About Flex Shot

Flex Shot brags that it’s the easiest way to caulk, bond, and seal virtually anything. They claim their caulk-in-a-can is ideal for hundreds of household projects, including fixing leaks and filling huge cracks and holes.

Flex Shot says it is brought to you by Phil Swift, the maker of Flex Seal, a popular spray-on rubber sealant. Flex Seal/Shot appears to be based out of Van Nuys, CA but the business is neither rated nor accredited by the BBB.

How Flex Shot Works

Flex Shot seems to be a pressurized dispenser of a caulk-like substance. They tout it’s the neat and clean way for anyone to easily make repairs and that it’s made in the USA. They claim unlike regular caulk, it doesn’t dry out, shrink, or crack, lasts up to 30 years, and there is no waste. They tell you to throw away your old caulk-and-gun and that you can use your can of Flex Shot again and again.

They indicate you can use Flex Shot on almost any surface, in kitchens, bathrooms, for crafts, plumbing or structural leaks, and both indoors and outdoors, as long as it’s a well-ventilated area. Simply point at a 45 degree angle, press against the spray tube, and run along the seam you are trying to seal. Flex Shot also includes an extension tube they say you can cut to adjust the thickness of the bead as well as accessing hard-to-reach areas with pinpoint accuracy.

When done, they say to release the tube and wipe excess with finger or dry paper towel. They claim you will have a perfect beaded seal that is completely waterproof every time with no running, dripping, or mess. While they say it’s better on a dry surface, they say you can use Flex Shot on one that’s wet, but not in standing water.

They declare that using Flex Seal will help prevent mold and mildew. They assert it will adhere to almost any surface that’s free of grease or oil, including porcelain, tile, metal, glass, fiberglass, wood, granite, stone, marble, fabric, upholstery, and paper. They claim you can use it to fix broken ceramics.

They say Flex Shot comes out nice and thick, allowing you to fill larger cracks and completely plug holes - a demonstration video on the website shows it quickly sealing a large hole in a 5-gallon bucket with no water escaping. They say Flex Shot dries in 20 minutes to the touch and is fully cured in 48 - 72 hours, which they claim is much faster than caulks or other sealants

When Flex Shot is dry, they claim it turns into strong rubber that both expands and contracts. They tout some of its uses include on sinks, showers, tubs, tiles, windows, skylights, roofs, gutters, autos, boats, RV’s, campers, PVC, ducts, decorative items, and more. They exclaim it will not fade, dry, crack, yellow, or deteriorate from contact with household cleaners. They add it can withstand temperatures from -76°F to 350°F. They caution that Flex Shot is not recommended for use to fix tires or under extreme pressure; that it has not been tested on portable drinking water systems; and that you should not paint over the seal. They claim one can of Flex Shot is good for 50-100 linear feet, depending on the thickness of the bead.

Flex Shot comes with:

  • 1 can Flex Shot (White, Clear, Almond, or Black)
  • 1 reusable extension tube
  • 1 extra can and tube free
  • 1 can Flex Seal (extra S & H)

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Flex Seal is sold as “buy one get one free” on their website for $19.99 plus $9.95 S & H for a total of $29.94 for 2 cans/extension tubes. You can add a “free” can of Flex Seal for an additional $9.99 S & H for a total of $39.93. (You can also add shipping insurance in case of loss, damage, or theft for $1.99.) They ask that you please allow 2-6 weeks for shipment. When you receive your order, they claim you have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, but the fine print reveals you may only return UNUSED cans for a refund, minus S & H and what it costs to return.

Bottom Line: Is Flex Shot a Scam?

