About DoorBot

DoorBot is essentially a standalone doorbell unit that also contains a camera, microphone and speaker encased in a single unit. It works with an app that you download onto your smartphone or tablet to allow you to see and communicate with anyone who rings the doorbell on DoorBot. The product website claims that even if you are thousands of miles away from your home, you can still communicate with the person on your doorstep, as DoorBot works through your home’s wifi network. It essentially turns your doorbell into a mini video-intercom system that works regardless of where you are.

Invented by James Siminoff, who has started and sold several tech companies already, DoorBot has been featured on the ABC TV show Shark Tank, attracting the attention of investors on the show. On the DoorBot website, Siminoff says he invented the device after he missed an important package delivery because he could not hear the doorbell in his workspace. A KickStarter campaign and TV appearance later and the DoorBot company, based in Santa Monica, CA, was created to manufacture and sell the product.

How DoorBot Works

DoorBot is a standalone doorbell with a camera, microphone and speaker that streams video over your wireless internet connection. When somebody comes to your door and presses the doorbell, it activates the camera and alerts you on your smartphone or tablet. You then log into the DoorBot app on your Android or Apple device and it shows you what the camera is seeing and allows you to communicate with the person. DoorBot is capable of alerting multiple devices at once and you can also have multiple DoorBots connected to the same device.

The DoorBot is a single unit device measuring 2.3 inches wide and 5.68 inches tall consisting of a perforated aluminum faceplate mounted on a frame of injection molded high density polymer. It’s easy to mount and comes with its own level and mounting screws, plus a proprietary mounting screw to prevent theft. (If your DoorBot is stolen, it will also be replaced free of charge by the company.) The camera, housed inside a plastic bubble, is also moveable, meaning you can position it to point any direction you want.

As for powering it, you can either hook it up to your home’s electrical system through the wires that ran your old doorbell, or use the rechargeable battery that comes with it, which is good for over 12 months of regular use. 

DoorBot Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

DoorBot sells for $199 per unit and has free shipping within the United States. (International shipping is $20 and will bring the total up to $219.)

It does not come with a money back guarantee, but, as previously mentioned, it will be replaced free of charge if it is stolen.

You can call 1-800-656-1918 if you have questions. The website also has an extensive list of FAQs.

Bottom Line

The promotional video touts DoorBot as being perfect for second homes and vacation properties, as it lets you see who is at the doorstep even when you’re not there. It’s also compatible with Lockitron, another device the company sells. Lockitron can remotely unlock your door at the touch of a button, similar to Kevo. (Lockitron is not included if you order DoorBot.) DoorBot also reportedly records video of visitors who ring the doorbell so if you do happen to miss speaking with someone, you can view the video and see who it was. (This costs extra, however.)

There don’t seem to be any consumer reviews for the product online yet, but review websites tend to give it positive reviews, noting that it especially seems to make sense when paired with a remote door lock device like the Lockitron. One review site said the video and audio tends to lag in an environment where there is a lot of devices depending on the wifi, but that likely wouldn’t happen in a simple home.

The idea behind DoorBot is solid and if it works the way it is supposed to, it seems like it would be highly useful, particularly to those who have a second home to keep an eye on.

54 Customer Reviews for DoorBot

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 51
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam. They sold me a pretty brick.

    • Feb 25, 2015

    Received a set of Doorbot over 2 years ago in March 2013 or there about. Setup was non functional. Writing in for support gave automated replies. I complained on their Facebook page and was was promptly banned and my post deleted. In October 2014 I finally received a reply that my issue should be fixed by means of a server to handle Doorbot registration.

    November 2014 - I was finally able to register and initialize my Doorbot, just to find that the most basic functionality of voice communication over the Doorbot was non functional. Wrote in and no replies yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ring Scam starting with a dysfunctional CEO

    • Texas,
    • Jan 12, 2015

    To write my experience here would be redundant with others listed here. Except, I never received the two devices I ordered. Instead I received empty promises of ship dates with no notification of status. Upon enquiry I would receive a new ship date promise with no delivery, and so on.

    After writing a couple of times I had a similar exchange with "Jamie" the Chief Inventor i.e., confusing responses with deflected blame including "check you spam filter" (for shipping updates). What?

    I'm a bit embarrassed I fell for this one as I frequently order new tech and understand the challenges often associated. Unfortunately, this was more about a clueless company/leader then a poor product.

    Hopefully I'll be refunded without having to ratchet it up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    DoorBot has morphed into Ring

    • Dublin, Ireland,
    • Nov 23, 2014

    I was an early adopter for DoorBot. I was lucky to get it to work. I had to install a WiFi access point near it. It never really worked that well and stopped working completely a couple of months ago. The DoorBot people told me all would be resolved with the Ring App. It isn't. I installed it on both Android and iPhone, it triggers with no picture or audio. I don't think I will be trying their new kit until the current issues are resolved.

    PS: I can't contact them with my new gripes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Customer Service

    • Canada,
    • Nov 5, 2014

    I have problem with DoorBot can't connect with WiFi, and the customer service can't help me. Instead of replacing it they make me wait trying to fix the software until today (2 weeks).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Digital snake oil

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Oct 7, 2014

    In my experience and opinion, the CEO of DoorBot is a con artist. Plain and simple, he will take your money. He will provide you with a product that doesn't work (my two units were dead after month). He will refuse to refund your DoorBot. He will replace the units with more broken units that don't function as advertised.

    Doorbot is nothing more than digital snake oil. DoorBot has rebranded as Ring. Shiny new packaging, but who knows if it works. The Chief Inventor claims the company has learned a lot with version 2. Yet he isn't doing anything to appease people with defective first-generation units, aside from offering a discount.

