About FlightHub

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

Are you looking for cheap travel prices with a side of authentically Canadian customer service? FlightHub is an Ontario-based online travel agency that promises the lowest possible prices and multiple conveniences, including:

  • Instant E-ticket delivery that arrives immediately after your booking.
  • Transparent all-in pricing that never surprises you with hidden fees or extra charges.
  • Zero hold time when calling their customer service.
  • Beginning-to-end customer support that extends beyond the ticket buying process to during and after your trip.

Additionally, FlightHub customers can conveniently monitor their reservations online or through a mobile app, receiving travel alerts, schedule changes, or other important information about an upcoming trip.

How Does FlightHub Do It?

The skilled travel specialists at Flighthub boast over two decades of serving Canada’s travel needs offline. Now, Flighthub has caught up with the world of internet commerce by expanding to online bookings with a software database that they claim can’t be beaten.

Flighthub claims direct access to wholesalers, airlines, and hotel suppliers in Canada, allowing their customers to enjoy insider savings without needing to visit multiple websites or locations to compare the best prices.

Why Else Does FlightHub Claim to Be a Better Choice?

Flighthub appears geared towards those who don’t travel frequently, with a support section that answers questions like “How do I use an E-ticket?” and “How do I get a passport?” alongside standard queries such as “When do I need to check in for my flight?”

Aside from their promises of superior customers service, Flighthub offers travelers daily deals that range from $20 off flights to Europe to 55% off hotel bookings.

Flighthub offers travel guides to a variety of their destinations, including information on top tourist attractions and weather.

Screenshot of Flighthub Travel Guides Screenshot of www.flighthub.com

These guides also conveniently display prices converted into Canadian dollars. However, the items that are listed, such as how much it costs to rent a tennis court for one hour or the price to purchase one kilogram of tomatoes, don’t appear particularly useful to the average traveler.

What’s Bad About Booking With FlightHub?

First off, Flighthub is aimed at serving Canadian customers. As they are a third-party vendor, not an airline, there isn’t a route map available on their website. However, all of their potentially handy travel information is only relevant to those based in, or traveling to, Canada.

As far as actually using FlightHub’s search engine, I found it to be clunkier than my personal favorite, Google Flights. Flighthub isn’t the worst airfare search I’ve seen, in that it doesn’t force you to enter airport codes. Additionally, it does offer a convenient drop-down calendar for picking your dates.

However, this is a very no-frills search that fails to offer any flexibility in your searching that might help you discover a lower price, such as the date-by-date low prices displayed in Google Flight’s drop-down calendar, or the totally convenient flexible date option available at SkyScanner.

Like other third-party online travel agents, Flighthub also lacks information on low-cost options Southwest Airlines and Spirit Airlines, which don’t allow their prices to be displayed anywhere other than their official websites.

More on Booking Flights:

Next up on the negatives? While Flighthub doesn’t come right out and admit it, customer reviews of their service state that there are hidden fees—Flighthub membership fees, to be exact.

According to customers, making a booking through Flighthub automatically signs you up for a Flighthub Elite Membership, where you’re given the exclusive opportunity to enjoy monthly charges of $5.95 in exchange for:

  • Access to exclusive travel agent prices
  • Member-only priority customer service line
  • Seat sale alerts as they happen
  • Free Best Purchase Guarantee on all bookings
  • Elite offers and discounts from their travel partners

Those promises are confusing, as Flighthub already claims that customers get the best possible price and never have to wait for customer service assistance. Are these benefits promised to every Flighthub customer or are there additional elite offers and sale alerts for members?

We called Flighthub to clarify whether or not their membership was mandatory—or, at least, automatic when booking through the website. The company’s phone tree doesn’t provide a direct line to speak with customer service. Instead, we were forced to choose bookings and then requested to be transferred to the appropriate party. After a 12 wait, we decided to terminate the call.

So much for that “zero hold time when calling customer service” that Flighthub promised.

With our question about whether or not membership is automatic left unanswered, our best guess is that it’s the former, as your Flighthub Elite Membership login appears to be the same information used to book through Flighthub, leaving us to understand that there’s no distinction between being a customer and an Elite Member.

An additional warning: Because Flighthub is based in Canada, U.S. customers might be charged an international transaction fee due to the currency conversion banks must perform when you book with this company.

