About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expecations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for Flex Seal

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 3 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    My husband put it on the boat

    • Florida,
    • Nov 1, 2016

    So my husband bought a gallon of Flex Seal because it's supposed to be the best. Well, I think not. He put it on the boat yesterday and today we are out on the water and he docks the boat, gets out and sees it peeling off the bottom already. What a waste of almost 90 bucks. I have a picture of it too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worthless outdoors

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Sep 14, 2016

    I was a professional roofer and came across a customer who used it to seal his skylights. It worked at first, then the leaks came back. When we arrived, the material had dried out and cracked after being exposed to the sun for a very short period. It was dry and dusty like chalk. I have no respect for the people who promote this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scam product

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 27, 2016

    I tried it on roof of motor home, simply would not work. Full of cracks within one week. I would not recommend. It's really is not even a one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Good stuff for the right job.

    I have purchased the spray can and the pint paint can. Both worked just fine for the jobs I had.

    Shingles on the roof torn off by tree limbs. After removing the tree limbs, I sprayed the canned Flex Seal on the shingle below the broken one and pressed the broken shingle onto the sealant. Then I sprayed the entire area. Worked great.

    My dogs located some tools with plastic and wooden handles chewing them into splinters. After smoothing out the harsh places, I dipped the handles into the can of Flex Seal. Awesome finish and a non-slip grip.

    We had a shower caddie that was rusting and the plastic coating coming off. I cleaned the caddie making sure all the old soap was washed off. After letting it dry completely, I brushed on the Flex Seal from the can. The spray would have been better but I had loaned it to a friend to fix his motorcycle saddle bags. After 3 coats, the caddie is going into my shop to hold tools and other small items.

    My buddy with the motorcycle saddle bag problem used the spray can to touch up an area on the bottom outside where the bag had some "skidding" damage. The textured area where it was repaired accents the glossy paint of the bag. He was so happy he is going to do the entire bottom of both bags.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal

    Would give a minus 10 if possible. Don't order from the website. Processing fees are a scam. Buy at Lowes or amazon.

    Customer service doesn't respond until your order has shipped. Then if you return order, you are responsible for processing fees and original shipping, plus your return shipping cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    I have an older tent trailer that really isn't used anymore. Last time was 2 years ago. It was beginning to leak near the corner seams. I followed the directions correctly and applied the sealant. The trailer has not been moved and the sealant cracked and peeled within about 6 months. It was a good idea, just doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    It worked great sealing a leaking crack in a toilet tank.

    A little more than two years ago, a three inch hairline crack developed around one of the mounting bolt holes in my ceramic toilet tank. A replacement tank would have cost over $100 (US). After removing, thoroughly cleaning the inside, and drying the tank, I applied three light coats of Flex Seal to the interior, allowing for the recommended amount of time between coats. I let the tank dry for a full day before reattaching it to the toilet base and filling it with water. Not a single drop of water has leaked since, and the Flex Seal inside the tank is still completely intact. Since then, I have used this product on a number of waterproofing projects (indoor and out) up here in interior Alaska and I believe it has performed better than advertised, given the temperature extremes experienced where I live.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Just as bad as Cool Seal.

    • Bean Station, TN,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I have tried it on two different camper roofs and it does not work. Nine bucks for a gallon of roofing tar is a real deal for a roof, and the rest can be stored in a cool place for year. I used about two full cans of Flex Seal over two holes on my camper roof that are about 5/16 in diameter, and after each rain the same two holes leaked. I sprayed again and it leaked. I recoated once again and it leaked. Plus, there was also another leaky spot.

    Bottom line is because of my trust in Flex Seal, I am paying out for remodeling supplies because of all the water damage that had been caused due to the product not working as intended. I'm getting new insulation, paneling, wall studs, etc. The camper is ruined, and we all know the cost of building supplies these days.

    As the guy in the advertisement says, “Fixing that roof could cost you thousands”, and it will if you depend on Flex Seal to seal it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    OK for right job

    • Jul 4, 2015

    Reading the other reviews I would imagine the product wouldn't do much in those situations. It is not as claimed; it won't replace a stronger more professional fix. But for a small job it's convenient, dries clean and solid and does the trick.

    We had loose tiles in the "guest" shower but did not care about cosmetics since the shower was going to be replaced within the year. We pushed the tiles flat against the wall and then sprayed several thin coats of Flex Seal, letting each coat dry for 24 hours before applying the next. We've had a solid area, no loose tiles, no leaks, for almost a year. Did just what we needed.

    I wouldn't use it to stop a leak in a pipe or fix a skylight though. Better stuff in a hardware store and the staff there can likely find the best solution. But for a small job, that's not intended to "plug the leak in the dike," it works very well and is the easiest, quickest way to produce a decent repair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Flaky Deal with Flex Seal

    • Georgetown, KY,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    We used Flex Seal exactly as the directions read. There was a small leak near a skylight in our ceiling. We waited until the weather was supposed to be dry for several days. The day after applying Flex Seal, we noticed small black specks on the floor. The next day, there were larger specks. Eventually, we had to scrape all the flaky plastic particles off the ceiling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Not Good

    • Bristol, VA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This stuff is not worth a penny, much less what they want for it. They won't give your money back either. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review