Then a man got on the phone and tried to push the same offer. I'm disgusted. What a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Buy 1 get 1 free scam

    • Hollister, CA,
    • Jun 1, 2014

    I too went on to order 1 only and it charged me for 2 and outrageous shipping costs. When I hit to update order it put the order through. I contacted customer service ASAP but was told order was already processed. They offered me $4.00 off - big deal. Now I'm out $79. Terrible company, lousy customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive scam

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    I will echo verbatim what the others have written, their website is fraudulent, doesn't follow acceptable Internet commerce norms. The shipping is extremely expensive for a cheap, light, bubble envelop sent via USPS. After ordering and realizing the scam of double charging, I kept receiving several calls per day from an 866 number, never a message. After several of these I called the number and found it was copper fit and they were continuing the scam by sending something else to me, free for two months, then I'd be charged unless I canceled. I screamed over the insistent telemarketer than I did not want it nor did they have my permission to send. Terrible company, should be shut down. Wish I read reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Outrageous rip-off

    • Jun 4, 2014

    Echoing others experience. Same product and shipping overcharge to rack up $75 for a $35 order. Tried to cancel by calling the number within seconds. Lady claimed computers are slow, they were not involved with the company and so on. No doubt trying to buy time, while they can say order processed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 219

Write a Review for Copper Fit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review