About Copper Fit

Whether you’re a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or just enjoy gardening in your spare time, Copper Fit is a brand of knee and elbow compression sleeves claimed to help support painful, stiff, and sore muscles, and to prevent the buildup of bacteria.

In order to accomplish this, the compression provided by Copper Fit is claimed to stabilize and support muscles, improve muscle circulation and oxygenation, prevent muscle strain and fatigue, and to help reduce muscle recovery time. In addition, Copper Fit is claimed to be lightweight and comfortable, to wick sweat and prevent chafing, and to feature anti-static and anti-piling (prevents it from bunching) properties.

When compared to other compression sleeves though, Copper Fit’s namesake is in its copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria that can lead to the appearance of stains and odors, and that can accelerate fabric deterioration. While these copper ions only make up about 4% of Copper Fit’s total materials, the company makes it seem like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

But is this really the case? In other words, can you really expect Copper Fit to works as advertised, and is it worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What’s Different About Copper Fit?

As we mentioned above, the primary selling point for Copper Fit is that these sleeves contain copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria, as well as the stains, odors, and deterioration this can cause. We’ll talk more about the effectiveness of this copper-infused fabric in a moment.

For now though, keep in mind that once you clear all the marketing hype away, there doesn’t seem to be any significant difference between Copper Fit sleeves and a generic neoprene sleeve you’d find at your local pharmacy or sporting goods store.

Can Copper Fit’s Compression Provide Any Benefits?

As we detailed in our The Science of Compression Wear article, prescription-only compression garments have been used in medicine for many decades, due to their ability to “prevent the occurrence of, and guard against further progression of venous disorders,” prevent the formation of blood clots, improve blood flow, reduce inflammation, and more.

However, when compared to consumer-grade compression wear (like Copper Fit), medical-grade compression garments “use stronger elastics to create significant pressure.” In other words, the amount of compression—and therefore the level of benefits you’ll receive—is much higher with compression wear used in the medical community.

Are There Any Health Benefits Related to the Copper in Copper Fit?

Here’s where you have to tread lightly. This is because the Copper Fit website uses some fuzzy language when it comes to copper’s benefits, claiming it “is known to possess antimicrobial properties and enhancement benefits.” Exactly what these “enhancement benefits” are isn’t made clear. But what about copper’s anti-microbial properties?

In short, the copper-infused fabric featured in Copper Fit may help reduce bacteria buildup, which can help prevent odor and stains. After all, you’ll probably be fairly active in your Copper Fit sleeve, so it’s perfectly reasonable that it will get dirty and sweaty.

Keep in mind though, that Copper Fit claims that their copper-infused fabric has been “tested to remain effective for numerous washes.” In other words, after a long enough period of time has passed, all (or most) of the copper will no longer be present.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

Are Customers Having Good Experiences with Copper Fit?

Based on 100 HighYa reader reviews for Copper Fit (as of 2/13/15), Copper Fit has an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing:

  • Poor quality products that don’t provide adequate compression.
  • Poor customer service (difficulty processing refunds, numerous upsells during calls).
  • High S&H charges (more about this next).
  • Extremely long shipping times, often lasting 2+ months.

Copper Fit’s manufacturer, Idea Village based out of Wayne, NJ, holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite holding more than 130 closed complaints. Most of these mirror the complaints noted above.

Copper Fit Pricing & Refund Policy

2 Copper Fit knee or elbow sleeves are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H, and are available in size S-XXL.

Note: Keep in mind that when you’re asked how many “Buy One Get One Knee (or Elbow) Sleeves” you’d like during checkout, this references the number of pairs, or sets, that you’d like. In other words, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can order 1 elbow sleeve and 1 knee sleeve. If you do something like this, you’ll actually end up paying twice ($35.97 X 2).

Copper Fit comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your sleeves, you’ll immediately lose nearly $16 in S&H charges, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship them back to the manufacturer. In reality, you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a tactic many ASOTV products use.

With this said, in order to process a refund you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-818-8300.

Will Copper Fit Provide Improved Mobility & Reduced Pain?

Chopping to the point: If you suffer from minor mobility problems or joint pain, the mild compression provided by Copper Fit sleeves may help provide some relief. However, other than perhaps providing some microbial protection, the copper contained in Copper Fit provides no health benefits whatsoever.

This means that, from a performance perspective, it’s likely that Copper Fit will provide the same level of support as any generic neoprene sleeve from your local pharmacy. In fact, Copper Fit is available at a variety of retailers, so if you’re dead-set on trying it out, this can help you save a ton of hassle if you need to return it, as well as losing a big chunk of change in non-refundable S&H charges.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

219 Customer Reviews for Copper Fit

Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 48 4 star: 19 3 star: 6 2 star: 15 1 star:  131
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 219
Sort reviews by:

  • 80 out 82 people found this review helpful

    Copper fit Customer Service Scam

    • louisiana,
    • Jul 2, 2014

    Let me start by saying I never used the product. Why? Because three days after I placed my order online from my smartphone a Copper fit Customer Service Rep contacted me to confirm my order.

    During this call she tried to send me some coupon book for only $1 with $100 in gas vouchers that if I chose to keep they would automatically charge my card $29 a month. So the red flag went up. I declined the offer and asked to verify my shipping address and order status.

