About Flex Shot

Flex Shot brags that it’s the easiest way to caulk, bond, and seal virtually anything. They claim their caulk-in-a-can is ideal for hundreds of household projects, including fixing leaks and filling huge cracks and holes.

Flex Shot says it is brought to you by Phil Swift, the maker of Flex Seal, a popular spray-on rubber sealant. Flex Seal/Shot appears to be based out of Van Nuys, CA but the business is neither rated nor accredited by the BBB.

How Flex Shot Works

Flex Shot seems to be a pressurized dispenser of a caulk-like substance. They tout it’s the neat and clean way for anyone to easily make repairs and that it’s made in the USA. They claim unlike regular caulk, it doesn’t dry out, shrink, or crack, lasts up to 30 years, and there is no waste. They tell you to throw away your old caulk-and-gun and that you can use your can of Flex Shot again and again.

They indicate you can use Flex Shot on almost any surface, in kitchens, bathrooms, for crafts, plumbing or structural leaks, and both indoors and outdoors, as long as it’s a well-ventilated area. Simply point at a 45 degree angle, press against the spray tube, and run along the seam you are trying to seal. Flex Shot also includes an extension tube they say you can cut to adjust the thickness of the bead as well as accessing hard-to-reach areas with pinpoint accuracy.

When done, they say to release the tube and wipe excess with finger or dry paper towel. They claim you will have a perfect beaded seal that is completely waterproof every time with no running, dripping, or mess. While they say it’s better on a dry surface, they say you can use Flex Shot on one that’s wet, but not in standing water.

They declare that using Flex Seal will help prevent mold and mildew. They assert it will adhere to almost any surface that’s free of grease or oil, including porcelain, tile, metal, glass, fiberglass, wood, granite, stone, marble, fabric, upholstery, and paper. They claim you can use it to fix broken ceramics.

They say Flex Shot comes out nice and thick, allowing you to fill larger cracks and completely plug holes - a demonstration video on the website shows it quickly sealing a large hole in a 5-gallon bucket with no water escaping. They say Flex Shot dries in 20 minutes to the touch and is fully cured in 48 - 72 hours, which they claim is much faster than caulks or other sealants

When Flex Shot is dry, they claim it turns into strong rubber that both expands and contracts. They tout some of its uses include on sinks, showers, tubs, tiles, windows, skylights, roofs, gutters, autos, boats, RV’s, campers, PVC, ducts, decorative items, and more. They exclaim it will not fade, dry, crack, yellow, or deteriorate from contact with household cleaners. They add it can withstand temperatures from -76°F to 350°F. They caution that Flex Shot is not recommended for use to fix tires or under extreme pressure; that it has not been tested on portable drinking water systems; and that you should not paint over the seal. They claim one can of Flex Shot is good for 50-100 linear feet, depending on the thickness of the bead.

Flex Shot comes with:

  • 1 can Flex Shot (White, Clear, Almond, or Black)
  • 1 reusable extension tube
  • 1 extra can and tube free
  • 1 can Flex Seal (extra S & H)

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Flex Seal is sold as “buy one get one free” on their website for $19.99 plus $9.95 S & H for a total of $29.94 for 2 cans/extension tubes. You can add a “free” can of Flex Seal for an additional $9.99 S & H for a total of $39.93. (You can also add shipping insurance in case of loss, damage, or theft for $1.99.) They ask that you please allow 2-6 weeks for shipment. When you receive your order, they claim you have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, but the fine print reveals you may only return UNUSED cans for a refund, minus S & H and what it costs to return.

Bottom Line: Is Flex Shot a Scam?

Caulking guns can be drippy and messy, so we love the convenience and ease-of-use of Flex Shot. We’re not so crazy about its return policy or the expensive shipping fees. Some have also pointed out that Flex Seal appears to rubberized undercoating, which can be bought at any automotive store. We suggest if you do buy this product, don’t add the Flex Seal.

32 Customer Reviews for Flex Shot

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 23
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It works great!

    • Copake, NY,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I had a leak in my camper and used Flex Shot with Flex Seal over it and that was a year ago and still no leak. Regular caulk shriveled up and cracked! Most of the reviews have to do with shipping costs that don't have to be paid if the product is bought in Walgreens or Walmart.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buy Flex Shot only if you want other companies calling you to sell their products

    After purchasing Flex Shot over the phone, I have had non stop calls from other company's trying to sell me crap. These companies always mention Flex Shot so I know that's how they got my info. If you don't mind this sort of thing, then fine buy Flex Shot. However if you don't want every company they sell your info to calling you, it's best to purchase Flex Shot at your local store. I will never buy this product again, no matter how great it works. Thanks for giving us a way to let others know our experience so the pit falls maybe avoided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Lovely, KY,
    • May 5, 2015

