About Essential Cultures

Manufactured by Leaf Origin, Essential Cultures is a daily, high-CFU count probiotic supplement that’s claimed to be designed to restore balance throughout your whole digestive tract. Once this occurs, the company claims you can experience increased regularity and decreased indigestion, gas, and bloating; improved mood, elevated metabolism, boosted immune system response, and better absorption of essential nutrients from the foods you eat.

How Does Essential Cultures Claim to Work?

According to the Essential Cultures website, 70% of your immune system is found in your digestive tract, due in no small part to the presence of beneficial bacteria. Not only do these “good” bacteria work to boost your immune system response, but they can also improve digestion, leading to better nutrient absorption and an improved ability to lose weight.

However, the company claims that when there are too few beneficial bacteria in your gut, often due to poor eating habits, chronic stress, and antibiotic use, your gut can no longer perform optimally, leading to symptoms such as gas, constipation, bloating, a weakened immune system, and more. Fortunately, Essential Cultures claims to help balance about 80% good bacteria to 20% bad within your gut, resulting in improved digestion.

In order to accomplish this, Essential Cultures is claimed to contain 30 billion Colony Forming Units (CFUs) of 15 different strains of bacteria, including “superstrains” Lactobacillus Acidophilus and Bifidobacterium. Unlike many other probiotics though, the manufacturer claims that Essential Cultures was made specifically to provide these benefits without resulting in bad breath.

How Should You Take Essential Cultures Probiotic?

According to the supplement’s website, you should take one 139mg capsule of Essential Cultures daily with food, ideally at the same time each day. The manufacturer claims that some customers have reported noticing a difference within a day, although many others claim that it took several days to experience results. With this said, the company recommends regular use for 3-4 weeks for full effects.

Essential Cultures is claimed to be made using only the purest, highest quality ingredients, free of harmful chemicals and fillers, and to be independently tested for quality and potency. In addition, Essential Cultures is claimed to be 100% safe and effective.

Essential Cultures Pricing & Refund Policy

Essential Cultures is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle (30 capsules per bottle): $38.95 plus $6.95 S&H
  • 3 Bottles: $$88.95 plus free S&H
  • 6 Bottles: $$157.95 plus free S&H

All Leaf Origin supplements come with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges, even if the bottle is empty. In order to initiate the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-295-8710.

Is Essential Cultures Worth the Money?

While not all probiotics are create equal, for the most part, doctors agree that they’re safe for people of almost all ages to use, and that they have the potential to improve your digestive health.

With this in mind, when it comes down to it, is Essential Cultures worth the money? Consider the following:

Check Your Local Options First

It’s definitely positive that Leaf Origin places a lot of pride in their manufacturing process and in their customer service, but it’s important to note that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a 30 million CFU/multi-culture probiotic from a local retailer. Granted, it may not contain the exact same formulation of bacteria, but it might be significantly less expensive than Essential Cultures. And if you’re dissatisfied, you’ll simply have to hop in the car to obtain a refund.

What Are Consumers Saying About Essential Cultures?

Leaf Origin is a very new company, and Essential Cultures is an even newer product (URL registered September 2014), so the supplement didn’t have many online customer reviews available at the time of our research. We did find one review here claiming that most customers appeared to have had a positive experience, although the only place we could locate any actual customer reviews was under the Stories page on the Essential Cultures website—all of which were 5 stars.

However, we did find a detailed third-party review here from someone who claims to have used Essential Cultures and to have had a positive experience. It’s interesting to note though, that the review was posted on 9/24/14, only 16 days after the Essential Cultures URL was first registered. Although, a representative from Leaf Origin reached out to us and let us know that they originally performed a “soft launch” for Essential Cultures, part of which involved offering the supplement to their email list and selling it on the Leaf Origin website, and which allowed them to obtain feedback and refine their product prior to a full-scale launch. As such, the individual who wrote the review could have used it long before the actual Essential Cultures URL was registered.

With all of this said, as we mentioned in our Everything You Wanted to Know About Probiotics article, most consumers appear to experience at least some benefit from the use of probiotics, although some of the most common complaints involve digestive upset, bloating/gas, and failure to work. In order to learn more, be sure to read through many of the probiotic reviews found here on HighYa.

Where’s the Label?

We also found it a little disconcerting that there’s no product label provided on the Essential Cultures website, although both of the reviews mentioned above do provide a complete list of all the bacteria strains it contains.

Bottom Line

Although it’s an extremely new product, Essential Cultures appears to contain many popular strains that other people have used to experience benefits, and to contain more than enough CFUs to be effective.

However, we’re not sure there’s necessarily anything that sets Essential Cultures apart from some of the competition that would justify its higher price, as well as the additional time it will take to order online. In addition, we might recommend also visiting your local pharmacy to see what options they have available in order to compare everything apples to apples. And as always, be sure to speak with your physician before beginning any new probiotic supplement.

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Customer Reviews for Essential Cultures

Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 1
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Incredible help for IBS

    I have fairly severe IBS-D & I have been taking Essential Cultures for a year. Since I began taking Essential Cultures, my gut settles down faster after a flare-up & I have less bloating and gas. This also helps to replace the good bacteria necessary for good digestion quickly after I have an IBS episode. I have recommended EC to other IBS sufferers with confidence.

    OTC products just don't have the same effectiveness for me. I chose Leaf Origin's product for several reasons: 1. the strains of probiotics in the capsules, especially the bifidobacterium bifidum; 2. no auto-ship; 3. It's Vegan safe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 69 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    This is not a necessary step to improve your health, I looked up their mit research, it proved the existence of this fungal infection, not that it is an epidemic. The body craves sugar because it's a low grade stimulant, not because of some fungal infection. Healthy eating choices and regular exercise will do more for you than these supplements. To test it I took this supplement and found no significant difference the results are mainly placebo, meaning it worked because you believed it would work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2015

      Jeff

      How long did you try taking it?

