About Dorco

Dorco claims to be a leading razor and cartridge distributor that can provide savings of anywhere from 35% to 75% compared to many of the leading market brands. On top of their low price, Dorco claims that their razors and cartridges are technologically advanced and provide superior level of quality.

But is this really the case? Can Dorco really provide you with a good shave using razors that cost significantly less than the competition? Let’s take a closer look.

Quick Details About Dorco

In addition to saving you up to 75% when compared to mainstream manufacturers, Dorco claims to feature a patented common docking system that allows all their handles fit each and every one of their men’s and women’s razors, which allows you to mix and match for the ultimate in customization.

All Dorco handles feature latex-free synthetic rubber, and their cartridges come in 3, 4, and 6-blade options. In fact, the company claims that their Pace 6 Plus is the world’s first six-blade razor (we’ll talk about this again in the Bottom Line section).

Dorco Pricing & Refund Policy

Dorco products range in price, from single products to bundles and sale items, but are generally priced as follows:

  • Razors – $3.50 to $5.95. Disposables range between $2 and $3.50.
  • Cartridge Refills – $4.50 to $34, depending on volume.
  • Bundle packs – $23 to $35

Be sure to check Dorco’s Sale section, which features reduced prices on many of their products. The company provides free Econo shipping for all U.S. orders of $25 or more, and for all Canadian orders $40 or more.

All Dorco sales are final, with the exception of manufacturer’s defects. If one of your razors is defective, you can exchange it within three years by contacting customer support for a free return authorization label.

Dorco razors are also available through a wide variety of third-party retailers (including Amazon.com), although they’re generally not as inexpensive as purchasing directly through the company.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Dorco?

Dorco USA is based out of San Diego, CA, and the main company is headquartered in South Korea. Likely because of this, Dorco is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, and does not have any complaints filed.

Outside of the Better Business Bureau, Dorco products appear to have a mostly positive online reputation, although some of the most common complaints we encountered during our research cited poor shave/product quality, increased after-shave irritation, and varying quality between batches.

What’s the Bottom Line About Dorco?

Can Dorco razors really provide you with a better shave at a much less expensive price? The short answer: maybe.

As with most things in life, you get what you pay for. While most Dorco customers appear to be satisfied with their products, some of the most common complaints we encountered during our research cited poor shave/product quality, increased after-shave irritation, and varying quality between batches. Specifically, the most widespread criticism of Dorco products was a weak mechanism that hooks the cartridges to the handle. As a result, cartridges were no longer able to remain in place, making them essentially worthless.

Also, while it’s interesting that Dorco produced the world’s first 6-blade razor, keep in mind that more blades don’t necessarily translate into a better (or closer) shave.

Finally, if you’re thinking about using a shaving club to obtain you razors, Dorco appears to be the primary razor supplier for Dollar Shave Club, but at inflated prices. In addition, Dorco’s Women’s Soft Touch™ 6 Blade appears to be nearly identical to ShaveMob’s Perfectionist razor, so it might be the case that Dorco is one of their suppliers as well.

Bottom line: At such an inexpensive price and such a high level of popularity, it may be worth the effort to see if Dorco’s razors work for you.

See Also: Dollar Shave Club vs. Harry’s vs. ShaveMOB: Which Men’s Shave Club is Best?

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Dorco

Average Customer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great razor cartridge, poor handle

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used the seven-blade system for about seven months. Yesterday the handle will no longer hold cartridges. I understand these things can happen, but I can't understand customer service's response. It was "Send us the handle then we will send you a new one."

    In the meantime, it is an inconvenience to the customer, plus you are asking us to buy a razor from your competitor. These handles must cost them pennies to make. Do they believe there is a vast criminal conspiracy to cheat them out of a razor handle one customer at a time? Many of us have moved to this type of club as a leap in trust from moving from the traditional razor company. Bad customer service will move many of us back. Take a look at their policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome razors, best price and A++ customer service!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was using Shave Club but looked into where they get their razors from, and it was Dorco. I went to their site, and they had some sale going on, so I ordered one of the mixed pack of razors to try out. The price was unbelievable. I am cheap, and it almost physically pains me to pay retail prices for razors in the store.

    My razors got shipped out quick. They are awesome, I am a female but have always used men's razors because they work better it seems. I love these razors, every one of them, from the three-blade to the six-blade. I get excited and give razors away to people who come over, and they will tell me later how that was the best razor they have ever used and it lasted forever.

    Ok, so I was already really impressed with Dorco but then to my surprise after being a customer for about a year, I get an unexpected padded envelope in the mail from Dorco. They sent me a free razor, a coupon and a handwritten card from the CEO thanking me for my business. Wow! When's the last time that's happened? Never! I am a Dorko customer for life and cannot say enough good things about the company and their superior products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Cartridge release

    I had the six cartridge razor, and after about two cartridges, it would not eject after pushing the button. It required force to remove it. I contacted customer service about the problem three times, and I was ignored. That was done through email. Their customer service has a lot to be desired.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad choice. Pace 7 Combo Set (SVA1000 & SVA1040)

    • Nashua, NH,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a lot of expectations, however, it was disappointing once the product arrived. The shave is not smooth at all. I used Gillette razor before, which used to give a cleaner shave, but this one is too harder. I saw this offer in Slick Deals for $12.99 and I will not recommend this product if you have thoughts to choose a new one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    More than satisfied

    I discovered Dorco while I was living in a home stay situation in Nepal for 5 months. The nearest city was about 12,000 people, and of course they didn't have large selections.

