About Dr. Al Sears MD

Dubbing himself “America’s #1 board certified anti-aging pioneer,” Dr. Al Sears MD is a health and wellness practitioner that claims to use natural, holistic remedies and other alternative treatments to help his patients live happier, healthier lives.

Dr. Sears and his practice, the Center for Health and Wellness, are claimed to have helped more than 25,000 patients achieve this, not just through his in-person consultations, but also through an integrated approach that helps provide information you won’t find in mainstream medicine, regardless of your location. This includes monthly e-newsletters, daily email broadcasts, articles posted to his website, Dr. Sears’s more than 15 books and reports on health and wellness, in addition to his Primal Force line of nutritional supplements intended to address weight loss, low testosterone levels, brain health, and many other conditions.

In short, Dr. Al Sears MD claims to be “exposing the flaws of mainstream medicine and pioneering new solutions through innovative approaches to exercise, nutrition and aging.”

Whether you’ve spent a fortune in medical bills only to have your condition worsen, or you’re simply interested in the quickly emerging field of “naturopathic medicine,” you’ve come here to find out if Dr. Al Sears is the real deal, or if you’re just dealing with more quackery. So which is it? Consider the following:

What is Naturopathic Medicine? Is it Legitimate?

According to Naturopathic.org, “Naturopathic medicine is a distinct primary health care profession, emphasizing prevention, treatment, and optimal health through the use of therapeutic methods and substances that encourage individuals’ inherent self-healing process. The practice of naturopathic medicine includes modern and traditional, scientific, and empirical methods.”

While this may sound straightforward and promising, there is a lot of controversy surrounding naturopathic (also known as complementary or alternative) medicine. But why?

As Science-Based Medicine puts it: “Anything that can be portrayed as “natural,” be it traditional Chinese medicine, homeopathy (which is an integral component of naturopathy, something that should tell you all you need to know about naturopathy), herbalism, energy healing, Ayurvedic medicine, the four humors, or whatever. Add to that a number of bogus diagnostic modalities, such as applied kinesiology, live blood cell analysis, iridology, tests for imaginary “food allergies” and “nutrient deficiencies” that conventional medicine doesn’t recognize, plus an overwhelming emphasis on purging the body of “toxins,” unnamed and named but all unvalidated by science, and it rapidly becomes apparent that naturopathy is a veritable cornucopia of pseudoscience and quackery.”

Quackwatch takes it one step further by stating, “Scientific research has identified measurable, causative factors and specific methods of preventing and/or treating hundreds of health problems. Naturopaths have done little more than create glib generalities. [These] theories are simplistic and/or clash with science-based knowledge of body physiology and pathology.”

In layman’s terms, much of naturopathic medicine revolves around solving problems that are non-existent (e.g. creating both the problem and solution), as well as around incomplete science, which is what we’ll discuss next.

What Does Science Say About Dr. Sears’s Programs?

While there isn’t any detailed information on his website about the therapies provided by Dr. Al Sears, based on some of the customer reviews we encountered during our research (more about this in a moment), it appears that patients meet with the Doctor on a regular basis, where he formulates a plan to address their problems using a combination of diet, exercise, and supplementation.

Alternately, for those patients not located near Dr. Sears’s clinic, many of his programs are available in book format, such as his PACE Program and his “Doctor’s Heart Cure” method of fighting off heart disease. However, the only hard data we have to go on relates to Dr. Sears’s supplements, so let’s take a closer look at these.

Are Dr. Al Sears’s Supplements Effective for Improving Your Health?

Due to the sheer number of Primal Force supplements, it would take far too long to break down each ingredient contained in each one. As a result, we thought it would be more productive to take a closer look at two of Dr. Sears’s most popular supplements:

Ultra Primal Lean

A supplement that’s claimed to help “melt fat right off your body” using white bean extract, fucoxanthin, irvingia gabonesis, garcinia cambogia, and chromium. However, according to the links above, there is insufficient clinical evidence available showing that these ingredients, whether in combination or alone, can help you lose weight.

TeloEssence

Claims to use natural ingredients to lengthen your telomeres, which may help prevent aging, boost energy, and to protect against cancer, using the following ingredients:

  • Vitamin D3, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12, Folic Acid, Selenium, Magnesium Citrate, Trimethylglycine, Asian Ginseng, Kudzu, Milk Thistle Extract, Horny Goat Weed, Bacopa, Green Tea Extract, Cat’s Claw, Natural d-Mixed Tocotrienols, Resveratrol, pTerostilbene, Fenugreek, Citrulline, Mixed Tocotrienols, Gingko Extract, Gotu Kola, and Ashwaghanda.
  • Amino Acid Proprietary Blend: Alpha-Ketoglutarate, Arginine, Acetyl L-Carnitine, Carnosine.

