About Dollar Photo Club

If you’ve ever wished for a flat-rate stock image website, it may have been granted by the Dollar Photo Club. This new company claims to provide access to more than 25 million high-resolution images and vectors, from very small to very large, for only $1 apiece. What’s more, all Dollar Photo Club images include a royalty-free license, so you pay one flat rate, regardless of how it will be used.

But does Dollar Photo Club really live up to expectations? Let’s zoom in and see what the facts have to say.

Quick Details About the Dollar Photo Club

Billing itself as “a dedicated image bank exclusively for creative professionals,” Dollar Photo Club is a new website that claims to feature more than 25 million stock photos—much of it exclusive content curated by Fotolia—that can be downloaded for just $1 each. On top of this, Dollar Photo Club claims to add 100,000 new professional-quality images each week, although we encountered some confusion about this during our research, which we’ll discuss in the Bottom Line section.

Another feature heavily promoted by Dollar Photo Club is that your $1 payment includes a license to use their images royalty free, and that they can be used for most commercial or non-commercial projects. The main underlying guideline is that the value of the images cannot be the main value of the overall project (e.g. you can’t resell them).

Dollar Photo Club images are featured in popular categories such as architecture, people, landscapes, transportation, sports and leisure, and much more, which can be downloaded in a 3-step process:

  1. Find an image you’re interested in. To do this, you can enter a term in the search box at the top of each page, browse individual categories, or browse seasonal/featured galleries.
  2. If you find an image you’d like to download, click on it and you’ll be redirected to the image details page.
  3. Click the Download Box button.

Dollar Photo Club Pricing & Refund Policy

Dollar Photo Club VIP memberships do not entail any hidden fees or commitments, and are priced as follows:

  • Monthly ($10) – Provides access to a minimum of 10 image downloads per month.
  • Annual ($99) – Provides access to a minimum of 99 image downloads per year.

Whichever option you choose, your membership will include everlasting downloads, which means there are no daily download limits, and no limitations on time, region, or print runs. However, keep in mind that the company has a limited membership policy, and you’ll have to be formally approved by the Dollar Photo Club Review Committee in order to start downloading images.

If you cancel your membership midterm, it will continue until your monthly or yearly anniversary is reached, at which point your access to Dollar Photo Club will be removed. However, if you still have remaining credits, your account will be placed into a “limited” status, which still gives you access to pending downloads.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Dollar Photo Club?

Dollar Photo Club is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, although their parent company Fotolia holds a B rating, based on just four closed complaints over the past three years.

Outside of the BBB, we learned that Dollar Photo Club was recently launched in January 2014, and except for their affiliation with Fotolia (more detail in the following section), we did not uncover any complaints during our research.

What’s the Bottom Line About the Dollar Photo Club?

So, should you use Dollar Photo Club? The answer: it wholly depends what you’re planning on using the site for. Why? Let’s take a look.

From a consumer standpoint, it seems like there is a lot to gain by downloading images from Dollar Photo Club. As their name implies, you’re only paying $1 per download, but the real kicker is that you’ll also receive a great deal of creative license for this low price, as there are no royalties and you can use the images just about anywhere.

On the other hand, the membership process is fairly cumbersome, and the Dollar Photo Club website doesn’t provide many details about what their Review Committee is looking for in a membership applicant. Also, there is some confusion about how many images the website uploads, as the Home page claims that 100,000 new images are added every week, while the About Us page claims it’s 100,000 per day.

From a contributor (e.g. independent photographers who upload their photos and earn royalties from ever sale) standpoint, we encountered an overwhelming amount of negativity during our research. This negativity primary stems from the fact that Dollar Photo Club is a sub-company of Fotolia, which holds a very bad reputation among independent photographers. Why? We read accusations of very low royalties, copyright issues, questionable licensing policies, and accounts that were blocked without reason or explanation—many of which contained hundreds of dollars.

Because of Fotolia’s poor reputation with independent photographers, and the fact that it appears the company is just shifting these photos over to Dollar Photo Club, there has been a huge amount of uproar online. As a reaction to this, many contributors have started removing their images from Fotolia—and therefore from Dollar Photo Club—en masse. In fact, according to this site, the number of images on Fotolia dropped by more than 432,000 between April 25 and May 2, 2014.

So what’s the bottom line with Fotolia? If you’re an independent photographer looking to earn royalties from your photos, you might want to search around for similar sites that have a better industry reputation. However, if you’re a consumer looking for the least expensive stock photos online, Dollar Photo Club may be a good option; if you don’t mind the fact that the photographers who took them will only earn pennies from the sale, that is. 

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Customer Reviews for Dollar Photo Club

Average Customer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 5
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Was good for a few months.

    I had no issues with the company. I gladly paid the 10 bucks a month and use the images for mock ups for websites and additions to video graphics, etc. I logged in last week to see 50 downloads were missing. After inquiring they said that I bought an EXTENDED license for one of the photos.

    I never did, nor do I have the need for that. I would of never used Dollar Photo Club, I would of called one of my photographer friends for a legit photo and paid them.

    After going back and forth they have refused to give me a refund saying "They send the money to the artist straight away," which is a lie, that would make NO sense in that kind of system.

    Really disappointed, because now they will not answer me other than saying I need to read their terms of agreement. I am filing with the BBB and other organizations now. Just a pain for 50 bucks, but I am not happy how they handled this either.

