About Dutch Glow

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in Tarrytown, NY who has been pushing the product actively during the past few months. They are not accredited or rated by the Better Business Bureau, which the BBB claims is due to a lack of information about the company at the time of this writing.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers (and has a white color.) They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim.

To use Dutch Glow, apply on any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear. They claim you can also restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. Their video shows before-and-afters of a variety of wood products, all appearing to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow use is suggested on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys.)

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • 1 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P but they automatically double your order (and throw in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free” and charge an additional $7.95 processing. In addition there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, making the total $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.) They state you have 30 days to try Dutch Glow. If you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason) they claim you can return it for a refund; however, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work – this was something another reviewer also experienced. We took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed the Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

The thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well. But we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick – almost any other cleaning solution, including water, would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated. But is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you keep reading, you will see the MANY minuses people who purchased Dutch Glow have said they experienced. 

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture.) In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse. 

What The Highya Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 150+ reviews on our site complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the Dutch Glow purchase, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged more than expected tell us that it's better to not buy online from their website.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning about the same any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth would – it’s not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, in spite of what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

261 Customer Reviews for Dutch Glow

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 12 4 stars: 9 3 stars: 6 2 stars: 12 1 stars: 222
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-20 of 261
Sort reviews by:

  • Lost order

    • by Barbara Jean Beechy,
    • Feb 23, 2015

    I ordered the product online over 2 months ago and never got it. I wrote an email to them and they said they never received my order. I paid through PayPal, and it is still pending, so they never took my order, and a good thing they never took the money from my account. But if you lose an order to start with, they are not a good company. Also, I am from the Amish area of Indiana, my husband was Amish, and I have never heard of this so called Amish cleaner. I think they just use the Amish name to sell the product..

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do Not Buy From Dutch Glow

    • by Randy,
    • Los Angeles CA,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    This company is TERRIBLE! I ordered from them and they jacked the price to double the cost of the item between shipping and 'web surcharges'! I wish I had never given my credit card info to them. Do not do business with Dutch Glow! Read other customer complaints on the web. Wish I had before I did business with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not as advertised and excessive shipping cost.

    • by Grace,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    Dutch Glow did clean our antique furniture but it definitely did not leave a polished finish. Also, as many people have said before, the sprayer does not work. It can't because there is no hole punched in it!

    They really get you on that "plus the cost of shipping" at $7.95 per bottle and it comes in a small package that probably cost them $3.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ruined my desk

    • by Danya,
    • PA,
    • Feb 18, 2015

    This so called Amish milk is junk. It put a white coating all over my desk. It looks terrible. I want to know who can give me money to refinish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    • by Stan,
    • Washington State,
    • Feb 17, 2015

    As seen on T.V. states that this will take water and heat rings out with no problem. Well that's a crock of s.... Waste of time and money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not Worth It

    • by Debby,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 16, 2015

    I was lucky to have purchased it at Bed, Bath & Beyond, so I didn't pay shipping. Tried it on my wood cabinets. It didn't do what they claimed. Should have read the reviews first. I too had problems with the sprayer. Seems that's common.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Complete Rip Off

    • by Danny,
    • West Orange, NJ,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    This product is useless. The cleaning/polishing effect is nominal, and the $7.95 per bottle shipping + $2 web fee is nothing other than a complete rip off.

    Go to HomeDepot, Walmart, Sears or any other store of your choice, and pick up something off the shelf.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A ripoff and scam

    • by Mike Baker,
    • MI,
    • Feb 12, 2015

    My order came to nearly $50.00. What a rip off job. Then after ordering, they transferred me to all these deal makers that showed up on my credit card. I got all my money back. Just by pledge .

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Taking advantage

    • by Paula Haby,
    • Rio Medina, Texas,
    • Feb 11, 2015

    I'm satisfied with the product. I have tons of wood furniture & cedar logs inside my home. I feel taken advantage of over the shipping fee. I got 4 bottle of Dutch Glow, clothes, sprayer. My shipping was approximately. $30.00+ . All of it would fit in a pre-pay box at the post office and ship for about $7.00. I was charged shipping for each item. It all fit in a small box. For this reason I won't purchase again. Yes, I should have gone to Walmart instead of ordering from the comfort of home. :( Stupid

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2015

      Anonymous

      I feel the same way. What a total disappointment. I'll keep in mind not to order anything from commercial. Shameful.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never Enter Your Card First

    • by PERCY MCGEE,
    • OKC,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    I have not used the product. I wish I had read the reviews first. No matter how good the product is, the company is a scam. If you want to try it, find it at another store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • by Paula Hepner,
    • McAlisterville, PA,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    I was very disappointed with this product. The sprayer did not work and it was very hard to pour out onto a cloth. It seemed to be too thick. I would never buy another one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't order Dutch Glow, it's a scam!

