About Derma Essence Cream

Derma Essence Cream claims to feature proven skincare technology that can help you look younger in just weeks by decreasing under eye wrinkles, fine lines, and dark circles; increasing collagen production, retaining moisture, and rejuvenating skin cells, without painful injections, expensive lasers, or invasive surgery.

According to the product’s website, Derma Essence works at the cellular level to “eliminate the blood-originating pigments responsible for dark circles and local inflammation around the eye area” using ingredients such as:

  • Glycerin – Claimed to help maintain skin moisture.
  • Ceramides – Claim to hydrate skin and reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Phytoceramide Cream – A “powerful” antioxidant that’s claimed to prevent free radical damage and to boost collagen production.
  • Hyaluronic Acid – Claimed to bind to moisture and plump skin.

Some claim that your eyes are the windows to your soul, but they’re also a dead giveaway as to your age. But can you realistically expect Derma Essence to help reduce the signs of under eye aging, or is it a waste of your money? Consider the following:

The Rise of Trial-Based Anti-Aging Products

First and foremost, there has been a rapid increase in the number of online-only anti-aging products sold exclusively through free trials, which is something we covered in-depth in our article titled Exposing the Widespread Scam of Anti-Aging Products & Free Trials.

While you can read the full article to gain a better understanding of the situation, for the most part, these products often make huge claims without providing any evidence to back them up, are generally of poor quality, and leave customers with an expensive product they can’t return.

Granted, this may not be what you’ll experience with Derma Essence, but it’s definitely something you’ll want to consider.

Is Derma Essence Serum Clinically Proven to Work?

According to the Derma Essence website, “skin treated with DermaEssence increased in measureable cell vitality by as much as 75%.” However, the serum’s website doesn’t provide any clinical citations to back up this claim, which leads us to believe that it may just be marketing hype.

A screenshot of Derma Essence Serum websiteThere is no proof provided for these claims on the Derma Essence Serum website.

Can Derma Essence’s Ingredients Provide Anti-Aging Benefits?

But if Derma Essence Cream isn’t clinically proven, what about its ingredients?

According to WebMD, there is insufficient clinical evidence available showing that glycerin or hyaluronic acid can provide any measurable anti-aging benefits when applied topically, outside of moisturization.

Ceramides “are a family of waxy lipid molecules” that “are found in high concentrations within the cell membrane of cells.” From a skincare perspective, ceramides are contained in the epidermis, and are responsible for maintaining moisture. Similarly, phytoceramides are a plant (versus animal)-derived ceramide that provide many of the same moisturization properties.

Interestingly, in order to back up their claims, Derma Essence’s manufacturer references five “studies” for the proprietary compounds Argireline, Lipogard, GluCare S, Pentavitin, and Trylagen PCB, which are not listed as ingredients anywhere on the product’s website. With this said, these are only promotional materials from each manufacturer, and provide no third-party verification of their claims.

Ultimately, this means that the primary benefit provided by Derma Essence Cream appears to be related to moisturization. As such, unless your skin is excessively dry, the ingredients contain in the serum almost certainly won’t provide the dramatic effects claimed by the manufacturer.

What Are Derma Essence Serum’s Customers Saying?

Derma Essence is a trial-based anti-aging product that’s only sold through independent affiliates. And for each sale of the Serum these affiliates refer, they earn a commission. Because of this, these affiliates will often resort to less-than-stellar marketing tactics such as posting fake review websites (this is one of them) that just want to trick you into buying through their marketing hype.

Outside of these, there weren’t any legitimate online customer reviews available at the time of our research. However, HighYa readers have rated similar trial-based anti-aging products very low, such as DermAktive, Nuvie Skin Care, and AbsoluteDerma, with common complaints citing high price (more about this next), failure to work, and difficulty cancelling trials/obtaining refunds.

From a company perspective, Derma Essence is manufactured by Perfect Natural Skin based out of Salt Lake City, UT, although they are not listed with the Better Business Bureau and there isn’t any additional information about them online.

Derma Essence Pricing & Refund Policy

Derma Essence Serum is only available through a 14-day trial for $3.95, for which you’ll receive a full 30-day supply of the product.

Then, after your trial has expired, you’ll be billed $84.75 for the full price of the product, and will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of the cream once per month, and your credit card will be billed $84.75 plus $3.95 S&H each time.

Important note: In our experience, free trials are intended to get ahold of your credit card number, while autoship programs are intended to make sure you keep paying month after month. Because of this, we generally recommend avoiding products sold only through these methods.

Once the trial has passed, no refunds are available on the original shipment. However, all subsequent shipments come with a 14-day refund policy, less S&H charges and a 15% restocking fee, although all returned items must be unused and in original packaging.

