About DashCam Pro

Known as a “personal security camera for your car,” DashCam Pro allows you to record audio and full HD video while driving, so you can be confident behind the wheel.

All you need to do is set up your DashCam Pro in 3 simple steps:

  1. Place DashCam Pro’s pivot mount on your windshield and snap the suction cup into place.
  2. Pull down the wide-angle, instant view video screen.
  3. Drive with confidence knowing you can record up to 14 hours of video.

Using the built-in SD card slot, DashCam Pro can record up to 14 hours of 120º wide-angle video, and can be programmed to start up on ignition (using the included car charger). Or if your car’s parked, when it detects motion.

Other handy DashCam Pro features include image stabilization, auto adjust from light to dark, time/date stamp, picture mode, and endless loop recording. It even features six built-in infrared LED lights that allow it to record video at night!

And once it’s time to review your video, you can do so immediately using DashCam Pro’s built-in screen, or you can download the video to a computer or flash drive, where it can be saved or shared.

Compared to other dashboard cameras that can cost hundreds, DashCam Pro certainly seems tempting. But will it work as well as the competition? Is it a good value?

To begin, let’s look at price.

How Much Does DashCam Pro Cost?

One DashCam Pro will set you back $39.99 plus $6.95 S&H. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout and receive free shipping.

All DashCam Pros come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

If you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Compared to the competition, what will DashCam Pro’s low price get you?

DashCam Pro vs. the Competition

If you search for dashboard cameras online and sort the results by price, you’ll quickly find that there are dozens of low-priced options, many of which feature the same basic design as DashCam Pro. This includes wide-angle lenses (120º+), rotating LCD screens, night vision, anti-shake technology (aka image stabilization), auto on and off—not to mention HD resolution, which is an important factor.

Pro tip: If price is your number one factor when selecting a dashboard camera, be sure to consider DashCam Pro’s non-refundable S&H charges. This could mean that local options might provide more value, even if their base price is slightly higher than DashCam Pro’s.

Just what is high definition resolution, though?

What Does “High Definition” Mean?

You’ve probably heard the term “high definition” a thousand times, but in the case of DashCam Pro, what does this really mean? After all, the manufacturer just claims it has “full HD,” without providing a whole lot of details.

According to WhatIs, “full HD” is defined as:

Full HDTV, also referred to as ultra-HD, true HDTV, and 1080p, is a television (TV) display technology that surpasses the video quality and sharpness of the original high-definition television (HDTV) technology, providing an image resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels.

We believe this is what you can reasonably expect from DashCam Pro.

But think about this: Regardless of the quality of video you’re recording, if you can’t store it anywhere, it’s basically useless. How does DashCam Pro save your video?

DashCam Pro’s Video Storage Capacity

It doesn’t appear that DashCam Pro features a built-in hard drive. Instead, you’ll need to purchase a separate SD card and insert it into a slot on the side of your DashCam Pro.

The manufacturer claims that DashCam Pro supports SD cards up to 32GB, but how much recording time does this actually give you? Is it really 14 hours?

Note: There’s no indication that you can manually reduce DashCam Pro’s video quality in order to decrease file size, so these numbers are based on the definition above (an image resolution of 1920 X 1080 pixels).

According to DashboardCameraReviews, there’s an actual formula you can use to calculate how much video your SD card can hold. But even the simple version requires that you know your camera’s bit rate, which is something we’re not told for DashCam Pro.

With all of this said, a realistic approximation is that with a 32GB SD card, you could probably record about 2-3 hours of 1080p, HD quality video. Honestly, we’re really not sure where the company came up with the 14-hour number.

Is DashCam Pro Really an Amateur in Disguise?

Any time you’re thinking about purchasing electronics, the first thing to remember is that the more you pay, the more features you’ll have and the higher quality the product will be. You get what you pay for, and dashboard cameras are no different.

From this perspective, DashCam Pro’s price ranks it near the bottom. Will this be reflected in its quality?

DashCam Pro’s manufacturer, Inventel, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research. Although they only had 4 closed complaints, Inventel failed to respond to three of these, which referenced poor product quality (the company also makes Gripeez, Liberty Lantern, Butterfly Abs, and more).

Do we think you’ll experience the same with DashCam Pro? It’s certainly worth considering.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for the least expensive dashboard camera available, it might be tough to beat DashCam Pro.

