About FiberFix

Published on: Dec 8, 2013

Based out of Orem, UT, FiberFix is a fiber-resin wrap that claims to “harden like steel in minutes,” and to provide a permanent fix to a wide variety of materials even leaking pipes. FiberFix was originally featured on the popular television program “Shark Tank” in late October 2013, and was invested in by Lori Greiner, who is considered to be the queen of QVC. During the show, Ms. Greiner invested $120K of her own money into the company for a 12% stake.

Because of the product’s newness, FiberFix is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and has minimal online reviews. However, those that do exist seem to be overwhelmingly positive.

How FiberFix Works

According to the FiberFix website, the product works in two steps:

  1. First, wet your FiberFix roll by submerging it in water, and then removing any excess.
  2. With latex gloves covering your hand, wrap your FiberFix roll around whatever needs to be repaired, and let it sit for a few minutes. However, most online reviews we found recommended letting it sit for at least 24 hours to achieve optimal hardening.

The manufacturer claims FiberFix can be affixed to almost any material, including metal, wood, plastic, rubber, and more. In addition, it is claimed to be 100-times stronger than duct tape, weatherproof, heat and cold resistant, and can be sanded to become unnoticeable on wood surfaces.

Based on the few online reviews we could find, FiberFix really does provide a lasting solution to broken items that would otherwise be impossible or very costly to repair. The only caveat is that FiberFix is not intended to be a patch; in other words, the material’s strength comes from layering, so cutting off a small piece and using it as a single layer will likely not provide the results you’re looking for. Also, because FiberFix will adhere to literally any material even your hands you must wear latex gloves when applying.

The Shark Tank Episode When FiberFix Was Pitched

FiberFix Pricing & Return Policy

If you purchase FiberFix directly from the manufacturer, it is currently offered at $19.95 per set, which includes one 1-inch roll, one 2-inch roll, one 4-inch roll, in addition to one pair of latex gloves, and one sandpaper strip. However, like most “As Seen on TV” products, you’ll receive a second FiberFix set with your order, but will have to pay an additional $7.95 shipping and handling, bringing your total to $35.85. If you live outside the continental U.S. or in a U.S. territory, you’ll also be required to pay an additional $10 surcharge.

All FiberFix products come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. This means you’ll be out $15.90 in shipping and handling fees, in addition to whatever costs you incur sending it back to the manufacturer. Keep in mind that this is typical of the vast majority of “As Seen on TV” products, and is how they make the bulk of their money.

With this said, it’s important to note that FiberFix is also available through Amazon.com, Home Depot, Ace Hardware, Lowe’s, QVC, eBay, as well as a wide variety of other retailers. Because of the expense of returning FiberFix to the manufacturer should you not be happy with its performance, we would highly recommend purchasing through a standard brick-and-mortar retailer.

Pros:

  • Relatively inexpensive solution to fix items that would otherwise be too costly, or too labor intensive to repair.
  • Can be quickly applied to a wide variety of surfaces.
  • 30-day money back guarantee, when purchased directly from the manufacturer.
  • Online reviews seem to be overwhelmingly positive.

Cons:

  • Very new product, so we’ll have to see how FiberFix performs over time.
  • If purchased from company’s website, cost to return can be almost as much as the product itself.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Customer Reviews for FiberFix

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Life-saver!

    I am really surprised by the negative reviews for this product; maybe people don't read instructions?

    Anyways, I was driving home one night when it was pouring, and my windshield wiper snapped. Luckily, I had FiberFix in my car. I used the water from the rain, wrapped the broke pieces, and seriously like 5-7 minutes later it was fixed! I was able to drive home safely.

    Again, I'm not sure where the negativity is coming from. The product worked really well and really fast.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Tyson, thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear that you were able to get home safely with FiberFix. We agree that the instructions can be very helpful in getting things figured out. Please feel free to reach out, if you ever have any questions.