Caulking guns can be drippy and messy, so we love the convenience and ease-of-use of Flex Shot. We’re not so crazy about its return policy or the expensive shipping fees. Some have also pointed out that Flex Seal appears to rubberized undercoating, which can be bought at any automotive store. We suggest if you do buy this product, don’t add the Flex Seal.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

40 Customer Reviews for Flex Shot

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 29
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works for me

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 6, 2016

    I use the Flex Shot in my upstairs bathroom to caulk around my tub and shower. Being a two story home we have a little shifting from time to time which causes the other caulks to pull away from the wall leaving gaps which let the water seep down through. I would have to re-caulk several times a year. The Flex Shot is flexible enough to move and keeps its seal. I also use it around my baseboards where little gaps can form. At those times during the year when ants find their way in I use the Flex Shot to seal those gaps and it stops my ant problem. I also use it to seal the bottom of my bathroom mirror where it meets the counter top. It keeps the water from seeping through and causing those gray areas at the bottom of the mirror. The only problem I have with the Flex Shot is that I can't find it in stores anymore. The stores carry the Flex Liquid and the Flex Seal but not the Flex Shot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Caulking must

    • Eden, NC,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    As I wrote about Flex Seal (see my previous review), Flex Shot's quality is yet to be seen as most caulk is OK for awhile, the quality will tell with time. BUT please understand this, ANY caulk you use or apply around anything must be tooled. Yes tooled, which means your finger, or a special tool to press it into place because when it dries it shrinks. What they show on TV is so wrong. Caulk will shrink when dried & mostly no seal will be made. You must tool the caulk, cut the corner off a square piece of hard but flexible plastic & run along the caulk to tool it in place, clean the plastic as needed. This is a must on any caulk or you're wasting your time, money & caulk. I have 25 years of experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money.

    • Eden, NC,
    • Jan 8, 2016

    I used rubberized (elastomeric coating) coatings all my life in my business as a roofing contractor. I rolled or sprayed it over polyurethane Foam Coating as a UV protectant, and a GOOD rubberized coating depends on the amount of solids content which is titanium dioxide. One cannot put enough of the solids in a spray to do this. Flex Seal, which I've tried, is one of the biggest rip offs of the century because when it dries, about 1/2 is gone with the wind in evaporation.

    One application requires five or more to completely seal anything temporary. Lowes has Rust-toleum Leak Seal and another spray that's much better and cheaper than this junk. Please don't waste your money. The truck underwater is a lie, no Flex Seal is ever going do that. These people play off the ignorance of the public or the uninformed consumers. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Yes I believe it's a scam

    • Nov 21, 2015

    Call order, they try to force you to order more than you want. Website, first of all, it doesn't say buy one get one free, it says buy 2 cans for $19.99 + $9.95 s/h + $9.99 for processing. Second, tried to order two cans online, then AFTER I put in my credit card info, mysteriously there was two more cans on my order they tried to charge me for, NOT FREE, which totaled my bill to just over $80.00. Quite a bit for an order that was supposed to be $39.93 all together. A family member ordered cans of this stuff, and after three days, it shrank and peeled at the edges. Just got two words for you - DON'T BUY, BIG SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Bad web ordering practices

    • Moore, OK ,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    I went to their site to see how much it would cost with 19.99 and shipping. The total price was 39.93, which is almost double the advertised item. I did not push the order button, I took my name and information out of site and got off the web. Next day I am being charged for the item. I called and they would not refund my money. They said they would not charge freight. I do not want the product due to their way of doing business. They said I could send it back at my own expense. I would never recommend them to anybody and I will tell people of their business tactics.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 28, 2015

      Sandy Jones

      Lesson learned! For future reference, anytime you order online and they overcharge you, refuse to refund your money. If any way possible get the tracking info track the package is there when it's expected to arrive! Then do not accept the package! Tell USPS, UPS, FEDEX, whoever that you do not want it you refuse the package. They have no choice but to return it to sender! Been there, done that! Takes time, but you call them, email them etc, say I refused your package now return my money. They have no choice but to return your money. I ordered the Instabulb plug only ordered one they charged me for 12 at 10 bucks a piece! I was livid not happening. They pulled that crap. I live in a mobile park, mail is delivered to a box, I called the office manager and told her do not accept the package. I got all my money back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    They over charge your account. Be careful it's a scam.