In order to cancel your trial, request a refund, or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-920-2813 for an RMA.

Will Derma Essence Serum Reduce Signs of Under Eye Aging?

Chopping to the point: Considering the lack of clinical evidence for the product and its ingredients, as well as the fact that it’s only sold through a free trial and subsequent autoship program, it’s our opinion that Derma Essence’s very high price is far out of line with any benefits you can expect to achieve from using it.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

85 Customer Reviews for Derma Essence Cream

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 84
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 85
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    These people should be in jail!

    My husband took one of those surveys and ordered this for me (trying to be a good husband). Next thing you know, less than ten days later more is delivered, then some other kind of cream was sent. Then the credit card bill came, and it was over $180.00. There was no one to call, or there was no answer. I disputed with the card company and had to cancel the credit card. Worst of all, the stuff is garbage. Can I give it a rating of -1 star?

    Perhaps I'd recommend it to my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Company scams customers

    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 8, 2017

    My wife ordered this product for $5 a month through a website that offered it with another product she bought. Today she checked our bank account and found out they have been taking $96 dollars a month from our bank account. At the time of purchase, no such price increase was posted. We received no email, text or phone call or notice with the $5 shipments of any price increase.

    Customer service hung up three times when trying to address this issue. The company only offered 50% off for one month to resolve the conflict. A class action suit should be brought against Derma Essence. They are a scam and are stealing from customers. As you can also tell by the reviews, their product is horrible and is a rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Ann Arbor, Michigan,
    • Apr 30, 2017

    This product is garbage. There is no indication that there would be a reoccurring charge whatsoever. I was billed $89 and called the company asking if I could return and get a refund. I was told it is their policy to only return 35% of the price. I have now begun a formal dispute of the charges with my bank, but there is a 14-day waiting period before they even begin this. I looked hard to see if this was one of those sites that would bill and send more product, but there was nothing that said that on their website. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Thieves. Do not buy.

    • Chattanooga, TN,
    • Apr 14, 2017

    I too ordered a sample of the aging cream and eye serum. I was to be charged only for shipping ($4.95 and $1.99). Once I received the samples, I immediately called the toll free number and told the operator to cancel any future shipments of the product.

    Since I made the call and was assured by the operator that I would not receive any future product, I put the transaction out of my mind. Later that same month, I received two boxes of product. Again I called and was told it was a mistake. The operator told me to keep the boxes as a gift for any inconvenience. I never opened the boxes. The next month I again received merchandise. This went on for three months.

    Today, I called our bank to inquire as to why a transaction was denied on the card I used for the original sample of Derma Essence. Long story short, I am out $1,100.00! They kept charging my card for shipments that I never authorized. These shipments came from four different addresses with four different company names (all the company names are related). I never received 1/2 of the merchandise that I was charged for. I do have the other 1/2 still in the boxes they were mailed in. I never opened the boxes. They were set aside waiting for a solution so I could return them all.

    Today I also opened a case with my bank for fraudulent unauthorized charges. I was advised to call the phone numbers that were listed on all the transactions and try to "get the ball rolling" in order to give the company a chance to return my funds. I did just that, the first number I called was 877-882-9052 listed on my statement from the bank as "PL FACECREAM."

    The number was answered by a recording "you have reached customer care" then a woman comes on and asks my zip code. I explained the issue to this woman "Anita." I was told she could issue me a 30% refund and credit my account right away. I declined, stating I would like the total amount that was taken from my account. I told her I spoke to my bank and opened a case against these charges. She advised me not to work with my bank! She stated that the banks will always decline to help and I will not receive any of the money working with them. I chuckled a bit; she then asked if I would accept a 50% of the total amount. I declined, stating that I would like all of the funds they charged my account without my authorization. I asked to speak to a supervisor; I was told they didn't have those there. She put me on hold, returned and said if I returned all of the merchandise that I was charged for then they would issue a refund. Well now, how can I return something I never received? I told her I did not receive 1/2 of what I was charged for. The women once again gave me an offer of a 50% refund, or I could return everything I was charged for. Again I stated that I did not receive all of what I was charged for. She said she could not help me and hung up the phone!

    Do yourself a favor and stay clear of the following companies. These are all related and have made fraudulent charges on my credit card. Derm Essence Beauty (2021 N Slappy Blvd #219 Albany, GA 31701), Dermasoft (PO Box 25380 Santa Ana, CA 92799-5380), Beauty (2021 N Slappy Blvd #219 Albany, GA 31701), and Pure Cell (PO Box 25380 Santa Ana, CA 92799-5380).