    Stay away. Unless you like being robbed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    CEO doesn't care

    • Belgium,
    • Oct 5, 2014

    I received a few days ago an invitation to buy DoorBot's new product "ring".

    The email was signed by the CEO James Siminoff , calling himself Jamie, and in a nutshell they apologizing for previous failed product DoorBot and are explaining the reason of rebranding their company. In the email they offered me, as an early adopter, to buy there new product for 99$ instead of 199$.

    While I respect the technology, the solution and the concept I was willing to consider this. If ring is so much better as DoorBot, for 99$, why not! What happened was a very frustrating ordering process as I was unable to place my order due to bugs in the ring website. The biggest problem was not only the bug in the website that would not allow me to place an order for Belgium but the support system that kept dropping and people that were not willing to help me nor contacting me back.

    Frustrated, I believed the right approach was to send a friendly message to James (Jamie for the friends), to make him aware of this and asking him, the man who believes in his product, to the rescue. The email you can read below.

    Clearly the response of Mr. Siminoff was not what I expected and so again he shows that he is willing to shove the ring through peoples throat while not caring about his customers. Good luck ring.com

    Here's the email conversation:

    On Sep 30, 2014, at 1:07 PM

    Dear Mr Siminoff, 

    I hope this email finds you well and that you personal will take time to read and reply to it.

    Since the beginning of the launch of Doorbot I have been a big fan and followed-up your product and company closely. Why? Because I truly believe in the concept and the spirit behind the product. Doorbot is unique and something we are waiting for.

    You are right saying that Doorbot hasn't been easy. The product has a lot of hick-ups and fails to be the product it should have been. But the past is the past and we all need to move-on and look at the future. And it looks like you and your company is doing that. I am then also very excited to see that you rebranded, and launching a total new product and design keeping the core features of the old one. I thank you for your kind gesture to provide your new product at a discount price which I happily accept.

    Unfortunately I am unable to place an order as I encounter already the first hick-up on the your cart process in the website. When I was about to check-out I had to enter a state which was all USA states while my country was set to Belgium. I made use of your chat support and spoke with August. After a short chat, the chat was interrupted by the system or the support engineer. A second attempt kept dropping the chat system with James. I could not complete my order and be one of your first adopters.

    I truly hope these hick-ups will not reflect in your new product and that you can sort my issue personally out for me. If you can do this for me and your new product is successful I will not only make positive advertising but I will personally send you one of our best beers in the world.

    With kind regards,

    Jamie

     

    On 03 Oct 2014, at 07:04, James wrote:

    It will be good. You will like the ring. Jamie

    On Oct 2, 2014, at 10:41 PM, Jochem wrote: No I will not. Because your order and support system doesn't work! Jochem

    On 03 Oct 2014, at 07:43, James wrote: Ok well we can all have our opinions I guess. Jamie.

    On 03 Oct 2014, at 07:52, Jochem wrote: Well read my email below than you would have understand Jochem

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Looked great and cool hardware, but did NOT deliver at all

    • Oct 1, 2014

    As a early adopter, you expect some reliability issues to be ironed out. But this was the worst, they built a pretty good hardware (externally) but the software was not up to scratch, was unreliable, horrible echo when it worked. and no picture and huge delays other times. There was no support afterwards. Just check out the reviews. They changed the name of the company to ring to disassociate with all the bad press of DoorBot.

    What spurred me to write this was that after the slap in the face with a horrible product. I get a email saying "hey we have a new product, did you want to buy it?!" Talk about adding salt to the wound. Maybe the new product will be better (one hopes) but I will never buy anything from this company again. Not because the product sucked, but they don't deliver on their promise and just simply ignore it and disappear starting a new company with a new name, talk about dodgy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 1, 2014

      Grant

      Totally agree! I found that email insulting to say the least.

      Like nearly everyone else who spent a lot of money on DoorBot, mine has never worked as intended.

      I've never felt so ripped off in my life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Never worked proper

    • The Netherlands,
    • Sep 30, 2014

    It was promising but it never worked properly. When I would contact them, I would receive either a late or no response at all. There was a half screen so you couldn't see who was there. I never installed it because it didn't work. Now they are starting a new line. Ring. All the bad comments are gone about the DoorBot. It's a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tread carefully Great concept that did not work for me

    • Cape Town, South Africa,
    • Sep 30, 2014

    I have just received an email from the Doorbot people announcing the introduction of RING (www.ring.com) at a discounted price which appears to be a replacement for Doorbot. I originally ordered two Doorbots and as far as I can see it is unlikely that RING will work either. The basic problem is the amount of video and audio data that needs to be processed.

    I have an iPhone 5 and I find it hard to believe that the Doorbot ever worked satisfactorily on this device. The time needed to process video data means your visitor will need lots of patience before getting an answer.

    I do not read anything on their site that says how they resolved that problem. So please "tread carefully".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worked at first, but then...

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 22, 2014

    Initial setup required me to update my Android OS: Not a big deal, but wasn't obvious.

    Worked fine for 3 months (my video and sound always worked fine) but afterward, the battery was completely depleted (supposed to last 12+ months).

    Unit appears to be stuck in a repeating "reset/on" state while plugged directly into power. As such, device refuses to recharge.

    Looks like I may have wasted my money here. That's too bad because it worked like a champ for me for 3 months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Too good to be true!

    • Huntington Beach, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2014

    I should have known that this product was too good to be true. The idea is great, but the product is not ready for the market! It took several days to get it downloaded onto my iPad and a couple more days to get the app onto my husband's iPhone due to the fact that the online instructions are skimpy at best. I was able to get help 2 times at Customer Service. So tonight I ring the doorbell and it doesn't notify either of us! Forget about the sound (if the video works); it is non-existent! I intend to return the DoorBot for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a review for DoorBot!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review