About Dutch Glow

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in Neenah, WI who has been actively pushing the product during the past few months. At the time of our research, the company wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did have 127 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off. It’s also interesting to note that of these complaints, 105 indicated that the customer was dissatisfied with the company’s response.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join 1,203,040 HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

327 Customer Reviews for Dutch Glow

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 23 4 stars: 10 3 stars: 7 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 272
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 327
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Theives stole $85 from elderly friend

    • Florence, KY,
    • Jan 17, 2016

    This despicable company stole $85 from an elderly friend, sending her a tiny box of crap she didn't want and charging $45+ in shipping and handling. Complain to the Connecticut attorney general's office. They need to be out of business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow

    I ordered Dutch Glow last year, and instead of sending me the one bottle I ordered, they sent me five. On top of that, they charged me over $58. I called, but they would not refund my money and the girl was nasty. So I was stuck with this product. I do find it cleans well and lasts longer. Plus, my furniture does not get dusty as quickly as before. I do not think it's worth the money though, and because of their nasty attitude, I will never buy from them again. Do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    • Texas,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    This company charges a $2 processing fee for placing your order on the computer. They charged $2.95 shipping fee for one product, $7.95 for another product, and $7.95 for yet another product. After charging $2.00 in shipping fees, they have the guts to charge another $2.00 because I used my computer. Who doesn't use their computer to order in this day and age?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Save your money, all claims are false.

    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    Does absolutely nothing except make you look like a fool for buying it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow

    • Los Angeles, California,
    • Jan 7, 2016

    My wife bought by calling the number on the TV. She told me about this purchase the day after.

    "What is the name of the product?"

    "Dutch Glow" she said.

    This is not the first time she has been told to check reviews before buying as seen on TV. You see that kind of products on the table at the end some of the department stores.

    The phone call kept asking if you want a number of other products and she said no to all. Then she looked at her bank charge online. Told her when you say no, the computer puts yes on all orders.

    Hope someday some of these scams will be shut down. It's not fair to those who trust everything in life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Strips off the finish

    I used Amish Wood Milk on an old sewing cabinet that belonged to my grandmother. It was really dirty from sitting in my garage for a few years. I used as directed and was initially pleased with the results. I was shocked to discover that it actually removed the varnish from the top when I spilled a little coffee on it. I cleaned the coffee up immediately and now I have to completely refinish the top of the cabinet because the stain was lifted out of the wood.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    I just received my Dutch Glow and as the others have said, the nozzle did not work. I had to shorten the tube and then it sprayed. I have a lot of residue on my kitchen cabinets and proceeded to spray the product on the cabinets and I can honestly say this product did absolutely nothing to remove the buildup. Do not purchase. This product is a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow Scam

    • Eagle Rock, Mo,
    • Jan 4, 2016

    The online order processes before you push submit. When you try to call to change or cancel, they do not answer the phone (tried every 15 minutes for a full eight hours) and there is no online location to reach the offices. I am sending the order back the minute I receive it in the mail, and have notified my credit card company and the Better Business Bureau about these practices. If they have a good product, I will never know, but they have lost a potential customer due to their lack of service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied with Dutch Glow

    There is no way you can correct your order. I tried to correct my order. I tried to call the 800 number but received no response. My order was wrong and wanted to make corrections after I purchased it. Somehow my charges amounted to $170.00, which is wrong. Beware of what you order. It also takes 4 to 6 weeks for delivery which I am very unhappy about. I am trying to cancel this order number 16484814 which given me was. Beware of what and how you make your order with Dutch Glow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor business

    • Clyde, OH,
    • Jan 1, 2016

    This product is a total scam, I get the same results with a product I buy at the dollar tree for a dollar, and only the sprayer works (because it doesn't on the Dutch Glow). Dutch Glow or Wood Milk, whatever they're calling it, certainly isn't worth $10.00 plus $7.95 shipping plus another $12.95 in add-on charges. Save your money and get the stuff that actually works. There is no natural solution in the Dutch Glow as they say. You get the same results with awesome cleaners bought at the dollar tree or pledge multi-surface cleaners. They don't give you your money back and the product is worthless. To add, their customer service is horrible. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. Consider yourself warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Bad business practices.

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Jan 1, 2016

    I ordered the Dutch Glow product, added one additional for $7.95, processing. Should have been $14.95 + $7.95 + $7.95 but I was bombarded with pop ups for additional products. I hit no for everything else. I waited to try to see cart or itemized charges with an authorization button to click on. Well that didn't come up and the order was just confirmed for over 80 dollars. Beware of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 327

Write a review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review