About FiberFix

Based out of Orem, UT, FiberFix is a fiber-resin wrap that claims to “harden like steel in minutes,” and to provide a permanent fix to a wide variety of materials even leaking pipes. FiberFix was originally featured on the popular television program “Shark Tank” in late October 2013, and was invested in by Lori Greiner, who is considered to be the queen of QVC. During the show, Ms. Greiner invested $120K of her own money into the company for a 12% stake.

Because of the product’s newness, FiberFix is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and has minimal online reviews. However, those that do exist seem to be overwhelmingly positive.

How FiberFix Works

According to the FiberFix website, the product works in two steps:

  1. First, wet your FiberFix roll by submerging it in water, and then removing any excess.
  2. With latex gloves covering your hand, wrap your FiberFix roll around whatever needs to be repaired, and let it sit for a few minutes. However, most online reviews we found recommended letting it sit for at least 24 hours to achieve optimal hardening.

The manufacturer claims FiberFix can be affixed to almost any material, including metal, wood, plastic, rubber, and more. In addition, it is claimed to be 100-times stronger than duct tape, weatherproof, heat and cold resistant, and can be sanded to become unnoticeable on wood surfaces.

Based on the few online reviews we could find, FiberFix really does provide a lasting solution to broken items that would otherwise be impossible or very costly to repair. The only caveat is that FiberFix is not intended to be a patch; in other words, the material’s strength comes from layering, so cutting off a small piece and using it as a single layer will likely not provide the results you’re looking for. Also, because FiberFix will adhere to literally any material even your hands you must wear latex gloves when applying.

The Shark Tank Episode When FiberFix Was Pitched

FiberFix Pricing & Return Policy

If you purchase FiberFix directly from the manufacturer, it is currently offered at $19.95 per set, which includes one 1-inch roll, one 2-inch roll, one 4-inch roll, in addition to one pair of latex gloves, and one sandpaper strip. However, like most “As Seen on TV” products, you’ll receive a second FiberFix set with your order, but will have to pay an additional $7.95 shipping and handling, bringing your total to $35.85. If you live outside the continental U.S. or in a U.S. territory, you’ll also be required to pay an additional $10 surcharge.

All FiberFix products come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. This means you’ll be out $15.90 in shipping and handling fees, in addition to whatever costs you incur sending it back to the manufacturer. Keep in mind that this is typical of the vast majority of “As Seen on TV” products, and is how they make the bulk of their money.

With this said, it’s important to note that FiberFix is also available through Amazon.com, Home Depot, Ace Hardware, Lowe’s, QVC, eBay, as well as a wide variety of other retailers. Because of the expense of returning FiberFix to the manufacturer should you not be happy with its performance, we would highly recommend purchasing through a standard brick-and-mortar retailer.

Pros:

  • Relatively inexpensive solution to fix items that would otherwise be too costly, or too labor intensive to repair.
  • Can be quickly applied to a wide variety of surfaces.
  • 30-day money back guarantee, when purchased directly from the manufacturer.
  • Online reviews seem to be overwhelmingly positive.

Cons:

  • Very new product, so we’ll have to see how FiberFix performs over time.
  • If purchased from company’s website, cost to return can be almost as much as the product itself.

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Customer Reviews for FiberFix

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 19
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Dover, Delaware,
    • Nov 16, 2015

    Had 2 small cracks in my fiberglass tub. Decided to try this product. 23 hours and $35 later and they still have not hardened. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Fort Benning, GA,
    • Oct 29, 2015

    Waste of money. I tried to repair a broken metal piece on my motorcycle with the 1-inch. After a minute, the roll was a non-bonding waste that couldn't stick to itself or my metal. I followed directions to the T but it's not good for smaller parts. It's easier just to buy a replacement part than work with this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    • Avon, IN,
    • Oct 24, 2015

    Don't waste your money. FiberFix does not do what it says it will do. Waste of time and money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Make love to your duct tape!

    • Rhode Island,
    • Sep 8, 2015

    It sucks. It can't beat duct tape. It didn't get soft, wouldn't even stick to itself. Shame on you Shark tank. You should ask for your money back. One positive aspect is that I can't get it off my fingers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2015

      Jenny

      FiberFix tape has less density of a tape. We are a manufacturer from China. Can you try our more density fiberglass repair pipe tape? If yes, please contact my email.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not enough tape in package.

    • Arkansas,
    • Aug 11, 2015

    Seems to work ok but, I will have to buy two more packs to fix a 14 inch crack in a fiberglass pipe. That's almost a 30.00 dollar fix. Do not an affordable repair if you ask me. I recommend it for small repairs only and you have to use it all at once. Once it's exposed to air and moisture it hardens fast.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2015

      Jenny

      Yes, you are right!