We’ll take an in-depth look at customer reviews in a moment. But first, let’s examine Flighthub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Is FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee That Great?

If you’re booking a flight in the United States, the U.S. Department of Transportation regulates that any non-refundable ticket purchased at least seven days before the flight is subject to a 24-hour grace period during which you can hold, change, or cancel your reservation.

While Transport Canada doesn’t appear to enforce the same rule, most major airlines, including Air Canada, still offer their customers that grace period.

Which is why we were surprised to learn that Flighthub’s much-touted Best Price Guarantee isn’t anything more than a similar grace period. Actually, it’s a little less. According to their website:

The Best Purchase Guarantee plan allows you to cancel your booking within the same day (11:59 PM EST) you made the purchase. No questions asked! Simply select the Best Purchase Guarantee plan during the checkout process. The cost is $19.99 per passenger. If you would like to apply your Purchase Guarantee, please call us toll free at 1-800-900-1431, or email us at guarantee@flighthub.com.

So, instead of allowing you 24-hours, Flighthub only gives their customers until midnight on the day of purchase. Additionally, they’ll charge you almost $20 for the convenience, which doesn’t seem like such a great deal.

What Customers are Saying About Flighthub

Flighthub isn’t positively reviewed around the web, with complaints ranging from high ticket prices to hidden fees.

One customer left the following complaint on TripAdvisor:

“I tried to book a flight from Toronto to Barcelona today. The price on the confirmation was different than the one quoted before pressing the Book now button. When I called the 800 number to immediately complain the best they claimed they could do was to charged me $150.00 to cancel the order! Contacted the credit card company to report the fraud all they can do is initiate a dispute resolution.”

While this customer doesn’t explicitly state how long it took him to notice the price difference, if it occurred on the same day as his booking, the $150 fee would contradict FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Previous Flighthub customers replying to the above complaint also called the service a ripoff. One person stated that they were not allowed to use their Flighthub credit to purchase any other flights, being told that none were available. Another claimed that his refund was never actually sent.

Aside from switching prices after purchase and failing to refund money, Flighthub is also accused of sneakily charging customers a monthly membership fee of $5.95 without their approval.

The general consensus over 34 comments? That those who used Flighthub won’t be doing so again.

Bottom Line On Flighthub

How does Flighthub get away with switching ticket prices? A quick peek at their Terms & Conditions states the following:

All prices displayed on the web site are subject to change without notice until ticketed. In some instances, a fare may change after a reservation has been made. In this case we will contact you to advise you of the fare increase before we proceed any further.

The prices set out on the web site may not include taxes or airport charges or other fees. In this case taxes, airport charges and any additional fees will be displayed during the booking process but prior to payment submission. Special conditions may apply to the prices set out on the web site. In the event that your booking is being processed via third party discounters, a service fee may apply.

What the above fine print allows Flighthub to do is bump up the purchase price of your ticket after confirmation, then potentially take weeks or months issuing a refund, as one previous Flighthub customer states was their experience in this thread.

Bottom line on Flighthub’s travel services? Lacking any superb search features or customer protection policies that allow you to cancel your purchase after their short grace period, I don’t personally see any reason to book through Flighthub once you look past their marketing hype.

A better alternative is to use a third-party online travel agent, such as Google Flights or Skyscanner, to search for ticket prices. Then, book directly with the airline of your choice. That way, you get the convenience of viewing all possible ticket prices without becoming obligated to a middle man, should your plans change.

Want to learn more about how to find great travel deals? Check out our tips in:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Customer Reviews for FlightHub

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • FlightHub sucks

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are simply terrible. Be careful! Purchased ticket and had to cancel. I asked to double check the refund amount, and it took one hour, and on the next day they called and informed I have to pay more fees because the agent made a mistake. The supervisor (Louie) had no regret for their mistake and says that you have pay it otherwise we won't refund the amount. She even threatened by imposing more fees if I don't agree to pay. Simply robbery. I wasted almost two more hours and didn't even say a sorry. Not sure how they exist in business. Should ban the license immediately. I am going to file a complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • FlightHub sold me an invalid airplane ticket, I call it scum.

