About Freedom Debt Relief

Founded in 2002 by Stanford Business School graduates Andrew Housser and Bradford Stroh, Freedom Debt Relief claims to help you settle and resolve your unsecured debts in as little as 24-48 months, instead of declaring bankruptcy. Freedom Debt Relief claims to have help their customers resolved more than $2 billion in debt since opening their doors, which is claimed to be more than any other company in the nation.

Between taxes and insurance, a good portion of each paycheck gets taken away before ever hitting your bank account. On top of this, the high interest rates associated with many kinds of debt, including credit cards and student loans, can make you feel like you’re spinning your wheels, constantly paying more to others than you’re keeping for yourself.

But can Freedom Debt Relief help you achieve financial independence from this seemingly endless cycle? Perhaps, but let’s first take a look at how their debt reduction program works.

How Does Freedom Debt Relief Help Resolve Your Debt?

If you’re unable to make your minimum monthly payments on your unsecured debt or are considering bankruptcy, Freedom Debt Relief claims to help you reduce the amount you owe and to resolve that debt in as little as 24-48 months using low monthly payments. In order to accomplish this, the company’s “Fresh Start Program” works over 5 steps:

  1. A debt specialist will evaluate your debt and advise which options are available to you. In these instances, the company is claimed to be upfront about whether or not their program is the right solution, and if not, to refer you to other companies who might be a better fit.
  2. Then, Freedom Debt Relief is claimed to customize your debt program to your specific needs and goals, and to give you all the available information and options based on your needs. Depending on how much you can afford to pay each month, you’ll be informed of your potential savings and overall program length.
  3. Once your program is in place, you’ll begin putting funds each month into an FDIC insured account, which you’ll maintain control of at all times and will be used to repay your debts. In the meantime, you’ll be asked to quit using your credit cards, which will boost FDR’s ability to resolve your debts.
  4. After money accumulates in your account, Freedom will contact your debtors and negotiate settlements for you. According to the company’s website, they often approach creditors with large portfolios of accounts like yours, thereby giving them more leverage.
  5. Finally, after all your debts have been resolved, your Freedom Debt Relief program will be complete.

If you’re at the end of your rope and need to take emergency action in order to avoid bankruptcy related to your unsecured debt, consider the following before signing up with Freedom Debt Relief:

Who Should Use Freedom Debt Relief’s Services?

According to the Freedom Debt Relief website, their services are best suited for “consumers with serious debt problems, who are unable to maintain payment obligations and are considering bankruptcy or credit counseling.” In other words, you need to be in a fairly dire situation.

Also, keep in mind that Freedom Debt Relief can only work with unsecured debt (e.g. credit cards, medical bills, etc.) that is not backed by collateral (e.g. home or auto loans).

Freedom Debt Relief’s Online Customer Reputation

Based on online reviews founds at ConsumerAffairs.com, Yelp.com, RipoffReport.com, and many other websites, Freedom Debt Relief, LLC based out of San Mateo, CA appears to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, with the most common compliment citing that the company helped to significantly reduce the amount of debt owed.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced it taking a very long time to settle debts (although website clearly says it can take 24-48 months to complete the program) – and in some instances not settling them at all, while customers continually received threatening calls/lawsuits from collections agencies during the process (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Also, according to a 2010 article posted on Consumer Reports, Freedom Debt Relief settled a 2009 lawsuit for $1M that alleged the company continued to charge customers fees, even if they didn’t successfully complete the program.

The company holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, despite having 170 closed complaints (as of 12/1/14), many of which referenced difficulty with customer service, and that these reps advised consumers to stop making credit card payments, which resulted in much larger balances than when entering the program.

The Definition of “Successfully Resolved Debt”

Speaking of which, keep in mind that, although Freedom Debt Relief’s stated goal is to help you settle your debt for less than you owe, this may not always be the end result. During our research, we read several consumer reviews claiming that debt was ultimately “settled” for the full balance, on top of fees charged by banks, as well as those from Freedom Debt Relief.

Freedom Debt Relief’s Services are Not Instant

According to the Freedom Debt Relief website, “Every case is a negotiation, and there is no guarantee on how the negotiations will wind up.” As such, the negotiation process can take as little as 1-2 weeks in some instances, and as long a 6 months in others.

Your Credit Will Be Impacted

According to Freedom Debt Relief’s FAQ, “Depending upon the condition of your credit report at the time of enrollment, a Debt Settlement Plan may have an adverse effect on your credit report and credit score. Our goal is to resolve your debt for the lowest cost, in the shortest period of time, without declaring bankruptcy.”

In other words, Freedom Debt Relief does not offer credit repair services, and their primary goal is to reduce the amount of debt you owe as much as possible, which could still appear as a “charge-off” on your credit report.