But based on complaints related to the company’s other products (and ASOTV products in general), it might not work as well as advertised, and the quality might be lower than you were expecting.

The good news: If you’re searching for dashboard cameras based on price alone, but also want the best bang for your buck, be sure to read through DashcamTalk’s comprehensive comparison!

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Customer Reviews for DashCam Pro

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 28
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk in my experience

    • Indiana,
    • Nov 15, 2016

    Total Garbage. Do not waste your money. Stays on for less than five minutes, with or without the charging cable.

    If I could rate it a Zero, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    This is the worst piece of electronics I have ever seen. It is complete crap. It works some of the time, maybe 50%.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Chinese junk

    • Saskatoon,
    • Oct 28, 2016

    First the SD card did not work. I split the adapter and the connection wires were not connecting properly to the SD card, so I bend them tighter and that part is OK for now. Work for about half an hour as I tried to learn how to use it, the instruction is very poor, then I left it. Come 2 hours later, plug it in and this is the end of the story, the screen is white and can't get it to work, removed the battery as recommended and nothing works. I have found the answer here, IT IS JUNK. The good news is, I lost only $27CA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We will be more than happy to replace your defective unit. Please contact customer service (323-375-1042) for instructions on returning your Dash Cam Pro office hours are 8:30 am to 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Shuts off

    I tried to use the camera for the first time today. It is useless at night and shuts off constantly. It will not run for more than 5 minutes at a time. I sent an e-mail to them, but I think I am going to end up having to return it for a refund. Not worth the money if it is not going to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, there are setting that you can change to fit your needs. Please contact customer service at 323-375-1042 to get assistance with setting up your Dash Cam Pro. We look forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad SD card

    When I ordered my Dash Cam Pro on Evine, I expected it to be complete and ready to work. I ordered a 32 GB SD card, but what I received was a blank, non-descriptive SD card, no label, no size or GB. Also missing the chip adapter and only a very short 7 inch USB charger cable, too short to connect to the computer. After inserting the SD card, it showed NO CARD, no surprise here. I called Customer Service and they promised to send me a new SD card, which I received and hopefully, I won't have any more problems. In order to recommend this product, I will have to see how it actually works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 7, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, We apologize for the inconvenience if after you receive your replacement SD card from Evine you are still having issues please call our customer service. We will be more than happy to make this right for you. Our customer service number is 323-375-1042 agents are ready to take calls Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm EST.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    I have purchased 2 Dash Cam Pros and both survived 6 weeks or less. The 2nd one apparently had problems prior to my receiving it as a green dot sticker. It was placed over the low battery indicator and it was lit all the time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience, please contact our customer service agents to see the options we have for replacements. They are available Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm at 323-375-1042. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Shut off all the time

    • Wiggins, MS,
    • Sep 23, 2016

    I bought the DashCam Pro at Walmart. There is not much instruction.

    The unit shuts down all the time. When the screen goes black there is no indication if the camera is working. You need to press the menu button every 5 minutes to see if it has turned itself off. I am on vacation and intended to use the video as some of my vacation video, but with it turning itself off, it may not work.

    So while I thought I was recording something, I didn't have a video. I didn't discover this until the next day when it was too late to do anything about is.

    This has happened several times. It even happened when I had hit a deer, NO VIDEO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience, we have customer service agents that will be happy to help you configure the settings to your preference. Agents are available 8:30 am to 5:30 pm Monday through Friday 323-375-1042. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    impossible

    It is impossible to speak to anyone in person. I had to have the product replaced and they failed to include the sim card that I paid for. I tried calling them and was on the phone for 30 minutes with no one to talk to. All I got was a commercial as to how great this product is. I don't know how I am going to get the 32GB card I paid for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 5, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience we are shipping you out 2 new 32 GB SD Cards to your address on file. You should receive them with in 5-7 business days. Please contact our Customer Service Team at 323-375-1042 if you do not receive your SD cards with in the 5-7 business days. We appreciate your patience and your Business!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Trying to Receive my Dash Cam

    June 21st 2016 I purchased 2 DashCam Pros but still not received them. It's been 10 days now. A tracking number given to me by your company is "RS534160098NL" but search did not match any documents. I paid USD $79.98 or NZD $117.99 for 2 black cameras. Please help, as it is very frustrating waiting for them. Thanking you for your assistance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 10, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, can you please advise on how you placed your order and with whom? Unfortunately at this time we are limited to shipping to the continental United States. We apologize for the inconvenience.