It’s interesting to note that Dr. Sears claims to have invented this formulation based on years of research, including research performed by NASA (which he fails to cite) and the study that won the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, which involved adding “DNA end sequence of linear DNA molecules from Tetrahymena to artificial minichromosomes [which] allows their long term stable maintenance inyeast.” However, none of this study was conducted using supplements, so we’re unsure how this relates to TeloEssence in any way.

With this said, based on current clinical evidence, none of the ingredients contained in TeloEssence have been shown to lengthen telomeres.

What Are Customers Saying About Dr. Al Sears MD?

Despite claiming to have helped more than 25,000 people in his clinic, there are a fairly limited number of online reviews for Dr. Al Sears MD, his Center for Health and Wellness, or his Primal Force supplements. And of these reviews, most referenced his Center, which appears to have a primarily positive online reputation. As such, common compliments cited effective programs, friendly staff, and that Dr. Sears is directly involved in the day-to-day operations of the clinic.

On the other hand, some of the most frequent complaints related to Dr. Sears’s center were failure to experience results, high prices, and treatments that were not covered by insurance.

From a product perspective, Dr. Al Sears’s PACE book (which basically consists of intervals) has an average rating of 4 stars on Amazon (as of 2/17/15). Despite this positivity, the most helpful review rated the book just 2 stars, and complained that most of it consisted of Dr. Sears telling you how great the program is, and in what little remains, about the program itself. This reviewer even specifically mentioned, “The book is very poorly organized, nearly impossible to understand, and practically a waste of time. It took me far too long to pull the bits out that actually explain the program because they aren't in any logical order and are separated by more schmaltzy infomercial talk.”

Dr. Al Sears’s other most popular book, Doctor’s Heart Cure, has an average rating of 4.5 stars. While most of the reviews are clearly positive, some of the most common complaints cited that there is a lack of credibility to the Doctor’s work, and that the book contains much more selling than it does information.

Dr. Al Sears MD’s Selling Tactics

Considering the number of consumers who complained about Dr. Al Sears’s selling approach (e.g. selling through hype instead of substance), we thought it would be worthwhile to briefly address this concern.

Here at HighYa, we’ve reviewed hundreds of nutritional supplements and wellness plans, and have found that some companies spend a lot of time scaring you into a tizzy, and very little time actually informing you about the products themselves, or backing up their claims with solid science. And based on the marketing angles used in most of Dr. Sears’s product descriptions and landing pages, it would seem he’s taken this tactic and run with it.

For example, take a look at Dr. Al Sears’s most recent article. In it, he tells an awful lot of personal stories, and constantly references that he believes the “medical establishment,” Big Agriculture, and Big Pharma have all got it wrong, and are deliberately fooling you. Fortunately though, he’s got it all right.

However insightful the Doctor might seem to be though, after you wade through paragraphs and paragraphs of hype-filled text, it basically just comes down to eating right and exercising regularly, which is what any other physician will tell you to do for optimum health.

Dr. Al Sears MD Pricing & Refund Policy

Dr. Al Sears MD sells a wide variety of products, including books, videos, audio recordings, and even heart rate monitors and skin fold test calipers, which range in price between $14.95 and $349.

However, the articles on his website are free, as is signing up for his e-newsletter.

All products purchased through Dr. Sears’s websites are claimed to come with a 100% money back guarantee if you’re not fully satisfied. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-792-1035.

Will Dr. Al Sears MD Help You Become Healthier & Live Longer?

Chopping to the point: While Dr. Al Sears MD is a board-certified physician, this doesn’t mean that any of the therapies he provides or the supplements he sells are rooted in solid clinical science. Instead, like so many other supplements manufacturers, it seems that Dr. Sears takes 1 or 2 studies that:

  • May not have been peer reviewed.
  • May conflict with the wealth of other clinical studies already completed.
  • May not ever have been repeated.
  • May not have even been performed on humans, or in some instances, were performed only in a Petri dish.

…and then extrapolates this to reach some conclusion that’s far outside the scope of the trials he’s referencing.

Because of this lack of evidence, along with the very high prices associated with Dr. Al Sears’s therapies and supplements, we might recommend making a purchase only after thoughtful consideration and thorough research.

