About Dessert Bullet

Manufactured by Homeland Housewares, LLC based out of Los Angeles, CA, the Dessert Bullet is a countertop kitchen appliance that claims to help you create more than 100 all-natural, ice cream-based desserts from common fruits. By using healthy ingredients, you’ll be able to cut out all the fats, sugars, calories, and artificial ingredients from your ice cream, and to help you and your family eat healthier.

As a company, Homeland Housewares also manufactures the Magic Bullet and NutriBullet, and holds and A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 18 closed complaints within the past three years. Online reviews about the Dessert Bullet appear to be mostly positive, though the most common complaints reference its high price compared to the competition, as well as its loud noise.

How the Dessert Bullet Works

The Dessert Bullet bills itself as “The 10-Second Healthy Dessert Maker,” though it’s important to note that all ingredients (primarily bananas) need to be thoroughly pre-frozen prior to use. Because the product is mainly intended to be used with whole fruits, it’s able to addresses nearly all dietary needs, including lactose intolerance, vegan, gluten-free, and/or diabetic individuals. However, just like any other food device, the end product is only as healthy as the ingredients you choose to use.

Once your ingredients are sufficiently frozen, the Dessert Bullet claims to help you make all-natural desserts in three simple steps:

  1. Plug in your Dessert Bullet, and place it on a flat, sturdy surface.
  2. Add the ingredients you’d like to include in your dessert.
  3. Place a container below the Dispenser Cap, which will catch your dessert in “seconds.”

After you’re finished making your ice cream, the Dessert Bullet is easy to clean, and all parts are dishwasher safe, with the exception of the power base.

Dessert Bullet Pricing & Refund Policy

If you purchase your Dessert Bullet directly through the company, it’s currently priced at 4 payments of $19.99 (total of $79.96), plus free shipping and handling. Despite the fact that the Dessert Bullet website claims it is not available in stores, it can also be purchased through traditional retailers such as Bed Bath & Beyond, Amazon, Kohls, Macys, and more for as little as $60 – and you won’t have to pay for return shipping. Along with the device itself, your Dessert Bullet will also include a “Naturally Delicious” recipe book as a “free” bonus that features more than 100 desserts.

Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

All Dessert Bullets comes with a 30-day money back guarantee that covers the purchase price, but you’ll be responsible for return shipping. However, keep in mind that you’ll first need to call customer service at 1-855-969-3377 to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, which will need to be displayed on a return label on the outside of your package. Once the company receives the package, a refund will be processed within two weeks of receipt.

Your Dessert Bullet will also come with a one-year warranty for “defects in materials and workmanship,” but this does not cover normal wear and tear.

Pros

  • Ability to make desserts that are free of sugar, high calories, and artificial ingredients.
  • Claims to be easy to clean, and is dishwasher safe (except for the base station).
  • Free “Naturally Delicious” recipe book that includes more than 100 delicious recipes.

Cons

  • Uses bananas as the base ingredient for nearly all recipes, so if you’re not fond of bananas, the Dessert Bullet probably isn’t for you.
  • Most complaints include that the Dessert Bullet is very loud and relatively expensive.
  • Warranty does not cover normal wear and tear.

20 Customer Reviews for Dessert Bullet

Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 2
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    What's not to like?

    • by Lynn,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jan 15, 2015

    I just used my dessert bullet for the first time and loved it. So easy to use. Noise? What noise? It's a machine for heaven's sake. The "vanilla ice cream" was heavenly. Perfect consistency. Great flavor and a very close stand-in for "real" vanilla ice cream. (If I had kids, they'd never eat ice cream - they'd eat dessert bullet creations!) Looking so forward to trying more recipes and making up some of my own. With NO guilt about calories, sugar or fat. A great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awesome!

    • by Donn Rankin,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Sep 20, 2014

    We bought ours at dirt cheap. It had been a returned product. I took it out of the box and took it apart and cleaned it. Very easy to clean thoroughly. We had already had cut up bananas and froze them the night before. We added some chocolate syrup, carefully, and put some banana pieces in the top and turned on. WOW is all I can say. This is awesome. We paid $32.00 plus tax and it is worth it. We went back and bought 2 more as gifts. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful Product

