About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Customer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a rip-off. $50 for 5' of tape and a 2oz can that wasn't even half full. I will never use their product again. If I wasn't required to give it a star I wouldn't have. It took forever to be delivered, it must have come on the Pony Express. I don't even know if this product works because I'm so shocked by the quantity of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Doest not work!

    We tried fixing a simple flat surface tear in the seat of our side by side, and it will not stick. We have tried two or three times following the instructions, and it comes right off. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product!

    • El Mirage, AZ,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a roll of Flex Tape to fix a leaky copper pipe. I cleaned it as directed, applied the tape and watched the water come out from the sides. I removed it and repeated the process, only to see it still leaking and forming large bubbles until they popped like a water balloon!

    I contacted the company and was told to deal with the store I bought it from as far as getting my money back. I tried to formally to submit a complaint, which I was basically told, "Sorry about your damn luck chump!" They wanted no part of dealing with a disappointed customer.

    How can they say, "Proudly Made in the USA!" when they clearly don't care about their customers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    My husband purchased Flex Tape at Walmart to cob a very "pinhead size leak" in a bathroom pipe, and even though he used two pieces of about 3" each right over the leak, it's still leaking. I rate it a negative one star but was unable to do so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Quite an expensive piece of crap

    • Bountiful, UT,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I bought the Flex Shot and the Flex Seal tape to try to repair a pool light (Flex Shot to seal the light and Flex Tape to hold in place while sealing). What a load of CRAP. Tape wouldn't stick to the pool's side under the water, so the whole thing about applying it underwater is not true! Flex Shot just came off and slid around the pool like an oil slick. Slid off like it was made of baby oil. $30 down the toilet before I finally bought some puddy that cost $15 which sealed it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • California,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to use it for a patch on a pool liner. Once this crap gets wet, it immediately loses its stickiness. Never will this stuff work underwater, it is straight garbage. When you first get it and peel some off, it seems really sticky, but you will never patch the inside of anything filled with water. Phil is lucky that the boat didn't break in half, he wouldn't be saying "yeaahhh doggy!" That's for sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    I used Flex Tape to hold up a fallen rubber piece on my Ford. So far so good. I won't know if it'll stay up until I get it repaired but it's been good so far.

    I haven't tried it under water or any water type repair, so I can't report on that just it's staying up for me, and it seems pretty strong.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Greater Puget Sound Region, USA,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw Flex Tape advertised on television and I figured, okay, maybe that's what I can use to patch the black water tank in my RV when it caught a rock. It seems to stick to everything; scissors, razor, knife, shirt, and beard hair, but it does not stick to my black water tank. I sanded the area with 80 grit, washed it down with methyl ethyl ketone, and figured it was a clean area, but it doesn't stick.

    I call the company to make a complaint but got the runaround. I finally got a supervisor, and they told me my mistake was I was using MEK to clean the area, but that's what they recommend to remove it with. I need to wash the area off with soap and water and dry it to get all the MEK off it. We had words, and none of them are any good. I think she finally hung up on me while I was busy explaining to her that MEK evaporates.

    Flex Tape is absolutely useless. And as far as Flex Seal in the spray can that runs about 15 bucks a can, go out and buy Rust-Oleum undercoating. It's the same product but is five bucks a can. Flex Seal is a rip-off, Flex Tape is a ripoff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Flex tape SUCKS

    • Villa, NJ,
    • Jul 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to patch sum small holes on the side wall of my above ground pool., Yes it sticks to your dry fingers until they get wet. It did not stick to pool liner, had to rely on good old pool patches and the glue method.

    I will not open my mouth and say another product like flex tape looks like something I will try, I wasted my time trying something new. I threw the remainder of it in the trash, not even giving it away free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2017

      Troy

      You probably bought a fake or a knock-off on Amazon. I've never had these issues.

    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Rick,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Flex Tape’s bond will increase with time and pressure and in some cases, may need up to 24 hours to reach the maximum hold.

      Flex Tape forms a super strong bond with itself, so if you’re patching a pool it’s best to first apply Flex Tape to the interior side of the liner and then place the second piece of Flex Tape to the exterior side as well, if possible. Remember that you should cut your Flex Tape larger than the area of the leak. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      Can you please be more specific about the circumstances in which you used Flex Tape, so we can better assist you? You can contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com. We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    • Aug 19, 2017

      Betty Tiller

      The Flex Tape is a huge, crappy mess because it doesn't stick to any clean surface or when it's used under water as advertised on TV. It stuck to my fingers, not even to my plastic garbage can that is I was using to cover a small hole. It is very hard to cut with scissors or razor blade. I want my money back, or else I will contact The Better Business Bureau. You shouldn't be able to advertise or promote such junk on TV.

    • Aug 24, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      It sounds to me like you purchased counterfeit Flex Tape, because genuine Flex Tape works great under water. Where did your order from and what price did you pay?

      Thanks,

      Eric Olsen

      Manager of E-Commerce

      Swift Response, LLC

    • Aug 27, 2017

      Jerry Chesebro

      Your commercial where the fella is cutting the boat in half, well my friends aluminum boat will not create sparks when you are cutting it with a grinder.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Price

    • Morrisville, North Carolina,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $39.95 for the Flex Tape seen on TV and ordered through their 800-number. I ordered the white tape, but I received the black tape.

    They charged me approximately $15 for the tape and the balance of $24.99 was shipping and packaging. I went on Amazon later and saw the exact same tape for approx $12. I have Amazon Prime, so there is no shipping charge.

    It's a bad idea to order from TV. Go on Amazon and see if you can get the same thing there for a lot less.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Dear Judy,

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience and for the mix up on your order. I would like the opportunity to fix this situation for you. Please contact me directly at [email protected]

      We promise to take great care of you and make this right.

      All the best,

      Eric

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Does not work under water as advertised.

    • Joplin, MO,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had bought Flex Tape to patch leaks in the bottom and side of our above ground pool. Once the tape hits the water, the sticky is gone; it did not work at all. A fool and their money are soon parted I guess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Mark,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      Flex Tape's bond increases with time and pressure. In some cases, it may need 24 hours to reach maximum adhesion. Also, all air bubbles must be smoothed out.

      Could you let us know the details of your application? Please contact us directly, at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make this right!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    • Sep 2, 2017

      Concerned

      This product is getting horrid reviews. I see the company had an e-commerce specialist respond with a rather funny counterfeit product allegation. That is utterly absurd. If the products do not work, I will blast reviews all over the internet in every place possible. It's sad they do not honor their refund policy too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review