About DashCam Pro

Known as a “personal security camera for your car,” DashCam Pro allows you to record audio and full HD video while driving, so you can be confident behind the wheel.

All you need to do is set up your DashCam Pro in 3 simple steps:

  1. Place DashCam Pro’s pivot mount on your windshield and snap the suction cup into place.
  2. Pull down the wide-angle, instant view video screen.
  3. Drive with confidence knowing you can record up to 14 hours of video.

Using the built-in SD card slot, DashCam Pro can record up to 14 hours of 120º wide-angle video, and can be programmed to start up on ignition (using the included car charger). Or if your car’s parked, when it detects motion.

Other handy DashCam Pro features include image stabilization, auto adjust from light to dark, time/date stamp, picture mode, and endless loop recording. It even features six built-in infrared LED lights that allow it to record video at night!

And once it’s time to review your video, you can do so immediately using DashCam Pro’s built-in screen, or you can download the video to a computer or flash drive, where it can be saved or shared.

Compared to other dashboard cameras that can cost hundreds, DashCam Pro certainly seems tempting. But will it work as well as the competition? Is it a good value?

To begin, let’s look at price.

How Much Does DashCam Pro Cost?

One DashCam Pro will set you back $39.99 plus $6.95 S&H. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout and receive free shipping.

All DashCam Pros come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

If you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Compared to the competition, what will DashCam Pro’s low price get you?

DashCam Pro vs. the Competition

If you search for dashboard cameras online and sort the results by price, you’ll quickly find that there are dozens of low-priced options, many of which feature the same basic design as DashCam Pro. This includes wide-angle lenses (120º+), rotating LCD screens, night vision, anti-shake technology (aka image stabilization), auto on and off—not to mention HD resolution, which is an important factor.

Pro tip: If price is your number one factor when selecting a dashboard camera, be sure to consider DashCam Pro’s non-refundable S&H charges. This could mean that local options might provide more value, even if their base price is slightly higher than DashCam Pro’s.

Just what is high definition resolution, though?

What Does “High Definition” Mean?

You’ve probably heard the term “high definition” a thousand times, but in the case of DashCam Pro, what does this really mean? After all, the manufacturer just claims it has “full HD,” without providing a whole lot of details.

According to WhatIs, “full HD” is defined as:

Full HDTV, also referred to as ultra-HD, true HDTV, and 1080p, is a television (TV) display technology that surpasses the video quality and sharpness of the original high-definition television (HDTV) technology, providing an image resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels.

We believe this is what you can reasonably expect from DashCam Pro.

But think about this: Regardless of the quality of video you’re recording, if you can’t store it anywhere, it’s basically useless. How does DashCam Pro save your video?

DashCam Pro’s Video Storage Capacity

It doesn’t appear that DashCam Pro features a built-in hard drive. Instead, you’ll need to purchase a separate SD card and insert it into a slot on the side of your DashCam Pro.

The manufacturer claims that DashCam Pro supports SD cards up to 32GB, but how much recording time does this actually give you? Is it really 14 hours?

Note: There’s no indication that you can manually reduce DashCam Pro’s video quality in order to decrease file size, so these numbers are based on the definition above (an image resolution of 1920 X 1080 pixels).

According to DashboardCameraReviews, there’s an actual formula you can use to calculate how much video your SD card can hold. But even the simple version requires that you know your camera’s bit rate, which is something we’re not told for DashCam Pro.

With all of this said, a realistic approximation is that with a 32GB SD card, you could probably record about 2-3 hours of 1080p, HD quality video. Honestly, we’re really not sure where the company came up with the 14-hour number.

Is DashCam Pro Really an Amateur in Disguise?

Any time you’re thinking about purchasing electronics, the first thing to remember is that the more you pay, the more features you’ll have and the higher quality the product will be. You get what you pay for, and dashboard cameras are no different.

From this perspective, DashCam Pro’s price ranks it near the bottom. Will this be reflected in its quality?

DashCam Pro’s manufacturer, Inventel, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research. Although they only had 4 closed complaints, Inventel failed to respond to three of these, which referenced poor product quality (the company also makes Gripeez, Liberty Lantern, Butterfly Abs, and more).

Do we think you’ll experience the same with DashCam Pro? It’s certainly worth considering.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for the least expensive dashboard camera available, it might be tough to beat DashCam Pro.

But based on complaints related to the company’s other products (and ASOTV products in general), it might not work as well as advertised, and the quality might be lower than you were expecting.

The good news: If you’re searching for dashboard cameras based on price alone, but also want the best bang for your buck, be sure to read through DashcamTalk’s comprehensive comparison!