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Customer Reviews for Dr. Al Sears MD

Average Customer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 3 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 6 1 stars: 14
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Overhyped but Nevertheless Worthwhile

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 6, 2016

    This website's review of Dr. Sears is garbage, and reflects neither thorough investigation nor careful evaluation nor clear understanding of what it purports to review.

    It is true that Dr. Sears' products are rarely as spectacular as he claims, but they are legitimate. Dr. Sears' price are a bit high, but not egregiously so.

    Dr. Sears' customer service has been responsive and professional in all my dealings with them. Dr. Sears' greatest fault is his tendency to use marketing hype. He has repeatedly claimed to have "discovered" beneficial substances which were in fact first discovered by others. It seems to me that Dr. Sears intentionally uses the word "discover" to mean "learned of" while undoubtedly realizing that many readers interpret the word "discover" to mean "invent" or "discover before anyone else."

    Notwithstanding the egotistic nature of his claims, it remains true that Dr. Sears' products tend to deliver solid results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Fraud from Al Sears

    First of all look at Mr. J. Daigles review above from March 8, 2016. One year ago I bought an article from this company. The company got my VISA card number. July 25th, 2016 I got an email where the company thanked me for my order. At that time they had already stolen 39US dollar from my account. I asked 3 times for a copy of my order to the company. They could not send a copy because I had never sent any requests, but I got many silly emails from the company. All emails sounds like they were coming from a mental hospital. Now I am sending this criminal act to Palm Beach Police Department. I hope they will help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Al Sears is not believable

    Dr Sears makes outrageous claims for his "cures", which are a concoction of numerous ingredients, never scientifically tested by controlled trial against a placebo. He criticizes mainstream medicine as follows. He states that medication to lower Cholesterol is of no value, when numerous trials show reduced incidence of further heart attacks and prolonged survival in treated patients. He states that Warfarin, the blood thinning drug makes strokes worse, whereas, used in patients whose stroke was due to an irregular heart beat, it can be life saving. He criticizes some medications for treating high blood pressure, while these medications have also been lifesaving.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Excellent insights, products, and service!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2016

    I have been using Dr. Sears's products for about 1 year now, and I absolutely love them. I found the review on this sight to be highly biased against naturopathic medicine, with absolutely no data to support the biased view. The review has a umber of erroneous statements, and even outright lies. In fact, Dr. Sears does not base his recommendations on 1 or 2 studies that "are not peer reviewed".

    On the contrary, anyone who actually bothers to read the footnotes will see numerous studies cited (often 10 to 15 or more), and these are published in peer-reviewed journals (I am a scholar, so I know what that really means). This is particularly impressive because it is much more difficult to have studies published when they are not financed by drug companies.

    I have been using Omega Rejuvenol and Ultra Accent, and am thrilled with the results, as reflected in my skin color and tone, my sense of vitality, and relief of troubling symptoms of internal disorder. His advice has helped me to wean myself off of medication for digestive disorders that my family physician blithely told me I would have to take "for the rest of my life" even though the leaflet for the medication says it is to be used for no more than 2 weeks at a time!

    This, by the way, is standard practice for general practitioners, unfortunately. As for customer service, I, like one of authors of a negative review on this site, also placed a duplicate order for a product by accident, and I had no difficulty getting the error corrected with their customer service. The representative was cheerful, helpful, and prompt. I would strongly recommend Dr. Sears and naturopathy in general. I urge readers not to be dissuaded from trying naturopathy by individuals who really know nothing about it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Teleconference let down

    My father is a strong believer in Dr. Sears methods, supplements and books. He has suffered a stroke, has a failing heart and lung cancer. When teleconferences became available he was hopeful to get the kind of help that would improve his quality of life without the use of prescriptions and other standard medical procedures. He was asked to submit all his latest lab work, scans, and medical records. He was also asked to submit his reason for making an e-conference appointment and what he hoped to accomplish. Along with the reasons listed above, he most wanted a program to follow specific to his condition and a list of supplements in the amounts that would be both safe and helpful. Dr Sears office confirmed that they could and would do this. The doctor we spoke with was only interested in trying to get my 90 year old dad to leave the country for stem cell therapy at his foreign clinic than assisting him with the purpose of the call. When he finally understood that wasn't going to happen, he said he would mail us a packet of information right away detailing a health program and supplement plan tailored to my dad's needs. After a long wait and several phone calls my dad received at most a 50 word email by a non-doctor staff that was totally random and useless. This was a huge disappointment and waste of our time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 92 out 94 people found this review helpful