    • Aug 24, 2016

      Resident Manager

      AC Henderson, why on earth would you recommend this product to a friend when you haven't even received yours yet? That just makes no sense at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Piece of Junk

    I drive trucka, and don't need a high priced dash cam, just something that can differentiate between a car ahead of me and the road. This cam was on sale at Wal Mart, and understanding that it was only $35 and my low requirements, I bought it.

    The quality of the camera is something that you'd find in the un-wanted toy bin at a buck-shop. It looks decent, but feels like garbage. The manual is all but useless and the interface is terrible, especially because the buttons only decide to work about half the time.

    I had the same memory card issues that everyone else seems to have, if they actually get the unit, and that is that it randomly decides whether it'll recognize the dash cam or not, even when the cam's own format utility is used. It'll just randomly decide, during use, that it can't find the SD card anymore and this is if you're lucky enough to get it to find the SD card when it starts. None of the computers in my house would recognize the unit as a removable disc either. When it actually did manage to record a picture or video, I couldn't delete them, it said they didn't exist, even though it would show me a list of them. The problem likely stems from the fact that the camera is such a piece of junk, as well as the low grade quality of the micro SD adapter.

    The mount is low grade and couldn't be tightened so the camera would stay pointing where you aimed it.

    The video quality, while not needing to be great, was terrible and extremely grainy regardless of what video settings were used. The low light feature (the useless little LEDs on either side of the lens) are seemingly there for cosmetics because they do nothing at night or in low light conditions. Didn't change the light levels or quality of the video and there are no settings to turn it on.

    Their tech support is unsurprisingly terrible too. Their phone number doesn't work because they can't get their own phones to work, so you have to call another number. After (seemingly) the sole employee in tech support is finished in the bathroom and finally decides to answer the phone, he has no answers to any of the problems. His solution is for ME TO PAY to send them back their piece of junk, and then they will send me a new one. Based on others' reviews, their RMA/shipping service didn't seem like it worked better than their camera, so I realized the smartest thing to do was take the piece of junk back to Walmart.

    I went and bought a Papago Dashcam, and with the fact that after buying the Dash CamPro for $35, and then the micro SD for another $35, the Papago was the same price AND came with it's own micro SD card, PLUS a great manual and a very simple and effective menu system, not to mention the video quality is amazing. Should have done that from the beginning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away From This Product. Don't Buy It.

    I ordered this product without the SD card. I bought one from Walmart. This product does not recognize the SD card, therefore it will not work. Called customer service and I'm getting the run around. Please don't buy this product. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience. We are going to send you out a 8GB memory card to use with your Dash Cam Pro. It will be sent USPS, please let us know if you have not received the SD card within 7-10 business days. We hope this is satisfactory to you in getting your product to function properly.

    • Jun 8, 2016

      Daniel McCready

      Just got my two Dash cam pro's delivered to my house and in a reasonable amount of time. I want to say 3 weeks. Directions are useless but the pictures helped immensely. Yes it's cheaply built. Especially at the two side compartments. I'm already prepared to have to tape them in a few weeks. Haven't used it yet because they said a SD card did not come with it. But a little disc looking thing was in the box. So I thought maybe I ordered it. Nope! After setting it up and charging the unit it said "no card". After searching the web I found out the little disc looking thing was a holder for the SD card. At this point with it on my windshield with no card it seams to work pretty well. I'm kind of happy with it so far. I'll report back when I install a card and down load the results. I feel pretty cool right now with it in my car and showing everyone the screen. No one knows it's actually not recording. Well! Except you. Shhh.

    • Jun 14, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      We are glad you are satisfied with our product thus far. If you encounter any issues with our product feel free to contact our customer service team at 323-375-1042, we have tech support specialists standing by to assist you. We do have discounted SD cards available for purchase with no shipping charge! You can place an order for that via phone at 323-375-1043 or online at www.dashcamprosdcard.com, you can also view our instructional video there as well. It is a step by step guide for set up and features. We look forward to hearing back from you once you have the SD card to use and can utilize all the great features Dash Cam Pro offers.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for DashCam Pro!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review