About Flaviar

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit lovers and enthusiasts, Flaviar is a UK-based discovery commerce company that claims to help you discover exciting drinks in the company of your friends. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be changing the way people drink, eat, taste by offering some of the best spirits from around the world at a fraction of retail prices.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does Flaviar stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based discovery commerce company that claims to help you discover liquor you otherwise wouldn’t, to improve your knowledge of spirits, to learn about history and trivia, and to impress your friends.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to send you a monthly tasting pack that consists of five 45ml bottles of premium spirits sourced from only the best beverage producers in the world, including Whisky, Rum, Cognac, Gin, Vodka, Grappa, Tequila, and more. Each spirit included in your tasting pack is claimed to be hand-selected by the company’s Tasting Panel, to cover a different category or theme, and to include an accompanying information card about the liquors your flavor pack contains, such as brand name and histories, as well as interesting related stories.

According to the Flaviar website, the process works over 3 steps:

  1. Subscribe to Flaviar by choosing your subscription (see next section for details), and then entering your personal and billing information. Then, enjoy the company’s carefully curated drinks once per month.
  2. Invite your friends and organize a tasting party.
  3. Organize your myBAR, which allows you to rate and display the drinks you own, have tasted, or want to try.

Flaviar claims that their tasting packs ship every 3rd Monday of the month and will arrive at your door within 2-7 business days. After arriving, if you sample a liquor you’re interested in buying, you can then visit the Flaviar Deals page and purchase directly from there.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of 7-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate. (Note: The only difference between the courses are the number of flavor packs you’ll receive.)

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

Flaviar membership programs are priced as follows:

  • 2 Month Test Flight: $94.99
  • Quarterly Subscription: $48.99 per quarter
  • Monthly Subscription: $40.99 per month

Flaviar School of Spirits email courses are priced as follows:

  • Spirits Explorer: $97.99
  • Spirits Aficionado: $228.99
  • Master of Spirits: $399.99

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to stop receiving tasting packs, you’ll need to request cancellation after your last shipment.

If you choose, you can also purchase individual Flaviar tasting packs for $41.99-$60.99, without being required to sign up for a subscription. In addition, Flaviar offers 2, 4, or 6-month gift subscriptions.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within 14 days of signing up, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you have some expendable income and are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar customers appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. You’ll have no control over the liquors you receive each month, and
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting packs to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that flavor packs don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Bottom line

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

248 Customer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 193 4 stars: 9 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 9 1 stars: 35
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 248
Sort reviews by:

  • Enjoying the benefits

    Being new to the art of Whisk(e)y drinking, I have thoroughly enjoyed the membership. It has allowed me to try new brands that I would not have otherwise tried.

    Yes, a year-long membership is $210, but I have found it to be well worth it in the first quarter alone. I have received my first sample pack and can't wait to get the next in the mail. I appreciate having someone with more knowledge about the product there to guide me through the experience. I also love the free shipping every month. Just this month I ordered a bottle that sold for $30 more on a different website. I also saved $20 on shipping for a total savings of $50. If I do that every month, that's a savings of $600 a year. The membership pays for itself.

    I have also enjoyed the vast number of articles that have greatly expanded my knowledge of spirits. This club has been an eye opener for me. I am throwing my first "bring your best bottle" party soon and have had a huge amount of interest. If you enjoy trying new whiskeys and don't mind spending a little up front, this club is a great place to start.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome for discovering, not so great for anything else

    • Florida,
    • Apr 22, 2017

    I've been a member for over six months and enjoy browsing through the selection. However, that's the best part of the site.

    The rest of the site is useless. They have a wishlist but don't notify you when wish listed items come back into stock/rotation. I can't even FIND my wishlist anymore.

    There are very limited search options (new arrivals, classics and then by type), and there is no way to customize your experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It's not what you think

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 22, 2017

    The author of the above article got it wrong. They don't send you anything "monthly." What you get for $20 a month is free shipping (big deal!) and the supposed opportunity to buy liquor that you otherwise would not have access to. But if you look through their inventory you find that they are not really offering anything unique or unobtainable.

    The only thing I see beneficial is you can try samples to ensure that you don't waste money on a full bottle of something that you might not like. But you still have to pay $20 a month plus $40 and up (prices vary) for any samples that you want to try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Latest order

    I enjoy their wide selection of different Whiskies, Rums, and Tequilas at a very good price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not a practical gift

    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 5, 2017

    This review is for the gift membership.

    I received Flaviar as a gift, and it's really not worth the money. For $120 you get a 6-month membership and a tasting box for three vials of whiskey, around 2 oz, that can easily be bought at stores or your local bar for much cheaper.

    I still can't figure out what is the point of the membership, since the whiskey they sell is charged at a much higher premium than at my local store.

    As a regular person who would not bother with private bottling or have the need to get hard to acquire whiskey, it's truly a big waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Ted,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback such as yours only helps us improve our service even further.