    Fraud alert

    • Massachusetts,
    • Mar 8, 2016

    I purchased the monthly news letter two years ago. Then they kept sending me emails saying my subscription was about to expire. I never responded. Next I get an email "thanking" me for my order. As they have charged my credit card for $39.00. I tried calling the company and was put on hold. No one ever got back to me. I called again and they did the same thing. I tried emailing and that address was fraudulent. Then I wrote to the company from his website and got no response. I finally have reported them to the BBB in West Palm Beach, FL. Hopefully something will come out of this. I will have my credit card company remove the charge and then I will hope to inform anyone not to do business with this scammer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 82 out 84 people found this review helpful

    Very poor customer service and refunds

    I accidentally ordered two orders of the same product, because their website was not working correctly, and didn't know that until I placed the order, because it got all wacky. When I received two different emails, with two different order numbers, I realized I had made a mistake and called them right away. They were very polite, and told me it wasn't a problem because they would just delete one of the orders. When I checked my bank account, while getting ready to pay some cancer bills (I have stage IV breast cancer), I found they had charged me one amount on the 27th, and a different, more expensive amount on the 28th of January, so I called, and had to leave message with an answering service. WHAT? Then, I sent an email and was told to decline the shipment, and when they receive it, I will be reimbursed. WHAT? It is being sent by 10-day snail mail, so it'll be 20 days before I can pay the Oncology doctor for my appointment. I will not do business with these crooks ever again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Mostly positive experiences

    • BC,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    I have ordered a few products from the website. I found most worked as he said they would, aside from one. After numerous bottles of Primal Lean (I think that's what it is called), I did not lose any weight. Too lazy to send back the bottles for refund. On the other hand, the Accel worked wonders. Did not need naps anymore, gums stopped bleeding, more energy. I tried Vitamin World's Ubiquinol product, which came from the same manufacturer (Kaneka), and it did not stand up to Dr. Sears' product. In fact, I recommended it to an "older" friend who complained Accel wasn't doing anything, aside from preventing him from taking naps. Primal Max Red also worked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 100 out 114 people found this review helpful

    Highly Biased Review

    • Waterford MI,
    • Nov 24, 2015

    Your review is highly biased regarding Naturopathy as evidenced by your revealing dismissal of Homeopathy which has many studies appearing in The Lancet, which is a peer-reviewed general medical journal, one of the world's oldest and best known general medical journals, and has been described as one of the most prestigious medical journals in the world. It has documented research which proves the efficacy of homeopathy for certain conditions. This is poor journalism. Your enthusiastic bias toward the current state of allopathic medicine and insistence on trusting our current mainstream medicine makes your site useless regarding both conventional and alternative medical practices and services. Regarding, Dr. Sears: I have seen much of what he says backed up by other research. I do think his products are on the expensive side.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2016

      Patrick Stevenson

      Talk about bias! Your comment/ review isn't anything but insulting their review. I want to see your sources for his research.

    • Feb 25, 2016

      Bob Dobbs

      You know what they call "alternative" medicine that actually works? Allopathic medicine.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 91 people found this review helpful

    I thought I was about to die

    I purchased Dr Sear's Anti-Aging Primal Force in September, also called "Omega Rejuvenol". I took it daily as directed. For the first week I felt little difference and then I began to get headaches, bad headaches. They only lasted for a split second, then stopped, then came again. Hundreds of times a day, for maybe five days. Real head-bursting pain. I have never had this before, and didn't know what was causing it. I thought I was about to have a stroke. My Doctor suggested I immediately drop the Primal Force and I did, to see if it would help. On day 2 after stopping Primal Force the headaches had almost gone. By the next day, back to normal. I contacted the Company and was told that they would pass my message on to Dr Sears. Maybe they did. I never heard from him. I did finally get a message from the Company telling me I could get a refund if I send the product back to the USA and that was it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 82 out 100 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Al Sears MD

    • Marion Indiana,
    • Oct 14, 2015

    I read your entire article which you call a "review" and it's nothing more than an opinion. What's your research? Dr. Sears' Ultra Accel provides GREAT results and even GREATER if you take your daily CoQ10 with it. I don't ever want to be without it! I now have energy and stamina to complete my desired daily life's work.

    And you don't think Big Pharma and Big Agriculture are BIG PROBLEMS in this country?

    Hooray to Dr. Sears. Thank you and keep it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a review for Dr. Al Sears MD!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review