    • Mississauga, Canada,
    • Aug 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This to be known to everyone. FlightHub sold me an invalid airplane ticket. A long and unforgettable story and trauma, thanks to Canadian FlightHub, the story brought here is brief.

    Two weeks before the flight, in May 2017, I booked with FlightHub online a flight. It looked all ok, I got a confirmation number, a reference number, a FlightHub phone number, and a FlightHub email address too. I never had any transaction with FlightHub before. I paid $720.00.

    When I arrived at the airport outside Canada and tried to get the boarding pass, the authority of the airline refused to give me a boarding pass telling me the ticket is wrong. My name is ok on it, but the ticket is wrong. A what? Wrong ticket? Excuse me! I was stranded in drama, outside of Canada, far away in another country with wrong a ticket and totally shocked. I had to buy another ticket, thanks to FlightHub.

    There was no way to contact FlightHub to do anything about it, so now I continue my comments. It must be known what FlightHub did. It is not anymore about the money I lost, it is about this very negative experience and ignorance from FlightHub, yet a lot of stress they caused to me by what they have done. So, here I am doing this. I hope people will know and avoid this scum FlightHub presents.

    Now you, who say good things about the FlightHub, I know who you are too. Please, read hundreds and hundreds of negative comments about them. Now I know also who FlightHub is, although too late. I learned the hardest way I would ever imagine. How would you like it if FlightHub did it to you?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst online travel agency

    I have traveled a lot the past ten years. Always been careful about how I bought my ticket, and this year I tried FlightHub for the first time, which is a total disaster.

    I had to cancel my reservation three months prior to departure, and just two weeks after purchase.

    I called the service, and the person that took care of me played, so the ticket cost $940, and the hot liner told me if you pay the $150 fee, which I will accept if I get some money back. He said, "of course your total amount that will be refunded is $608."

    Two days later, I receive a call from them saying "we made an error, you'll be refunded only $300."

    So $300 - $150 = $150.

    They have Indian people that don't speak correct English and are hard to understand, and on top of that, they are dumb. I will write a review of this company on each website explaining that they are just thieves.

    The WORST experience of my entire online booking experience! No, I will not recommend FlightHub to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    FlightHub never again

    • Whistler, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very bad experience with FlightHub.

    I booked my flight ticket to Paris the 3rd of July, and on the 4th I call them to change for another date. I spend one hour on the phone with a girl, she changed my flight and said she canceled the previous flight.

    The day after I receive only a confirmation email to say they canceled my insurance but not my flight. So I called them (45 minutes this time) again, and they told me they don't need to cancel the flight because my ticket is not refundable. But by the law, they should refund the taxes and the fees, and when I cancel, they should cancel straight away.

    With FlightHub, to book a flight is super easy, but be careful to not have any problem and have to cancel, because they won't help you at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never ever again!

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Online, I reserved what SHOULD have been a very simple domestic flight with United Airlines from Phoenix, AZ to Denver, CO. I am picky about seating so I paid an extra $11 fee so I could choose my seat, which I did, or THOUGHT I did.

    A few days later, I saw on my bank statement that not only was I charged the basic fare, which was fine, I was also charged the $11 separately, which again, was fine because it was confirmation that I chose my seat (which was also reflected on my itinerary). Then I noticed another charge for $1.26, which was an international fee! Although it's only a $1.26 fee, I was upset because I clearly wasn't flying out of the country.

    I called FlightHub, in which of course I did not speak to a person who spoke clear English. They told me that they "didn't see" the charge on their end and to wait until it cleared my account, thinking it would just drop off since I booked a domestic flight. A week later, the charge did post and was deducted from my account, so I called back and again tried to reason with someone through a language barrier. Apparently, the charge was still invisible on their end, so they told me to email them my bank statement reflecting the charge. I emailed a screenshot clearly depicting the charge, but that wasn't good enough, They wanted me to email them my whole statement. By that point, I was annoyed and wasn't going to go through all of that and ate the $1.26.

    Fast forward to today, when I called United to verify my seat assignment. I was informed by the agent that I don't have a reserved seat, although it is on my FlightHub itinerary! I then called FlightHub AGAIN and informed them that I paid for the assigned seat, and they need to ensure that I get it. I was put on hold for several minutes while the rep once again assigned my seat. I asked why the assignment wasn't showing up on their end, to which she replied that it was deleted somehow. Wow, that is reassuring. Good thing I called!