    She could not give me that info and asked me to call the toll free customer service number. Which I did and I was told my two knee sleeves would not arrive for four to six weeks. Meanwhile shipping per sleeve is over $7.00 each. Sorry. I am not going to pay over $15.00 for shipping on something that will not arrive for over a month.

    Needless to say after she offered to give me a whopping 10% discount if I keep my order, I said no thanks. No copper fit for me. I will pass. Scam 100%

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 13, 2014

      Anonymous

      Do not order this product. Very poorly made. It's is like a piece of spandex that you are charged $31.00 in processing and handling for. When you call to complain, they say they will refund all money. But when you send them the product, you only get half a refund. This is a total rip off and scam. Even if it were free, not even worth that.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 62 people found this review helpful

    I have been scammed

    • Savannah, Georgia,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wrote a review yesterday. Evidently it's not going to be published. I was scammed. They sent me too many items, charged me for them, charged a $58 shipping fee for what was originally an $11, 3-5 day rush order. It took 10 days for my order to get here! I will NEVER get that $47 back. I am so mad that I could choke somebody. Please DO NOT order from this company. That $47 took a good chunk out of my social security check this month.

    I am not complaining about the product itself, just the worst customer service I've EVER dealt with. Be a man customer service and publish my review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Scam 100 Percent

    • Dallas Texas,
    • Jul 16, 2014

    As I was ordering online, I realized how much I did not want this and stopped the ordering process. The charge went from $19.99 to $71.94. So I did not continue with the order. The next morning as I was checking my bank account... I was horrified to find they charged two 71.94's.. So now I am out approximately 144 dollars. The bank was immediately able to refund one of the charges but they are only able to remove one of the duplicate charges as they were in pending status. After it posts then I will be able to dispute the other charge. After reading the reviews I see where I could have been better off reading before ordering. Never again! So sorry I did not do it First! Buyer Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2014

      colette

      thanks for the heads up

    • Jul 26, 2014

      Richard

      I appreciate your post. Now I'm moving on to something else.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Beware of Copper Fit unethical Practice and Stand Up Against It

    • Jul 17, 2014

    I just saw this site after I got a scam call from Copper Fit after placing an order. I should have known about this, all the bad things seems true about them. Let's stand up against this en-ethical company and people in order to protect others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit-Users Beware of Usury

    • Bronx, NY,
    • May 8, 2014

    I waited more than two weeks to have the product delivered via USPS in a lightweight package that could have been paid with the cost of two or three forever stamps. Although I ordered large sleeves, they fit uncomfortably tightly, providing intense compression to the point of strangulation. After much thought and the inconvenience of waiting such a long while for this product over-priced shipping and handling cost, I would have fared better wearing panty hoses, that would have done the same trick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 11, 2014

      S

      Terrible product

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 49 people found this review helpful

    No Confirmation

    • Columbia, MO,
    • Jul 15, 2014

    Tried to place an order, got the size wrong and went back on the form to change it to the right one. Well, it would not allow a change, kept trying to change it and they just kept adding items to the order. I saw there was a problem, did not submit order. I went in and deleted all of my personal information and logged out without submitting the order.

    I then waited a couple of days and never got a conformation number so assumed that my order did not go through. A few days later I received a tracking number for my order of 6 sleeves for a price of $107.

    I called immediately to cancel but unfortunately I was informed that I could not cancel. I could send it back but would have to pay shipping handling. I refused the order and sent it back but they still charged me $47 for shipping and handling. It is now in the hands of my credit card company.

    This is a scam company. Went out of business as Copper Flex and just opened up with a new name. Any company that will not give you a confirmation number is not legit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Product review

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I purchased a pair of the knee sleeves for my son. Buyer beware, "Buy one, get one free." We ended up with 2 pair of sleeves at $19.99 per unit, totaling $38.98. Processing and handling cost was $31.96. This is almost the cost of the four sleeves. Product was inferior, offering no support and the upper and lower bands kept rolling. And of course the processing and handling fees are non-refundable. Would not recommend this product. I thought we were purchasing Tommy Copper Product. Take time to read product name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Bad service, never tried the product

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    My review is about the service, they promised my order will ship in two weeks. Eight weeks after I still get the "your order will ship soon" even though I called twice they keep saying my order will ship soon. I canceled, never, never again from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Product Review

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 4, 2014

    My husband LOVES his Copper fit. However you would be better off buying it in a retail store like Bed, Bath and Beyond. They are the same price as advertised on the website AND you don't have to pay $31 in shipping which they don't tell you until your order is placed. Not only that but it is shipped regular mail so it takes over a week to get.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    I am going back to Tommie Copper

    • Florida,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I just put in a order for the first time and was immediately ripped off for the shipping. I do not want the product. I should have read the reviews. I am canceling my order ASAP and contacting my lawyer and the feds these guys need to be stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Scam Company

    • North Dakota,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I wish I had read the reviews before I ordered. this company is full of nonsense. I ordered a set of knee and a set of elbow sleeves and my order total was $71.94 that's with the way over priced of $31.96 shipping and handling charges. They billed me twice and I obviously called them about it. The first operator said one charge was a hold, Why put a hold on twice. I called my bank and the charges had not gone through. I called the bank back two days later and both of the charges went thru. I called the company back again and they are now saying that I placed two orders but I told them I did not. I placed one order. I gave them my order number, but they continued insisting that I placed two orders. This is a way for them to get and keep that $31.96 S&H fees. One big scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 219

Write a Review for Copper Fit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review