About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

188 Customer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 5 1 star:  176
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 188
Sort reviews by:

  • Avoid this!

    • Helsinki, Finland,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Doesn't matter if you are a freelancer or an employer. Avoid this site at all. They will suck money out of your pocket and leave you with nothing. Do not give your PayPal or credit card. They share this information with scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Poland,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an employer. I would like to be able to go back in time and never know Freelancer.com.

    1. This page is absolutely unfriendly to the user.

    2. And MOST IMPORTANT:

    They charged a credit card without any reason for the amount of 720 PLN (almost 200USD). I filed a complaint, which runs from May 21st. On May 25th and 28th, they confirmed that they would pay back this amount on our credit card, but I have to wait 10-15 business days for the refund. It's ridiculous, nowhere in the regulations can you find those rules, but I decided to wait.

    Today is June 21st, and still, we didn't get our money back and support does not respond to emails. Never again. There is no support. System errors. One big tragedy. I wish I wasn't involved in it. They shouldn't receive even one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent fools

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted this site to work well. I hoped it would supply a decent group of competent freelancers. How wrong could I be?

    The bidders are generally terrible. Their portfolios do NOT measure up to the finished product. If you get a part decent one, they muck you around and want to increase the fees.

    My advice is to NOT waste your time. Give your work to a professional, not these incompetent bunch of fools.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2017

      Suzanne,

      Hello, Peter.

      Thank you for your feedback. This is Suzanne from Freelancer.com. We are sorry that your experience with us is not what you expected it to be. Kindly allow me to provide assistance and find solutions to your concern. I have sent an email to you. Kindly search for ticket ID: LVW-920-51116.

      I am looking forward to your response.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They care of your money, not you

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've completed over 50 projects there. I have three most memorable cases.

    The first project was to move a site to another server. The customer accepted my work and provided me with a star-star review. Some time later he contacted me and asked to modify the site's layout. This task was not part of the project, and he expected me to do that for free. I refused to do that and the customer filed a dispute against me. Freelancer.com staff withdrew money from my account for this project and returned it to the customer. They noted that I had to do this work to satisfy the customer. I guess we guys all work for free forever.

    The second project was awarded to me, and the customer received my work and disappeared. Freelancer.com staff suggested not to stop contact with the customer and did nothing to help me in this case. I worked for free again.

    The third project wasn't awarded to me, it was still opened when I uploaded my work to the customer, who disappeared right after receiving my scripts. This deceiver has dozens of five-star reviews as an employer and happily hoaxes freelancers to do work for free.

    In this case, I don't want to waste even a single minute to contact Freelancer's staff because they're good only at taking a monster commission.

    So the conclusion is that Freelancer.com staff are hard to contact, they will not ban deceivers, and they will not protect or help you in any case.

    Work with these guys at your own risk. There is no guarantee that you'll get your honestly earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 18, 2017

      Randolph S.,

      HI Andrei,

      This is Randolph from Freelancer.com. We know that you've had quite a few undesirable experiences on our website. We'd like to help you. Please send me an email at support@freelancer.com with your username. Please put my name in the subject title. I hope that you can give me a chance to help.

      I will look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They took my money and provided work that was incomplete.

    • Scranton, Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired someone from Freelancer a few days ago to edit some work on my novel. I paid them $250.00 because the girl seemed like she was qualified to handle the workload because she had her Masters Degree, but I found out that people can post anything they want on here, and Freelancer does not screen these people to see if they are legit.

    My work was edited with more mistakes than when I originally sent it for editing. I tried contacting Freelancer for a refund but have not heard back from them after several attempts. Their website claims they respond in less than 24 hours, but that is a complete lie.

    I would advise anyone to stay far away from this site because most of the people that are claiming they are professionals are not. It seems like anyone with internet access can make an account and claim they graduated from Harvard when in fact they could quite possibly be living in a van down by the river. So be careful of this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of time and lost money

    I wanted to start a project and found this page. The result has been disastrous. My money locked up, the work unmade, and the Freelancer team clearly positioned in favor of a programmer who in my opinion tried to cheat me. Nothing recommendable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Seems a scam at the very sight of projects on offer

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I become active on my Freelancer account a month back or so. I am right now just a free member trying to know if it's genuine at all. I bid for three projects, of which one project is nowhere in sight now. The other two just show up as closed. I have been trying to look for some other work, and I am astonished to see the same bidders across most of the projects and who have a rating of 4+. How can the same people get so much work and still be free to bid for more projects?

