About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peak to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a loca store.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Customer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Greater Puget Sound Region, USA,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw Flex Tape advertised on television and I figured, okay, maybe that's what I can use to patch the black water tank in my RV when it caught a rock. It seems to stick to everything; scissors, razor, knife, shirt, and beard hair, but it does not stick to my black water tank. I sanded the area with 80 grit, washed it down with methyl ethyl ketone, and figured it was a clean area, but it doesn't stick.

    I call the company to make a complaint but got the runaround. I finally got a supervisor, and they told me my mistake was I was using MEK to clean the area, but that's what they recommend to remove it with. I need to wash the area off with soap and water and dry it to get all the MEK off it. We had words, and none of them are any good. I think she finally hung up on me while I was busy explaining to her that MEK evaporates.

    Flex Tape is absolutely useless. And as far as Flex Seal in the spray can that runs about 15 bucks a can, go out and buy Rust-Oleum undercoating. It's the same product but is five bucks a can. Flex Seal is a rip-off, Flex Tape is a ripoff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Flex tape SUCKS

    • Villa, NJ,
    • Jul 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to patch sum small holes on the side wall of my above ground pool., Yes it sticks to your dry fingers until they get wet. It did not stick to pool liner, had to rely on good old pool patches and the glue method.

    I will not open my mouth and say another product like flex tape looks like something I will try, I wasted my time trying something new. I threw the remainder of it in the trash, not even giving it away free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2017

      Troy

      You probably bought a fake or a knock-off on Amazon. I've never had these issues.

    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Rick,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Flex Tape’s bond will increase with time and pressure and in some cases, may need up to 24 hours to reach the maximum hold.

      Flex Tape forms a super strong bond with itself, so if you’re patching a pool it’s best to first apply Flex Tape to the interior side of the liner and then place the second piece of Flex Tape to the exterior side as well, if possible. Remember that you should cut your Flex Tape larger than the area of the leak. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      Can you please be more specific about the circumstances in which you used Flex Tape, so we can better assist you? You can contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com. We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Price

    • Morrisville, North Carolina,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $39.95 for the Flex Tape seen on TV and ordered through their 800-number. I ordered the white tape, but I received the black tape.

    They charged me approximately $15 for the tape and the balance of $24.99 was shipping and packaging. I went on Amazon later and saw the exact same tape for approx $12. I have Amazon Prime, so there is no shipping charge.

    It's a bad idea to order from TV. Go on Amazon and see if you can get the same thing there for a lot less.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Dear Judy,

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience and for the mix up on your order. I would like the opportunity to fix this situation for you. Please contact me directly at [email protected]

      We promise to take great care of you and make this right.

      All the best,

      Eric

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Does not work under water as advertised.

    • Joplin, MO,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had bought Flex Tape to patch leaks in the bottom and side of our above ground pool. Once the tape hits the water, the sticky is gone; it did not work at all. A fool and their money are soon parted I guess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Mark,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      Flex Tape's bond increases with time and pressure. In some cases, it may need 24 hours to reach maximum adhesion. Also, all air bubbles must be smoothed out.

      Could you let us know the details of your application? Please contact us directly, at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make this right!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely a waste of money

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The tape and spray can are useless! Do not purchase this product, go buy scratch off lottery tickets with your money, you'll get the same result. Flex Tape is a big waste of money and doesn't work. How can that sales weasel sleep at night, hawking a product that is complete dog crap?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Dan,

      We are incredibly sorry about your experience and we would like to better your customer experience!

      We would like to look further into this for you. Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, with your order details, and further explain your experience so we can make it right?

      We will take excellent care of you! Thank you again for sharing your feedback!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape and Flex Seal aerosol)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this product after watching the man plug a leak in a bucket. I had a leak in a pool skimmer, a small crack from opening after winter ice cracked it, so I gave it a try. Not only didn't it work, but trying to remove it made a need. I tried to contact the company, but no one will respond. What a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Mark,

      We are terribly sorry to hear Flex Tape did not meet your intended expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience!

      A friendly suggestion, Flex Tape's bond increases with time and pressure. In some cases, it may need 24-48 hours to reach maximum adhesion. All air bubbles must be smoothed out as well. When applying Flex Tape under water, continued firm pressure must be applied.

      We stand behind our products 100% and our ultimate goal is to ensure our valued customers are happy. Please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com. We hope you'll give us the chance to make things right for you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    I bought this tape to seal a hole in my pool. It does not work like the commercial claims it does. Once the tape gets wet, it will not stick to anything. I feel like I was scammed. This is a large waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Loretta,

      We are very sorry to hear your expectations were not met. We would like the opportunity to fix this situation for you!

      A friendly suggestion, if I may, Flex Tape’s bond increases with time and pressure. In some cases may need 24 hours to reach maximum adhesion.

      We would like to know more about what happened in your situation. Could you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com and let us know the details of your experience, so we can further assist you? We hope you'll give us the chance to make this right!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is a complete waste of money. I tried to fix a pool with it, but it did not work. As soon as it touches water, it loses all adhesive. It could not even repair a pinhole leak in my garden hose with a full wide wrap. It was dry once again. A complete waste of money. I am surprised that a class action lawsuit hasn't happened yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Oakland, Tennessee,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a roll of Flex Tape from the local Ace Hardware to repair a small underwater hole in my above ground pool. I tried the tape on the inside and outside. It didn't stick and actually made the hole bigger and unrepairable.

    Flex Tape is a waste of money and a rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Tanya,

      We are incredibly sorry to hear your expectations were not met and we would like to better your customer experience! We would like to look further into this for you. Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make it right?

      We promise to take excellent care of you! Thank you for sharing your feedback!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    I bought it to repair a pinhole leak on a half copper line. Water just diverted out both sides. I undid it and tried it once more, and got the same results. I thought this would be a viable option since the location of the pipe makes traditional repair by soldering not an option. It's right up against a wall. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Stephen,

      We are terribly sorry to hear your expectations were not met and would like to better your customer experience!

      A friendly suggestion, if you are looking to repair a leaky pipe: First, cover the leak with a small patch of Flex Tape, slightly bigger than the hole or tear in the pipe, using firm pressure to get rid of all of the air bubbles. Then, take a second piece of Flex Tape and wrap it all the way around the pipe, covering the patch. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to make things right and we encourage you to contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com. We promise we will take great care of you and, hopefully, make you a Flex Tape Team fan!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Did not stick to leaking water AT ALL.

    • Mannford, OK,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a small leak on the bottom of the boat. The tape did not stay stuck and did not stop the leak. Water simply ran out the sides of the tape. I tried multiple times, but it still did not work. I dried the surface as well as possible before using the tape, and it still did not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello LeaAnn,

      We are terribly sorry to hear Flex Tape did not meet your intended expectations. We would like to better your customer experience!

      Flex Tape adhesives may resist bonding to the following surfaces: Plasticized materials, siliconized, greasy, oily, dirty or porous surfaces, waterproof or water-repellent materials and fabrics. Flex Tape is a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      We want to make this right and encourage you to contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com. We promise we will take great care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review