About DashCam Pro

Known as a “personal security camera for your car,” DashCam Pro allows you to record audio and full HD video while driving, so you can be confident behind the wheel.

All you need to do is set up your DashCam Pro in 3 simple steps:

  1. Place DashCam Pro’s pivot mount on your windshield and snap the suction cup into place.
  2. Pull down the wide-angle, instant view video screen.
  3. Drive with confidence knowing you can record up to 14 hours of video.

Using the built-in SD card slot, DashCam Pro can record up to 14 hours of 120º wide-angle video, and can be programmed to start up on ignition (using the included car charger). Or if your car’s parked, when it detects motion.

Other handy DashCam Pro features include image stabilization, auto adjust from light to dark, time/date stamp, picture mode, and endless loop recording. It even features six built-in infrared LED lights that allow it to record video at night!

And once it’s time to review your video, you can do so immediately using DashCam Pro’s built-in screen, or you can download the video to a computer or flash drive, where it can be saved or shared.

Compared to other dashboard cameras that can cost hundreds, DashCam Pro certainly seems tempting. But will it work as well as the competition? Is it a good value?

To begin, let’s look at price.

How Much Does DashCam Pro Cost?

One DashCam Pro will set you back $39.99 plus $6.95 S&H. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout and receive free shipping.

All DashCam Pros come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

If you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Compared to the competition, what will DashCam Pro’s low price get you?

DashCam Pro vs. the Competition

If you search for dashboard cameras online and sort the results by price, you’ll quickly find that there are dozens of low-priced options, many of which feature the same basic design as DashCam Pro. This includes wide-angle lenses (120º+), rotating LCD screens, night vision, anti-shake technology (aka image stabilization), auto on and off—not to mention HD resolution, which is an important factor.

Pro tip: If price is your number one factor when selecting a dashboard camera, be sure to consider DashCam Pro’s non-refundable S&H charges. This could mean that local options might provide more value, even if their base price is slightly higher than DashCam Pro’s.

Just what is high definition resolution, though?

What Does “High Definition” Mean?

You’ve probably heard the term “high definition” a thousand times, but in the case of DashCam Pro, what does this really mean? After all, the manufacturer just claims it has “full HD,” without providing a whole lot of details.

According to WhatIs, “full HD” is defined as:

Full HDTV, also referred to as ultra-HD, true HDTV, and 1080p, is a television (TV) display technology that surpasses the video quality and sharpness of the original high-definition television (HDTV) technology, providing an image resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels.

We believe this is what you can reasonably expect from DashCam Pro.

But think about this: Regardless of the quality of video you’re recording, if you can’t store it anywhere, it’s basically useless. How does DashCam Pro save your video?

DashCam Pro’s Video Storage Capacity

It doesn’t appear that DashCam Pro features a built-in hard drive. Instead, you’ll need to purchase a separate SD card and insert it into a slot on the side of your DashCam Pro.

The manufacturer claims that DashCam Pro supports SD cards up to 32GB, but how much recording time does this actually give you? Is it really 14 hours?

Note: There’s no indication that you can manually reduce DashCam Pro’s video quality in order to decrease file size, so these numbers are based on the definition above (an image resolution of 1920 X 1080 pixels).

According to DashboardCameraReviews, there’s an actual formula you can use to calculate how much video your SD card can hold. But even the simple version requires that you know your camera’s bit rate, which is something we’re not told for DashCam Pro.

With all of this said, a realistic approximation is that with a 32GB SD card, you could probably record about 2-3 hours of 1080p, HD quality video. Honestly, we’re really not sure where the company came up with the 14-hour number.

Is DashCam Pro Really an Amateur in Disguise?

Any time you’re thinking about purchasing electronics, the first thing to remember is that the more you pay, the more features you’ll have and the higher quality the product will be. You get what you pay for, and dashboard cameras are no different.

From this perspective, DashCam Pro’s price ranks it near the bottom. Will this be reflected in its quality?

DashCam Pro’s manufacturer, Inventel, had a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research.

Do we think you’ll experience the same with DashCam Pro? It’s certainly worth considering.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for the least expensive dashboard camera available, it might be tough to beat DashCam Pro.

But based on complaints related to the company’s other products (and ASOTV products in general), it might not work as well as advertised, and the quality might be lower than you were expecting.

The good news: If you’re searching for dashboard cameras based on price alone, but also want the best bang for your buck, be sure to read through DashcamTalk’s comprehensive comparison!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Customer Reviews for DashCam Pro

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 5 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 33
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • Bought junk

    On 5/3/2016 I ordered a DashCam Pro and got it. When I got everything unloaded and checked and put things together, I found one of the memory cards was bad, and when I stuck the camera to the window, it wouldn't stay for more than a few minutes and then fall off.