    • May 9, 2017

      David

      I thought this product worked great! But, as it was getting dark while repairing my PVC pipe leaks, I decided only to use a few inches of my 60-inch roll and do the remainder the next day. I sealed up the bag with the tape that it comes in and also wrapped it again with a zip-lock bag to ensure its quality. The next day my first bonded pipe was rock hard, but unfortunately so was the remaining tape that I had sealed up! So I ended up throwing away the majority of that roll.

      As for trying to fix a drain pipe from leaking, I would ensure that the water was drained, not dripping and completely dry before attempting to use this tape. Anyway for new users, please note that you should use the whole roll all at once. Do not use it over a constant dripping water leak. Ensure the area has been sanded, cleaned and dry. Wrap it tightly with the nylon to make it squish tight within itself for the best bond and this product will work great.

    • May 22, 2017

      David

      Just like I said, receiving a free roll of the tape would be nice. The rest of the roll hardened up, but I will still write how great this stuff is! I bought the 4-inch by a 60-inch roll and only got to use five inches of it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Slide fixed

    • Provo, Utah,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ladder to my children's swing set slide was broken. I didn't have the proper tools to fix it, but my husband had a roll of FiberFix. We followed the directions and applied it, and it worked perfectly!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Elise, thank you so much for your review! We're glad to hear your family was taken care of with FiberFix. We wish you all the best in your future repairs.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worked wonderfully

    • Florida,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased several boxes of the rolls and two patches of the FiberFix after seeing it on Shark Tank. So far I have fixed a hose, rake, shovel, bath tub and cattle water trough.

    This stuff is AMAZING! I can't help but think all these negative reviews are due to human error more than a defected product, so read the instructions and take your time. It did harden fairly fast, but when fixing an item that holds water, I let it set a whole 24 hours to be sure. And it was kind of tricky to handle by myself at first, until I got a feel for how it works.

    Overall, I am a very satisfied customer and will keep this in my home tool box from now on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Deejay, thank you so much for the review! We're so glad to hear that product is working well for you. We agree that it is a must have for your tool box! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can ever help you with anything.

    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Deejay, thank you so much for the review! We're so glad to hear that product is working well for you. We agree that it is a must have for your tool box! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can ever help you with anything.

    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Thanks so much for your review!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No problems here, worked great

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow, too many negative reviews, so I just had to come and post a good one.

    This product works great. Any negative reviews are most likely due to "user error." The product was easy to use and worked great. Read the instructions, watch the instructional video, use the sandpaper, plan out what you are going to do before you do it, and end the incompetence!

    My only suggestions and requests to FiberFix are:

    1. The "nylon tape" supplied is not really helpful. I used a clear nylon hockey tape, and it worked better. Plus, since it is "adhesive tape" it could stick to the broken item and help adhere the product better.

    2. It would be helpful if FiberFix offered a "sleeve" product as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Douglas, thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your positive response to FiberFix as well as your feedback. We agree that it is a great product! Please let us know if we can help you with anything in the future.

    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Thanks so much for your review.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money - Complete fail on leaky pipe.

    • Burlington, NJ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sink pipe drain developed a hole causing a decent leak, much smaller than the photo of a cracked pipe on the FiberFix box I had. I followed the instructions - which did not state to use the included sandpaper. I then followed the video on YouTube. Applied exactly as described. With in one hour the drip just seemed to seep through this useless tape. Now what I have is an extremely hard as rock tape on this pipe - I started to remove it last night since this was a complete fail. Once this FiberFix tape sets, it is not fun trying to remove it. It might work fixing a broom handle, something small. As for dealing with water pipes, forget it, save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 27, 2016

      Scorellis

      I used three rolls of the one-inch tape on a copper egress pipe in my basement that had a pinky-sized hole. I had used regular, self-adhering silicone tape first, but I ran out, and the pipe was still a little leaky. This stuff is what I had on hand. Even with three rolls (granted, it's a big three-inch pipe), after an hour, a single drip had formed, so I just used another roll of the four inches wide 40" tape on it. So, I agree this stuff is not wise to use (by itself) on water pipes.

