About Flaviar

Published on: Sep 7, 2014

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit lovers and enthusiasts, Flaviar is a UK-based discovery commerce company that claims to help you discover exciting drinks in the company of your friends. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be changing the way people drink, eat, taste by offering some of the best spirits from around the world at a fraction of retail prices.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does Flaviar stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based discovery commerce company that claims to help you discover liquor you otherwise wouldn’t, to improve your knowledge of spirits, to learn about history and trivia, and to impress your friends.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to send you a monthly tasting pack that consists of five 45ml bottles of premium spirits sourced from only the best beverage producers in the world, including Whisky, Rum, Cognac, Gin, Vodka, Grappa, Tequila, and more. Each spirit included in your tasting pack is claimed to be hand-selected by the company’s Tasting Panel, to cover a different category or theme, and to include an accompanying information card about the liquors your flavor pack contains, such as brand name and histories, as well as interesting related stories.

According to the Flaviar website, the process works over 3 steps:

  1. Subscribe to Flaviar by choosing your subscription (see next section for details), and then entering your personal and billing information. Then, enjoy the company’s carefully curated drinks once per month.
  2. Invite your friends and organize a tasting party.
  3. Organize your myBAR, which allows you to rate and display the drinks you own, have tasted, or want to try.

Flaviar claims that their tasting packs ship every 3rd Monday of the month and will arrive at your door within 2-7 business days. After arriving, if you sample a liquor you’re interested in buying, you can then visit the Flaviar Deals page and purchase directly from there.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of 7-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate. (Note: The only difference between the courses are the number of flavor packs you’ll receive.)

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

Flaviar membership programs are priced as follows:

  • 2 Month Test Flight: $94.99
  • Quarterly Subscription: $48.99 per quarter
  • Monthly Subscription: $40.99 per month

Flaviar School of Spirits email courses are priced as follows:

  • Spirits Explorer: $97.99
  • Spirits Aficionado: $228.99
  • Master of Spirits: $399.99

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to stop receiving tasting packs, you’ll need to request cancellation after your last shipment.

If you choose, you can also purchase individual Flaviar tasting packs for $41.99-$60.99, without being required to sign up for a subscription. In addition, Flaviar offers 2, 4, or 6-month gift subscriptions.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within 14 days of signing up, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you have some expendable income and are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar customers appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. You’ll have no control over the liquors you receive each month, and
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting packs to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that flavor packs don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Bottom line

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

254 Customer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 197 4 star: 10 3 star: 2 2 star: 10 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 254
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a subscription box service.

    It's an online community of sorts and not a subscription service. You pay their subscription fees for the chance to buy small tasting boxes at questionable market prices and to be allowed to purchase from their online shop. The packaging and accompanying materials that are included with purchases are very well made and expertly/humorously written (they have someone there who's adept in prose), and they seem to be knowledgeable and capable in the world of tasting and spirits.

    If you'd like to subscribe to an online resource, and accompanying community and exclusive shop, then this is for you. If you're looking for a monthly drinks-box, like I was, then this isn't it. Sadly, Flaviar's "marketing" is ambiguous and vague (maybe on purpose) on this state-of-affairs, thereby snagging unsuspecting monthly-box subscribers like myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Basil Hayden Bourbon

    • Sarasota, FL,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Smooth, beautiful aroma with fruit and charcoal taste; my friends and I love it. I served it at a Kentucky Derby party at our home. Everyone who had a glass of the Basil Hayden asked: "What is this Bourbon? It is delicious."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Shopping experience

    This is the best website for bottles not found on the majority of shelves at liquor stores and the pricing is perfectly set. Great experience with shopping and tasting new worlds. Thank you and for fairly delivering. It was very fast and safe packing made my bottles arrive safely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The Angels' Share

    • La Verne, CA,
    • May 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flaviar is the best place to find fine spirits, amazing curation, and unbelievably great deals on some of the rarest spirits in the world. If you're interested in learning about the history of spirits, how to mix superb cocktails and clever alcohol anecdotes, take the Flaviar School of Spirits. So much fun! Additionally, The Vault offerings are absolutely the best available. Rare, allocated, hard to find or otherwise priced out of a normal human's budget, The Vault offers us mere mortals a taste of the absolute best spirits ever bottled.

    Special Flaviar exclusive bottlings and blendings round out an exhaustive portfolio that any advocate, ambassador, or novice would do well to experience. Flaviar is a spirits enthusiasts' dream come true!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome

    • Blue Eye, MO,
    • Apr 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the selections, the free shipping, the ease of the website, the payment choices, and the tasting boxes.