    • by Lisa Haris,
    • Suisun City, CA,
    • Feb 9, 2015

    I ordered the BOGO free offer online. The total should have been $25.90. The system asked if I wanted additional orders and I said no to all. Somehow I ended up with 6 bottles for a total of $73.80.

    I returned four bottles for an additional out of pocket expense of $17.00. I received a credit for only 20.00. The company will not credit for their error. Do not order this product. The customer service is horrible. My money is lost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very Dissatisfied

    • by Donna Stanley,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    Well shame on me for not reading the reviews before I ordered this stuff. Like others, the sprayer didn't work and when I put Dutch Glow on a coffee table, it left a milky coating, which partly went away after a lot of elbow grease. However, the table is still not back to its original shine. I tried it on my kitchen cabinets and couldn't see any difference as well. This was a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charged more than twice than what was expected!

    • by Susan ,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    Beware! The Dutch Glow website will have about 10 offers to have you order more items after you're done selecting the thing you actually wanted. You will not be able to see the total until it is already charged to your card. I was expecting $29.70. Instead I was charged $79! When I immediately called about this, I got a recording that they were closed due to weather. The bottom line is that after several calls and an e-mail, I got an e-mail stating that the $79 was correct and I would have to pay extra shipping if I wanted to return anything back to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worked for me!

    • by B. Clark,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 1, 2015

    I used Dutch Glow on an MCM teak buffet. It cleaned off years of grime and grease build-up. I also used a light steel wool on the really used areas. The wood was cleaned, lighter, and conditioned! I bought a second bottle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2015

      Louise

      My sprayer worked for me and so did the product. I did an antique desk that always seemed dusty. It hasn't gotten any dust for three days so far since using the product.

    • Feb 6, 2015

      Wally Saglett

      It does not work. Terrible results.

    • Feb 11, 2015

      Billie Bowman

      Total disappointment! A total scam! Purchased at Bed, Bath & beyond for 10.00 This product made no visible difference on my table after several applications. I only wish that I had saved my sales slip.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Amish Wood Milk

    • by Wendy M.,
    • Henderson county, NC,
    • Jan 30, 2015

    Terrible product! The sprayer does not work. This product made no difference on my wooden surfaces. Way too much up selling and the shipping and handling increases the price dramatically! Just another scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rip off from the start.

    • by Hir,
    • Crystal Lake, IL,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    This another rip off company that take money from old people. It asked for the credit card number first and and then the ordering process began. It does not show the order list before a final order and if you try to cancel it, they will say that is it too late to change an order and I still have to pay for shipment and handling charge without products. Do not order from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2015

      PERCY MCGEE

      I agree - rip off from the start. When I got to the end there was another item that I did not ask for and it was too late to change the order.

    • Feb 10, 2015

      PERCY MCGEE

      No matter how good the product is. I will never do business with that company again. Although I did learn a valuable lesson - if a site asks for your credit card at the beginning - get out!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    ORDER# 70050-2015-03324-060

    • by T Vogler,
    • Beaufort, NC,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    The Dutch Glow product and the company behind it is the biggest total ripoff I have ever encountered in my many years of online purchasing. It's just all around crazy starting from the totally confusing electronic ordering process that tricks you into buying more product than you want, to the shipping charges on each bottle that cause you to pay 3 or 4 times the actual USPS charge, or to the disingenuous completely satisfied return policy that doesn't include returning any of the shipping fees but requires you to pay additional charges to return the worthless product! Then you continue to call with additional great offers for other products certainly as worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Junk product

    • by Nicole,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 27, 2015

    Sprayer did not work. Product did not clean or shine. Left a white film the next day on my new table. Horrible. At least I bought direct and did not pay shipping. Awful product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Very dissatisfied

    • by Debbie Wooldridge,
    • Mobile Al,
    • Jan 26, 2015

    I purchased this product at Target. I read the label and was particularly interested in the water mark stain removal as I have a table with that same stain. I was very excited since I thought any product made by the Amish was of exceptional quality. First of all the sprayer didn't work. Second of all it did not remove the stain. And thirdly I have ruined my dining table by using this product. It has left an oily residue all over my table and not only is it oily but has left it in spots. I only used a small amount and I have rubbed and rubbed and it is all uneven. I take good care of my furniture and have had for many years because I do take good care of it. I should have never used this product. Also there is no number listed to call to complain. I hope there is a number for me to call listed on the website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-20 of 261

Write a review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review