    I called the company, and they said to send it back, so I sent it back and never heard from them. I've called twice and asked about it, and they said they would check and call me back, but that never happened. Since it has been this long and I haven't heard a thing from them, I know I was stupid to buy anything from them. Lesson LEARNED.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Piece of crap

    • Alabama,
    • Apr 10, 2017

    It keeps on saying "no SD card," even when I try to take it out and put it back in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • DashCam Pro is one of my favorite gadgets

    The DashCam Pro is definitely one of my favorite gadgets. We had one on our windshield of the semi-truck for over a year. It recorded its driving through a tornado in Texas, and it recorded us when the cops pulled us over and said we were driving too close to the vehicle in front of us. But thanks to the DashCam Pro, we could prove that we weren't following too close to the vehicle in front of us.

    It's just a really good thing to have because you can prove your side of the story and you can see what the driver sees as he's going down the road. It's just a really good gadget to have. You can't go wrong with it, and the price is going down on them (40 bucks); you can't beat that.

    I give you two thumbs up for DashCam Pro.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 16, 2017

      The Boss

      I just bought one at Target for $20 on April 16, 2017. There was no battery inside, so I will call Monday and ask the company for one. The swivel mount is cheesy and barely holding in place, and I can fix this with a small rubber grommet. If it loses total power, for example, if there is no battery, you have to reset everything including the time. I assume this is all the battery is good for. The video quality is better than the X-10 devices. HD looks good full screen on my iMac. It's cheap, light and it does what it claims to do. The plastic is not the good kind, but our Florida sun will sort that out. The mount will not attach to any dash surface, and it must be smooth and clean. A drop of cooking oil on the suction cup helps.

      An unexpected plus is that the dashcam connected to my iMac via USB, and my iMac treat the dashcam pro like a card reader, and it sees everything on the card, everything. I can even recover data using this.

      However, the dashcam does not work as a camera when I do this. I love my iMac. If you have a Target store and $20, I'll say go for it. The night vision ability alone is worth the $20. You could do worse, and it works as a security camera using my USB charger for the power, and cable from an old LG phone (use a small plate as a weighted base).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 17, 2017

    No matter how long it's plugged in, the date resets to 1/1/2015. Motion detection mode shuts off all the time, and I have to turn it back on three times a day.

    And as for the Loop Recording? Is that why it always says "SD card full?" How is this loop recording when I have to format it every 14 hours to work? There is no setting for this. Under the brightest head lights and street lights, the video is BLACK. So, it is useless at night. And it does not have that kind of range for driving.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience, don't do it.

    I bought this product in November when I saw it at a store to give my husband for his January 1st birthday. The piece of crap never worked and won't even power up.

    I finally contacted someone through the web page, and I was told that even though I DID NOT buy it online, they would help me. Ends up, nobody will help me. It's past the 30 days on the sale receipt to the store, so they are off the hook, and DashCam themselves offered ZERO WARRANTY and ignored any question I asked the customer service agent (by basically just breathing into the phone for a response). I even went as far as to ask if they were even still on the line. "Yes, I am," he responded, but would not answer any further questions.

    You'd be better off throwing your money out the window then to waste it on the frustration of this purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Happy with my first, not so with my second

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I bought one, and it was a great item, I love it. I have had it for about six months with not problems. I even have a few good video's up on YouTube.

    I then bought a second for my rear window, and it just will not stick to the glass. I clean the glass, I clean the suction cup, I drive off, and after my first corner, it's on the floor recording it rolling around in the car. Next time I tried other suggestions on various boards to get it to stick (dry window, wet suction cup, different non-stick parts of the window) with the same result.

    So far, it's on the floor of my car in the back unplugged. Any suggestions?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I like mine

    I like my DashCam Pro.

    I got it at Walgreens for $19.99 and once I read the directions thoroughly and put the SD card in, the camera works good so far. You get what you pay for, and I really don't want to spend over $100 for a super good one. Tor the price, this one works well enough. The motion detection actually works really well, and really I got it as a theft deterrent more than anything.

    Mine worked great right out of the box, but like anything from China, it's a 50/50 shot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Too expensive

    • In your rearview mirror,
    • Jan 18, 2017

    This is a piece of cheap plastic for $30.00. The video capture is ok, turned off motion detector and it still captures if bumped. You will need a PC with a multi-card reader, since it's an odd sized SD card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great Present!

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2017

    I am a 10-year professional truck driver. I have been wanting a dash camera for my tractor for quite some time and had not gotten around to buying one for various reasons.

    Well to my surprise and pleasure my sister gave me a DashCam Pro for Christmas! I spent a little time with the device and instruction pamphlet, installed it in my truck and after a short time down the road have come to really appreciate and love this item. Set up and operation is fairly simple after reading the instruction booklet and feeling the device out.

    I would recommend the device to anyone wanting an additional layer of insurance!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Paid but never received

    • Newmarket, Ontario,
    • Dec 27, 2016

    Ordered this unit in September and it is now December and still have not received anything from this company but they did not hesitate to take the money from my credit card. My advice to anyone is DO NOT ever order anything from this company, it is all one big RIP OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Can't use DashCam

    We inserted the SD card that came with our DashCam Pro but it keeps telling us there is no SD card in the camera. Have not been able to use the camera yet. Not having a good feeling about my purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 12, 2016

      Mike

      What is in the box is an SD adaptor and not an actual card. That is why the message "no card."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a review for DashCam Pro!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review