About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expecations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Customer Reviews for Flex Seal

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolute junk

    • New Mexico,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sprayed on product bubbled upon application after carefully following directions. I cleaned the piece of plastic I was trying to get Flex Seal to adhere to with soap and water, then with isopropyl alcohol. The product bubbled up and just by looking I can tell this will not stop penetration of water. I would not recommend this product. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hi TS,

      We're terribly sorry to hear that Flex Seal did not meet your intended recommendations! Please get in touch with us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com

      I would like to offer a few friendly suggestions so that the next time you use Flex Seal, you have the best possible outcome:

      - Shake well: Spray 8” to 12” from the surface using an even sweeping motion.

      - Apply several even coats until ALL cracks and holes have been filled.

      - Allow 24 to 48 hours to dry before applying another coat. Fully cures in 48 hours.

      Please remember, dry time depends on the temperature, humidity, and thickness of the coating. Flex Seal will usually dry to the touch within 2 to 3 hours and in 24 hours fully cure. Flex Seal® gets stronger over time.

      We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Fan! Please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Eric

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Does not seal

    • Ray City, Georgia,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have a metal roof, and where the roof meets the porch roof there was a crack in the seam, so we used three gallons to seal the crack. We put the sealant six inches above and six inches below the crack, and three coats approximately 1/4 of an inch thick. After three weeks, the leak was worse than it was originally. We hired a roofer to look at our house and the ad. He pulled the Flex Seal away there was water under it where it had absorbed through it. So how can it be a SEAL when water soaks through and when the water doesn't actually stand in puddles in the spots? Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Terry,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      As a helpful suggestion, we always recommend Flex Seal Liquid to be applied on a clean, dry surface, free of grease and oil at least 24 hours prior to a heavy rain, hail or snowfall. Allow Flex Seal Liquid to dry 24 to 48 hours and then apply additional coats as needed. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool.

      Making our customers happy is our top priority! Please contact us directly at [email protected] We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Liquid fan!

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal Liquid)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible!

    This product is not what they claim it to be. It's awful! I tried to repair a tear in an above ground pool and wet and dry, it did not work as advertised. I want a full refund on two rolls of Flex Tape and one can of Flex Seal. They were used together with horrible results. It's 100% guaranteed? I would love to have my hard earned money refunded. I do not recommend this product for a pool repair, it's a joke and doesn't get it on your skin!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Shannon,

      We are truly sorry that your expectations were not met. Please contact us directly at [email protected]

      Flex Tape forms a super strong bond with itself, so if you’re patching a pool, it’s best to first apply Flex Tape to the interior side of the liner and then place a second piece of Flex Tape to the exterior side as well. Remember that you should cut your Flex Tape larger than the area of the leak. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      To apply Flex Seal aerosol, the recommended application is as follows: Shake well. Spray 8” to 12” from the surface using an even sweeping motion. Apply several even coats until ALL cracks and holes have been filled. Allow 24 to 48 hours to dry before applying another coat. Fully cures in 48 hours.

      Making our customers happy is our top priority! Please contact us directly at [email protected] We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Tape and Flex Seal fan!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape and Flex Seal)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape fail

    I bought the Flex Tape to fix a hole in my Intex above ground pool, which is clearly shown on the video as a viable option for this tape. I cleaned the pool area and then applied. We pressed it down and removed all bubbles and then put a rock on top of it to help it seal. The rock was there for 48 plus hours, and the pool is still leaking. Very disappointing. It does not work underwater as it claims or shows.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Kathy,

      We are truly sorry that your expectations were not met. We stand behind our products and our ultimate goal is to ensure our valued customers are happy.

      Flex Tape forms a super strong bond with itself, so if you’re patching a pool, it is best to first apply Flex Tape to the interior side of the liner and then place the second piece of Flex Tape to the exterior side as well. Remember that you should cut your Flex Tape larger than the area of the leak. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your honesty! We would love to make this right for you! Please contact us directly at [email protected]

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work as they claim

    • East Peoria, IL,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They show you it sealing a boat with a screen on it, but when you check into it further, it's not made to be used under water. They claim it can be painted, but no paint will stick to it. I found this out by trying to seal a few leaks on my 16-foot boat. We also used it to seal a leak on my 5th wheel camper. I checked it this spring, and it's gone. This stuff is a piece of garbage. I wasted $30 on a quart and $19 on a spray can. STAY AWAY from this garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Brad,

      We are terribly sorry to hear Flex Seal Liquid and aerosol did not meet your intended expectations. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      To apply, as a helpful suggestion, we always recommend for Flex Seal Liquid and aerosol to be applied on a clean, dry surface, free of grease and oil. Then allow to dry for up to 24 to 48 hours, apply additional coats as needed, once dried. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool. Once fully cured, both items can be used under water.

      We do not recommend painting Flex Seal Liquid as many paints will not adhere, however you can paint over Flex Seal aerosol.

