About Dump Cakes

Dump Cakes is a recipe book that takes the measuring and mixing out of dessert making by showing you how to dump things into a pan and baking them to create allegedly delicious desserts in minutes. In the promotional video, spokeswoman Cathy Mitchell shows you how to make s’mores cake, sticky buns and raspberry and peach cake all by just dumping things into a pan or skillet. A TeleBrands product, the Dump Cakes recipe book is sold under the As Seen on TV brand.     

Dump Cakes Features

The main features of the Dump Cakes recipe book is the time it supposedly saves you. These recipes are all supposed to be done in two steps (dumping and baking) and take minutes to prepare, saving you from having to measure out ingredients and mix them together in a time consuming fashion like traditional baking. Additionally, these “mistake-proof” desserts are all supposed to taste delicious and be “five-star” desserts. Making them this way also saves you from having to deal with the mess of traditional baking.

Dump Cakes Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Dump Cakes recipe book sells for $10, plus $7.99 shipping and handling for a total of $17.99. You’ll also receive the Dump Dinners recipe book (which shows you how to make entire dinners by dumping things into a pan and cooking them). And, for an additional $9.99 in shipping and handling, you also get a non-stick Orgreenic 8" Fry Pan, which is supposedly perfect for some of the Dump Cakes recipes. This would bring the total to $27.98. It’s not clear whether you are forced to get the frying pan or not.

The Dump Cakes recipe book is covered by TeleBrands’ generic 30-day money back guarantee. This will see you get your purchase price back, but not your shipping and handling fees. You will also have to pay to ship the item back to the company. To do that, follow the return instructions that come with the product. If you have questions, you can call TeleBrands at 1-855-668-1655.

Bottom Line – Do you need the Dump Cakes?

Another thing to consider is that the Dump Cakes is not a physical product that needs to "perform" nor will it "fall apart" like a lot of As Seen on TV Products are claimed to do. Instead it is a booklet that contains content. There actually are desserts that are known as dump cakes, so whether the recipes in this book are exclusive to the book or not is hard to tell, as there are no consumer reviews for it online just yet. If you really want a s’mores dump cake or any other kind of dump cake, you can easily do an internet search for it and you’ll likely find it. If you absolutely want the recipe books, and are willing to pay $17.99 for them (and possibly $27.98 if you are forced to get the frying pan), then they might be a good purchase for you.

32 Customer Reviews for Dump Cakes

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 30
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DumpCake Cookbook

    • by Paula,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    I made a few of the recipes and they were pretty good. I agree, the first thing I noticed was most of the recipes were not dump cakes. I learned my lesson once before ordering something from the As Seen On TV website. With shipping, it cost more than buy one get second one free. I waited for the product to come in our local Wal-Mart. I Googled Dump Cake recipes and there was the same amount or even more of them on the internet than in the actual book. It's not worth buying the book in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Dont Buy "Dump" Cook Books

    • by Arra,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Mar 3, 2015

    Although the commercial says that the books are quick and easy, they actually aren't. If you don't like mushrooms you won't like the recipes because almost everything asks for cream of mushroom.

    I made a dish from page 33 that only asked for red potatoes, chicken thighs, copped onion and honey mustard dressing. It tastes alright.

    I also made the chicken Quesadilla. Nasty! Nobody should make Quesadilla with flour tortillas, mild salsa, shredded cheddar cheese and chicken. They came out to soft because, the recipe says to bake in oven?

    Make your own. Get flour tortillas, shredded cheddar cheese and tear cooked chicken into small pieces. Next: lightly butter a skillet and place tortilla in skillet. Put cheddar cheese and chicken on half the tortilla and flip other half on top of the other. Make sure the tortilla is lightly golden brown and flip and repeat. Use your favorite dipping sauce if you want.

    I should make my own cookbooks. Called " How to not dump your money on dump cakes and dinners".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised!

    • by Nora,
    • Yakima, Wa,
    • Feb 27, 2015

    Their ad states the book has hundreds of recipes...yes, but most of them are not "dump" recipes. Most are "mix these ingredients and pour into a pan," just like all other recipes. I counted 45 recipes under "A" in the back of the book, only 8 are actually dump cakes, the others are not. Their TV ad is very misleading.