Freedom Debt Relief Pricing & Refund Policy

Freedom Debt Relief claims that they don’t assess any fees until after a debt has been resolved, and there are no monthly fees involved (note: we found multiple, recent customer reviews claiming FDR charges monthly maintenance fees). The company also claims to provide safe, confidential, and no-obligation financial assessments.

With this in mind, according to the company’s website: “Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including your home state, the amount of debt you are enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36-month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year.”

For example, if you have $10K debt that Freedom Debt Relief is helping you to settle, you’ll might pay $600-$800 in fees over the course of a year. And if it takes the company 3 years to settle the debt, you may have paid between $1,800 and $2,400 over this period of time. And if you had a total of five $10K accounts with Freedom Debt Relief, you could pay as much as $4K per year in fees alone, which can add up quickly. Because of this, it’s extremely important to factor in these fees when considering Freedom Debt Relief’s services.

In order to ask questions or undergo a consultation, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-544-7211.

Can Freedom Debt Relief Help You Achieve Financial Freedom?

Chopping to the Point: Although Freedom Debt Relief appears to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, it’s important to remember that you can contact banks directly and inquire about “hardship” status in order to reduce your total debt load, which could help you save a ton of money in fees.

On the other hand, if you’d rather leave it up to the professionals, Freedom Debt Relief appears to be a solid choice.

Want to Learn How to Build Amazing Credit Scores?

Our FREE eBook will teach you how to build amazing credit scores, save thousands and score the best deals on loans, insurance, and credit cards. Enter your email below to get a free copy of the eBook and to receive our weekly newsletter!

33 Customer Reviews for Freedom Debt Relief

Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 15 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 13
Bottom Line: 61% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • It's a farce

    I joined the program having never been late on one payment. After a call to Chris Karen of Freedom Debt financial, I was convinced this program was for me.

    Everything went well for 4 to 6 months; I made my monthly payments without fail. Then I received an offer from their "sister" company Consolation Plus that I did not want a personal loan at 22% interest, as it was as much if not more than my credit card interest. After refusing their loan, it started. I was sued three or four times.

    I was told not to talk to my creditors so I asked my "representatives" at Freedom to explain to my creditors that they'd get their money and not to sue, but they did NOT! My program lawyer called me one day before a trial I was supposed to begin to tell me that I needed to come up with three or four hundred dollars or my checks would be garnished. Then they proceed to tell me that if I'd pay my bills, I would not be in this position!

    I take the personal loan, they pay off my creditors, and then yesterday, April 15, I receive to my house via priority mail from Freedom Debt financial one 1099-C form that after a call to Freedom Debt to find out why they would hold a tax document (that I'd already called the IRS to find out should have been mailed by my creditors by February 15), and Freedom Debt had (since March 15) lied and refused to acknowledge that the postmark is April 13th and they've sent via priority mail. They say it's been put in the mail a month ago and it's not their fault that the US Post Office took so long to deliver it.

    The only problem is I live in AZ! That's 129 miles from where the Scottsdale, AZ address my creditor mailed it to them at! Oh, and come to find out there are four 1099-C tax forms of mine they held on to for over one month! It's all a huge scam to get you to take a consolidation loan. Do not believe these crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 19, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Mr. Zabala,

      We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and we would like the opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns and resolve the issues you are having with the program. Please let us know the best time that we may contact you.

      Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Freedom Debt truly wants to help.

    • Arkansas,
    • Apr 7, 2017

    I started a little over six months ago in the Freedom Debt Relief program and was very skeptical at first about doing it. I'm glad I did. Every person I talk to when I need them truly wants to help you succeed in the program. It may take up to six months before you get your first settlement, but it's not because they are not trying. You have to get enough money in your account so they can work their magic. Their customer service team has always been honest and upfront with me from the get-go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 11, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you for your fantastic review! Our client services department strives to provide the utmost customer service to all of our clients, and we are pleased to hear this has been your experience. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303, or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    I thought I was being protected in this program, but it's awful. I am more stressed out in this program than I was before I started it.

    I got a summons to go to court, and Freedom Debt Relief asked me to get the court date changed so I did, and they had another six weeks to work on it, and still nothing is worked out. My second court date is in less than a week, and still, nothing is being done.

    Another thing is that I thought I was enrolled in legal counsel and I was not, so I have to go to court without legal services and lose half a day of work that I can't afford to miss. There is more than enough funds taken out of my account to settle this one; I have been in the program for five and half months. Please check into other companies before you choose. Do your research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 27, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Hello Ms. Bowles,

      We are sorry to hear about your concerns regarding the program, specifically the legal action happening on one of your accounts. We would like the opportunity to review your account with you and assist you in reaching a resolution as quickly as possible. Please let us know the best time that we may reach out to you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great job

    Freedom Debt relief has tremendously helped to "relieve" so much stress for us. All representatives have been extremely professional and have been understanding of our personal circumstances. They have helped to resolve our outstanding debt with creditors and have been instrumental in putting into play a fair plan for repayment that satisfies all parties. Thanks FDR!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Traynor,

      Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to hear that your experience has been nothing short of excellent! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Has been going very well, but I am a little concerned

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 13, 2017

    It has been going great so far with two accounts settled and paid (don't forget that forgiven debt is taxed!) and was on my way to complete it in 2018. Last month I noticed my program end date shot up from 2018 to 2022 unless I pay more. I'll keep this updated since I recently contacted customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you for your review! We understand your concern and want to let you know that while settlements are dependent on available funds, the estimated completion date can change and be sooner, based on the settlements that are obtained. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    • Mar 23, 2017

      Valerie

      Did you get a loan? I'm worried that the payments will go up more. Did you try setting with the cards on your own?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not a happy customer

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 8, 2017

    In the beginning, I was happy with the representative. I thought all the creditors were informed. Then I get a summons that I am being sued by a creditor. I tell Freedom Debt Relief and am told they cannot handle it because I did not sign up initially with their legal department. Now I have to handle it on my own and get an outside lawyer.

    I also informed them about my payment amount and for them not to increase it. I called several times and sent an email. Of course, no one listened, and they increased my payments, causing me to stress ion getting the extra funds back into my account.

    One account was reduced by Freedom Debt Relief, but the rest of my accounts are in worse condition since joining this group, and now I am more stressed than before. I need to check out another group to help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 16, 2017

      Terry O Bultman

      No no no no. We tried this once and they take forever to pay debtors and you will get sued. We asked for our money back and thank god we got it and filed Chapter 7. Within 1 year, our score started going up and loan offers started coming in. Debt Relief not a good ideal.

    • Mar 21, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      We are sorry to hear about your experience but we would like the opportunity to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss this further?

    • Mar 23, 2017

      Valerie

      Sally what happened? Did you ever get a loan to settle AL accounts? I'm almost in the same boat. I can get a loan but the monthly amount goes up like 100 dollars. Just wondering what you are doing now.

    • Mar 23, 2017

      Valerie

      What happened with your debt Sally? I'm in a similar situation.

    • Apr 2, 2017

      sally

      I spoke to a creditor directly and made payment arrangements with a lower amount. Also, negotiate a settlement amount. You can do it too. Do not use Freedom Debt Relief. Good luck!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely helpful

    I was hesitant at first in using Freedom Debt Relief, as with any and all debt relief programs, but they have been great, from the customer service to the ease of the website. I am hopeful of the future of my finances finally, and getting a hold of them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Mr. DeLaRosa,

      Thank you for your phenomenal review of Freedom Debt Relief! We are pleased to hear about your experience with our program thus far, including use of your personalized client dashboard and interactions with our Client Services department. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    Upon entering the program, I had a customer service person who really took great care of me. After I actually signed up with the program, everything has been crashing down.

    What they DON'T tell you is that you will MOST LIKELY get sued by the creditors! I have experienced four so far and a lien on my property. Oh, and also, you WILL be getting forms (after the settlements on accounts) that show the DIFFERENCE (saved amount) and you will have to report this amount as income on your taxes when you file them!

    And, though the attorneys representing FDR through NLLG are legit, they are only limited to a certain amount as well, and the fees that pay them (from your account) on a monthly basis, are CRAZY. Now, I realize people need to get paid, however, I was CRAZY trying to keep my head above water BEFORE entering into the FDR program.

    Now, well, my advice is: DON'T do it! Try and handle things yourself in any way possible. I have been on the phone for three days STRAIGHT trying to get a litigation settlement payment from my account straightened out, and all I have gotten is, "I will handle it," but NOTHING has been done.

    They keep raising my payment amount and auto withdrawal when there is a settlement. I started at $300, to $486, and to now $526$! Really? Not to mention my credit score it bottomed out. If you want a real person's advice, stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Vetter,

      We are sorry to hear about the concerns you have and the frustrations you are experiencing. We would like the opportunity to go over things with you and assist you however we can to resolve your concerns. Please let us know the best time that we may reach out to you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    On the right track

    Although I've only been with Freedom Debt Relief for a few months, I'm already getting results. Within the first month, I received a message from FDR stating that they had settled with one of my biggest debtors for a 50% decrease. I am very happy with the results so far, and FDR has done everything they said they would do. Thank you and let's forge ahead!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Hello Mr. Boether,

      Thank you for your kind review! We’re happy to hear about how quickly your initial accounts were settled and look forward to settling your remaining debt and meeting your goal of officially being debt free.

      Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Progress

    Progress is in motion, and I feel good about Freedom Debt working with me to get me back on track.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Hello Ms. Simpson,

      Thank you for your positive review! We look forward to your continued success with Freedom Debt Relief! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com with any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Would do it again!

    I would do it again in a "New York minute!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Lemke,

      Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased to know the program has proven to be successful for you. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for Freedom Debt Relief!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review