      My recommendation it to put down a thick layer of silicone self-adhering tape (rescue tape) and then layer this stuff over the top. In the case of my copper egress pipes, which are just about shot, wrapping the entire thing in silicone tape and then using this stuff might be a lot cheaper than the $4,000 quote I got to rip out the copper and replace it. I know, who uses copper on egress plumbing? Whatever, it was during the 1950's when America "was great."

    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Anthony, we're so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with a water repair. We are confident when we say that we've had plenty of people with water-tight repairs that worked great! We'd love to give you another chance with our product and help you improve your experience. Please email your information to kirsten@fiberfix.com, and we'll send you another roll.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great Product!

    I have used this product around the house and around the farm. I have used it to repair shovel handles, pitchforks, the lines and handles, and it held up well. I use these tools daily so they have to stand up to constant pressure and weight.

    I also needed help with some fence boards and it secured them well.

    Love the product and used properly, it's a life saver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 31, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Laurie, thanks so much for your review! We're glad the product worked well for you. Please let us know if we can ever help you with your repairs.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    Followed directions to the letter. Wouldn't adhere to the object I attempted to fix nor to itself. It remained hard and non-sticky, actually. An amazing fail! My mistake was to not read reviews of this product before buying it. High hopes for this stuff. A great disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      William, we're so sorry to hear you had a negative experience with FiberFix last year. We would like to improve your experience by sending you a replacement roll. Our customer service is always available to answer specific questions! Please email your information to kirsten@fiberfix.com, and we will take care of you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Worked great for me

    • California,
    • May 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I repaired a broken fishing pole and it bonded just fine. The real test will be when I hook into a fat tuna, but it looks like it'll hold up just fine, since I bent the pole by hand and it didn't break.

    Only issue was the first layer is slippery so you kind of need two sets of hands for a job like this one, but it saved a rod so I'm happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Jacob, that's a perfect repair for FiberFix! We hope it is still working well for you, and that you're able to catch all the fat tunas you possibly want. Cheers!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Dover, Delaware,
    • Nov 24, 2015

    Had 2 small cracks in my fiberglass tub. Decided to try this product. 23 hours and $35 later and they still have not hardened. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Jennifer, it sounds like you were using the FiberFix Rigid Patch? We apologize for your negative experience, but we'd like to help you out! Better late than never, right? It may not have hardened for a couple of reasons.

      1.The Rigid Patch requires UV light to cure. If it was not exposed to natural light, it would have never cured. You can either use sunlight or a UV flashlight to help it cure.

      2.You must remove the clear, plastic film on top of the patch to let it begin curing.

      Either way, we would love to help improve your experience! Please reach out to kirsten@fiberfix.com for more information.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Fort Benning, GA,
    • Nov 5, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waste of money. I tried to repair a broken metal piece on my motorcycle with the 1-inch. After a minute, the roll was a non-bonding waste that couldn't stick to itself or my metal. I followed directions to the T but it's not good for smaller parts. It's easier just to buy a replacement part than work with this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Erica, we're sorry to hear you had a negative experience a couple of years ago! We would like to improve your perspective on FiberFix by sending you a replacement roll. We have tweaked our product a bit since then, and we're sure that it will work great for you. If you're interested, please email kirsten@fiberfix.com!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Sucks

    • Avon, IN,
    • Oct 31, 2015

    Don't waste your money. FiberFix does not do what it says it will do. Waste of time and money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2017

      FiberFix, Customer Service

      Ralph, we're sorry to hear you had a negative experience with FiberFix a few years back (better late than never, right?). We'd like to help you improve your impression of FiberFix by sending you a replacement set. We've tweaked our product a bit since 2015, and we think you'll be pleasantly surprised. If you're interested, please email kirsten@fiberfix.com, and we'll get you taken care of!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for FiberFix!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review