    These high rating profiles have also bid for projects that have a requirement similar to this:

    I want to do a certain project on above-required software coding. There is only software work and no hardware work should be included from my side.

    Now, how on earth can anyone know what is optimum amount to bid for such a vague requirement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Randolph S.,

      Hi Rajmathi! Thank you for the review! I'm Randolph from Freelancer.com and I would like to help you. We sent an email to the email address you registered on our website, to discuss this further. Please find the time to read through it and let us know your thoughts. We look forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Would have rated negative infinity

    • India,
    • May 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been scammed three times in Freelancer. I lost money and time. The worst site. People, don't ever think of using it. This site is so insecure that the Freelancer staff only has an "email" to contact the freelancer and nothing much. So beware of this site called "Freelancer.com."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2017

      Eileen S.,

      Hi Jassu,

      Good Day to you! This is Eileen from Freelancer.com. I understand that this has been an inconvenience on your end. We would like to work with you regarding your issue within the website. I have sent you an email about this matter through this ticket ID: XJS-337-75295. We look forward to your response, and I can assure you that we will help you resolve this. We will change your experience into a good one.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer.com does not respect their rules

    • Targoviste, Dambovita, Romania,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello my friends. I hope you are doing great. From personal experience, just recently, I have hard times with http://www.freelancers.com.

    They won’t give me my money which I worked for in a valid contest. They have to give me 166 British Pounds ($215.24). They told me that the contest was closed to protect me as a user. This has no relevance or logic.

    Short story: I entered into a contest with the prize being 500 British Pounds ($648.34) to create a design for an employer. The contest was GUARANTEED (this is a safety measure to guarantee us the freelancers that the money will be paid to us for sure, meaning the prize will be awarded 100% even if the employer does not decide a winning design). I have uploaded many valid entries (me and other freelancers). The contest holder (employer) had 14 days to decide the winning design, but unfortunately, he did not pick one. So the prize must be split between the active entries, meaning me and two other freelancers that had active entries for the contest. I have talked with one of the support team and they assured me that the money will be split in three after another 14 days. It has been past these 14 days, and yesterday when I want my part of the share, 166.66 British Pounds ($215.24), I see that the contest was deleted and there is no money in the account.

    Their explanation:

    “We understand your concern on this contest. However, it is better to remove the contest that will cause liabilities to users and to us even if the contest is Guaranteed. We are protecting users from this kind of contest as it will create issues in the future.”

    Are you kidding me? And so they took our prize money and for what?AVOID THEM! They make the rules, but they do not respect the rules, nor the terms and conditions. In their terms and conditions, they specify that guarantee prize means the money will go to the freelancers 100%. And that is a lie!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Victim of unscrupulous employer

    • Philippines,
    • May 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got hired by a certain @allanwesley246 for article writing. He told me to write five articles per day with a rate of 15 dollars per hour. However, on the 4th day of my work, he suddenly terminated the time tracking and did not communicate with me anymore. In short, he did not pay my services equivalent to $435.26. Well, this person is unscrupulous.

    I got terribly disappointed because I was thinking Freelancer.com is a home of legitimate employers who are willing to help people land for decent jobs with fair compensation. I'm totally disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Service against customers

    I paid for this service for searching for a freelancer. They promised not to pay the freelancer until I get my task. Freelancer for two days asked me different questions and constantly didn't perform the tasks that I set.

    I complained about the freelancer to Freelancer.com. They were offered to open a dispute for $5 or 5% with a prepayment. But, I lost two days of my time plus 56 Euros ($60.95), and they (Freelancer.com) offered to lose more and pay money for it. Because they, without asking me, have already given him my money and got their %.

    There is no way to leave a review of this freelancer - Abhijeetkhewale. He promised me every time to accomplish the task, but at the end, he refused but received my money.

    I didn't get anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 188

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review