    I believe Adobe bought the company so I might go to them and complain as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Convenient and Reliable

    • Texas, USA,
    • Oct 11, 2015

    I have been using this service for a year and a half. I purchased the annual subscription and then re-subscribed without a lapse. The upside: items cost one dollar every time. No confusing volume discount hurdles. My unused credits rolled over when I re-subscribed, so the second year started with 104 credits instead of 99. Digital files have been very reliable; have never had a corrupted file. One time I accidentally clicked the buy button twice and I ended up getting two download links for the 8 files I selected, one right after the other, but I was only charged once. Didn't have to ask for assistance with that.

    Their search filters are easy to use, and items have links to "search for similar" and "same model" which helps a lot when I am not sure what I am looking for or if I want a specific distinctive look. They also have lots of keywords and the metadata for each item is easy to locate. The low-res spec downloads are decent quality for mock-ups, have never had a problem with them either.

    The only downside (and this is really minor) is that once you download your purchase, the link eventually expires, so open and test your purchase immediately and don't lose your download! As for the reviewers who are complaining about having to attribute the images, they are very unprofessional if they are not attributing images they did not originate. Copyright is not voided by you having a limited license. Royalty-free does not mean responsibility-free. "Credit where its due" is not negated by you paying your little dollar for someone else's art.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Dollar Photo Is Real and Great!

    • Utah,
    • Oct 5, 2015

    So I read the reviews on here and the 1 star reviews seem pretty fake or else I have never encountered a problem. First of all, I was with Dollar Photo Club when they first started and we got an invitation because we bought solely on Fotolia.

    Secondly, we have had 6 incidents where we emailed customer service and had a response typically in 24 hours but if it was the weekend it was 48-72 hours.

    Next, we have never had a copyright issue. You can buy a extended license to sell products with the image for $50 which is standard compared to Envato's Graphic River website.

    If you look at Dollar Photo Club you can see you have to apply and enrollments are now closed the last time I checked. If photographers do not want to get paid pennies on the dollar then they do not need to submit their work to Dollar Photo Club. I spend $30 - $100 a month on photos here though and typically I buy form the same artist and I guarantee that if they were not sold for $1 the artist would not be selling as much from me so they are making more then nothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love the site

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Totally new to the blogging world and needed images. Came across Dollar Photo Club and their site listed for photos for free. At end of registering, they requested my credit card. I skipped out of the site. They sent emails everyday from a "review committee" which I thought was a farce but desperate for photos. After emailing daily, on day 10, I was informed I have would lose my opportunity. I saw the first 10 were free and each additional was $10, so I gave my credit card.

    The photos there are exactly what I need and at the cheapest price, it is well worth paying $1. I have exceeded the 10 free ones, had to purchase more and I am more than satisfied with the quality of images & the service. I absolutely love this site and have already referred a web designer friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Mostly images are corrupted

    • Jul 7, 2015

    We did a year subscription a few months ago. Most of the images purchased are corrupted! There is no support and we have spent 30% of our credits to try to purchase the same image!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 7, 2014

      Jared

      My guess would be that you simply don't have a program for the file type you are downloading. Try IrfanView to convert the files. I've never had this issue with them. I had a few that were a strange flash format, but internet explorer was easily able to re-save as a png file.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    So far so excellent

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I wrote a review a few days ago but it has not been posted. This company is working very well for me and I have been able to find all the images I need for a very reasonable price. It's much cheaper than IStock and I certainly don't pay for credits that expire and I cannot use them. I will be saving a lot of money using this new site. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2014

      Chris

      Liar.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 28 people found this review helpful

    This site is a scam.

    • Jun 30, 2015

    Dollar Photo Club does indeed have photos at a cheap price, but try canceling your account. Mine was canceled five months ago, and they are suddenly charging me a full membership every day.

    They don't respond to emails at all, so I'm left to dispute the transaction with my card company and file complaints with the BBB. Use at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I think you're missing the point

    • NYC,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I think you're missing the point on this one. You CANNOT use the images just about anywhere you want, in any way you want. You are required to provide attribution for any and all images you download on the site if used on social media or a blog.

    The image can be used on a "website" in the header, to advertise a product, in a flyer, etc. But you must provide attribution the moment it is posted on a blog post.

    Want to get some clarification? GOOD LUCK. For example, I asked what happens if I create a digital flyer for a client who is using it to promote a product or service. Well that's okay. And I knew that.

    What if the flyer is posted on a website PAGE? Still okay. A blog post? Well, you better provide attribution. Share the page on a social media site? Technically you'd better provide attribution. See the ridiculousness in all this? I think I made the poor fellow's head explode by asking this questions. And its because THEY don't even really understand their own ridiculous policy.

    So I asked, how do you enforce this? How do you know if I purchased the image from you or BigStock or iStock or any number of other stock photo sites who may very well have a different Terms of Use policy. Again, crickets on the other end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great!

    • UK,
    • Jun 3, 2015

    Paid a one year subscription and got exactly what I paid for! Great image choice, high resolution, very open license terms and very inexpensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great Site, No Problems, Great Customer Support

    • Arizona,
    • Apr 14, 2015

    I've been using this company for well over a year so whoever said it started in January 2015 is incorrect. The photos are good, I can always find what I want in the quality I expect, and have never been charged more than what I signed up for. Sign up was easy, they did no research on my company that I am aware of and I personally wouldn't go anywhere else for photos. Good Job Dollar Photo Club! We're VERY happy with your service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! DO NOT USE.

    • Feb 2, 2015

    Signed up for a $10 monthly membership and they charged me $99 for a VIP membership. No customer service. Had to cancel card and report as fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a review for Dollar Photo Club!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review