    • Jan 13, 2015

      Sheri

      Took essential cultures from leaf origin for a day--just one capsule. Experienced major acid reflux which I had not had in over 8 years (thanks to apple cider vinegar).

      No sure-but I'm just saying, 8 years is a long time for it to just return suddenly on its own.

    • Feb 13, 2015

      Mark

      I agree. Thanks for the great post!

    • Feb 22, 2015

      Pat

      Hey Jack: (Not worth it)

      You seem to feel quite strongly about Essential Cultures, and obviously did some research... You insinuated that Essential Cultures worked if you believed it would work. By the same token, do you think that it didn't work for you because you so strongly believed it wouldn't?

    • Apr 15, 2015

      Karol

      Good point Pat. Well, studying Anatomy and Physiology, Microbiology, Biology and Nutrition again, I have come to believe there is something to the Probiotic theory. I was a nurse at a Pediatric Center (children on ventilators). The kids I worked with had tube feedings. These were their total nutrition. They did not eat ANY food. They got their total nutrition from liquid canned products like Ensure, Promote, Osmolyte etc... Some of these products are used to entice whoever is on these feedings to drink them orally if they are able. They are very sweet, (not sure of the sugar content but they are very sweet weird tasting). Some of the children would get horrible diarrhea no matter which product we put them on and most were eventually found to have C difficile. We would use the cold probiotics and some kefir (which was cheaper and more effective than the yogurt) and mix into their tube feedings. It worked wonders. I was very skeptical. I thought it was a sham until I saw it for myself. Now, I am not advocating THIS particular product, because I never dealt with this one. But if you give it more than 2 months (which was the recommendation that we were told) things would change. I'm very sure that these drastic quick changes are a placebo effect.

    • Aug 18, 2015

      Pat

      Hey Karol,

      Apologies! Apologies! I must have overlooked the email that HighYa sent me indicating that you had posted your comment. Anyway, just last night I read your comment and was kind of excited since only the night before I had watched Dr. David Perlmutter on PBS speak on, "Brain Maker, the power of Gut Microbes to heal and protect your brain for life." I'm not sure if the programs are still on, but they, or most of them are available on YouTube. You might want to check listings where Dr. Perlmutter presents, "Brain Maker," at the Buck Institute, or when he shares a radio program with Dr. Mercola and more. I found them to be fantastic and very informative. Anyway, just wanted to let you know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can eat more indian food

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I used to eat Indian food despite the unpleasant side affects after.

    About 2 weeks ago I started talking Essential Cultures for general health and found that when I ate Indian food I had no problems after. I was so excited I ordered "Chicken Makhani" 4 nights in a row, all extra spicy!

    I'm not sure exactly HOW Essential Cultures works, but it has proven to me it is stronger than Indian food!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 26 people found this review helpful

    They sold my email address for health related junk mail

    • Texas,
    • Jun 14, 2015

    I just ordered on May 2nd and paid for a 2-day shipping. I received it on May 8th. I now get 30 to 60 junk emails a day on health related products. I wish I had never got involved with them. Lets see if this review is published.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Worked for me.

    I bought a 90 day supply. It relieved gas and constipation, and yeast. April 2, 2015, I started a diet and exercise after about two months on this product. I have lost 20 lbs. I ran out about a week ago and started using another two different probiotics together, but they don't seem to be working because gas and constipation are starting to return. I think the difference with Essential Cultures is not just the number of cultures, but that the cultures actually survive beyond your stomach and reach your intestines where the need to get in order to be most effective. I plan to reorder ASAP.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Loved them

    • Vernal, UT,
    • Feb 27, 2015

    I have had an over run of Candida and have been fighting it for years. This pro-biotic is wonderful and worth the extra money. From the first few days I felt better and ran out before I reordered and can tell a big difference. I am sure it will take me longer to correct my balance but for some it might be quick. I love this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Relief Within 2 days.

    • South FL,
    • Feb 2, 2015

    I was really not sure if this product would work or not. However, after reading the 100% guarantee I thought why not. Well, after 2 days I started to have less bloating, and no more constipation. So I'm looking forward to seeing what else this product might help me with. I'll let you all know. So far so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2015

      Judie

      I find it strange or too early to say they have no more constipation after using this probiotic for 2 whole days. Really?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good

    • Jan 30, 2015

    I have been taking probiotics type products for about four years. I had also been taking the same product for that long and decided to try Essential Cultures so my husband purchased them. I have been on them for about two weeks and am feeling pretty good. Switching it up must have helped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Essential Cultures

    • Springdale AR,
    • Jan 29, 2015

    I have tried OTC probiotics but it did not help me. This product has helped me to be able to eat a meal without stomach problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Leaf Origin Probiotics

    • Hahira, GA,
    • Jan 24, 2015

    I have been taking Essential Cultures for only one week and it has stopped my sugar cravings and I don't snack during the day. I have gained a lot of weight, will loose a few pounds then gain it back because of sugar cravings. Thank God I have found this product, it is great. Thanks

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Has helped with bowel problem.

    • Ashland, PA,
    • Jan 20, 2015

    I have been taking Essential Cultures for 2 weeks I see a change for the better in my bloating problem. After 2 weeks I have noticed some improvements with bloating and gas problems along with regular bowel movements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a review for Essential Cultures!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review