    I am keeping the books because there are some easy recipes in them, and it would cost more to send them back than what I paid for them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I Can do better

    • by Nan,
    • California,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    A friend and I tried some of the dinners because she terminally ill. We thought these books would work for her and her boys but I found that we had to modify things to make them taste better and work better as dump meals. Good luck. I went out and bought another cookbook that have 3-4-5 ingredients only and they work much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • by Brenda,
    • Ft. Myers, FL,
    • Dec 17, 2014

    The web site shuts down before you type submit, but it does not actually and you discover orders on their status page that you thought were not placed. Made a phone call to them, explained there was a problem with their web page and they said they had cancelled them. Placed an order via phone that day for 3 dump cakes @ $10 and 3 dump dinners @ $6.99 each with priority shipping for $9.99. This was all done on 11-18. One cake book came which I did not order with a charge placed on my account for $10. I accepted this as it was not worth another call to them again. Several weeks later, no books delivered, but see four pending charges on my account so back to their web order status and see 4 dump cakes (separate orders) @$10 plus $9.99 priority shipping which was reflected on my account. Make another phone call and was told these were in the process of being shipped and I could refuse to accept the orders and then wait for them to get back to their warehouse and then up to 5 to 7 days a credit would be out through to my account. The order for 3 cakes and 3 dinners which I ordered were still in their committed status so I told them to cancel this order because it was suppose to be a Christmas gift and at this point it was 12- 14 and to remind you I placed the order via phone on 11- 18 for priority shipping almost a month earlier.

    Four boxes arrived yesterday and I refused to accept them. There are four different transactions on my account for $19.99 each and accordingly I am to wait for them to go through their process with them before I will see a credit which will take several weeks, if ever I do see it happen.

    Thank goodness, my bank listens to me and a claim has been made against "Dump Cakes". This has been a complete waste of time and much frustration. The book itself is not as represented, many of the recipes are merely duplicated with a change of name and fruit ingredient, and not just dump and cook. Not worth the paper it's printed on, I feel dumped upon. There is no function to give them a "zero " rating which they deserve.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Wish I had read these comments before I ordered

    • by Lotte Smith,
    • Natchez, MS,
    • Oct 22, 2014

    Did not receive what I had ordered. According to the TV commercial I was to get both books and the pan, did not get it, only one book. After I tried to call Costumer Service they are one number short so I could not call. Lousy service and bad advertising. Don't Buy! Period

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 50 people found this review helpful

    The commercial is a complete lie!

    • by Karen,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia ,
    • Oct 5, 2014

    My mother thought she was ordering something neat for her two children. What a joke. The TV ad says, "but wait, with today's special, you can get the dump cake and dump dinner cookbooks and the fry pan for $10 plus shipping." Well actually, My mom ordered two and she was delivered three of each.

    The charge on her credit card was $120.92. By my math, that is $40 each, which is four times as much as the TV ad says. Now IO've been waiting on hold for 45 minutes even though I called during the exact time, they said I should call to avoid a long wait.

    I can only imagine that everyone is as angry as I am. Don't do it! I only entered one star because it was required by this website. I wish they had a thumbs down instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Cakes are gross - duped!

    • by Anonymous ,
    • Arlington, Tx,
    • Aug 23, 2014

    Most of the recipes in this book are not just dump and bake, they are just as complicated as a boxed cake mix. Also, the recipes that are actually just dump and bake don't come out right. They are not mixed together right and they are grainy with the extra cake batter that didn't cook into the cake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Dump Cakes Recipe Book

    • by Jean Renz,
    • Fort Collins, CO,
    • Aug 11, 2014

    I ordered the above cookbook but because I was also being charged for some pans that I didn't want or need I called back (from a different telephone number) and cancelled my order--WELL within the required time frame. I just noticed that I was charged for this product. I called and was told that since I ordered the product from one number and cancelled the order from a different number that is why they are processing my order.

    I tried to explain that I received the cancellation number from Customer Service only to be hung up on. What was SUPPOSED to be a $10.00 order (per the television commercial) turned out to be $45.96!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 48 people found this review helpful

    STOP...SCAM!

    • by Rita,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 6, 2014

    DO NOT GO THROUGH THE ORDER PROCESS ONLINE. as the total at the end screen is NOT what is advertised on TV...but you can't go back and delete the information once you already filled it out..I never hit SUBMIT, so I thought my order didn't go through, but, after reading the reviews, I called my CC company and they told me that the charge was already made, even though I didn't submit it. They called the DumpCake company while I was on the line, to try to reverse this charge but DUMPCAKES would not reverse it and said it now has to go through the delivery/refund process as it has already been shipped. The dumpcake customer service person tries to talk you into accepting the order, and gives a bogus phone number for FedEx if you say you want to refuse the package...The first tracking number he gave me was all of a sudden changed to another one, so I don't know yet if they gave me a bogus tracking number. I guess I'll find out when I do call FedEx. DO NOT FILL OUT ANY INFORMATION ONLINE AS THEY WILL KEEP IT AND USE IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Telephone order that went bad

    • by Boyd,
    • Georgia,
    • Jul 29, 2014

    I placed an order on the phone using the telephone number that was on the Television. Each item was a separate price. After I gave them my card number they started offering me some card that a $14 fee would be taken out of my card each month. They kept asking me my credit card number. When I kept trying to refuse the card offer and the automated voice kept asking my credit card number I just hung up. Now I am not sure if the order went through and if I am going to be charged for the card offer. I wish I had read these reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a review for Dump Cakes!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review