About Dump Cakes

Dump Cakes is a recipe book that takes the measuring and mixing out of dessert making by showing you how to dump things into a pan and baking them to create allegedly delicious desserts in minutes. In the promotional video, spokeswoman Cathy Mitchell shows you how to make s’mores cake, sticky buns and raspberry and peach cake all by just dumping things into a pan or skillet. A TeleBrands product, the Dump Cakes recipe book is sold under the As Seen on TV brand.     

Dump Cakes Features

The main features of the Dump Cakes recipe book is the time it supposedly saves you. These recipes are all supposed to be done in two steps (dumping and baking) and take minutes to prepare, saving you from having to measure out ingredients and mix them together in a time consuming fashion like traditional baking. Additionally, these “mistake-proof” desserts are all supposed to taste delicious and be “five-star” desserts. Making them this way also saves you from having to deal with the mess of traditional baking.

Dump Cakes Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Dump Cakes recipe book sells for $10, plus $7.99 shipping and handling for a total of $17.99. You’ll also receive the Dump Dinners recipe book (which shows you how to make entire dinners by dumping things into a pan and cooking them). And, for an additional $9.99 in shipping and handling, you also get a non-stick Orgreenic 8" Fry Pan, which is supposedly perfect for some of the Dump Cakes recipes. This would bring the total to $27.98. It’s not clear whether you are forced to get the frying pan or not.

The Dump Cakes recipe book is covered by TeleBrands’ generic 30-day money back guarantee. This will see you get your purchase price back, but not your shipping and handling fees. You will also have to pay to ship the item back to the company. To do that, follow the return instructions that come with the product. If you have questions, you can call TeleBrands at 1-855-668-1655.

Bottom Line – Do you need the Dump Cakes?

Another thing to consider is that the Dump Cakes is not a physical product that needs to "perform" nor will it "fall apart" like a lot of As Seen on TV Products are claimed to do. Instead it is a booklet that contains content. There actually are desserts that are known as dump cakes, so whether the recipes in this book are exclusive to the book or not is hard to tell, as there are no consumer reviews for it online just yet. If you really want a s’mores dump cake or any other kind of dump cake, you can easily do an internet search for it and you’ll likely find it. If you absolutely want the recipe books, and are willing to pay $17.99 for them (and possibly $27.98 if you are forced to get the frying pan), then they might be a good purchase for you.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Customer Reviews for Dump Cakes

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 31
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed in my dump cake book

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Half or more of recipes call for a bowl and mixer. That's not what I thought I was getting. Plus no pictures of the cakes in the whole book.

    Very poorly done book.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Skip this cookbook, not worth it.

    • Florida,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    I got this nice thick book I thought was full of dump cake recipes. Not! More than 3/4 of the book is regular recipes I have no use for. I was seeking a nice cook book full of dump cake recipes just as advertised. Skip this book. Save your money. Search Dump Cake Recipes on the internet, you will find a lot of great recipes without paying a penny. I'm sorry I wasted my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy from this woman.

    • Iowa,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    Anything this woman sells is junk. I purchased an item from her last year and it was a piece of garbage, and the cost for shipping back the pie thing was ridiculous. It was suppose to cook omelets, pies, other foods in it and it was junk and ended up in the garbage within a weeks time.

    Do not trust this lady that sells any of these products. Her company is nothing more than a scam that rips off the consumer, and consumer affairs should be all over this woman and these infomercials that are robbing the consumers with inferior product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2015

      Loretta E. Blackmon

      I bought this book at a drugstore. I was so excited that I tried the first simple recipe. It did not turn out the way it was supposed to. I cooked it a loner time and the cake mix was doughy and undone. Maybe I'll take it back for my money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised.

    • Yakima, WA,
    • Jul 30, 2015

    Their ad states the book has hundreds of recipes. Yes, but most of them are not "dump" recipes. Most are "mix these ingredients and pour into a pan," just like all other recipes. I counted 45 recipes under "A" in the back of the book, only eight are actually dump cakes, the others are not. Their TV ad is very misleading.

    I am keeping the books because there are some easy recipes in them, and it would cost more to send them back than what I paid for them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Dump Cakes Cookbook

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    I made a few of the recipes and they were pretty good. I agree, the first thing I noticed was most of the recipes were not dump cakes. I learned my lesson once before ordering something from the As Seen On TV website. With shipping, it cost more than buy one get second one free. I waited for the product to come in our local Wal-Mart. I Goggled Dump Cake recipes and there was the same amount or even more of them on the internet than in the actual book. It's not worth buying the book in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't Buy "Dump" Cook Books

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    Although the commercial says that the books are quick and easy, they actually aren't. If you don't like mushrooms you won't like the recipes because almost everything asks for cream of mushroom.