    I have recommended the website to my friends. I enjoy learning about the liquors, and the varieties that you can select and learn about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great discoveries

    I've been a member for over three years now, and I love it, but full disclosure: I think I signed up before you were REQUIRED to take the box you're sent, i.e. I can skip a shipment and NOT pay for it if I don't like the sound of a box.

    That being said, I really do like this service, and I've found several new "favorite" spirits through it. I'm a whiskey girl, so wouldn't bother spending money on, say, an expensive (or even middling) bottle of rum, but getting five little samples is so much more doable. Okay, some of the stuff I don't like, but how would I know if I didn't try?

    I am actually writing this review while sampling my latest package of 'whiskeys aged in beer barrels.' I would never in a hundred years buy such an 'experimental' type of whiskey, but I'm really surprised. No, I did NOT like the first one I tried but loved the second. It's all about the experience. Three more to go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Enjoying the benefits

    • Everett, WA,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being new to the art of Whisk(e)y drinking, I have thoroughly enjoyed the membership. It has allowed me to try new brands that I would not have otherwise tried.

    Yes, a year-long membership is $210, but I have found it to be well worth it in the first quarter alone. I have received my first sample pack and can't wait to get the next in the mail. I appreciate having someone with more knowledge about the product there to guide me through the experience. I also love the free shipping every month. Just this month I ordered a bottle that sold for $30 more on a different website. I also saved $20 on shipping for a total savings of $50. If I do that every month, that's a savings of $600 a year. The membership pays for itself.

    I have also enjoyed the vast number of articles that have greatly expanded my knowledge of spirits. This club has been an eye opener for me. I am throwing my first "bring your best bottle" party soon and have had a huge amount of interest. If you enjoy trying new whiskeys and don't mind spending a little up front, this club is a great place to start.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome for discovering, not so great for anything else

    • Florida,
    • Apr 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a member for over six months and enjoy browsing through the selection. However, that's the best part of the site.

    The rest of the site is useless. They have a wishlist but don't notify you when wish listed items come back into stock/rotation. I can't even FIND my wishlist anymore.

    There are very limited search options (new arrivals, classics and then by type), and there is no way to customize your experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's not what you think

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The author of the above article got it wrong. They don't send you anything "monthly." What you get for $20 a month is free shipping (big deal!) and the supposed opportunity to buy liquor that you otherwise would not have access to. But if you look through their inventory you find that they are not really offering anything unique or unobtainable.

    The only thing I see beneficial is you can try samples to ensure that you don't waste money on a full bottle of something that you might not like. But you still have to pay $20 a month plus $40 and up (prices vary) for any samples that you want to try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Latest order

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy their wide selection of different Whiskies, Rums, and Tequilas at a very good price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not a practical gift

    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This review is for the gift membership.

    I received Flaviar as a gift, and it's really not worth the money. For $120 you get a 6-month membership and a tasting box for three vials of whiskey, around 2 oz, that can easily be bought at stores or your local bar for much cheaper.

    I still can't figure out what is the point of the membership, since the whiskey they sell is charged at a much higher premium than at my local store.

    As a regular person who would not bother with private bottling or have the need to get hard to acquire whiskey, it's truly a big waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Ted,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback such as yours only helps us improve our service even further.

      The six-month membership gets you two tasting boxes, six free shipping tokens, access to some of the most sought after and hard to acquire spirits, and so much more. We want to keep the membership fee as low as possible and include something tangible in it. Then, you can tailor the rest of the experience yourself.

      The price is always delicate, we understand, but the amount of effort that goes into making members' experience worthwhile and memorable should be taken into account. Our competitive advantage lies in curation, personal recommendations and creating availability of rare, and hard to find gems that deserve your attention. Our offer is not all inclusive, and we present spirits that deserve a spot in your home bar. We encourage and help our members master the art of tasting, we provide detailed information on spirits, how to keep them fresh, and entertaining tips on a daily basis through new content. Membership covers many perks, perks usually not offered by the liquor stores.

      We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer and I'm terribly sorry that our club didn't work out for you.

      If you need help with anything let us know, we're easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com

      Wish you all the best!

    • Apr 25, 2017

      Kevin Nigh

      I am new to the club, but so far I'm enjoying the experience. I'm new to serious whiskey drinking, so I appreciate someone giving me recommendations that I would not have considered. I also love the free shipping. I found a bottle from Japan that was $30 less than a previous website I used, and I saved an additional $20 on the shipping. Total savings of $50 on one bottle.

      If I did that every month, I would end up paying for my $210 membership in less than six months. The tasting boxes are a great way for me to explore new items without having to purchase an entire bottle and I can't wait to get my next box. On top of all this, there are unlimited articles that have expanded my understanding of the art of drinking spirits. Bottom line, I would recommend this to anyone who loves whiskey drinking and would use the free shipping every month.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 254

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review