About Dump Cakes

Dump Cakes is a recipe book that takes the measuring and mixing out of dessert making by showing you how to dump things into a pan and baking them to create allegedly delicious desserts in minutes. In the promotional video, spokeswoman Cathy Mitchell shows you how to make s’mores cake, sticky buns and raspberry and peach cake all by just dumping things into a pan or skillet. A TeleBrands product, the Dump Cakes recipe book is sold under the As Seen on TV brand.     

Dump Cakes Features

The main features of the Dump Cakes recipe book is the time it supposedly saves you. These recipes are all supposed to be done in two steps (dumping and baking) and take minutes to prepare, saving you from having to measure out ingredients and mix them together in a time consuming fashion like traditional baking. Additionally, these “mistake-proof” desserts are all supposed to taste delicious and be “five-star” desserts. Making them this way also saves you from having to deal with the mess of traditional baking.

Dump Cakes Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Dump Cakes recipe book sells for $10, plus $7.99 shipping and handling for a total of $17.99. You’ll also receive the Dump Dinners recipe book (which shows you how to make entire dinners by dumping things into a pan and cooking them). And, for an additional $9.99 in shipping and handling, you also get a non-stick Orgreenic 8" Fry Pan, which is supposedly perfect for some of the Dump Cakes recipes. This would bring the total to $27.98. It’s not clear whether you are forced to get the frying pan or not.

The Dump Cakes recipe book is covered by TeleBrands’ generic 30-day money back guarantee. This will see you get your purchase price back, but not your shipping and handling fees. You will also have to pay to ship the item back to the company. To do that, follow the return instructions that come with the product. If you have questions, you can call TeleBrands at 1-855-668-1655.

Bottom Line – Do you need the Dump Cakes?

Another thing to consider is that the Dump Cakes is not a physical product that needs to "perform" nor will it "fall apart" like a lot of As Seen on TV Products are claimed to do. Instead it is a booklet that contains content. There actually are desserts that are known as dump cakes, so whether the recipes in this book are exclusive to the book or not is hard to tell, as there are no consumer reviews for it online just yet. If you really want a s’mores dump cake or any other kind of dump cake, you can easily do an internet search for it and you’ll likely find it. If you absolutely want the recipe books, and are willing to pay $17.99 for them (and possibly $27.98 if you are forced to get the frying pan), then they might be a good purchase for you.

30 Customer Reviews for Dump Cakes

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 29
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Not as advertised!

    • by Nora,
    • Yakima, Wa,
    • Feb 27, 2015

    Their ad states the book has hundreds of recipes...yes, but most of them are not "dump" recipes. Most are "mix these ingredients and pour into a pan," just like all other recipes. I counted 45 recipes under "A" in the back of the book, only 8 are actually dump cakes, the others are not. Their TV ad is very misleading.

    I am keeping the books because there are some easy recipes in them, and it would cost more to send them back than what I paid for them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I Can do better

    • by Nan,
    • California,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    A friend and I tried some of the dinners because she terminally ill. We thought these books would work for her and her boys but I found that we had to modify things to make them taste better and work better as dump meals. Good luck. I went out and bought another cookbook that have 3-4-5 ingredients only and they work much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • by Brenda,
    • Ft. Myers, FL,
    • Dec 17, 2014

    The web site shuts down before you type submit, but it does not actually and you discover orders on their status page that you thought were not placed. Made a phone call to them, explained there was a problem with their web page and they said they had cancelled them. Placed an order via phone that day for 3 dump cakes @ $10 and 3 dump dinners @ $6.99 each with priority shipping for $9.99. This was all done on 11-18. One cake book came which I did not order with a charge placed on my account for $10. I accepted this as it was not worth another call to them again. Several weeks later, no books delivered, but see four pending charges on my account so back to their web order status and see 4 dump cakes (separate orders) @$10 plus $9.99 priority shipping which was reflected on my account. Make another phone call and was told these were in the process of being shipped and I could refuse to accept the orders and then wait for them to get back to their warehouse and then up to 5 to 7 days a credit would be out through to my account. The order for 3 cakes and 3 dinners which I ordered were still in their committed status so I told them to cancel this order because it was suppose to be a Christmas gift and at this point it was 12- 14 and to remind you I placed the order via phone on 11- 18 for priority shipping almost a month earlier.

    Four boxes arrived yesterday and I refused to accept them. There are four different transactions on my account for $19.99 each and accordingly I am to wait for them to go through their process with them before I will see a credit which will take several weeks, if ever I do see it happen.

    Thank goodness, my bank listens to me and a claim has been made against "Dump Cakes". This has been a complete waste of time and much frustration. The book itself is not as represented, many of the recipes are merely duplicated with a change of name and fruit ingredient, and not just dump and cook. Not worth the paper it's printed on, I feel dumped upon. There is no function to give them a "zero " rating which they deserve.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Wish I had read these comments before I ordered

    • by Lotte Smith,
    • Natchez, MS,
    • Oct 22, 2014

    Did not receive what I had ordered. According to the TV commercial I was to get both books and the pan, did not get it, only one book. After I tried to call Costumer Service they are one number short so I could not call. Lousy service and bad advertising. Don't Buy! Period

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    The commercial is a complete lie!

    • by Karen,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia ,
    • Oct 5, 2014

    My mother thought she was ordering something neat for her two children. What a joke. The TV ad says, "but wait, with today's special, you can get the dump cake and dump dinner cookbooks and the fry pan for $10 plus shipping." Well actually, My mom ordered two and she was delivered three of each.

    The charge on her credit card was $120.92. By my math, that is $40 each, which is four times as much as the TV ad says. Now IO've been waiting on hold for 45 minutes even though I called during the exact time, they said I should call to avoid a long wait.

