About Dutch Glow

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in Neenah, WI who has been actively pushing the product during the past few months. At the time of our research, the company wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did have 127 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off. It’s also interesting to note that of these complaints, 105 indicated that the customer was dissatisfied with the company’s response.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by journey or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

298 Customer Reviews for Dutch Glow

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 20 4 stars: 9 3 stars: 6 2 stars: 13 1 stars: 250
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 298
Sort reviews by:

  • Dutch Glow Scam

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Aug 21, 2015

    I too am a victim of Dutch Glow's scam and inferior product. Ordered one (1) bottle, attempted to cancel the order only to receive four, each with a $7.95 shipping charge although shipped in the same box. Ultimately contacted Glenda Patterson, customer service manager via email and received a return authorization, however the $27.95 initial shipping fee was withheld; net $17 credit less my return shipping cost! The parent company SAS is but a 30 minute drive. I'll attempt to speak with Jim Davis, Exe VP & Chief Marketing Director regarding the multitudes of disgruntled customers. Needless to say, will file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. It's not the pocket change involved but the principle. Lastly the product itself is poor, left a white haze on my dinning room table.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This stuff doesn't work

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 21, 2015

    This stuff ruined my dinning table. Tried several applications, and all I got were streaks and a dull finish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This stuff will damage furniture

    • Oakland CA,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I bought some of this, and put it on my mahogany table. Within 10 seconds, I started wiping it off, but the spray pattern of the product was still visible on the finish of the table. The problem seems to have damaged my table. Not horribly, but the finish is now worse than it was before.

    I called the company to inquire about this and was told categorically, what I just observed did not happen, and that the product does not damaged furniture finishes. The person I spoke to was completely uninterested in the damage caused to my table, had no suggestions, and basically told me to hang up because I wasn't going to get anywhere. If you value your furniture, do not use this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow Review

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Save your money, this is just crap that does nothing at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    • Barkhamsted, CT,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Cannot even get the spray function to work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Washington,
    • Jun 25, 2015

    Don't even think about this product as it is a scam. Be careful about thinking about ordering online as in the process it is very easy to order it without meaning to as there is no clear 'cancel' or 'submit' button. I got most of the way through my order and saw the shipping time of 4-6 weeks. As this was after the time I would be at the shipping address I exited only to find my order had been placed. It also included an extra $8 for a 'bonus' product which I did not select to order.

    When I went back to try and cancel the order, guess what, the system placed another order! When I rang to explain and cancel the order, Dutch Glow pretty much said that it's too bad because the product has already been shipped. I would have to return it for a refund. I explained I would not be at the address which was why I tried to cancel the order. They said again too bad. This ended up costing me $60. These are very poor and deceitful business practice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Happy with results!

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I used the Amish Wood Milk on my manufactured wood floors after making the mistake of cleaning them with a steam floor cleaner which removed the shine and caused a build up of other floor cleaners. I used the bottle that you squirt on the floor rather than spray, it may be more concentrated. You then scrub and remove with a damp sponge mop and towel dry so floors don't stay wet. It removed most of the build up from other products and left a nice shine. However, the shine only lasted about 3 weeks. I might buy another bottle and use it again to remove the rest of the old build up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Jun 4, 2015

    Scam. This stuff needs to be taken off the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful product.

    • Greenville, SC,
    • May 31, 2015

    I have a complete set of chairs that are Duncan Phyfe period. I thought I was going to have to refinish them. This product brought them back to a beautiful finish. Anyone who has a negative comment obviously does not know how to use the product or anything about refinishing furniture.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Horseheads NY,
    • May 27, 2015

    This product ruined my cherry coffee table. It's a mess. No shine left. Steaks and dull. Tried it 5 times, getting worse each time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2015

      Louise Stark

      You can not simply spray and wipe this product. You have to spray on a lot and scrub it into the surface. I used it on my Aunt's 110 year old treadle sewing machine "Parlor Cabinet," it brought the thing back to life. It's been about one month and it's starting to look "dry" again, but you have to remember it hasn't had any polish, oils, or wax for over 90 years. I will treat it every 30 days if necessary to keep it looking good. By the way, this cabinet had a water stain on the top that was grotesque, and the product almost completely made it disappear. I've use all kinds of products, and I've not gotten this type of result from any other one. I think it's great. I just don't think it can replace other oils used for new furniture.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow is absolute crap

    • Ontario,
    • May 22, 2015

    This product is absolute crap. It does absolutely nothing but dull anything you apply it to. I cannot believe they are allowed to sell this. A definite scam! I would never recommend this crappy product to anyone. As a matter of fact I threw my bottle of this bogus product in the garbage and learned from my mistake. When buying anything in future I will look at the reviews first. Just plain garbage! There is no 0 on the rating so I had to give it a 1. It actually deserves a -100.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 298

Write a review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review