    I ordered one bottle of Flex Shot that I seen on TV for $19.99, nothing else. They charged my account $80 and don't want to refund the money. Be careful -- scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Total garbage

    • Nanaimo British Columbia,
    • Oct 23, 2015

    Flex Shot is just a remake of Flex Seal. Total crap products. Doesn't work. Seal only lasts a few weeks. This guy should be thrown in jail for false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2016

      Paul Yakaitis

      Flex Seal is wonderful. I sealed a crack in my basement wall about five feet. It's been sealed tight for three years no leaks. However the water moved somewhere else.

      No the product does work and very well. I'm going to get some Flex Shot to seal my counter top. I've done my bathrooms. It does work and it's better than regular caulk by about $17.00.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    White Flex Shot

    • Jacksonville FL,
    • Oct 3, 2015

    Bought two cans of white spray Flex Shot. Shook it real good.Ffrom one, yellow thing that came out made my white roof of my camper look like crap. First can spread out pretty decent, second can got halfway through. Then it started dripping out. Made a mess, got it all over my hands. Am NOT really impressed, especially when it came out yellow and dried. Seems like it's all talk. For the money you pay for it, it should really be a better product. I'm going to go back to the old fashion way to seal cracks on my camper. I will never buy it again. Spent $26 on 2 cans. I could have bought four tubes of caulk or some real good camper sealant. What a waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Flex Shot Bathtub Seal

    Finally I tried Flex Shot. It was very easy to use compared to even a nice no drip caulk gun (they still ooze out after you stop trigger, just not enough to drip, so material waste). Very easy to control the Flex Shot and I really liked the way you seal the tip after use. Just let a little sealant out the top maybe 1/4" and let it cure. To reopen just pull this plug out. Much better than how I seal a common caulk gun, nail in tip hole and then wrap with kitchen film and put rubber band around, not really effective seal, material goes bad inside caulk tube.

    I also really like that Flex Shot is supposed to be somewhat tolerant of a little moisture on the surface being sealed silicone is not.

    However, I do not like the Flex Shot website at all. Lots of marketing hype and hard to check out without them trying to load you up with other stuff. I accidently bought a can of Flex Seal I didn't want and they said unless I paid extra it could take up to four weeks before they even ship the product. Yuck.

    Keep in mind Flex Shot is not paintable and water does not clean it off your fingers. Overall I like Flex Shot and it is flexible enough to solve the gap problem with my tube. It does cost quite a bit more than regular silicone in tubes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 24, 2015

      Joetta

      I'm glad you mentioned it isn't paintable. I intended to use it to seal the crack between door frames and wall, but now I know it won't work for that.

       

    • Oct 26, 2015

      Mark Thomas Oswald

      Accidentally bought an extra can? Yeah right, and why would the company have to ship it before you got your money back. Just don't ship it and more importantly why would anyone wait four weeks for caulk?

    • Nov 6, 2015

      Kim

      Oswald, you have too much time on your hands and a chip on your shoulder. Why are you spending so much time with put downs of people about their product reviews? Even if they are scamming, you are not keeper of the truth. Get a life or use some flex seal on your brain. You have a leak!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Bad Product

    • Arden, NC,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    The second we popped the can open it started spewing out all over everywhere. It didn't stop spewing until the can was empty. Totally unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Wofford Heights, CA,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    I am a elder with bad hands, I thought this would help, I live in the mountains and have no family to help with repairs around the RV I live in.

    I bought the Flex Shot four months ago but didn't try it at the time because it has been to damp in my RV. Wow that it has been more dry, I tried it. It won't come out of the tube and I tried to push harder but it still didn't work. I lost the receipt at home and now I can't return it for a new one to try again. $15.00 is a lot of money for me. Maybe I can get my money back or get a free one to try again? I bought this at the Dollar General store where I live.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2015

      J Taylor

      Just curious did you cut the tube and make a hole for the product to come out?

    • Sep 1, 2015

      Judy Chartrand

      So sorry to hear about your trouble, I pray that some kind person will cross your path and give a helping hand.

    • Oct 26, 2015

      Mark Thomas Oswald

      Why would you spend $15 dollars at the Dollar Store when you can get "real" caulk for just a few bucks?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a review for Flex Shot!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review