      1. This tape is fit to fix small leaks and cracks in pipes, due to the pressure of water.

      This tape is only made of fiberglass cloth and polyurethane resin 450psi.

      2. If the tape touches moisture or air, it will hardens. Due to this chemical reaction, the tape can fix the leaks and crack.

      We sell 3 inch tape for $1.25$-$1.90. If you need some, please contact Jenny, China factory. We can sell you a small order. jenny@piperepair.cn

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible product - DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    • Denver, co,
    • Jul 19, 2015

    A windstorm blew over our outdoor umbrella breaking one of the pot metal arms. Purchased 2' x 50" package and followed the instructions exactly as written. The tape is thick and hard to work with. Would not confirm at all to my application nor adhere properly to itself or the metal frame I was trying to repair. In the fine print FiberFix says they make no representations as to the effectiveness of this product. Boy is that an understatement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    FiberFix

    • Lake Charles LA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    I used your product, it is a piece of garbage, hence made in China. So sad we can't make anything in USA. Followed directions, tape did not soften or get sticky, would not adhere to item or itself. Sorry but you don't have a rating low enough. Again it's garbage.

    P.S. I used to repair aircraft for a living.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 23, 2015

      S. Eddington

      I bet you didn't follow instructions correctly. We have used the product to fix the railing on a bed, the handle of a wheelbarrow and the handle of a stroller.

      It worked PERFECTLY every time!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fiberfix is a poor leak repair

    • Tucson,
    • Jun 18, 2015

    Had a water main leak in 1 inch black metal pipe. In the past I have used Christy's Slick repair kit it worked great.

    This time all the plumbing shops were closed by the time I found the leak. I bough 3 packs of FiberFix, thinking I would never use them all just for 1 small leak, but would have one on hand.

    The thing I noticed is the stuff is made in China, a clue it was junk. And the fiber glass tape broke from just hand tension of a pipe wrap. I think they do dot use real fiberglass, as it is impossible to break it by hand.

    The resin in the fiber was very dry, nothing like the stuff made just for pipe repair, as that resin is very sticky and there is a lot of it that works out of a tight hand wrap.

    After 3 attempt to stop the leak I cut the crap off and bought a 3x108 inch Christy's repair kit - it worked the first time. A trick with Christy's tape is to wrap over it with any tape to keep compression on it as it cures.

    Just being on TV does not mean you are selling junk. If you want a pipe repair. stick with the kits made just for this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2015

      Jenny

      Sir, the fiberglass repair tape is manufactured in China. We think the tape has been harden when you used it. Please note that once the foil bag tape is broken, this tape can not use. So before you use, make sure the bag is well.

      There are two tape levels that we produce. If you need some, please contact jenny@piperepair.cn.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great Stuff

    The leg of our bed was cracked in half. My husband followed the instructions exactly, applied the product and it is as strong as the other legs. In fact, you can't tell it was even broken because he was able to sand the product and repaint it. I love the stuff.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2015

      Jenny

      Good feedback! Fiberglass fix tape really can fix leg of chair/bed/hammer and so on.

      We are a China manufacture and sell small orders. If you need some more, please contact jenny@piperepair.cn.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Tape never softened

    • Walla Walla, WA,
    • Mar 15, 2015

    I opened the FiberFix pack to find a rock hard roll of tape. Once I immersed it in water for the recommended time, nothing happened. It remained hard and impossible to use.

    So I've made the assumption that the product had perhaps already been exposed to some moisture, which seems unreasonable.

    The Lowe's agent seemed not to have an explanation, offered no exchange (I admit, I had no receipt), and had never used the product so it's something I understand.

    Is there a way to understand my problem?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 22, 2015

      Jenny

      Two reasons:

      1. The tape is over the valid time.

      2. Foil bag is broken. As you said, the tape exposed moisture, and once it touches air or moisture, the tape will harden.

      We are a China manufacture of fiberglass fix tape and can sell you small order. If you need some, please contact jenny@piperepair.cn.

    • Oct 10, 2015

      Donald

      I purchased fiber fix, opened sealed bag, but the tape was hard. I followed the direction carefully. I could not use tape, very disappointed with product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Need smaller strips!

    • Spring Hill, FL,
    • Dec 1, 2014

    Bought the 2" Fiberfix. Opened package to discover that you CANNOT use partial pieces for small jobs. Wanted to fix leg on chair. But I only need about 2 feet and not 50 ft. of this product. At $7.99 a pop, it is an expensive fix! They need to come out with smaller length strips in 3-4 small packages. I will be returning this product right away. An expensive fix for one chair leg. Buyer Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a review for FiberFix!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review