      The six-month membership gets you two tasting boxes, six free shipping tokens, access to some of the most sought after and hard to acquire spirits, and so much more. We want to keep the membership fee as low as possible and include something tangible in it. Then, you can tailor the rest of the experience yourself.

      The price is always delicate, we understand, but the amount of effort that goes into making members' experience worthwhile and memorable should be taken into account. Our competitive advantage lies in curation, personal recommendations and creating availability of rare, and hard to find gems that deserve your attention. Our offer is not all inclusive, and we present spirits that deserve a spot in your home bar. We encourage and help our members master the art of tasting, we provide detailed information on spirits, how to keep them fresh, and entertaining tips on a daily basis through new content. Membership covers many perks, perks usually not offered by the liquor stores.

      We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer and I'm terribly sorry that our club didn't work out for you.

      If you need help with anything let us know, we're easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com

      Wish you all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Avoid at all cost

    I placed an opening order and then got an email about some great sale of samplers. I opened that up and discovered that there was a bunch of stuff marked as sold out. Then when you actually picked something and then went to the checkout, it gave you an option to continue shopping. But if you do not pick anything there is no way to get back to the checkout.

    They make this out to be all about great whiskeys and the opportunity to try a lot of rare whiskeys. It is a sale trap and scam designed to squeeze every penny out of you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Ray,

      I'm so sorry to hear other members beat you to your favorite picks, but you have to understand that in the "vault," a special section of our shop which is opened for a few days per month only. The samples and bottles are rare and very limited so that we can offer only a few at a time.

      We understand that our first-come, first serve policy might be frustrating at times, but this way no one gets an unfair advantage. We like it because it's egalitarian, but we are currently working on further improvements to the model.

      We're working hard to provide bigger vault editions in the future, so you'll have even more chance to get your hands on drinks you like the most. A small hint for future, vault releases is only there to help you plan. The vault opens its gates around the same day each month. Hope this helps with planning.

      If you have more questions or need help with anything at all, please contact us at hello@flaviar.com. Our team will be most happy to help and answer any questions you might have.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love the Black Barrel

    I love the Black Barrel and can't wait to experiment with more and more varieties.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not worth the money

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 30, 2017

    My six-month subscription was a Christmas gift from my wife, and initially, I was very excited about it.

    And then the Welcome Box came. There were three vials of not even a finger of mediocre whiskey. Definitely not a box I would have chosen, but there goes one of two boxes that were paid for. I looked at the pricing for some of the bottles I was interested in and they were the same, if not more expensive, than buying it locally (never mind the hassle of having to pick the box up from from FedEx since they need a signature and only deliver during the day while I'm at work).

    The second tasting box is on its way now, so that's $20 per vial. You get better prices (and a more generous pour) by just going to a bar. The only way this might be worth it is if you don't have any stores with any kind of selection near you. Don't waste your money; try them at a decent bar and then buy the bottle somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Tom,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. The constructive feedback such as yours only helps us improve our service further.

      The six-month membership gets you two tasting boxes, six free shipping tokens, allows you to access some of the most sought after and hard to acquire spirits, and so much more. We want to keep the membership fee as low as possible and include something tangible in it. Then you can tailor the rest of the experience yourself.

      The price is always delicate, we understand, but the amount of effort that goes into making members' experience worthwhile and memorable should be taken into account. Our competitive advantage lies in curation, personal recommendations, creating availability of rare and hard to find gems that deserve your attention. Our offer is not all inclusive, and we present only spirits that deserve a spot in your home bar. We encourage and help our members to master the art of tasting. We provide detailed information on spirits, how to keep them fresh, and tips for entertaining on a daily basis through new content. Membership covers many perks, perks usually not offered by the liquor stores.

      We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer, and I'm terribly sorry that our club didn't work out for you.

      If you need help with anything, let us know. We're easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com

      Wish you all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Partner loved his present!

    • Derby, UK,
    • Mar 22, 2017

    My partner is an avid bourbon drinker, so I thought I would treat him to a cheeky bottle!

    After reading through the bourbon selection, I choose the bottle of 'Basil Haydens.' It had the highest customer rating, and the ingredients used looked appealing. I am glad I choose this specific bottle. Partner waited patiently for it to arrive and was not disappointed AT ALL; he absolutely loved it. He usually adds coke to his bourbon, but had this neat over ice as he said it was so smooth to drink!

    He would recommend this drink to anyone who is wanting a nice smooth, refreshing tipple. It was a huge hit and I'll definitely be purchasing again soon. Many thanks Flaviar.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love the selection

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Mar 21, 2017

    Fantastic selection, fair prices and tastings!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Classy but WAY overpriced

    • Minnesota,
    • Mar 17, 2017

    It is amazing to try a ton of upper echelon liquors! BUT, at $10-$15 a mini-bottle, it is WAY too expensive for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 248

Write a review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review