    • by Darlene Naylor,
    • Mount Vernon, Washington,
    • Aug 29, 2014

    I purchased my Dessert Bullet from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $39.00. The cost was $49.00 & I used a coupon & that brought it down to $39.00. Such a deal compared to everyplace else! My granddaughter & I couldn't wait for the bananas to freeze. So far I've made three different kinds & loved them all. My reason for getting this is I'm on a low calorie & low fat eating program. I am getting so many more fruits into my diet & a wide variety of them. I also use sweet & low if the fruit is of a tart variety. I put it in with the 1/4 tsp. of vanilla to coat the spinner. Oh by the way it is so easy to clean! I have no problem with it. I don't understand why anyone would want to put it in a dishwasher. This is truly a fantastic machine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's Fabulous

    • by Candice Swick,
    • Chester Springs, PA,
    • Jul 20, 2014

    I love making healthy dessert with my dessert bullet. I am still trying the different recipes, but so far so good. I'm going to the store to buy some more ingredients like cacao powder and cacao bits. I'm excited for the mint chocolate chip. I've tried the berry recipes and as long as you follow the thawing time for the frozen fruits the dessert will be creamy. Enjoy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • by Debby,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 2, 2014

    Bought at Bed Bath & Beyond with 20% off coupon so price wasn't an issue. That is meaningless though since product not good. Wasn't as creamy as they make it look and lots of parts to clean including part of the base that can't go in dishwasher or sink.

    The taste of the dessert was fine which I will give them one star for. But this is too much trouble and work to get that small amount of dessert.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Completely worthless, the commercial is so phony

    • by Adam,
    • Severn MD,
    • May 16, 2014

    No matter what you put in it, it just tastes so bitter and the inconvenience of having to have all of your ingredients frozen is just horrible. THE WORST PART: in the commercial they show them putting stuff straight in bit, in reality to get the right consistency you have to put in the ingredients so oddly because if I wanted to put a banana and peanut butter in it I would put a banana in then peanut butter. But if you do that then it comes out straight banana then gritty peanut butter. It is the worst product I've ever seen period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    First time user

    • by Marilyn,
    • Edmonton, Canada,
    • May 7, 2014

    I used the Magic Dessert Bullet last night! I followed all of the directions and had no problems with this machine. I love the taste of the frozen dessert, and will not purchase ice cream again! Can't wait to try the different favorites. I also cant wait until the grandkids come over so I can make them a bowl. :)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable Customer Service

    • by Annie,
    • Vancouver, BC,
    • Apr 24, 2014

    I ordered dessert bullet through phone when I watched their program on tv but few days later, I phoned again to cancel the order because of financial constraints. The representative reassured me that the order was cancelled but after two days, they shipped the item and therefore I had to pay for it.

    I phoned again and asked for a discount since the mistake was on their part but I was threatened to be subject for collection if I will not pay.

    What a way to do business! So frustrated! The product is not even good!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    good for allergic kids

    • by RM,
    • Virginia,
    • Apr 14, 2014

    I have 2 small kids (2 and 4 yo) 1 cant have eggs and neither can have dairy. This is perfect for us! They like the banana based options but prefer berry and coconut milk based ones more. We have fun making new creations nearly daily and i don't mind as i get to sneak in lots of fruit. Clean up is easy with a bottle brush, the worse part is waiting for the frozen items to partially thaw to get a smoother consistency.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not very good

    • by OnyxRissen,
    • USA,
    • Apr 2, 2014

    Me and my mom were ecstatic when we finally received our dessert bullet. After gathering all the ingredients we needed to make a few choice recipes, we waited a while for the bananas to freeze, unthaw, and then began our work. At first we tried vanilla. It seemed simple enough, but it turned out horrible! It was almost entirely liquid and it didn't taste like vanilla at all. We gave it another chance, thinking we had simple added too many bananas or something the first time. This round we tried Mint Chocolate Chip, which has always been our favorite ice cream. It turned out HORRIBLE again. We put in the exact amount of ingredients and it still tasted awful. We're definitely returning the dessert bullet as soon as possible and are very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 12, 2014

      Paul

      How do you expect the dessert to taste like vanilla when you're using bananas? It will taste like bananas.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    AWESOME DESSERT

    • by Alex Nurk,
    • Washington, DC,
    • Apr 1, 2014

    My wife came home one day with this machine when she came back from Bed Bath and Beyond. We recently just moved into our new house and the first time we tried this we were literally eating our dessert after every meal. The cleaning is not a big hassle and the noise isn't that bad. It's worth the money in my opinion. It's quick, delicious, and fun to create new recipes. We love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a review for Dessert Bullet!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review