    I've flown quite a bit but never had to deal with such an incompetent third party agency like this one. From now on, I will deal directly with the airline, and will strongly advise you to stay clear of FlightHub!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off by hidden cancellation fee

    • Arkansas,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was planning an anniversary trip with my wife to San Francisco and booked a flight through FlightHub. The flight was on United, with a new fare called "Basic Economy." After booking, I get an email from United saying that with this fare, I cannot "sit with [my] group or family." Thanks United.

    I'm within the normal 24 cancellation period, so I call United to cancel. United tells me that I have to call Voyage A La Carte. Voyage A La Carte tells me they are just a wholesaler, and I have to call FlightHub. FlightHub tells me that I have to pay $75 a person ($150 total) to cancel, even if within 24 hours.

    After complaining, they "generously" reduced my penalty to $50/person. So to get my refund, they first will charge me an ADDITIONAL $100 now. Then in five to ten business days, I will get a refund of my full purchase price. Unbelievable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Crooks

    • 60 highcastle rd,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We're trying to get a name corrected that an agent has misspelled and they keep telling us to call back in 24 hours, and when we do, they tell us to call back again, for at least four times. And when they finally sent out a notification to their airline partners, they come back saying it is not possible, when I specifically called Air Canada myself, and they told me the third party agencies should be able to do that even within 24 hours or our flight. But when we ask FlightHub to correct the name, they lie and say Air Canada did not approve it.

    Now, as we try to cancel our flight a couple of hours before our supposed take off, they charge us $300 per ticket for penality when they confirmed that the agent made a mistake. There was too much lying in the phone call, and all their agents never provided an ID badge number or full name. Finally, when you want to get a refund, they prolong the refund to 6-8 weeks. At the same time, Air Canada is telling us that there should never be a charge for an agent's mistake. We have been on the phone for 10 hours. That's no joke!

    All in all, DON'T book with FlightHub!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    I am a cancer patient and booked two flights for me and my caregiver to travel to Puerta Vallarta for a week following the end of my chemotherapy in December of 2016.

    Due to complications and infection, I was too ill to travel, and after numerous calls and submission of a doctor's note I was given a credit for the flights for the amount of $977.17 and had until Sept 21, 2017 to use the voucher. I was also informed that all re-booking charges would be dismissed.

    When I went to rebook, I was told that I needed to pay an "additional" $433 per flight, which amounts to basically paying twice for the flights. I tried to escalate to a supervisor but just got put on hold and it never happened.

    This company is highly unethical and does not honor its commitments.

    Buyer beware! Never, ever book with FlightHub!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    horrible customer service hidden fee

    • Houston, TX,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should've read the review before I booked with FlightHub. My flight confirmation # is KAPP4Q. I called customer service, it takes 30 min to get to someone and they told me it cost $663 to cancel my ticket. To modify the date it will cost an additional $860. My ticket cost $850. They said it was the airline (Korean airline) fee. FlightHub's fee is only $250.

    I called Korean Airlines they said they only charge $300 dollars to cancel the ticket and even less to modify the date.

    These guys are crooks, and they try to blame the airline for the blind charges they make. I will never book with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    FlightHub does not ask you if you want the insurance, they just charged it on the credit card so I had to call back to cancel it. And they said the money will be returned later, but they did not return it. Besides that, on the credit card appears a bunch of charges because each airline charged me separately, plus the FlightHub service fee. At the end, my ticket cost me much more that it was supposed to be. I had to send them my statement to prove them the charges, and I'm waiting for an answer. I will never use FlightHub.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They canceled my booking without clear reason!

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a flight through those people. I had a confirmation that said: "Your Flight to ABC has been booked Successfully!"

    Then, when I went to the airport, I found out it was canceled for some reason.

    I had problems in the past, and I had no problem to book an alternative flight with the same credit card.

    Nobody can explain what happened and all they said was "Canceled." For what?

    If a credit problem,

    1. Why was I able to re-book with the same card?

    2. Why did it go all the way and said: "Your Flight to ABC has been booked Successfully?"

    This means the system is not working properly!

    Do you want to risk your important flight with this kind of unreliable system?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for FlightHub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review