    Just fixed a hole in my kids swimming pool with water in it. So far it is holding and not leaking. I'm giving it a few moments to dry and then I'm going to fill up rest of way. However, so far it's working amazing because the plastic bottom on the pool was leaking in the seam and then I added about a foot of water and then noticed the leak grabbed my flex shot. Now the seam is holding up great and that was like an hour ago. The water is still a foot over the seam and so far no leaks! Great product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I Love Flex Shot

    • Bridgeton, NJ,
    • May 1, 2015

    I use this product on my pond liner, there was a cut in it and nothing else had worked. It fixed it with no problem. I have used it to grout my tub, great nice clean bead. Hasn't yellowed at all. Then I used it on my blacktop driveway on the cracks, as hard as this winter was the flex shot didn't shrink or crack. My brother in law, who paves driveways checked it out and said he couldn't believe it held up in the winter. I plan to do the rest this summer. I have used this to stop a leak around my chimney. I've used it on different things at my Mother's house. I have had no problems, and intend to by more. The uses are endless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Wofford Heights, CA,
    • Apr 27, 2015

    I am a elder with bad hands, I thought this would help, I live in the mountains and have no family to help with repairs around the Rv I live in.

    I bought the Flex Shot 4 months ago but didn't try it at the time because it has been to damp in my RV. Wow that it has been more dry, I tried it. It won't come out of the tube and I tried to push harder but it still didn't work. I lost the receipt at home and now I can'y return it for a new one to try again. $15.00 is a lot of money for me. Maybe I can get my money back or get a free one to try again? I bought this at the DOLLAR GENERAL store where I live.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Flex Shot Bathtub Seal

    Finally I tried Flex Shot... it was VERY EASY to use compared to even a nice no drip caulk gun (they still ooze out after you stop trigger, just not enough to drip...so material waste). Very easy to control the Flex Shot and I really liked the way you seal the tip after use. Just let a little sealant out the top maybe 1/4" and let it cure. To reopen just pull this plug out. Much better than how I seal a common caulk gun, nail in tip hole and then wrap with kitchen film and put rubber band around...not really effective seal, material goes bad inside caulk tube.

    I also really like that Flex Shot is supposed to be somewhat tolerant of a little moisture on the surface being sealed...silicone is not.

    HOWEVER, I do not like the Flex Shot website at all... Lots of marketing hype and hard to check out without them trying to load you up with other stuff... I accidently bought a can of Flex Seal I didn't want AND they said unless I paid extra it could take up to FOUR WEEKS before they even ship the product! Yuck.

    Keep in mind Flex Shot is not paintable and water does not clean it off your fingers. Overall I like Flex Shot and it IS FLEXIBLE enough to solve the gap problem with my tube. It does cost quite a bit more than regular silicone in tubes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Flex shot sucks!

    • NC,
    • Feb 21, 2015

    I got a package of the Flex Seal and Flex Shot.  I had no issues with Flex Seal. It's the Flex Shot however, that I'm upset about. Will not buy anymore. The pressure in Flex Shot runs out before the product is out of the can. I have 3/4 to 1/2 of product left and no pressure in the can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Cans arrived and had exploded in the box and had to throw away

    • Southern California,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    I ordered 2 cans at a cost of $39.95 and when I received them they had both exploded in the box. I called Customer Service and they sent me 2 replacement cans. When they arrived once again one can had exploded in the box and the other one was usable. Still waiting to see if they'll replace the damaged one.

    I actually like the product as it's easy to use, but the packaging is terrible. They had only one sheet of paper in the box to protect the product and therefore they exploded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 24, 2015

      Joe

      The cans probably exploded due to being shipped via air. Cargo holds usually are not pressurized.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting to arrive

    • Harrisburg, Pa,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    I don't have a review because even though I ordered on Dec. 17 and received an email confirming the order - Order Number: #388047797. I then received a second email on the 19th - "Your order FLEX00830441 has been shipped." I have not received any other word and cannot reach them at the email: CSR@webcsr.info. Don't order from CSR, you will be throwing your money away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 11, 2015

    Go to the hardware store and buy a can of caulk for $1.29.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Flex Shot is great!

    • North Tonawanda, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2015

    Used as last resort for caulking around tub...as other sealants did not hold. Bought at Walmart for $12.88. This stuff is amazing. Formed a strong water tight bond, even my skeptical husband has agreed that he is pleased with results. Would use again. Already bought a can of clear for future use.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 19, 2015

      Ken

      Thank you for a real review. Everyone else just complains about cost of shipping and that you can buy regular caulking cheaper at the local hardware store. I will visit Walmart and purchase a can for $12.88 and give it a try.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a review for Flex Shot!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review