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Customer Reviews for DashCam Pro

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 30
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Too expensive

    • In your rearview mirror,
    • Jan 18, 2017

    This is a piece of cheap plastic for $30.00. The video capture is ok, turned off motion detector and it still captures if bumped. You will need a PC with a multi-card reader, since it's an odd sized SD card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great Present!

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2017

    I am a 10-year professional truck driver. I have been wanting a dash camera for my tractor for quite some time and had not gotten around to buying one for various reasons.

    Well to my surprise and pleasure my sister gave me a DashCam Pro for Christmas! I spent a little time with the device and instruction pamphlet, installed it in my truck and after a short time down the road have come to really appreciate and love this item. Set up and operation is fairly simple after reading the instruction booklet and feeling the device out.

    I would recommend the device to anyone wanting an additional layer of insurance!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Paid but never received

    • Newmarket, Ontario,
    • Dec 27, 2016

    Ordered this unit in September and it is now December and still have not received anything from this company but they did not hesitate to take the money from my credit card. My advice to anyone is DO NOT ever order anything from this company, it is all one big RIP OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Can't use DashCam

    We inserted the SD card that came with our DashCam Pro but it keeps telling us there is no SD card in the camera. Have not been able to use the camera yet. Not having a good feeling about my purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2016

      Mike

      What is in the box is an SD adaptor and not an actual card. That is why the message "no card."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Junk in my experience

    • Indiana,
    • Nov 15, 2016

    Total Garbage. Do not waste your money. Stays on for less than five minutes, with or without the charging cable.

    If I could rate it a Zero, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, We apologize for the inconvenience. There is a setting in the menu for you to change the auto shut off. One of our tech support specialists will be more than happy to help you. We look forward to hearing from you.

      323-375-1042

      Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    This is the worst piece of electronics I have ever seen. It is complete crap. It works some of the time, maybe 50%.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      We sincerely apologize that you are experiencing difficulties with our Dash Cam Pro. If you are willing to give our customer service a call a technical specialist will be happy to help you. 323-375-1042 We look forward t hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Chinese junk

    • Saskatoon,
    • Oct 28, 2016

    First the SD card did not work. I split the adapter and the connection wires were not connecting properly to the SD card, so I bend them tighter and that part is OK for now. Work for about half an hour as I tried to learn how to use it, the instruction is very poor, then I left it. Come 2 hours later, plug it in and this is the end of the story, the screen is white and can't get it to work, removed the battery as recommended and nothing works. I have found the answer here, IT IS JUNK. The good news is, I lost only $27CA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We will be more than happy to replace your defective unit. Please contact customer service (323-375-1042) for instructions on returning your Dash Cam Pro office hours are 8:30 am to 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Shuts off

    I tried to use the camera for the first time today. It is useless at night and shuts off constantly. It will not run for more than 5 minutes at a time. I sent an e-mail to them, but I think I am going to end up having to return it for a refund. Not worth the money if it is not going to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, there are setting that you can change to fit your needs. Please contact customer service at 323-375-1042 to get assistance with setting up your Dash Cam Pro. We look forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad SD card

    When I ordered my Dash Cam Pro on Evine, I expected it to be complete and ready to work. I ordered a 32 GB SD card, but what I received was a blank, non-descriptive SD card, no label, no size or GB. Also missing the chip adapter and only a very short 7 inch USB charger cable, too short to connect to the computer. After inserting the SD card, it showed NO CARD, no surprise here. I called Customer Service and they promised to send me a new SD card, which I received and hopefully, I won't have any more problems. In order to recommend this product, I will have to see how it actually works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 7, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, We apologize for the inconvenience if after you receive your replacement SD card from Evine you are still having issues please call our customer service. We will be more than happy to make this right for you. Our customer service number is 323-375-1042 agents are ready to take calls Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm EST.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    I have purchased 2 Dash Cam Pros and both survived 6 weeks or less. The 2nd one apparently had problems prior to my receiving it as a green dot sticker. It was placed over the low battery indicator and it was lit all the time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience, please contact our customer service agents to see the options we have for replacements. They are available Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm at 323-375-1042. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Shut off all the time

    • Wiggins, MS,
    • Sep 23, 2016

    I bought the DashCam Pro at Walmart. There is not much instruction.

    The unit shuts down all the time. When the screen goes black there is no indication if the camera is working. You need to press the menu button every 5 minutes to see if it has turned itself off. I am on vacation and intended to use the video as some of my vacation video, but with it turning itself off, it may not work.

    So while I thought I was recording something, I didn't have a video. I didn't discover this until the next day when it was too late to do anything about is.

    This has happened several times. It even happened when I had hit a deer, NO VIDEO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hello, we apologize for the inconvenience, we have customer service agents that will be happy to help you configure the settings to your preference. Agents are available 8:30 am to 5:30 pm Monday through Friday 323-375-1042. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a review for DashCam Pro!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review