    I made a dish from page 33 that only asked for red potatoes, chicken thighs, copped onion and honey mustard dressing. It tastes alright.

    I also made the chicken Quesadilla. Nasty. Nobody should make Quesadilla with flour tortillas, mild salsa, shredded cheddar cheese and chicken. They came out to soft because, the recipe says to bake in oven?

    Make your own. Get flour tortillas, shredded cheddar cheese and tear cooked chicken into small pieces. Next: lightly butter a skillet and place tortilla in skillet. Put cheddar cheese and chicken on half the tortilla and flip other half on top of the other. Make sure the tortilla is lightly golden brown and flip and repeat. Use your favorite dipping sauce if you want.

    I should make my own cookbooks, called " How to not dump your money on dump cakes and dinners".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Ft. Myers, FL,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    The web site shuts down before you type submit, but it does not actually and you discover orders on their status page that you thought were not placed. Made a phone call to them, explained there was a problem with their web page and they said they had canceled them. Placed an order via phone that day for 3 dump cakes at $10 and 3 dump dinners at $6.99 each with priority shipping for $9.99. This was all done on 11-18. One cake book came which I did not order with a charge placed on my account for $10. I accepted this as it was not worth another call to them again. Several weeks later, no books delivered, but see four pending charges on my account so back to their web order status and see 4 dump cakes (separate orders) at $10 plus $9.99 priority shipping which was reflected on my account. Make another phone call and was told these were in the process of being shipped and I could refuse to accept the orders and then wait for them to get back to their warehouse and then up to 5 to 7 days a credit would be out through to my account. The order for 3 cakes and 3 dinners which I ordered were still in their committed status so I told them to cancel this order because it was suppose to be a Christmas gift and at this point it was 12-14 and to remind you I placed the order via phone on 11- 18 for priority shipping almost a month earlier.

    Four boxes arrived yesterday and I refused to accept them. There are four different transactions on my account for $19.99 each and accordingly I am to wait for them to go through their process with them before I will see a credit which will take several weeks, if ever I do see it happen.

    Thank goodness, my bank listens to me and a claim has been made against "Dump Cakes". This has been a complete waste of time and much frustration. The book itself is not as represented, many of the recipes are merely duplicated with a change of name and fruit ingredient, and not just dump and cook. Not worth the paper it's printed on, I feel dumped upon. There is no function to give them a "zero " rating which they deserve.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 60 out 61 people found this review helpful

    The commercial is a complete lie.

    • Vancouver, British Columbia ,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    My mother thought she was ordering something neat for her two children. What a joke. The TV ad says, "but wait, with today's special, you can get the dump cake and dump dinner cookbooks and the fry pan for $10 plus shipping." Well actually, My mom ordered two and she was delivered three of each.

    The charge on her credit card was $120.92. By my math, that is $40 each, which is four times as much as the TV ad says. Now I've been waiting on hold for 45 minutes even though I called during the exact time, they said I should call to avoid a long wait.

    I can only imagine that everyone is as angry as I am. Don't do it. I only entered one star because it was required by this website. I wish they had a thumbs down instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Dump Cakes Recipe Book

    • Fort Collins, CO,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I ordered the above cookbook, but because I was also being charged for some pans that I didn't want or need, I called back (from a different telephone number) and canceled my order--well within the required time frame. I just noticed that I was charged for this product. I called and was told that since I ordered the product from one number and canceled the order from a different number that is why they are processing my order.

    I tried to explain that I received the cancelation number from Customer Service only to be hung up on. What was supposed to be a $10.00 order (per the television commercial) turned out to be $45.96.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Dump the dump cake book.

    • Hightstown, NJ,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    I thought I would be doing my grand daughter a big favor by buying her this dump cake book. I read it and I said to myself oh my God such junk. Then I said I would save it for her when she came for Father's Day. She said grandma it is nice of you to think of me, but I can make this mess already, and you threw away that money on that crap. The pan won't even hold my eggs in the morning. My grand daughter has only been out a year on her own and even she knows it is no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 64 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Not a Good Value

    • Montana,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    There are some "dump" recipes in the book, but many of them use the term "dump" for putting batter in a pan. A regular recipe is as easy to prepare as many in the book. If you have to put all your ingredients into a bowl and use a mixer then put it in a 9 by 13, how is that more convenient that any other recipe?

    I can give you a complex recipe with tons of ingredients to mix together and then tell you to "dump" it into a 9 by 13--does that make it a dump recipe?

    I would say the ad on TV is a misrepresentation.

    The book "Dump Casseroles" is very short with few recipes in it and most of those require multiple steps as in any regular recipe.

    I am quite sorry I wasted the money on this and waited about eight weeks for it to arrive, along with the very tiny Orgreenic pan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for Dump Cakes!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review