    The phone numbers associated with the charges to my account are: 877-882-9052 PLFACECREAM, 888-861-1320 Lux Uries Serum, 888-303-6285 Useskinserum, 888-600-7451 Clarantingin.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Too much

    I only wanted to try it as a trail. They sent me too much, and I can't figure out how to cancel it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Lake Stevens, WA,
    • Feb 24, 2017

    The product does not work, and it is $93 for a 10-oz bottle of you do not opt out before 14 days is over. Take the time to read all the small print no matter how annoying it is. This product is a joke, and they will not give you a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Derma Essence rip-off, don't buy

    • Bloomington, IN,
    • Feb 22, 2017

    This review is about Derma Essence (aka SKINSERUM8778559902 877-8559902, aka FLFACECREM8554805023_ 855-480-5023 FL skincarenewoffer.com/offers/v6f/?AFID=600080&SID=6550&C1=).

    On December 11, 2016, I ordered samples of Derma Essence Skin serum and face cream, supposedly for shipping and handling fees only. When the product came, it looked like something from the Dollar Store, so I called the company and told them I did not want this product and where to send it back to. I told them I didn't want it anymore and to cancel and I would return the product.

    Next thing I know, I get FOUR charges on my credit card dated December 26 and 27, 2016, $93.89 twice and $94.95 twice and January 11 and 12, 2017. I called after I received my credit card statement and asked about the charges since I'd called and cancelled.

    I am out over $400 for crap I sent back. They gave me a return number and told me to not open the package (charged on 12/24/17) and I did not, and I returned it with the numbers written all over the package. I also send the used products back, as I was told to do. They told me in my call on January 18th that I would get a refund in two weeks. Well, it is now February 21, 2017, and I have no refund.

    I called the company again, and they say they did not receive my two packages (which were mailed on January 19, 2017). I have a case open with the USPO and with my credit card company. Do not buy from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Florida,
    • Jan 25, 2017

    This is a very bad way to do business.

    They offer a 30-day free trial, and 15 days later, they charged my account with a recurring charge. I did uncheck all the options when I was ordering and still got the charges. I called customer service to ask for a refund, and the person on the phone (after canceling the subscription that I did not agree with) hung up on me.

    Very rude. I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jan 24, 2017

    I received an email saying it was from the Amazon Marketing Team and that they were doing a survey to Virginia Customers for marketing purposes, and if you answer a quick survey, you'll receive a free gift. You only have to pay for shipping.

    I received the three products today, although I only requested the Derma Essence Anti-aging Cream. After reading reviews, I see where they continue to ship products and bill you for $94. NOWHERE did the survey say anything at all about receiving further shipments, so I called the number on their website, and it was disconnected.

    Then I got the company's number from my credit card statement. I called, and a very pushy woman was trying very hard to not let me get a word in and said that yes, shipments will keep coming, but everyone that orders love the product. I adamantly stated that I want no other shipments, this wasn't stated anywhere on the trial order. I said I could send the trial back and have my credit card refunded. She said no, she would go ahead and put in a cancellation for further orders. She didn't want an answer or hear anything else I had to say, and abruptly said that my order was canceled and hung up.

    I will be checking my credit card to make certain I am not billed. Not happy at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Maryland,
    • Jan 23, 2017

    I did the trial with the Derm Essence Anti-Aging Cream and Nu Beauty Anti-Wrinkle Eye Serum.

    Went I did the automated cancellation, it gave me an RMA # and directions on returning the product. I assumed it was for the whole order since I have one order # for both, not for each particular product. I was supposed to have called two times and do two different cancellations, or if I had talked to their Customer Service Department, they would have canceled both at the same time.

    I got charged for one of the items. I have filed a dispute with the credit card company, but I can't see where it specifically says in their Terms and Agreements that I needed two different RMA #s.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Derma Essence is a SCAM outfit and should be indicted and imprisoned for false and misleading marketing!

    • Helper, Utah,
    • Jan 21, 2017

    My 16-year old niece bought this product online thinking that she would get a free trial sample by only paying the $4.95 shipping fee. After she had ordered the product, my credit card was charged $94.95 and $93.89 respectively, and the same charges were repeated two weeks later.

    The product was returned to Derma Essence, and we asked for a refund, but they refused to issue one. This company should be put out of business and the operators should be indicted and imprisoned for FRAUD! They have literally stolen $377.68 from us.

    DO NOT do business with Derma Essence! This is a SCAM company. I will be reporting them to the Attorney General of Georgia (being that they are in Albany, GA).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 9, 2017

      Angela

      The exact thing happened to me as well! They should be put out of business for false advertising!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 85

Write a Review for Derma Essence Cream!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review