About Dutch Glow

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in Neenah, WI who has been actively pushing the product during the past few months. At the time of our research, the company wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did have 127 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off. It’s also interesting to note that of these complaints, 105 indicated that the customer was dissatisfied with the company’s response.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

READ NEXT: Super Simple, Natural, & Cheap Cleaning Solutions Already In Your Kitchen

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

344 Customer Reviews for Dutch Glow

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 26 4 stars: 10 3 stars: 7 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 286
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 344
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ruined my table top completely, took off finish!

    I placed the bottle on the table but it fell over. I did not know that the lid was loose on the spray bottle. Unfortunately, it all sat on there for a while before I had noticed anything. My husband wiped it all up very well but it did however take all of the finish off our table. Nothing we did took the horrible spots away! It's an absolute mess. People beware, this stuff is dangerous to your furniture. We may have to get the whole table refinished because of this product. Is there anything we can use to get these horrible looking spots off?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A white ring on antique vanity

    I have an antique vanity and a wet cup was left on it leaving a white ring on the wood; I used the Amish Milk as instructed-it required leaving it on the stain for overnight and then repeating and it worked. There's no more indication of the white ring and it brought back the luster of the wood.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    I was so exited to clean my microwave oven filter but it did nothing at all. How in the world it works so good on TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works like MAGIC

    • Clovis, CA,
    • Apr 22, 2016

    My solid oak childhood table and chairs are one of my cherished possessions. One of the little chairs got left in the garage and the wood was dull and dry as a bone. I used Amish Wood Milk by Dutch Glow and it was amazing how the wood came alive and sucked up the milk like a sponge. Thank you for making this fabulous product. I grew up in Iowa with Amish people living all around the countryside. I used to go to their store and find the most wonderful items.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Best Wood Product!

    I have a cleaning business. This is a great wood cleaner and polish. I highly recommend it. You can see your reflection. It's good for all types of wood. It's also safe for most woods!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Buyer Beware

    Doesn't work. They said would refund $29.95 of the $65.00 price or offered to pay $5.00 to keep it. This whole thing is a scam. Don't buy this. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    TV Ad Dutch Glow Special

    I intended to order the 14.99 special. When I was keying in my card number it jumped to 78.22, I could not cancel. I called the customer service on Monday morning and told them I wanted the order canceled. I was told the order did not complete, and again I told them to cancel. On 2/24 I received an email that the order had shipped. I received the order on 2/29. I called on 3/1 to get an authorization to return and was told they would refund only 39.00, they would not return shipping and handling. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told that they would email me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Double billing

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Feb 26, 2016

    I placed the order after seeing the infomercial. It arrived weeks later, but it was doubled, and I was billed double the amount. I called to complain, and the agent said, "Oh, yes that happens a lot. The phone picks up noises, and your order is doubled when you didn't ask for that." So what am I to do? I need to send it back. I sent back half of the order at my expense, and now they tell me Dutch Glow's policy is NO reimbursement on the shipping. I didn't order two sets, and shouldn't have had to send anything back. DON'T call in your order. Besides the fact that I am out the $18 shipping charge, the product was supposed to be $15, but somehow I ended up paying $50 times two ($100 total) after the bogus second order. I have no idea how that happened, and I will never order anything from this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I purchased this product and haven't received it yet, but they doubled my order and charged me as such, without my consent or confirmation. I made sure to order one quantity, and they automatically make it two when you order online. There was no confirmation page to confirm what it was you're purchasing, before you give the credit card information. When I talked with a customer service representative about this, she wouldn't give me any help, and said they don't have a supervisor or manager in their office, and that they're in New York. I pressed the issue, and told her that every call center has a supervisor or manager, and that I want her name and their names, and she hung up on me. I called back and got another person, who put me on hold for an hour (to transfer me to a supervisor), then hung up. Before that, I asked for their names and she gave me first names only, (it sounded like she was making them up), and said she didn't know their last names, nor was she able to find out.

    The only thing I can do is dispute the charges with my bank. This company's customer service seems like something that is being run out of a basement, like a scam, and I am seething with rage right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst phone order experiance and then to deal with customerservice

    So I called in to the number on the TV screen thinking I would get a friendly voice who would tell me more about the product and help me purchase.

    I was instead amused by the incompetent recording that had me press 1 then 2 then a bunch of other numbers. By now I am lost because the recording is looping and has me buying things I did not know I could buy! So in the end I am so confused that I have no idea if my order even went through. So I hung up.

    Today was the day of surprise. I have a box of Dutch Glow and a bunch of shams! So I called the help desk. Boy was that another experience, I was on an hour hold and then the lady that answered was too busy talking about her weekend plans with her co-workers. So I hung up and called again. I experienced the same thing. After a while the phone cuts off.

    So I called back the third time, only this time I got a lady that told me sorry and that I have to give away these as gifts because I ordered them! I was also informed that If I don't want it then I can return it for $5.00 credit on my next purchase..

    OMG! This has been the absolute worst experience when ordering an item I saw on TV. Never again. I have learned my lesson. Dutch glow was the worst company to do business with.

    I think this is my first review ever. I am convinced that someone is running a major scam. Run away from this company. Never buy anything this company has to offer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    ​Buyer beware. You will be paying more for S&H than for the product itself.

    • New York,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Saw this on TV and decided to try it. I ordered the intro kit and got six bottles instead. Why would I need six bottles? (An auto system takes the order, so be careful what buttons are pressed.) The best part is they charged $5.95 each for 4 bottles and $7.95 each for 2 bottles, yet they all came in one box. I was charged $71.42 total, yet if I return all 6 bottles my refund will be $25.90. The balance is the shipping charge. Is this a rip off or what? I can't say if the product works. I am so mad I have not tried it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 344

Write a review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review