    Dorco was the brand available, so I bought the twin blade version that also fit my Gillette​ handle. I thought the cartridges gave me a shave at least as good as my Gillette twin blade system.

    When I got back home, I found the Dorco home page and bought a package that contained both four and six blade razors, both as disposables and with a separate handle. I remain satisfied, particularly because of the competitive price. The blades are open in the back, so the shaving residue can be flushed out. Dried residues limits the closeness of Gillette systems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My favorite

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Here is the actual email I wrote to my brother 2 years after he told me to buy one:

    Jim, see this line of emails. I am just now buying my second set of blades. So 12 blades went around 2 years. Amazing. Mauri uses it as her primary razor also. This product is far superior to anything else.

    So as you can see, I use it daily, my wife shaves her legs with it (usually the kiss of death for a man's razor) and I have used 12 blades in over 2 years. It is amazing. The only recommendation is the handle. Very well made but a little heavy and becomes slippery when coated with soap or shave cream. Other than that, I absolutely love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Burlington, MA,
    • Jun 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used all Dorco 3, 4, 6 blades for over two years, I will say they are every bit as good as anything Gillette puts out. I can't tell the difference except in cost. They are great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Dorco Gouges Koreans

    • Seoul, South Korea,
    • Feb 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an American living in Korea. I generally like Dorco products, except their handles always, always break. The Pace 6 handles (I've had 3 break in a row), and in Korea, that means I have to spend equivalent $13.00 U.S. for a new handle every time. There is no such thing as "Customer Service" in Korea. Dorco only cares about the US market because that is where the money(biggest market) is. They know Koreans don't have options, so they GOUGE them mercilessly. It's about the same price for Fusion Proglide razors, even with import, etc. There razors are just pennies under Gillettes seriously overpriced razors.

    I read a review where someone paid under $25.00 for 24 Pace 6 razors. In Korea, I would have to mortgage my house to buy 24 razors. I would never do that because the handle breaks every 2 or 3 razor changes. They just fall apart. Basically, Dorco (low price/ great customer service) is a scam. They hurt Koreans because they know they can. I have to laugh when reading reviews of Dorco customer service. Their market behavior in Korea is shameful!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 12 people found this review helpful

    HIGHLY Overrated

    I shaved with the Dorco Pace 6+, and I think that shaving with a cheese grater would have been only slightly more painful. When I finished shaving, I immediately threw the blade cartridge in the garbage. I also bought Dorco Pace 3, Dorco Pace 4, and Dorco Pace 6 razor cartridges, which I will try, but after my experience with the Dorco Pace 6+, I am not optimistic that the other three will be any better.

    I was very disappointed and, frankly, quite surprised at the extremely poor quality of the Dorco razor cartridge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Beyond Impressed

    • Canada,
    • Oct 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to admit being skeptical of these razors before ordering them. I had read some reviews, and had discovered the connection to Dollar Shave Club (which was how I ended up going direct to Dorco). I have been a lifetime Gillette user, having come up through the generations of their shaving systems (sensor, sensor excel, Mach 3, Mach 3 Turbo, Fusion, Fusion pro-glide), and having always been pleased with their performance over the years, and I can admit to being happy, except when it came to the cost of blades. So, after having been a Pro-Glide User for the past few years I just had to try Dorco. I figured it couldn't hurt, the price was so attractive that if I didn't like them it wouldn't pain me too much to throw them away, and I could just return to the land of over-priced Gillette. SO, I ordered a combo pack of the Pace 6+ which got me the handle and 10 blades all for about the same price as 4 blades of the competition. Now here are my findings:

    • Almost as good a shave as the Fusion Pro Glide, about 90% as good a shave, but Dorco ARE sharper and last longer. So, for 1/3 the price I will gladly accept that.
    • The reviews on the trimmer are somewhat valid - it is on a slightly different angle than that of the competition, so requires a little more care and finesse. IT IS SHARP!
    • Blade life is at least DOUBLE that of the competition. I shave whole head and face 6 days a week, and I have never been able to get the kind of blade life out of any of the major brands like I get from my Dorco blades.
    • The handle is subject to a little build up which can make the pivot a little stiff over the course of time. This didn't occur on mine until about the 9 month mark, and I live in a very lime/calcium/hard water spot. Partly my fault for not taking greater care.

    I have re-ordered. I finally worked my way through the first 10 and I bought another handle. I cannot stress how pleased I have been with the experience. I am happy to have found them, and I will honestly continue to use and recommend to everyone. These are the best razors, and not just for the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product/price

    • Melbourne, FL,
    • Jul 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many others, I got frustrated with the cost of razor cartridges. I used a Gillette Sensor for 25 years. No longer being able to easily find cartridges, and not willing to pay $5.00 each to purchase fusion blades, I began looking for an alternative. I tried both Harry's and Dorco, settling on the Dorco Pace 3. I really think any more blades than that is overkill.

    Harry's (5 blades) offered a very smooth shave, great customer service, and a higher end feel to the product, but at $2 each, doesn't offer any savings over Sensor (2 blade) carts online, in addition to a little more irritation, and difficulty to clean given the higher blade count.

    The 3 blade Dorco offers a shave just as close, with minimal to no irritation, and for far less, than anything I have used in recent years. I just received 1-2 years worth of cartridges (26) and a handle for just under $20 on sale for 25% off and couldn't be happier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Dorco!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review