    I can only imagine that everyone is as angry as I am. Don't do it! I only entered one star because it was required by this website. I wish they had a thumbs down instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Cakes are gross - duped!

    • by Anonymous ,
    • Arlington, Tx,
    • Aug 23, 2014

    Most of the recipes in this book are not just dump and bake, they are just as complicated as a boxed cake mix. Also, the recipes that are actually just dump and bake don't come out right. They are not mixed together right and they are grainy with the extra cake batter that didn't cook into the cake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Dump Cakes Recipe Book

    • by Jean Renz,
    • Fort Collins, CO,
    • Aug 11, 2014

    I ordered the above cookbook but because I was also being charged for some pans that I didn't want or need I called back (from a different telephone number) and cancelled my order--WELL within the required time frame. I just noticed that I was charged for this product. I called and was told that since I ordered the product from one number and cancelled the order from a different number that is why they are processing my order.

    I tried to explain that I received the cancellation number from Customer Service only to be hung up on. What was SUPPOSED to be a $10.00 order (per the television commercial) turned out to be $45.96!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    STOP...SCAM!

    • by Rita,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 6, 2014

    DO NOT GO THROUGH THE ORDER PROCESS ONLINE. as the total at the end screen is NOT what is advertised on TV...but you can't go back and delete the information once you already filled it out..I never hit SUBMIT, so I thought my order didn't go through, but, after reading the reviews, I called my CC company and they told me that the charge was already made, even though I didn't submit it. They called the DumpCake company while I was on the line, to try to reverse this charge but DUMPCAKES would not reverse it and said it now has to go through the delivery/refund process as it has already been shipped. The dumpcake customer service person tries to talk you into accepting the order, and gives a bogus phone number for FedEx if you say you want to refuse the package...The first tracking number he gave me was all of a sudden changed to another one, so I don't know yet if they gave me a bogus tracking number. I guess I'll find out when I do call FedEx. DO NOT FILL OUT ANY INFORMATION ONLINE AS THEY WILL KEEP IT AND USE IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Telephone order that went bad

    • by Boyd,
    • Georgia,
    • Jul 29, 2014

    I placed an order on the phone using the telephone number that was on the Television. Each item was a separate price. After I gave them my card number they started offering me some card that a $14 fee would be taken out of my card each month. They kept asking me my credit card number. When I kept trying to refuse the card offer and the automated voice kept asking my credit card number I just hung up. Now I am not sure if the order went through and if I am going to be charged for the card offer. I wish I had read these reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Scam don't buy

    • by Ronald Watkins,
    • Tuscaloosa, Al.,
    • Jul 12, 2014

    Wish I had read these reviews before going to the website. Well I saw the infomercial and thought that sounds good - 2 books and a pan for $10 plus shipping. Well the website never gives you an accurate total until AFTER the order is placed. When filling out the form it showed my total to be 17.99, after placing the order it shows a total of $27.99. I was charged an extra $10 for the pan and dump dinners book which they say is free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 23, 2014

      mamie

      It i in your local dollar stores for $10.00

    • Nov 9, 2014

      Anon

      The pan is not free it cost $10. The dump dinners book is free. You weren't "scammed"!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • by Chrisitne Lynch,
    • Tracy, CA,
    • Jul 3, 2014

    I went online to order "dump cakes", the website is designed to keep you confused. It has stuff flashing saying you can get free shipping and a whole bunch of other lies. Once you start the order process you click through a series of screens asking if you would like to add dump dinner and green cookware. Beware, the price they tell you is NOT the price you'll pay. If it says "would you like to add this for $9.99, your actual billing for that item will be $19.99 with additional shipping and handling. You say yes or no and it clicks through to next screen. Along the top you can see the progress of your order process, the last being the confirmation section. Normally on any other website I have been to once you get to confirmation page you have a chance to review your order and make changes before submitting. NOT HERE! Next thing I know, the screen says Thank you for your $60 order! WHAT???

    The site says it will take 24-48 hours for your online order tracking to be available. Their website says you can cancel your order if it has not shipped yet. So, I call to cancel the order. The guy makes me give him all my contact info including my credit card details again, gives me a cancellation confirmation # and I thought this was over. NOT!

    3 days later I received an email saying my order has been shipped and sure enough my credit card was charged 2 days after I cancelled the order. So, I call again. The "customer service" rep tries to get me to give him all my information again including my CC info so he can find my order. I said no, and miraculously he was able to find my order by my name in 10 seconds. He tells me, "we can manually cancel your order but that doesn't mean it's cancelled." Now that it's shipped my only option is to refuse the package and they will credit my account in 5-7 days. After 5 minutes on hold he gives me a disconnected number to Fed-ex to refuse the package before it's delivered. I find a real number to Fed-ex but, they ship this via Fed-ex Smart Post aka USPS! I then called my local post office to refuse the package. They did tell me if it does get delivered, do not open package, write refuse on it and leave it for the postman or drop it back off to the post office.

    We'll see this happened today. I hold little hope that I will actually receive a credit on my credit card. I will have to dispute it. Of course you do not get anything in writing about cancellation...all over the phone. This is a scam! I wish I had read all these posts before I placed an order. I'm now a victim too.

    NOTE: I received a order confirmation number when the order was placed. Then the rep gives me a new order number when I called to cancel and a third number was sent in my shipping confirmation email. I asked the rep what the heck is this about. He tells me we give temporary numbers. I bet they do...so you can't track any number! That's why each rep had to asking me for all my personal info again because their order numbers mean nothing. Your credit card is all they want!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a review for Dump Cakes!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review