      We hope you'll give us the chance to make this experience a better one! We encourage you to contact us directly at eolsen@swiftdrtv.com.

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal aerosol and Flex Seal Liquid)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't use it with duct tape!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sealed the leaks in the 6-mil black plastic "floor" of my crawlspace with white Gorilla brand duct tape prior to building a properly elevated floor over it. Then I heard about Flex Seal and thought I'd give it a try. I ordered some online. It was pretty expensive, but I wanted to give it a try.

    I liked that it comes in colors, so I could more easily see where I'd sprayed. I chose Terra Cotta only because it wasn't black or white. I never thought of Terra Cotta as being bright orange, but I didn't care. It wasn't black. It wasn't white. It sprayed on well.

    One can wasn't nearly enough to cover what I had taped (to my surprise). A typical can of spray paint, which is much smaller, would have covered 2-3 times the area. I looked it up again, and a Lowe's near me had it, (though not, sadly, Terra Cotta). Lowe's only had black, white, and, for another $2, clear. I bought two more cans.

    It actively bubbles when first applied. I felt this was an indicator that it was scurrying under and into the small gaps left by the duct tape. It was, in fact, doing just that. Then over the next hour, it ate all the adhesive on the Gorilla tape, and, over the next 24 hours or so, shrank it, as now the tape is all buckled and lifted, and I get to remove everything, buy more tape, and start over, this time WITHOUT Flex Seal. I don't trust it to go through the rips in the floor and onto the dirt, and properly seal without duct tape doing the main work. Maybe I'll use green duct tape this time.

    In fairness, where it was on the plastic, and not touching the tape, it seemed to provide a solid surface, rough about like a sponge, so if I wanted to seal undamaged plastic, it would probably work OK. Coupled with its high cost and low coverage, I'm done with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Michael,

      We are incredibly sorry to hear that Flex Seal aerosol did not meet your intended expectations. We stand behind our products 100% and our goal is to ensure that our valued customers are happy.

      Flex Seal aerosol will adhere to many surfaces such as wood, metal, tile, concrete, masonry, fabric, glass, plastic, aluminum, porcelain, dry wall, rubber, cement, some types of vinyl and so much more! It’s always best to test a small area first. Flex Seal products have not been tested to be used to coat other products that are not produced by Flex Seal.

      We hope you'll give us the chance to make this experience a better one! We encourage you to contact us directly at eolsen@swiftdrtv.com .

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal aerosol)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have spent a ton of time restoring a classic boat and thought it would be nice to use this stuff in all of my in deck's fix boxes and storage. Three days after applying, it's already peeling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Hurts

    Got it in my eyes, and a very bad infection and depression followed. Thank you for everything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • La Crosse, WI,
    • Dec 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got ripped off just trying to order. We put credit card information in. One can and shipping was $29.99, then it automatically added 2 cans of sealer, that we COULDN'T remove from our order. That jumped the total to $89.99. We CANCELED THE ORDER. Never completed it. Then, get notification of a "Thank you for our order." We never placed it!

    We called immediately and they said we have no record of your order, even when we gave the order number. Shortly after we were off the phone the money was charged to the card. This was completely illegal. We couldn't delete card info, we NEVER processed the order, but was charged $90.00. Then lied to from customer service saying no order was received.

    Beware! They rip you off if you change your mind, they add items to your order that can't be removed. Stay away. We are still calling trying to get a hold of someone to get a full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    My husband put it on the boat

    • Florida,
    • Nov 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my husband bought a gallon of Flex Seal because it's supposed to be the best. Well, I think not. He put it on the boat yesterday and today we are out on the water and he docks the boat, gets out and sees it peeling off the bottom already. What a waste of almost 90 bucks. I have a picture of it too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Leah,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      As helpful suggestions, we always recommend to applying Flex Seal Liquid on a clean, dry surface, free of grease and oil and at least 24 hours prior to a heavy rain, hail or snowfall. Allow Flex Seal Liquid to dry 24 to 48 hours and apply additional coats as needed, once the first coat is dry. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool.

      Flex Seal Liquid can be used on most surfaces such as concrete, glass, brick, stucco, masonry, wood, copper, plastic, tile, fabrics, wires, vinyl, fiberglass, ceramic, porcelain, metal, aluminum, and natural stones, foam, asphalt, EIFS, TPO, PVC, EPDM, CSPE, Hypalon polyurethanes and so much more!

      Making our customers happy is our top priority! Please contact us directly at eolsen@swiftdrtv.com. We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Liquid fan!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal Liquid)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Worthless outdoors

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Sep 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a professional roofer and came across a customer who used it to seal his skylights. It worked at first, then the leaks came back. When we arrived, the material had dried out and cracked after being exposed to the sun for a very short period. It was dry and dusty like chalk. I have no respect for the people who promote this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review